32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by rozen_maiden (not logged in) Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

5th December 2013:
You always know how to make me smile and feel all warm and fuzzy. I loved it :)

Author's Response: Aw! Again, thanks again. I could say the same back to you, about giving me warm fuzzies and making me smile.

 Report Review

Review #2, by love_is_magic_ Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

4th December 2013:
I absolutely adored this story! It was so unique and endearing. But most of all, it was flawlessly written. I really did love it, thanks so much for a great story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad that even after all these years, this story makes people smile and find a little Christmas spirit. And thanks so much for the compliments.

 Report Review

Review #3, by FriendofMolly Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

14th November 2013:
1917FarmGirl,
This was the first story Jet mentioned. It was all he hinted at. I'm so very glad that I was able to read this. It had me smiling, yet choking up inside. How sweet that the brothers gave their all so that Ginny would have the best ever Christmas. I know that someday Ginny figures it out. That is just one reason that the brothers will always have a very special place in her heart.
Thank you for writing this,
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you for reading this! This story, even though it's almost 4 years old now, still has a very special place in my heart. I wrote it for a dear friend and it means a lot. It always makes me smile when others dig it up, read it, and enjoy it. And I'll admit I'm a sucker for family Christmas stories.

I'm sure someday, Ginny will figure out how she got that lovely dollhouse, and she'll love her brothers even more than she already does.

Thank you and Merry Christmas!
- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #4, by Bmorgad Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

25th June 2013:
Best Fan Fic I've read yet!!!

Author's Response: Holy cow! What a review! Thank you so much! I'm completely honored! And so glad you read it. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fawkes394 Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

24th April 2013:
I loved it! So sweet and adorable and happy! I really liked the twins with all their weird talking and their natural evilness, I think that's exactly how they were as kids you portrayed them perfectly. And Ron is so cute! Selling his comics and offering to play with Ginny...I laughed so much when the twins found him after asking his mother about babies. : )

Author's Response: First of all, sorry I'm slow responding! I do tend to let these things pile up a bit before I remember to answer them, and they are so lovely I don't know why I do it. I guess I've just got out of the habit of having people review my stuff so I forget to check.

Next, thank you so much for the lovely review! It always makes me smile when someone finds this old story and reads it. It's one that's pretty close to my heart, so it means that much more when they like it as well.

Thank you for reading, and I'm so glad you found it enjoyable!


 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyLunaPotter17 Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

15th January 2013:
Oh my Merlin, I absolutely love this! Ginny is so cute in this. She might be a witch with six older brothers but she's really just a normal little girl at heart.

I love the way the boys all worked hard for their little sister (Gee, I wish my sister would do that for me - her one and only sibling!) and the end result was amazing. I can just imagine a young Ginny's face when she saw the doll's house.

I loved it. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This story was so much fun to write. I loved exploring the Weasley family when they little and all at home. It always makes me feel so nice when others tell me they liked it, too.

Have you hinted to your sister you want a dollhouse for Christmas - try it, you never know what coudl happen. LOL.

Thanks again for reading! Reviews are like candy.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Mystique Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

24th May 2012:
This story was really sweet. You portrayed all the characters really well which is quite a hard thing to do. I loved this story.
CypressQueen

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really loved writing this story. I know it's probably not the most original or amazingly written story around, but it's close to my heart because family is so important to me, and that's what I tried to write about in this story. It's always nice to hear others enjoyed it as well.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by hp lover Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

4th December 2011:
that was the most beautiful story and wonderfully written, i actually had a tear in my eye. Good Work!!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's one of the ones I had the most fun writing, so I'm always happy when people like it. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #9, by LOLhaily Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

19th July 2011:
Ah. This was so cute. What I would do to get older brothers like that, Ginny is SO lucky. And I'm going to tell you the truth that I actually shed a tear when reading this. Bill, Charlie, Percy, Fred, George, and Ron are just too sweet. I love that Ron sold his comics just so that he could help pay for the dollhouse. And the twins, I can just imagine the. This is a truly wonderful one shot.

-LOLhaily

Author's Response: Thank you! And I'm so sorry this response is very late. Real life has been insane lately.

I've never had an older brother (until Eldy adopted me, that is) and so I know how you feel, sometimes wishing you knew what that was like. It was fun to write a story with that family dynamic in it.

