Reading Reviews for Sensible
  
41 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marinahill Epilogue

22nd December 2010:
YAY! Wonderful ending, perfect epilogue and I'm so happy they got MARRIED!!!

Author's Response: Yes, I got the funniest feeling you'd like if they got married.. lucky for my safety they did!

I am so glad you enjoyed it my dear, and I can't tell you how much your enthusiasm made me smile. You're a star ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by marinahill Saviour

22nd December 2010:
Lovely cliff hanger there :P I hope she goes with him and that they spend loads of time together and then get MARRIED. Are you seeing a familiar pattern here? They're both too cute not to be together. Oh, and the writing was good. As always!

Author's Response: Yes I AM sensing a theme in these reviews...and I love that you are this involved with my OTP!

Thanks, as always for your support!


 Report Review

Review #3, by marinahill Secrets

22nd December 2010:
Rose and Teddy have such a cute relationship, there's so much gorgeous chemistry between them that I'd be prepared to just read about them for ever and ever and I'd still never be satisfied. I'm already attached to the two of them and I hope this story ends up in MARRIAGE. If it doesn't I shall be bitterly disappointed. You have been warned. ♥

Author's Response: Teddrose is just SO much fun. Especially as I'm a bit Rose, and he's .. well TEDDY ♥

But I am very glad you like them and I would be very worried if I'd killed them off right now.

Thanks for the lovely reviews Mother Hen! Happy Christmas


 Report Review

Review #4, by marinahill Surprise!

22nd December 2010:
This is just completely lovely. You manage to capture the Weasley madness in one chapter effortlessly. Your gift for characterisation continues to astound me because you've given all these characters their own personalities in such a short space of time! Excellent first chapter, reading on.

Author's Response: no, YOU are completely lovely, this was FAR more than I expected, but deeply appreciated! I think this first chapter got the most polish because at this stage I was all timid and afraid of humour - it's down hill from here :P

Thanks for the wonderful present, couldn't have a better secret santa!


 Report Review

Review #5, by GinnyPotter25 Epilogue

27th November 2010:
It was cute =) I never pictured Teddy with anyone really but now I'm thinking...

Author's Response: Lovely - that is really what I wanted, to write a fluffy piece that still had people thinking outside the Teddoire box. Thankyou so much for taking the time to review, it really is amazing to hear from you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by dianap00 Epilogue

19th October 2010:
That was not at all what I expected. Of course I would want this story to go on forever and have read more of the delicious tension that Rose resolutely ignored (until she, apparently, didn't) and all of the specifics of everything to do with Rose and Teddy and about the Golden Age of Great Britain with Hermione as Prime Minister(!)... Too much too hope for maybe? But I digress, I loved this story and the choice set before Rose. It's all so promising. Again, it wasn't what I expected, but it exceeded many expectations marvelously.

 Report Review

Review #7, by dianap00 Saviour

19th October 2010:
Theodore. I love that she called him that, it adds due gravity and feels a little like she's prodding him. I suppose that Teddy is a member of the neo DA - although I suppose now we should call it something like Potter's Army. I really like that Teddy's not bitter - I half expected him to show regret or something but in the end he seems more determined than anything (which, incidentally, is totes awesome). He wants Rose's help. It's really neat that she's the only one who he would want to have beside him and rather convenient that her expertise is exactly what this mission needs. Oh, Sensible Rose, what shall you do? Is there even a choice, really?

 Report Review

Review #8, by propertyoftheHBP Epilogue

21st August 2010:
Oh, I just love the style this epilogue was written in! I also love how you detailed the lives of each of the Potters/Weasleys, just like you introduced them in the first. (Dominique died? Aw, that's too bad. :[ Anyway.) And I absolutely adore how Rose was the one to fade into the background of a whole lot of famous relatives; strangely, it's very like what I've seen from her here and it's fitting. I assume she was made an undercover Auror as well? That's awesome. And, *squee*! Haha, she married Teddy. That is fantastic. :D

I really like how you broke this up. I think it would have been much to mashed together, rushed, and long as a oneshot--not to mention, this ending wouldn't have nearly had as much effect as it did as its own chapter, along with the other cliffhangers meaning nearly nothing. It's absolutely perfect the way it is, and I enjoyed this story very much. :) Great work on all of it!

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, I didn't even SEE these reviews til now!

