Reading Reviews for Gingers
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roonyskatoony Ginger Here, Ginger There

1st July 2010:
Haha loved it! I can't really say much other than that because it's kind of hard to do on the first chapter! :D 10/10

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! And sorry for such a delayed response. Chapters should be coming for this really soon.

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #2, by CARPE DIEM Ginger Here, Ginger There

29th January 2010:
Scorpius, a Ravenclaw? Interesting; I like it. And I'm so excited that Lucy is a main character! She's my favorite Weasley. xD

Love your humor! Update soon.

Author's Response: Hi there!

He's always been a Ravenclaw as far as I've seen it. We don't really know which house his mother was in, so dependent on her, he could be in another house aside from Slytherin. So I went with that =).

Really? She's my favourite Weasley too! If I could pull off the female POV better, I would definitely have written a story with her by now. Percy's kids are just so, so interesting, especially since barely anyone ever writes about them.

I'm happy that you liked it! I always worry that what I think is funny in my head, nobody else would get. So that's reassuring.

I'll update as soon as I can! My computer isn't really cooperating lately =(.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #3, by lily16 Ginger Here, Ginger There

22nd January 2010:
I love this story :D

"I just figured that if we somehow became a couple, I could slap a blonde wig on her and call it a day."

^That was one of the funniest lines I ever read. Scorpius is so adorable!

Author's Response: Hi there!

I'm glad you like the story! That's probably my favourite line from it :).

Scorp is my favourite character to write. The supporting cast is fun too, but I prefer being inside of his head. So I'm happy that you find him adorable.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #4, by RocketBabyDoll9 Ginger Here, Ginger There

18th January 2010:
Hello there. Rocket here with your review as per your request at the forums. (:

(I shouldn't really be doing this, since I have to wake up early in the morning, and planned on going to bed at 10. It's currently 9.54 :P)

Let me start off by asking you why in the world you were worried about flow? Your flow was fantastic, and that's not a compliment I typically give lightly. I like that you wrote from a male perspective. I find that difficult, though it's something I'm toying with. :P

As far as your characterization goes, you did well pulling off that he is not only a Ravenclaw, but he's male. You addressed his grades, and essays and the like, which I rarely see other authors do when they write from a Ravenclaw perspective. The fact that you insulted Molly's fake nails, and 'odd shade of orange' hair, made it sound all the more male. I know, having grown up with two older brothers, that decent men don't like all that fake beauty stuff, so kudos to you for male characterization. And no one ever calls red-hair 'orange' except for people like me, and apparently you! hah.

You also made Scorpius a fairly dignified character, but a comic relief as a narrator as well. I like it when authors pull off witty type characters. I see too many stories where the character is over the top funny, or over the top serious. So kudos for pulling off both so well!

I also like the way you introduced your characters. I'm going to assume that most of the main characters were introduced here. I also like the fact that you used canon names!! Yay, canon! ^_^

I also love the fact that you don't have Scorpius liking the Weasleys. Except Lucy, of course. I honestly have never seen Scorpius being all friendly with any of those kids, just on principal. So it'll be fun seeing how the whole romance with Rose works out!

All in all, this really was fabulous. Thanks so much for requesting!

Feel free to re-request later, though you probably won't need to, since I'll be looking out for your update!

Cheers,
Rocket.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much for doing this even though you have to wake up early! It means a lot, and especially since you left such a detailed review ^^.

Well, I was concerned about the flow because it's a rather short chapter, and I thought that because of that, I may have rushed it and therefore disrupted the flow. So I'm really glad that you thought the flow was good.

The male versus female perspective is a funny thing. It seems that I can only pull off the male POV, which is weird seeing as I'm a girl. The only story I have from a female POV gives me so much heartache; it's so difficult to write. I'm sure that if you toy with it a bit more, you'll pull it off ^^.

Good to hear that the characterization is good. I always pictured that he'd be a Ravenclaw, thanks to his Mum. They seem to mostly worry about their grades and school work, so I had to have him do so. Ahaha. I don't even get the fake beauty stuff, so that part was easy to portray. Add in his dislike for Molly and her last name, and we have all the reason to insult. I've always seen the Weasleys as having a sort of orange hair, and so it was only natural to do so! Cool that you call it orange too =P.

Oh, I needed him as a comic relief. My other story with him is going through too rocky a point right now, so it was necessary to have some comedy as a balance. Thanks for thinking I pull him off well!

That's the majority of the main characters, indeed. I missed a few, but they'll come soon enough. Of course canon! Who doesn't like canon? =D

After the epilogue, I didn't see them as being friendly off the bat, either. Add in old prejudices and well, there you go. Needless to say, Rosie took her father's words to heart. So a romance between the two...well, it'd be torture bringing them to that point x.x.