I should be sad that I made you cry, but it's really a great compliment! This was a BLAST to write and I always love getting reviews for it. Thanks so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #10, by FOREVERHARRY468 Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

5th May 2011:
wonderful story! Amazing, I cried at the end. It's so nice to see the weasley family before the second war, thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's so nice to know you enjoyed my little story! It was a blast to write it. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Michelle Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

27th March 2011:
awwee!!! This made me tear up a couple of times : ) Really good story.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. It's one of my favorites so I always love it when others enjoy it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Chuu Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

15th March 2011:
my !!! It is so cute !!!
I love it !!!
I might believe in Santa Claus again lol !!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it, and it rekindled your Santa spirit. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Singularity Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

25th December 2010:
I read this story a few months back, but now that it's Christmas, I just had to read it again. You've done such a perfect job with this story. All of the Weasleys are characterized exactly right. This is something that I could definitely see happening. They are such a wonderful, close family and would do anything for one another. Did I mention that I was a sucker for sentimentality, because I totally am. You managed to make this sweet and touching without taking it over board.

Beautiful.

Happy Christmas,
Singularity

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review. To hear that people are reading my stories multiple times really makes my day. And also to know that people think I got the Weasleys in characters just gives me warm fuzzies as I worked so hard on that. So thanks again! And I'm so sorry it's taken me this long to reply to this review and let you know how much I appreciated it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by DracoFerret11 Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

24th November 2010:
Hey there!

Okay, so, funny story. This is actually DarkRose from the forums with a review that you requested in... July. XD I'm so, so, so, so sorry that it's taken me so long to get here. I actually left the site and forums for a little while and fell out of touch, but I'm back now and I've got your review. :]

This was amazing. I really love everything you write. I'm adding this to my favorites in a moment. See, here's the thing: you write incredibly believably and really well. I love all the emotions that you portray so perfectly.

My favorite characterization (though every single character was flawless) was Ron's. Because he realizes that he can help by selling his own stuff. And that's just sweet. I feel like Ron really would do something like that for Ginny and never tell her because he'd be embarassed. It was adorable.

I love, love, love, loved Charlie and Bill. They were amazing. The fact that they were willing to give up their own Christmas presents for Ginny was terrific. And I thought that "Wand Wheaties" was a cute idea for a cereal title, haha. Great job.

Perfect Molly/Arthur characterization. I adored that you added the part where Arthur was crying because he felt so bad about not being able to give his kids a proper Christmas. That was so touching... I almost cried myself.

Great job throwing in Uncle Bilius! That's really original and unique! I loved it! And the Fred/George interaction with each other and the other characters. It was great. Especially the conversation with Bill about the dictionary! :D

Okay, so, I'm really just rambling at this point... but I really think the entire thing was terrific. One of the best holiday stories I've ever read. It was amazing. Great, great job!

xoxo,
DracoFerret11/DarkRose

Author's Response: You know, it's amazing how your funny story has such a familier ring to it. Why, you ask? Well, because I just barely, tonight, finished replying to about 15 reviews I'd had waiting for responses since August. So, I'm in no position to be upset by a late review. No worries at all, dear.

And I'm so glad you liked it! Adding to favorites is a HUGE compliment! Thanks!

Flawless characters? WOW! I'm blushing here! And I'm so glad you liked Ron. I was worried when I was writing this that he was the one I jipped the most. I just wasn't sure I'd got his character correct. You've put my mind at ease a bit. And he did act rather nobly here, didn't he, selling those comics. :)

Charlie and Bill were fun to write. You almost never get to write them interacting with their younger siblings when they were all little because by the time most of them had appeared, Bill and Charlie were already at school for most of the year. Christmas was the perfect opportunity for a full on Weasley gang bash. And of course they'd give up their Christmas for their siblings - that's what older siblings do. LOL.

Poor Molly and Arthur. They're such loving, devoted, good parents, and yet things are always so hard for them. I admit I've fallen a bit in love with them and their family, and I wanted to show the power of love, not material goods, is what makes a family and Christmas.

Uncle Bilius just seemed to fit, so I threw him in there. And he was fun to write so I'm glad i did.

No worries about rambling - I loved the review! Thanks so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #15, by DeliciousDreamer Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

6th November 2010:
Naw. I'm tearing up. I believe this is about the sweetest story I've read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by melian Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

16th August 2010:
Again. Bawling. Like a baby. Tears streaming down my cheeks. As soon as Ginny pointed out the doll house I knew what would be happening (though not how it would happen) and I'm a real sucker for sentimentality. I can't even watch the HP films without crying, that's how bad I am. But this, this takes the cake. The Weasley boys banding together for the sake of Ginny, even though she'd have no idea they'd done anything at all, was fantastic ... even Percy coming to the fore at the end, even though he'd sworn not to have anything to do with it. Heartwarming. Lovely. Tear-inducing. :)

Some lovely bits of dialogue in there, too. Bill saying he'll be locking his door from now on because the twins scare him a little; the "small army" conversation between Arthur and Molly; the bit about Fred wiping his cheeks down after those middle-aged women got a little too friendly at the stall in Diagon Alley; the idea of Bilius taking Fabian and Gideon to see the Whirlygig Witches when they were only twelve. All of that just added to the story, giving it more depth and making it feel more real.