I wouldn't - couldn't - have written in this style if I had kept the oneshot, but I am so glad you liked it - it wasn't what people expected, and I didn't know how people would react!

Yes, Rose was made undercover.. if I had time, I would LOVE to write about Spy!Teddrose, I just don't :(
This story however, gave me the foundation for another wip, From Roxy, with Love. They aren't compliant, but it is the same ideas on a wider scale and is probably going to end up a teddrose as well :) (such a sucker for this ship!)

Thanks for the lovely reviews!


 Report Review

Review #9, by propertyoftheHBP Saviour

21st August 2010:
Wow, an undercover Auror? That's really interesting--I haven't seen it before in fanfics, it's definitely original as well. And who doesn't love a secret agent Teddy? *hearts* But really, I like this. The whole idea of it, especially of Harry having his own little group of secret Aurors that very few other people know about, it's just plain awesome. The description of his job and his room was great as well--I can really visualize what it all entails and I love it.

Also, the thought of another magical war being imminent is creepy but really interesting and great as well. Poor creatures, being tagged and followed probably because some guy thinks they're inferior. :( The explanations on the entire political magical situation were just fantastic, too, it's a believable yet vague scenario--definitely not cliche. And Harry's sick? Aww. :(

I loved this chapter just like I loved the past two! I'm on to the last. ;)

 Report Review

Review #10, by propertyoftheHBP Secrets

21st August 2010:
Ooh what is it? Haha. But he's asking her to go to Transylvania with him? How romantic. It's interesting that he asked when they weren't even together (yet) in the first place, though. I like the friendship you've written for them so far, it has a very original air to it and it's interesting. The dialogue between the two of them is especially nice--it isn't forced at all and flows well.

Louis and James were hilarious when they were threatening Scorpius--I really like your version of Louis so far, it's new, I haven't seen it before. And Hermione made a super secret lair-like room? That's so awesome, for lack of a better word. The thought of Tonks having a portrait in Teddy's house--Grimmauld Place, at that--is so sweet. I really like it.

This chapter is just as great as the last, I'm on to the next! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by propertyoftheHBP Surprise!

21st August 2010:
O_O How did I only just notice that you had a Teddy/Rose? Shame on me.

This is hilarious so far! I'm one who absolutely loves Weasley-Potter-Lupin family gatherings, so on top of the ship, this was pure heaven for me. I'm still rather curious as to what Teddy was going on about in the beginning, though...hmm. I just loved the line "You know nothing happened between me and Soph, right?" and then Rose's walking away from him. Haha, it just made me squee kind of. :-]

I absolutely love the descriptions in this. First of the flat, which sounds both hilarious and marvelous all at once. And then of the characters--I loved the paragraph devoted to most of them, everything you've handed them all seems to be very un-cliche, not to mention totally hilarious. :)

I'm loving this so far!

 Report Review

Review #12, by dianap00 Secrets

15th May 2010:
What is he going on about anyway?

Author's Response: You'll just have to read on and see, won't you?

 Report Review

Review #13, by dianap00 Surprise!

15th May 2010:
I don't know. I love Rose and Teddy. I mean, there is a moment which Rose does not witness that I rather like.

Author's Response: I love Teddrose also :)

I'm not sure which moment you refer to, but I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Gypsy_Girl Surprise!

25th April 2010:
I like it, I like it a lot. Rose should be sensible, she is the daughter of Hermione Granger after all.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked it! I hate it when they make Rose a carbon copy of Hermione, but it stands to reason she'll have some similar qualities!
Thanks for the review, means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Verity the Clerk Epilogue

12th April 2010:
Gorgeous. Positively gorgeous.

Author's Response: As are you! ♥

Honestly, thankyou for reviewing. This was an experiment into lighter pieces for me, so it's wonderful to hear that it was actually enjoyable!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Catherine Epilogue

11th April 2010:
Admittedly, I am quite upset this isn't longer! It had the making to be very exciting as a epic story! However the characterizations were done fantastically! In four chapters you gave each next generation member a unique identity. The writing was also superb overall! Great story!

Author's Response: Awww that is lovely of you to say! I think the ending really is far too abrupt, but this was a oneshot I extended, and I simply don't have the time/energy to take on another WIP.

Thankyou so much for a lovely review, it means the world to hear that you liked it so much!


