Reading Reviews for Need You Now
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lillylover22 Need You Now

24th April 2012:
That was beautiful 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you for all of your reviews! You're too kind. ^_^ --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tee Need You Now

21st April 2011:
Aww. I loved it! I wanted to keep reading though *pouts* I don't know if I'm just emotional or if it was your writing but I even got a lil teary eyed. Can't wait to read more of your work!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you! So glad that you enjoyed the story. :) And thanks for taking time to leave a review!! --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #3, by ilharrypotter Need You Now

6th April 2011:
First: I love Lady Antebellum and this song is one of my personal favorites. It's so powerful and incredible - I just love, love, love it!

Second: I think I've shared with you my feelings about slash before. I don't really like it too much - I read it, but I don't adore it. HOWEVER... I'm really loving Sirius/Remus. Like, a lot. So, thank you for changing my mind. :)

I love your writing. This is my 7th of 7 reviews, but you should trust that I'll be back again. Your writing is so powerful and addicting - I can't stay away!

Thank you for participating in my challenge from 100,000,000 years ago, and I'm sorry it took so long! I'm loving your writing now, though, so I'll be a faithful reader!

-Paige.

Author's Response: Yay for more Remus/Sirius love!! ♥

Thank you so much for all your kind reviews! You're really sweet! :) --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheOne Need You Now

26th September 2010:
Ohh... :D this is one of the most passionate, touching, love fic I have ever read! It's so beautiful. Very nice flow, the lyrics were in appropriate places for the story. It was so believable and real and just great... just absolutely great! Just a suggestion, it seems more personal if they call each other by their first names as opposed to "Moony" and "Padfoot." However if you feel that their nicknames are more personal then by all means keep them just as the reader it felt like they should be referring to each other by their given names. Anyway, super amazing fic! Thank you so much for the link I really enjoyed this! By the way I almost NEVER give out 10/10... but...

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm gushing right now! I guess we're just opposite on the nicknames thing. I've always viewed that when they use the nicknames, they are enforcing that special bond that no one else has with them. Like a secret handshake or a inside joke. Just my thoughts, but I totally see where some people may view the flip side of that and think as they get older, it should phase out. More of a personal taste, I suppose. :D

I'm really flattered! Thank you so much for all your kind words. If you don't mind, I'm gonna drop by with my other Remus/Sirius song fic and see how you like it in comparison. :D --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #5, by pennyardelle Need You Now

22nd August 2010:
Hi, Jenna! Thanks for coming by and requesting a review--slash and song fics are indeed included in my "anything", but I really haven't read much of either so far, so you requesting is helping me branch out more! :)

There's something that inherently works with Sirius/Remus, I think. I've never really read them as a ship before, but their close friendship really lends itself to a lot of realistic opportunities for a romantic relationship, especially when you set the story after their school years, when they've shared so much grief and isolation. I thought that the way you brought them together in the flashback was really sweet, and you provided us with a nice moment of suspense after Sirius asked how hard it could be to look at someone and say, "I love you". :)

One thing I often find to be a problem with songfics is that the lyrics are poorly incorporated or unnecessary. I really liked how you included the lyrics to basically signify breaks in the narrative, though! I've never seen anyone do that before (which might just show how few songfics I've read), and I thought it gave the lyrics more of a place in the story. As to whether they really enhanced the story greatly, I'm not totally sure if they really packed in much more emotion than the actual writing itself did on its own. It really was a very emotional piece of writing, and I found that, more often than not, when I got to the parts with the lyrics, I just skipped right over them because I wanted to keep reading. I think maybe this is just a thing I personally have with songfics, though, so I wouldn't take my opinion at face value.

The only thing within the story itself that really made me raise an eyebrow was when you said that the photograph of them in sixth year had been taken 25 years before. They would have been 16 or 17 at that time, so 25 years passing would have made them both in their forties, and neither of them lived to be that age. If you're setting this at the time of OotP, there would have been 19 years (if my math is right) between their sixth year and then.

I really enjoyed your writing, and I thought you particularly did a nice job with writing dialogue. I did feel like your sentences often had a lot of the same rhythm and length to them, though, so maybe it would be good in future writing to try and change up the structure and length of your sentences. (I know this is something that I should probably work on, too, so I do understand how hard it can be to break out of those patterns.) I think that maybe this touches on what you asked about your writing being too "stuffy". I wouldn't say that it was stuffy, really, just that the similar sentence structures made it read a little more rigid. It was sort of like your pattern of writing was really guiding the way the words fell on to the page, more so than the story was really bringing them to life...if that makes any sense.