Overall, yet another brilliant bit of writing. Though I'm going to have to have a word to you about writing so much emotional stuff, you know. It's very draining and, like I said, I'm in a public place right now. With not enough tissues.

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: Good think you're a sucker for sentimentality because my stuff is chuck full of it! :D This fic is one that sorta means a lot to me, and so I really don't care if anyone else reads it or not because that's not why I wrote it, but at the same time it does make me feel all those warm fuzzies when someone does and they like it. Because it could so easily be construed as completely sappy.

One of the things I love the most about the Harry Potter books is the issue of family and loyalty. That's why the Weasleys are my favorites. It was so fun to have a chance to write them all, while they were all still at home, and yet still try to make them the characters we all recognize. All those conversations and events you point out were part of that, and it was really fun to think them up so I'm glad you enjoyed them!

Now, should I still be worried about this word you were going to have with me, since it's been so long since you read this? Do I need to go into hiding?


 Report Review

Review #17, by schoenemaedchen Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

9th August 2010:
And...you've done it once again.

What an absolutely amazing story. Heartwarming, kind, thoughtful, wonderfully written and the kind of story that can only leave you smiling.

Characterizations were 100% spot on, without a doubt. I think my favorite part was when the twins come in for the first time and Fred goes to the hamper to hide but George is already two steps ahead of him. Classic!

I also absolutely loved the general plot. You really pulled the meaning of Christmas into this story. It's about family and love, and you really personified that in your writing. I mean, it is a "typical warm-fuzzy" Christmas story, but things like this happen all the time behind closed doors and the world never hears about it. I think these are exactly the kind of Christmas stories that need to be out and about every time of year!

I also really appreciated you showing the Molly-Arthur relationship. I think they must have such an incredibly strong marriage after all they've been through and you showed it in such a nice way.

Other than that, I honestly have nothing to say, which doesn't happen with me often. I am absolutely content and happy after reading this, which is something I can't say about every story I read. So props and I'm anxiously awaiting your next!!

PS...WRITE MORE CANON, you do an amazing job!

Inifinity out of /10

Author's Response: Done it again? Is that a good thing? *is worried*

Thank you so much. This is one of the stories I enjoyed writing the very most, and it always makes me feel really good to hear others enjoy reading it.

I'm also so glad you liked the characterizations! Those are hard enough to do normally, but doing everyone younger was REALLY HARD! LOL. Fun, but hard. I just kept hoping it wasn't too cheesy. :)

I was really hoping the message of family and love would come through and not just the uber fuzzy, nausiating fluffiness, LOL. It was so fun to write about the Weasleys at a time when they were all together and living at the Burrow. Family dynamics change and you lose something when the kids start to leave home. Not that what you get in return isn't just as good, but it's still never the same. It was fun to have an excuse to write that for the Weasleys.

As for Molly and Arthur, I really, really love that relationship. I think it's so under appreciated and love having the chance to bring it out to the front. Thanks for noticing!

As for writing more canon? *shrugs* In my twisted little world my stories ARE canon, LOL. But, maybe. We'll see...

Thanks so much for reading and for your high praise! You always leave me blushing and I love getting your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Valia Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

10th July 2010:
How adorable! I really enjoyed the story. I loved all the Weasley boys coming up with ways to earn money, just to give their little sister a wonderful Christmas. And then how happy Ginny was when the morning came! I also especially loved the boys' rebuttal of their parents' questions by claiming magic was to blame. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I really had such a fun time writing this story and thinking of different ways for the boys to earn the money they would need. I'm glad you liked it! As for the boys telling there parents where the dollhouse came from, that was too much fun to pass up. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Wyn Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

9th July 2010:
That has to be just about one of the sweetest and adorable things I have ever read! What amazing big brothers Ginny has! I love how even Percy came around. I also loved the sneaky twins and Ron selling his beloved comics. The ending's great, as well. I love Ron's reply to Ginny's question about the toy auror staying to tea. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I had an absolute blast writing it so it's very nice to know others like reading it. And I agree, Ginny has the best big brothers in the world, even Percy. Thank you so much for reading and leaving a review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Muggle born 12 Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

20th March 2010:
I loved it and so did Mad libs 12 AKA my little sis

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Miss Lily Potter Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

14th March 2010:
Okay. So, I'm really sorry this review took me so long to do. But... Wow. I wish I'd gotten to it sooner. (: I'll try to make this review as in-depth as I can, to make up for my massive lateness.