 Report Review

Review #17, by J_O_I_Rowling Epilogue

5th April 2010:
It was an okay ending, more of a chronicle on what happened after she made her choice really. the allusions to lily's death were interesting. magic-mushrooms? anyway, another triumph! it's much better than most fan-fic's i've read. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Yeh, not sure how I feel about the ending either actually, but I was getting tired of what was originally a oneshot and needed to focus on my longer WIPS.

Yes, Dom OD-ed, I have a morbid sense of humour. Thanks so much for all your support and lovely reviews - I will definitely keep writing, but having readers and reviewers like you pushes me to actually get around to posting :)
cheers!


 Report Review

Review #18, by emmapotter Epilogue

3rd April 2010:
Okay, one word.

Wow.

I think it's absolutely fantastic! :) It really ties things up and it's such a short chapter too! :P

anyway, I should go now. Bye!
Love it!
muah
love
Ak~

Author's Response: Oh wow you DARLING you, this only just got validated! I'm so glad you liked it! This whole story is way out of my comfortzone, so it means a lot to hear that! Plus I wasn't sure about the abrupt end :)

Thankyou very much!


 Report Review

Review #19, by FoundriaPenguin Saviour

31st March 2010:
AHHH. Another. Cliffhanger.

You have a good flair for making things dramatic. And I love the fact that Ron now loves James Bond! I can imagine that he would in the Harry Potter books if Hermione introduced him to Muggle movies.(:

There are just a few spelling errors, but since HPFF has this new kid friendly format, they might have been changing words on purpose. I can't be too accurate with that stuff right now.

I've noticed that this was a one-shot before, and I totally support the idea of splitting it into 4 chapters. There's just too much to dig here to fit it all in one chapter! I can't wait to read (and perhaps review!) the final chapter.

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: Oh I know.. am a shocker, really. Drama queen to the max =P

I'll flick through it, I shouldn't be making these basic mistakes but I still do. Yes, I think breaking it up was absolutely the best idea!

Thanks for the reviews! Next chapter should be up today and I hope you enjoy, but no pressure to review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by FoundriaPenguin Secrets

31st March 2010:
Cliffhangers! Honestly.

Hello again! This chapter was very well written, too. In some places, though, there were some missing commas. I don't know if that's because HPFF has done something weird with the new layout (I love it, don't you? ;] ). There are a few run-on sentences as well, so you may want to check over this chapter again.

The plot is gaining more tension! The storyline is a bit cliche, but this is, after all, a fluffy story. Going on to read the next chapter!

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: This was a oneshot I broke up because of the potential for cliffghangers, I must admit. I am awful with commas, so it is probably me :(

LOVED the prank, it was their best yet. Yes, couldn't keep any story tension less for very long. This is very very cliche, but it was my attempt at writing a fluffy happy piece :)

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by FoundriaPenguin Surprise!

31st March 2010:
Hello! This is Foundriapenguin from the forums!

I've never read a Teddy/Rose fic before, and this was refreshing. You did pretty well for a writer who is not used to writing fluff. I'm very impressed!

Your grammar is impeccable, and I enjoyed this first chapter a lot! Great job! Heh, this review's going to be short..I need to read the next chapter right away! 10/10

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: hello foundria! interesting name!

There are some amazing Teddroses, far better than this - check out Eridanus and Violet Gryfindor, they are both goddesses. My beta was a star in ironing out the kinks of this chapter, but I am glad you liked it! You're much too kind!


 Report Review

Review #22, by MidwinterMasque Saviour

31st March 2010:
Brilliant!!
I NEED MORE!!
Pleaaassse?
xx

Author's Response: Ohh you doll. I have the last chapter handwritten, because of this lovely review, I'll post it this weekend instead of next week!

Thanks for the enthusiasm, reviews like this make me smile!


 Report Review

Review #23, by anon Saviour

27th March 2010:
i like your story. great plot. thanks a lot

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! You are most welcome, I write for myself but I actually get around to posting my scrawls for readers! Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by emmapotter Saviour

27th March 2010:
Once again, you don't fail to fail to disappoint. :) This was a great chapter! I really like how you've characterized Rose and Teddy. How many years do they have between them? Six, if my math it good. :D
Anyway, I think I'll go now. I should really hit the sack. It's really late here! :)
love
Ak~

Author's Response: Oh, what a lovely review! Thanks! I think it's eight years between them, but Rose is very mature :)
Night loff! Glad you liked it, the next one will be out next week, promise!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Sleeping Paige  Surprise!