Thanks so, so much for reading and reviewing! Appreciate it!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #5, by flying_rabbit Ginger Here, Ginger There

18th January 2010:
You mentioned this fic in your review reply, so I decided to check it out :P And so far, it's really nice :) The title of this chapter actually reminded me of a song :P (but you won't know it, so I won't go into detail)
It's nice that Scorpius and Lucy are friends; that will make a nice clash, hating everyone in a family (and not just a little bit, from what I've seen!), except for one, who also is your best friend (so not even just someone you happen to get along with, or anything).
Is Molly so keen on winning the match against Gryffindor because maybe one of her cousins is their Captain? Just wondering, I figured that might be possible.
And Lucy has another horrible boyfriend Scorpius has to put up with? The poor bloke, you really put him through a lot, don't you? ;)
Rose is a very interesting girl. Sharp tongue, too. And, if we should believe Scorpius, a whole lot of other things too :)
Can't wait to see more of this!

Author's Response: Haha. Hi!

I'm glad that you think so. It gave me much pain in the beginning, until I switched it to Hogwarts. Everything just flowed after that, and I'm definitely enjoying writing it now. =D

A song? I probably wouldn't know what you're talking about if you told me, but that's what search engines are for!

Yeah, I figured that they could be friends this time. I always see them as getting along, and it'd be better if he had someone from the Weasel clan that he could actually get along with. Haha, imagine if she invited him to a family gathering? Hmm, not a bad idea actually xD.

Oh, she's definitely keen on winning because one of her family members is Captain. Lily; I was thinking that she could pull an Oliver Wood and have Captainship from an early age. Imagine losing to your fifth year cousin? Yeah, not fun at all.

Oh, it's the same horrible boyfriend that we've come to know and love. Bryce is always going to be around, unfortunately. And yes, I really do like making Scorp suffer =D. But that's only because I love him, of course!

Rosie. I'm going to have fun with her in this one, especially since she's not so crazy for Scorp and making silly decisions. A much lighter fic, which I need to combat Ugly Love.

Thanks so much for taking time out to leave me yet another review! I really appreciate it!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #6, by HarrietHopkirk Ginger Here, Ginger There

16th January 2010:
Aah! I love this! It sets up for a good story. Update soon! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for thinking so! I had fun writing it, so I'm happy to know that others enjoy it. I'll make sure to update as soon as I can.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #7, by kandekisses Ginger Here, Ginger There

15th January 2010:
Gingers XD

Wow I don't think I've read a story here yet that includes Molly and Lucy Weasley. So I enjoyed that. Its funny how different they are and yet they are twins lol.

Scorpius was hilarious in this chapter! Perfectly done. He has that cockiness and sarcastic quality that yes, I believe he should have. Rose really gets to him more than the others though doesn't she? I can already tell this is going to be an interesting story.

Scorpius is in denial right now =)
For not "liking" Weasley's they sure are a big part of his life.

That was a great first chapter! I'm definitely intrigued to see what happens next. Your writing is so good, actually I'm kind of jealous right now lol.

Please let me know when the next chapter is out. I'd love to read it!
P.S. Gotta love those nicknames the Quidditch team uses lol.

Author's Response: Hello!

xD. Yeah, Molly and Lucy are the two most underwritten characters in Next Gen fanfiction. I think they could be the most interesting if people gave them a shot. Too bad I pretty much fail at writing the female POV xD. Haha. They are pretty different, both in looks and personality. Makes for fun writing.

I'm glad that you think he's funny, and that he's written well. His personality is a personal experiment for me, so it's good that I'm not doing a terrible job so far. Oh yes. She does get to him. and he's definitely in denial. In that second grade 'I pushed you into the sandbox because I actually like you' sort of way.

I think its virtually impossible to not have a Weasley in your life. It's like they tried to single-handedly populate the Wizarding World after the war xD.

Thanks for thinking this is a good first chapter, and even more thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I'll definitely let you know when the next one is up. Thanks so much for offering!

Haha. It's the least they could have done after she's been such a dictator. Gotta love them indeed. Too bad Molly doesn't feel the same way.

Thanks for reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #8, by whacked Ginger Here, Ginger There

15th January 2010:
haha, i wonder how much Scorpius "hates" rose? This is looking to be a really fun and cute story, and a ScoRose (you know how much i love them, even if i do also love Scucy [cool name, huh?])

anyway, i really liek the caharcters. It seems to be some sort of alternatve universe to ACL. A much less pain causing alternate universe. Although, considering the number of gingers running around, the pain factor is debateble.

loving it! 10/10

Author's Response: lol.
Scorp is so contradicting. Supposedly hates the Weasleys, snogs Rose, and now hates Rose. At least one would think he does up until the next to final line. Hates Rose? Yeah right, haha.

Scucy? Haha. That's cute, actually. I was thinking 'Lucius', which makes me laugh because it's Scorp's Granddad's name. You know you belong together when your names together form that of an ex-death eater!

Definitely an alternative universe. Reverse personalities, and even looks to some extent. Lucy a brunette instead of a redhead, Rose rude to Scorp instead of following him around like a puppy, etc. Haha. Pain factor is definitely debatable. I don't like making Scorp's life easy, that's for sure.

Thanks for the review!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #9, by Metamorph Ginger Here, Ginger There

14th January 2010:
Err... I forgot, i had to go to your author page for this. I sorta just expected it to come up on my favorites. Cmon, HPFF! Read my mind and just favorite anything of Leigh's!

