Reading Reviews for The Birth of Tom Riddle
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LizzieMalfoy 31 December 1926

2nd October 2011:
oi. that was definitley mature for a reason.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Flower n Prongs 31 December 1926

20th July 2011:
This was beautifully written. I could picture the scene well, everything seemed to fit the year(s) from the names to the amount of medical interventions (or lack thereof). It was very haunting to know that the pitiful baby who didn't cry at first became the darkest wizard of all time. Because of that, I thought it was fitting that he seemed all too aware and that he didn't even cry as a baby.

 Report Review

Review #3, by LilySnape4eva 31 December 1926

4th December 2010:
I thought that was well good :) I liked it a lot

 Report Review

Review #4, by Reyes91 31 December 1926

15th August 2010:
Hello, dude,

To start, this is an interesting story you have here. I've been recently getting into finding stories where Tom was in the orphanage, and came upon this. You wrote the scene very well, and the reactions from all those invovled seemed realistic. Also, the way Merope spoke about Tom as 'his' baby and not her own showed just how...obsessed she was about Tom Riddle Sr.

And you ended it wonderfully stating Tom's time of birth and Merope's time of death. It just fit. Well done.

-Reyes91

Author's Response: Oh, wow! I wasn't expecting to get a review on this story. I'm so glad your interest in Tom led you to it, though. And thanks so much for the review as well!

And I'm glad you liked how I wrote Merope's obsession. I figured she would consider any connection with herself as something terrible, that she would feel very unworthy and low about herself, but that she would still put Tom upon that white horse or whatever.

Anyway, thanks again for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #5, by fred is dead 31 December 1926

28th February 2010:
Very well written and gripping. Absolutely loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks! i'm so glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jane_Volturi 31 December 1926

9th January 2010:
Hi, firstly I'd like to apologise for leaving this so late, i won't be able to review all 5 stories yet but i couldn't resist reading and reviewing this in the time I have to spare. I'll try and review the other four stories whenever I next get the time, sorry about the wait.

First off...Oh My Gosh!
I've read some truly emotional fanfictions in the past but I don't think any of them come even remotley close to this. I has to wipe tears from my face whilst reading this it was so sad. Merope's story in general has always saddened me but you really did a magnificent job of underlining all of the emotional attributes to this scene in the series.
The story in general was not only emotional, the fact that Voldemort was being born really had that powerful effect on me because the whole way through I still wanted him to survive, despite the fact that he would later transpire to be one of the most evil wizards in the world.
I don't really know what to write, everything was so perfect that it's left me speechless. I'm glad that you chose to write Merope's story, I honestly do not think anyone could have done a better job..you made it seem almost effortless, as though jk herself was filling in a missing moment that truly defined Meropes character. Her undying love for Tom and her unborn child, it's so upsetting to imagine what she had to go through.
It was beautifully written all the way through and the emotive language comprised into this one shot contributed to this stunning piece of writing without fail.
You've encapsulated the all-round significance of this scene to the harry potter series perfectly and I'm glad you asked me to review this. I enjoyed every minute of reading it.
Ten billion out of ten!
x

Author's Response: Hello! Don't worry about when you leave the reviews; I totally understand that life tends to get in the way. Plus, your reviews are always so nice, that it doesn't matter anyway! :)

I'm really glad that you wanted Voldemort to live even though you know what he will become. Firstly, it shows that you're a really good person. Secondly, it makes me feel like i've done my job as a writer, here. I managed to put at least one reader into the mindset of the characters and stir up empathy in them. I try for that, I really do. I'm sorry it made you tear up though. But it's eerie though, isn't it? Wanting him to live despite his future?

That being said, Merope's story is incredibly tragic. Like you, i was always saddened by her condition. Poor thing. She may have not been smart, pretty, or brave but she did love Tom, even if it was selfishly at first. And yeah, I'm getting upset thinking about it...And that, that comment about jk...is WOW. Truly the nicest compliment anyway has ever paid me. This one-shot was written on a burst of inspiration, and i always feel like those turn out better. But...wow...i don't deserve that...

Thanks so, so much for the review! And i look forward to hearing from you when you get the chance! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #7, by NightmareCircus013 31 December 1926

4th January 2010:
this is incredibly good story 11/10, i cant wait for the next chapter

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm so sad to disappoint, but this is only a one-shot! Thanks though!

 Report Review

Review #8, by BelleNuit 31 December 1926

3rd January 2010:
I felt goose bumps after reading this; this was definitely a very moving piece. I wanted to keep reading more at the end it was so good! Great writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I had a ton of fun reading this, and writing it totally gave me goosebumps as well. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #9, by LindaSnape 31 December 1926

31st December 2009:
I'm surprised so few people have commented on this piece. I really enjoyed it. I liked the emotions and how eerie it was. It was very sad, but also very moving.

Very well written!

I wouldn't change a thing about it.

Author's Response: Wow! That's a very flattering compliment! Thanks so much for the review! I'm so glad you liked the story and found it touching. It is kind of spooky, isn't it? Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ava Pearce 31 December 1926

30th December 2009:
Hi! RoseWeasleysPatronus here to review for the challenge!
Once again...
WOW
This story is just WOW
I have to add the descriptions of the conditions and the equipment are really really good! And such a horrible condition for Merope to be in! Her story is such a tragic one (as are many characters in the Harry Potter series).
and I have to comment on your summary, I LOVED it, it was exactly perfect for this story, the small pitiful beginning of someone that would grow to be large and dark.
I really loved reading this story, And once again wow on getting it written so fast and still coming up with this magnificent piece of writing!
10/10
Ava xx

Author's Response: Hello and Happy New Year! (And Happy B-day, Voldy???) Thanks so much for the review. Once I saw what day his birthday was, I just couldn't stop myself from getting it done and up just in time. It seemed very fitting. And Merope, is a very tragic character. I normally don't write stories about people who give up, but she's actually quite interesting. And I'm over-joyed to hear that you liked the summary. I was so exicted about it, and this story, and the challenge. Thanks again for the compliments!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ladybella 31 December 1926

30th December 2009:
that gave me the heebe jeebe's! in a good way! excellent piece of writing! 10/10

oh and how strange im reviewing this on voldy birthday!

im not going to sleep tonight!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I had to put this story up in time for Voldy's birthday, and it even spooked me out a little while I was looking for pictures for a banner! Though, I hope you did get some sleep. I'm really glad you enjoyed the story, and have a Happy New Year!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login