I was glad this had a happy ending. :) I mean, I'm a sucker for happy endings in the first place, but it was nice to see you providing both Sirius and Remus with some happiness at a time in their lives which generally seemed to be pretty miserable.

I'll try to address whether the two one-shots were different enough in the next review! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad that you accept song fics. :D As someone who LOVES to write/read them, I find a hard time finding other readers. Actually easier to get a Slash reviewed than a song fic. LOL

I actually do that when I read them to. I listen to the song, then I read the story. If they are signifigant lyrics, then I glance at them. So you aren't alone there. I'm glad that you found them useful in breaking the story.

Sirius was 37 at the time of death and the photo was taken in their...6th year, if I remember right. So yeah, it woulda been technically 21 years ago, that's why there was the almost. I can't remember exactly. :D I'll check though.

It made sense. I get what you're saying. More like I was writing the story than the story was writing itself. :D

Thank you so much for your review. It was very helpful and I'll check the math when I go to make the formatting edits. :D --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #6, by Adrielne Need You Now

21st August 2010:
(Prize review #5. Or is it?)

You know, if it wasn't for the great quality of your writing, I would have run away when I read the first few paragraphs. But the language and style, the smooth flow of the story, the characterization, the way I feel brought into the story and emotionally connected to the characters...

It doesn't make me want to close the window. Actually, it makes me want to read on. Despite the slash. Odd, isn't it? I'll check my temperature once I'm done...

Another wonderful chapter. Really, I mean it. I know it might sound odd to constantly be getting praise, but I like everything about it (except for the pairing). The song lyrics match the events perfectly, the flashbacks are easily understandable and separated from the "now" part...

The only thing I could possibly be picky about is the way you change points of view. It's only 99% smooth. One percent is missing!!! Still, most people only manage about 60% smoothness. But there's always room for improvement, right?

Another great read. If not for the ship...

Adrielne

Author's Response: Yup, it is. :D

Okay, my jaw is certainly on the floor now. That's like a double compliment and you've pretty much made my day today with these reviews. :D It means a lot that you think it is good, depite the shipping. And there is certainly always room to improve. :D Thank you so much. --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #7, by gerardwaylover567 Need You Now

26th July 2010:
This story just made me a Sirius/Remus shipper. I was toying with Sirius/Lily. But your story just changed my mind. It's amazing. I love it.

Author's Response: Woo Hoo!!
Aww, Sirius/Lily...no!
Sirius was like a hard core devoted friend to James, that ship makes me cry. I'm sooo glad that I could help convert you to Team DogStar/Remius, whichever you like to use. We meet on Wednesdays. LOL

No, but really, thank you for your review, I'm glad that you liked the story. :D --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #8, by Nynfadora Need You Now

13th July 2010:
:) Epic song, and it fits the your story line perfectly. Your style was great, and each part was clearly marked out from past to older-past :)

I loved your vocbualry, beautiful words; lovingly; retched; disgust- all really effective.

Well done =D

Author's Response: Now you've gone and made my morning even better. :D You're so kind and thank you so much for all that you've said and taking the time to say it. --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #9, by Siriius Need You Now

13th March 2010:
This is probably my favorite Remius one-shot you've written :D The song just fits in so perfectly with the story. I just noticed something: it's always Sirius saying it first with us! Like, in my story and the RP and now your two Remius one-shots. He's said it first all the time. But Remus did fall in love with him first and it's understandable seeing as he's shy (: But dude, he's so cute. I just want to squeeze him. And he kissed him first; oh my. In the flashback, I'm talking about :L Remius so make me feel all tingly inside! Another perfect one-shot < 3

Author's Response: Well, with these last two one shots, it was Sirius to say it first. In my head it usually is because of the fact that Remus is such a coward and wouldn't want to risk it with him. In this one, I imagine that Remus fell very early, say about 13 and Sirius a while after.

*on a side note, "Barking" (which will be here soon) was Remus saying first as well as "Battlefield" so my Remus isn't always a scaredy pants. :D*

Thankies for the review. < 3
Just know if it wasn't for you and your brilliant Sirius, none of these would be here!


 Report Review

Review #10, by MissGriffindor Need You Now

7th March 2010:
Usually I can't stand Remus/Sirius- but this, this was... amazing! Seriously, awesome writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad I could convert you to a Remius fan, even if just for one story. :D

--Jenna


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login