[/rant]

Molly and Rose are evil?
Lol, you had to state the year because you knew that I'd ask.
Queen Twat? LOL.
Asha is NICE? What in the world? Did you reverse everyone's personalities for this one?
The only thing I dislike about her is her boyfriend, but hes not worth mentioning right now. Davies?
Molly and Lucy weren't twins in the other one, were they?


Wow, this is really throwing me off. It confuses me.

Keep going, even though it'll make my head spin and I'll go insane because everything I knew is wrong now.

Good chapter, just confusing.

Author's Response: Yay. Hi! Hope you had good holidays, and that you're having a good start to the year as well ^^.

Lol. That would be cool. If sites could read our minds and do what we want. I mean, Word should just work with us telepathically. Then I wouldn't have to strain when I'm typing one-handed thanks to my daughter sleeping in my arm. Whoosh.

Ah. I should have put it in somewhere in the A/N to disregard everything in my other stories. This is a story written with a blank slate. New Scorp and definitely new personalities for the characters. So, I guess you can say that I reversed personalities. Except Bryce. How do you reverse him? I just can't give him good qualities.

I wouldn't say that Rose and Molly are evil. Molly's got perfection issues...and anger issues...and just generally lots of issues. Not evil though, haha. And Rose just dislikes Scorp with a passion. So she's rude to him, like he's always rude to her. Mutual dislike x).

Oh yes. I did put the year in with you in mind, =P. It does make things simpler on the reader though, that's for sure.

Lol. What can I say? The Ravenclaw Quidditch team is very creative when it comes to name-calling...er yeah. We'll go with that, haha.

What in the world, indeed. It's almost like Molly channeled Asha's Quidditch personality for this story. Just, more aggressive than Asha ever was.

Yes, it's Davies. The one thing I had to keep. I see him as always being around where Lucy is concerned...Oh, oops.

No, they weren't twins. Molly is a year older in ACL and UL.

I'm sorry you're confused. My only suggestion would be to read this story as if you haven't read the others. It is in no way a partner story to ACL, UL, and TDW. It's completely new. I hope that helps some :).

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing my stuff. I really appreciate it. Your reviews do brighten my day!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #10, by redherring Ginger Here, Ginger There

10th January 2010:
Oh, I just loved this! Scorpius was lovely, the ginger comments were hilarious, and your writing style is just so brilliant and witty and light. A very enjoyable read. I ADORED the description of Molly with her 'odd shade of orange' hair and her dangerous talons and her Quidditch-dictator attitude. I really love how you've written Scorpius, as well, and the plot you've got going so far, and I can't wait to see how this develops :D

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad to hear that you loved it! Scorpius is my favourite character, and I'm having a bit of fun here experimenting with a different personality for him than the one I am accustomed to. Glad that you liked the ginger comments as well. Thought it would be interesting since pretty much all the Weasleys have red hair. The ginger statements pretty much wrote themselves once I had a handle on Scorp's new characterization.

Thanks so much for the compliment on my style. I'm still trying to improve daily, so to hear that you like it pretty much made my day.

Haha. I have fun with Molly. I see her as a meaner Oliver Wood; Quidditch fanatic, desperately wants to win, has no problem angering people to achieve her goals. Not your average 'claw, that's for sure. She definitely has the Weasley hair, more than the others, methinks. And those nails. Bah. I'd take a step back too if I were in Scorp's place.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'll try to update really soon, and hope you continue to enjoy this :)!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #11, by JJLiberty Ginger Here, Ginger There

9th January 2010:
I'm not really into Next Generation fanfics but I really enjoyed this. Keep going. I like the way this was wirtten. Witty and great characterization. :-)

Author's Response: Wow. I'm glad you like it, despite not being a fan of Next Generation! And enjoyed it so much to actually leave a review. Thanks!

I will definitely keep going. I have three stories to keep afloat, but I can definitely handle updating all of them. I'm also happy that you liked the way it's written, and the characterization. This is a different Scorp, Molly, and Rose than the ones I'm familiar with in my other stories, so their personalities are definitely an experiment.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

~Leigh


 Report Review

Review #12, by dream_BIG Ginger Here, Ginger There

9th January 2010:
hi!!
so, i really like this! it's different, and i like the scorose in it. and all the characters. malfoy is awesome :)
you do a great job of writing in a boy's POV. that's something i have a bit of trouble with, haha :)
this is amazing! keep updating!!
love,
dream_BIG

Author's Response: Hello!!

I'm so glad that you like it. Though I have been writing Scorpius since I joined this site, this is my first true venture into scorose. So I'm happy to know that you find it different, and that you like Scorp. He's my favourite :).

Haha. I actually pretty much fail at writing the female POV, which is strange, considering that I am a girl. It's just easier to handle a male, because I'm just confused enough by myself sometimes to understand how confused a boy would be by the female gender. At times, anyway. Thanks so much for thinking I handle a boy well.

And thanks so much for not only reading, but reviewing as well. I will try to update soon!

~Leigh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login