Reading Reviews for Draw, O Coward
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SunshineDaisies Draw, O Coward

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oooh, this is an interesting fic! I really like how you can read it forward or backward, that is SO COOL. I just love how the story reads just a bit differently, forward, Hermione seems much more knowing, she's seen him grab for his wand, and it's as if she is trying to plead for her life without begging. It definitely feels like she knows what's going to happen, and is trying to talk him out of it. And then read backward, she comes off as a bit more naive. She doesn't know whats going to happen, she's just having a chat with one of her friends She doesn't see him grab his wand until the end. Reading it backwards becomes much more sinister as well, the ending makes it clear that he's followed through, while forward it leaves a bit of hope that Hermione can live.

This was so much fun to read! I'm so glad you shared it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dojh167 Draw, O Coward

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

I really love that, although you had so few words to work with, you really rooted this story in the action of a scene. More than that, you managed to fit in great dialogue with beautiful imagery.

I particularly loved the imagery of the compass and the wildfire. Putting those two very emotionally different similes so close together created a really powerful image of the conflicting tensions here.

I can't believe you wrote this in both directions - that is absolutely brilliant, and very chilling!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #3, by DracoFerret11 Draw, O Coward

20th June 2015:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums, here to review for you for the House Cup 2015! So, let's go over things:

Great Lines: I normally don't include this in reviews, but when a line really strikes me, I like to let the author know! So, I really liked a few parts, actually, such as: "But as a child ages, so do I. Swiftly, like wildfire." and "Her death, balled in my fist." and "Sweat pools in my temples, a witness to my trepidation." Those are really awesome.

Style: I have to talk about this. I just...whoa. I don't normally have a "whoa" reaction to stories, but I did to this. Partly because I really like your writing style. Partly because I took your advice and read it backwards after I finished it, and that was one of the most ridiculously impressive things I've ever read. It was insane. Amazing. I'm so impressed. I liked it backwards even better than forwards. This is such a feat. I want to try it. How awesome. (I'm sorry--I can't seem to stop just spazz-writing compliments!)

Plot: I don't actually know who the male character was, but I figured that the female was Hermione (from the banner). But I thought it was so cool to just read this without being sure. It was a really powerful story.

Characterization: I loved that your narrator understood Hermione's "innocence, ignorance." That seems so apt. I write Dramione stories, and I'm always thinking about how that would go in canon -- Draco is NOT a good person. It would probably be terrifying. This made me think, and I like that.

Emotions: The heaviness of this story was so cool. It was sad and nervous and exhilarating, and I wanted to see what the narrator would do next. I really loved how you drew me in.

Overall, this was phenomenal. I haven't added a story to my favorites in a long time, but this is going there. The stylistic backwards-forwards thing was so cool. I have no idea how you thought of that, but you're awesome. Great job.

--Emily (DarkRose)

Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #4, by Infinityx Draw, O Coward

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

OH MY GINA WHAT KIND OF AMAZINGNESS IS THIS. HOW DO YOU WRITE SOMETHING LIKE THIS. :o You have not only written one amazing, thrilling, (did i mention amazing?) story here, you've written TWO with the same words and that is just SO BRILLIANT. It's so creative and inspiring.

I love how dark and filled with angst this is. There's also so much intrigue because the person who's about to kill?? Hermione is unnamed and that just makes it all the more intense.

Your writing, as always, is spectacular and I am in awe at how amazing this fic is, in so few words too. I LOVED that bit about fate and a pre-destined path. It added another level of depth to this story and just fit in so well too!

Brilliant. You are amazing.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Roisin Draw, O Coward

20th June 2015:
THAT. WAS. SO. COOL.

Like, I really liked it the first time, and there was a fascinating, tense kind of mystery to it. BUT MAN, reading it backwards! AND IT TOTALLY WORKED. SO PERFECTLY. I am very, very mind blown right now.

WHAT IS THIS SORCERY. While reading, I had kind of an "oh. hell. yeah." moment, it was just SO COOL seeing all those lines re-purpose into another story. Like, a bizarre satisfaction came from it (even though it was super hella dark).