9th March 2010:
Margravine,

I swear that I wrote out your review three times and it never got posted. I thought for a moment that perhaps you deleted it. Please respond, as these take time to write out. I’m not saying anything happened. These tend to get less and less with each draft because I simply get tired of looking at it. Be glad that I’m doing it again.

First off, I wasn’t to start this discussion off talking about writing. You say here that you ‘hope that this is a good attempt at fluff’. I’m thinking, ‘Dear God, no, tell me she didn’t just put that and she’s asking for reviews.’ And we haven’t touched your writing yet, so I did not just insult you. ‘Fluff’ should not even be considered as a genre. (Almost all the stories here are not only written poorly, they fall into this category. Even worse, there is this thing called ‘romance fluff’. It’s not even writing. It’s so packed full will clichés that the words aren’t even worth reading. No thought, no description, no detail, no purpose: it lacks all of this, and it has flowery dialogue to boot. If you are looking for reviews, that’s all good and fine. However, if you’re practicing as a writer, this is NOT a trap you want to fall into. It’s the trash that fills county newspapers. You need a connection (even if they don’t get it) with an audience. Don’t just write to fill up a paper because you will not care about it. Yes, love, you will have stacked clichés like Dom’s layered cake. Don’t make this your goal. Just write.

That being said, I think the best of the piece is this banter between Teddy and Rose. You give him a joking personality. I actually like this part where you have his eye colour switching shades. However, you lose me with this ‘golden brown hair’ because it reminds me of Twilight. Meyer, unfortunately, makes her living off of flowery language. You want to know why it’s so fun to write? It requires little thought because little girls tend to squeal at this type of thing. Not me. Excess, unnecessary detail kills a piece.

All right, I want to discuss Dom. You have her as ‘floating into the room’. Cliché Veela. You realise that Fleur was the granddaughter of a Veela. So, that means he kids would be like, 1/16th? That’s if they got the hereditary trait. She’s not drop dead gorgeous. Pretty, perhaps, but not everything is related to genetics. Whether that temper is related to Veela thing or the French attitude, I think you’re over exaggerating on both points. Especially in the case of Louis.
You have grammatical errors. Notice the commas after dialogue shouldn’t be there. It’s a nice piece, but yourrely too much on dialogue, so we don’t know who is who. All we get is ‘he said’. ‘she said’, and most of it doesn’t seem to have a purpose, as far as moving the storyline along. You are writing Next Generation. You have to build these characters from these clues that JKR gave in that dialogue. I would revise. I do that all the time.

I know this is harsh, and I hope that’s what you wanted. I hope this helps.

Write. Please respond to the review and return the favour,

Sleeping Paige
6/10

Author's Response: Niyuri, I assumed you had rethought your wording in removing your last 'review', as I did not I presume the staff removed it for being a flame. If you expect to keep your forum status and for people to return the favour I would politely suggest you be more considerate in your reviews. I used to be a lit major myself, and welcome cc - this and the last review amuses rather than offends me - but if, like many on this site, I was a young developing writer I would have been crushed. I imagine many wouldn't reply, but you've made such an effort I will address all the points you raise out of courtesy alone.

Fluff:
I have written in every single era and in a wide range of genres. You may not like fluff, but I think any half decent author needs to be able to write across fields and experiment rather than stick to what comes naturally to them. Fluff was my experimentation, hence the AN. Also, can I remind you this is fanfiction? It's meant to be fun. If I want literature, I'll read Bronte or Tolstoy or write OF. Fluff is very much a genre, both here and commercially, whether or not you like it. It is often cliche, but avoiding every single cliche in the world is not possible or even original, working with them innovatively is, and takes more skill.

Teddy and hair: Andromeda had light brown hair, Remus sandy, as the vast majority of the world has shades of brown, golden brown is not uncommon. Rumour has it Edward Cullen has BRONZE hair, which is quite different.

Dom/Victoire: I don't believe I mentioned Veelas anywhere, but as the children of beautiful Fleur and Bill, who pre Greyback caught interest of Fleur, there is no way these children would not be stunning.

Grammer: most helpful part of the review, my beta and I both missed the Weasley misspelling.

Flowery Language : I believe history is littered with people (*cough* Shakespeare) making a living from it.

Thankyou for the review. All the best in the future


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>