Wow. This was really a great one-shot. When I saw the length, I was apprehensive, because I'm not a fan of staring at a screen that long. But I couldn't look away. (: The entire thing was filled with heartwarming twists and the way you portrayed all the brothers was beautiful. (:

I'll start with what I liked, and then go onto the concrit, all right?

I love the name "Wand Wheaties" for cereal. (: I love when authors put in little touches to make it more 'magical', and you did this a lot. (:

Agh! The beginning, with them thinking they had to tell Ginny about Santa... It made me want to cry, and by the end, I did cry. ): But more on that later. (:

I loved how each brother had their own thing: Ron with his comics, which I adored: It really made him seem more like a brother in this story; Percy, with the cheating on homework, which was a GREAT touch, by the way (I was expecting him to do something, but not something so un-Percy-ish ;D); and the rest, with the various jobs. It made it more Christmas-y, and while it may have been cheesy, it was cheesy in the best way.

You asked about making the characters recognizable, and I think you did a great job, with all of them. We don't know muhc about Bill and Charlie in canon, but you matched what we DO know. (: And Ginny, to me, seemed totally spot-on, with the dollhouse. ):

And about that. I loved how you had Bill realizing that Ginny was a little girl, and the realization that spawned her getting her dollhouse. (: It was very sweet.

There really wasn't anything that I didn't like. I was thinking about it, trying to find concrit, and I really couldn't think of anything. Your dialogue, grammar, everything is fantastic, especially your characterization.

Great job on this. It was truly heartwarming, and the ending, with Ginny not getting her dollhouse and then getting it, made me cry. ):

10/10.
-Jasmine

Author's Response: No worries at all on how long it took for such a wonderful review! This week has been rather long and trying for me, so I probably needed to come home and find this waiting for me this week more than I would have if you'd gotten to it sooner.

Such a wonderful review! How do I think you for it? It put a huge grin on my face. :)

Yeah, I know this story is rather long for a one-shot, but it just kept growing when I was writing it and it would have lost some of it's affect if I had broken it up. I'm glad it sucked you in enough that you didn't notice the length after you'd started it, though.

I'm a huge fan of details, in writing, in movies, etc. I love it when people take the time to make things more realistic. So I do try to do that in my own writing, although not always very succesfully. It means a lot to have you bring it up, as it is something I'm constantly trying to get better at.

Writing the Weasley boys as younger and all at home was so much fun! Don't get me wrong, it was also really hard and lots of work, but it was fun to get to play with the whole lot of them at once, and have them interacting as kids and siblings instead of adults. Having you say you liked them and thought they were all in characters is as good as giving me banana pudding! (And I love banana pudding. :) )

Sorry I made you cry at the end. I needed that little bit of drama for everyone to think the twins had failed in their mission to set the dollhouse up...just a little tension, before the happy ending. But, I guess if you were crying before it was done (in a good way) I did okay.

Thanks again! This review was awesome!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Pixileanin Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

9th March 2010:
Well, I hopped on and took the ride and ended up loving every minute of it! I don't think I have anything to say about your story that hasn't already been said. You captured a wonderful moment in the lives of the Weasley family and it was awesome!

Author's Response: Well, then, I'm so glad you DID hop on and take the ride! It's so nice to have reviews such as yours, and to know my little story made someone happy to read it.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Jet LaBarge Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

7th March 2010:
Fantastic one shot! Had tears in my eyes when I was finished. Best of all it shows the love in the Weasley family, how they all love each other.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very fond of the Weasley family and love any opportunity to show them all together. It was very fun to write them like that, and show that love they really do have for each other.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #24, by emmapotter Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

23rd February 2010:
That was absolutely lovely!
I had tears in my eyes as I finished this! And I don't cry easily (I didn't cry when Dumbledore or Sirius, died, btw)
It was such a heart-warming story hat made me go, "Aw.." Bill was perfect as were the rest of the Weasleys. Fred and George stole the show though!
They were awesomastic! (awesome+fantastic)
Ron was in character and Percy, well Percy was Percy *shakes head*
They all came around in the end though and I was happy to see that! :)
Ginny was so freaking cute! It was such a great one-shot! :)
I.'m at a loss of words.
Hugs,
Aakanksha
P.S: 100,000,000,000,000,000/10! pity Fred died. *wipes tear away*

Author's Response: Holy Hannah! Your score for me, I don't think I can actually COUNT that high! I'm flattered beyond words! Thanks so much!