NICE JOB. Like, really. NICE JOB. This was such an amazing use of the EWC challenge!

xoxo
Roisin

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #6, by TreacleTart Draw, O Coward

4th May 2015:
Hello Again Gina!

I'm back for the Gryffindor Review Battle Round 2! Go Team Red!

Wow! Wow! Wow! This was so clever. My mind is completely blown right now. Wow!

Not only did you write one story with 500 words. You also wrote a second story within the same 500 words. I am really impressed. Either way you read it was coherent and made sense. This was really cool.

I love that in the first version the person threatening Hermione gives up. He doesn't seem capable of completing his task, but in the second version of this he starts out with trepidation, but works up to the final moment where he completes what he's supposed to do.

The little bit of innocence and willingness to believe there is always some good in people fits Hermione quite well. She isn't exactly oblivious or stupid. She seems to know she's in a dangerous situation, but it seems that she wants to believe that this person's good will win out over the evil.

The style that you've written this in was lovely too. It flowed very smoothly and I could really clearly see what was going on!

I'm really impressed. Great work!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #7, by Pretense Of Perfection Draw, O Coward

7th July 2014:
Wow, so I totally tried reading it backwards. I'm not really good at that kind of "out of the box" thing, but it's amazing that the story still works. Not quite as well, in my opinion, but it's still impressive.

Poor Hermione. I think you managed to stay pretty true to both of their characters here. His deceit is sort of heartbreaking for me, and I can't help but wonder how things would turn out, if he would actually be able to go through with it or not.

Your imagery and word choice is just beautiful. I really like the last part, where even the forest seems to be brought to life.

The bit about fate was rather heartbreaking as well. It really seems like he does care for her, at least in some way, but obviously the circumstances won't allow him to admit it, or for it to ever become anything.

Great job!!

---House Cup 2014 Review---
Pretense Of Perfection, Gryffindor

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! It's interesting to me that some readers like forward better and others like backward better. I find that to be pretty cool. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm Draw, O Coward

16th June 2014:
Hi Gina, I had to go for a pre-2014 story as I had run out of your 2014 ones, so that’s why I’m here!

Wow, this story is so haunting! The narrator’s thoughts really scared me because while Hermione seems to think that there is hope there and that the narrator could turn back to the path of goodness, there was something lurking away in his mind which suggested he strayed from that long ago and there was no hope.

This ‘Create the illusion, it whispers. Delude her. Reassure her of your friendship, of this kindling trust. Act your part; draw your wand.’ And ‘Only I know that tonight, beside the faceless, uncaring trees at the cusp of the Forbidden Forest, she must die.’ Really enhanced the haunting sort of feel to the story and how determined the person is which really chilled me. I have a feeling the person is Draco, as it seems most appropriate from the way he acted with Hermione but I can’t be entirely sure either. But then the ambiguity of the narrator just added to the horror in my opinion.

I loved how you made two strong characters face one another as it just made for so much more tension and it was lot more fun to read because of it. Unlike most people, Hermione went to directly challenge him and almost ridicule him at some points which made me laugh because she still wasn’t prepared to realise how serious this situation was. Just overall your characterisation was fab!

Whaaat? You can read it backwards?? Ah, that was such a cool twist and I’m so glad I read you’re a/n as it was even better backwards in my opinion and now my mind is full of what other hidden meanings are lurking away here.

This was such a great story, Gina!

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #9, by MyMyMiss Draw, O Coward

7th March 2014:
Hi hun, here from blackout!!

I think this was a very small, but well written one-shot. I think while this story appears to lack a lot of detail - due to the length, it is actually quite detailed once you read it.

After reading the first few lines, I understood that this was one of those very few stories out there that don't need a lot of detail to grasp the situation or to make the story flow at the same level of consistency through out the entire story. Your story is rather intriguing, I never thought of anyone trying to kill Hermione, it was really a very intriguing story all over to read, I commend you for this wonderful little one-shot!!

~MMM: Slytherin and Gryffies blackout.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad it intrigued you. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Maelody Draw, O Coward

2nd March 2014:
Hey! 1/10 reviews from the opposite house for the Slytherin vs. Gryffindor bingo card!

Boy, am I so happy that this challenge lead me to this! It's such a unique, to the point, eye-catching story. Honestly, this mystery character is very, well, mysterious. The fact that I don't know who he is, or what this is all about, makes it even better! It literally leaves me guessing, and wondering how Hermione has been lead to this in her life!

I'm so sorry to keep the review short, but I really am trying to get in all 10 before work in 2 and a half hours! But do know that I loved this, and I'll probably come back at a later date to tell you more on just how much this story is amazing! :) Your work never disappoints, and you do such a wonderful job!

~Mae

Author's Response: You're so sweet! Thanks for the review, hun!

 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotter Draw, O Coward

17th February 2014:
Hello!
So I read this one-shot and thought it was wonderful. Your descriptions are fantastic, particularly the part about the cloak falling to the ground. It was beautiful and I could picture is so, so clearly in my mind. I loved how anxious the narrator was, and how he was fighting what he had to do. I got to the end and was really glad that I chose this story to read. And then I read the author's note which said to read the story backwards. Which I did. I am really, really impressed! I don't think I could write a story that's brilliant whether you read in from top to bottom or bottom to top! I've never read a story like that, and yours has set the bar very high!
The flow (when reading it both ways) was wonderful, and you did a fantastic job creative such a vivid story in so few words. There weren't any grammar mistakes that I caught, either. This story was really cool, and I loved reading it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm so glad you liked it! You're too sweet. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshp Draw, O Coward

15th February 2014:
Hey! Here for review tag!

Wow, this was absolutely marvellous. I loved the whole forwards/backwards thing - very creative and clever! I loved the sinister feel that this had throughout, and how you kept the identity of the would-be-murderer hidden as it made it all the more exciting. I personally loved the bottom-to-top version more but perhaps because it was more "haunting" that way.

All in all, a very well-written piece! I truly loved it. Good job!

10/10
Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for the review!

I think the general consensus is that the bottom-to-top version is the winner. :) I quite like it too, because there's really no question that she's going to die. Top-to-bottom she might have a chance.

Anyway, thanks again. It was great to hear from you!


 Report Review

Review #13, by GingeredTea Draw, O Coward

15th January 2014:
So I'm sure I'm not the first and wont be the last to say that this is a beautiful piece of writing. I loved that it could be read backwards or forwards and enjoyed both versions. I also like that you kept the identify of her killer (?) cloaked in secrecy. Brilliant!

Thank you for the awesome read!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That means a lot! I'm glad you enjoyed. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lily Evans Draw, O Coward

2nd December 2012:
Okay, at first I was a bit confused when I read this. But then when I read your authors note, I always liked reading it backwards better! Very creative. I've always loved writing Hermione and I think that you've written her perfectly! 10/10 for being creative and original!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Sorry for confusing you, but it was necessary for the full effect. ;)

 Report Review

Review #15, by academica Draw, O Coward

17th July 2012:
Hey Gina! I'm here for TGS Review Challenge #10!

Oh, my gosh, it is so cool that you can read this forwards and backwards!! (I'm sort of partial to the backwards version, but both are excellent.) I love that you deliberately left the identity of Hermione's (would-be?) killer ambiguous, because I feel like a lot of Slytherin students would be faced with this kind of decision. I can't even imagine being instructed by my parents to follow Voldemort's orders and kill the enemy, and then for the enemy to take the form of the infamous Hermione Granger. The whole thing would be incredibly surreal, and I can definitely see that in this piece.

Great job! You definitely deserved the Snitch! :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you, Amanda! I'm glad you enjoyed this short piece. It came together relatively quickly, but it took a lot of brain power (which was fun at times, and at other points I wanted to tear out my hair). :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Rachel_edge Draw, O Coward

23rd May 2012:
It blew my mind that it made sense forward and back. Brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by deluminator Draw, O Coward

9th February 2012:
This is brilliant!