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. It was a blast to write all the Weasley kids so much younger than we are used to seeing them, but also rather difficult as I tried to keep them all in character. It always makes me feel rewarded to see reviewers say that it worked.

Fred and George stole the show? Drat. heheheh. I TRIED not to let my blatant Twin love show through, but apparently it didn't work very well. Oh well...LOL

Thanks so much for the wonderful review!

As for Fred dying...if you're ever interested in checking out any of my other stuff, I sort fix that...


 Report Review

Review #25, by butterbeergal Yes, Ginevra, There is a Santa Claus

15th February 2010:
Very, very heartwarming piece of work. From any other family, that would have been too much for me, but for the Weasleys, that was simply spot on!

I really have to commend you for keeping the Weasley boys in character, especially with how they dealt with the situation. I will elaborate below. :)

You just have to love Bill and Charlie, don't you? I wish I had them for older brothers. I don't know much about them as compared to Ron and the twins but here, you've really shown how good and responsible older brothers they are, very much consistent with what JKR has made them out to be in the books. I also perceived them to be perfectly dependable and hardworking people so the way they tried to raise the money for Ginny's present was definitely something they would actually have done in "real fiction life". Hehe.

Percy. Ah, yes, he's got to be my favourite in your story. The way you wrote him here was every inch the Percy Weasley we know from the series. Pompous and arrogant at first but eventually, his kind nature comes through. And doing someone else's homework to get the money? Classic Percy!

Fred and George are quite the clever and charming young boys. And they always do everything with flair, eh? I love how you brought out the entrepreneurial side of them at this young age which is, again, consistent with how they turned out later on in life.

And Ron was perfect in here, too. Always in the shadows of his older brothers, always getting stuck with the dirty work, but always, always pulling through in the end no matter how big the price he's got to pay.

Just to clarify, Bilius is supposed to be Molly's brother or brother-in-law and the kids' uncle, right? But Molly refers to him as Uncle Bilius here so yeah, just got a bit confused in that part (or are my eyes just playing tricks on me as I've been staring at my laptop for most part of the day? o.O). Sorry to have to mention this, I know it's a bit of a buzz kill, but I felt this was important to point out. But other than that, he was a perfectly lovable uncle!

I don't mean to undermine Ginny, Molly and Arthur here as they are also very much in character but the brothers are most definitely the stars and I really want to congratulate you for a job well done. I read one of your responses below, and I know the feeling of almost giving up on writing, but with something like this, I strongly urge you to come up with more inspiring stories! This is definitely something that epitomizes the true meaning of Christmas (even if I'm reading this in the middle of February. Haha!).

It really is the most wonderful time of the year, eh? ;)

Author's Response: I'm so so sorry this has taken me so long to get to. This was such an amazing review I've wanted to respond a dozen times, but I've been burning the candle at both ends so much lately everytime I sat down to write a repsonse, I'd start to fall asleep. And a review this nice deserved a coherent response.

As you've probably figured out by now, I do love the Weasleys. They are one of my two favorite fictional families of all time, so writing them is always very fun.

To hear you say you think I kept them in character completely made my day. I worked so hard at that, to keep them who we know them as, but also make allowences for them being younger. I was really worried about it, so I'm glad it worked.

Bill and Charlie - they really are the epitome of big brothers, aren't they. Always looking out for everyone else, trying to do what they can to help take care of the others. It was very fun writing them still at home with the rest of the gang.

Percy - I have a soft spot for him. I know he was a royal git for much of the books, but he's still a Weasley, and I'm really glad he came around. It was fun to write him at a time when he was still part of the family, even if he was a little different.

Twins - they are and always will be my favorites, so I couldn't resist a little entrepreneurial flair from them. :)

And Ron. Yes, thanks to the evil influence of my big brother theelderwand, I had to let him play the part of the hero for once. That's our Ron.

As for Uncle Bilius, I can't remember reading anywhere exactly how he was tied in. I knew he was an uncle, but on which side and in which generation I don't think was ever specified. So I took a little artistic license and made him Molly's uncle, and therefor the kids great-uncle. Hope that didn't throw you off too badly.

Thanks so much for reading and leaving such a wonderful review! It made my day! Heck, it made my week!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>