It must have been a complete pain to write- if so, it was certainly worth it because the resulting one-shot is incredibly clever.

I enjoyed reading it both from top to bottom and from bottom to top. I did like reading it from bottom to top more, it seemed much more foreboding and sinister that way.

Author's Response: At times it was a pain, but overall it came together relatively quickly. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #18, by that random kid Draw, O Coward

7th January 2012:
Ok o came across "he did, eh?" first and it was clever the whole backwards/forwards thing going on. Then the author mentioned you and i immediatley searched for this story. This fic was amazingly awesome, i honestly thought i flowed better reading back. But hey, eye of the beholder right? But yea this was really clever and emotional so kudos to you. :)
Ps i would give you a 11/10 but alas i am incapable.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I agree that it works better reading backwards. Maybe because the ending is a bit more ominous that way. ;)

 Report Review

Review #19, by CoLorful DreaM Draw, O Coward

13th September 2011:
5 of 15.

Honestly, i donțt know which was better - reading forwards or backwards? Wow, this is a really interesting thing to try writing. Also, although really short, is really well compressed. Very good!

Ramona

Author's Response: Thanks again, love!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Siriuslover177 Draw, O Coward

12th August 2011:
Wow, that was... breath taking! It really was. I could feel the pain he was having doing this within the words you wrote.
It was so amazing, I loved it so much.
I am going to read it bottom to top now

Wow, I loved it even more bottom to top! It made more sense in my opinion! I liked it a lot!
I could again, feel the emotions you were trying to show though out your writing.
It was absolutely beautiful, I liked it so much! '
Amazing, amazing job!

~Siriuslover177
Hufflepuff

Author's Response: You are too sweet! Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by alicia and anne Draw, O Coward

4th August 2011:
Wow this story was just brilliant! How on earth did you manage to make it so it was a story both ways you read it? and how did you come up with the idea for it? I am really amazed!
It's just so brilliant, I really want to know what happened to cause it to get to this scene? is it Hermione and Draco? Hermione and a death eater?
Superb writing!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: I wrote it normally first, and I thought it needed a little something extra. So I decided to write it backwards, with the ending first. After I did that, I realized it ALMOST worked backwards AND forwards, so I did more editing and this was the result. It was totally an experiment, so I'm glad it worked for you! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by zeebeescilla Draw, O Coward

28th December 2010:
wow! at first i was a bit confused, but then(once i figured it out)i was just awed!
how did you ever figure out how to make this work?! you are a genius! i marvel at your awesome-ness :D
i like it better the second way, it just seems to flow more to me. but either way it is still amazing!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I really appreciate that. And yes, I agree, I like to second way better. It's more ominous, isn't it? (:

 Report Review

Review #23, by peppersweet Draw, O Coward

24th December 2010:
Ooh, ooh, I remember hearing about this on story seekers! Gosh, it's brilliant. You're a genius for being able to pull of something so difficult. After hearing the podcast I tried my own palindromic story and completely failed, so I know how hard this is. Wow, it's amazing. I love the anonymity of the narrator as well. Readers could literally make him anyone they wanted to. I hear a lot of people imagine that this is Draco ready to kill Hermione, but, actually, I saw him as a complete OC. Don't know why. That's one of the great things about this piece, I think. As well as being outrageously clever, it's kind of personal to whoever reads it.
Anyway, this is fab. 20/10 from me!

Author's Response: Thank you! Thank you, thank you, thank you! You're the best, Secret Santa. ;)

I wanted to leave the narrator ambiguous for that fact. I think it's more terrifying not knowing who is is, that he could be absolutely anyone. I like to fill it in as Draco simply because I'm a Dramione shipper, but other times I read it as an anonymous male student. It's really up to the reader!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #24, by LadyLikable Draw, O Coward

22nd November 2010:
Ahhh that's so cool!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Padfoot23 Draw, O Coward

29th October 2010:
Loved it! The way it's written is very creative :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>