Reading Reviews for Never Let Go
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Promise

14th August 2011:
This is so sweet and I really love it.
They're both just so amazing together and I love how he promised that he would never leave her after she said she feared the worse.
When they kissed I was so happy for them! And I loved how you wrote about him dropping the sword of Gryffindor, possibly a symbol of him not needing it to have courage anymore?
I loved this, I think Hannah and Neville will have to go on my top ship list.

alicia and anne
slytherin

Author's Response: I'm glad that this story made you love the ship as much as I do! Honestly, this was one of my favorite one-shots to write, so I'm glad that you enjoyed it! Thank you for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ALY Promise

23rd February 2010:
oh my god, i love this so much. ten out of ten, love

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by bostongurll33 Promise

13th February 2010:
i really liked how you portrayed neville. the entire moment with him and hannah was just really sweet. brilliant job, dear! (:

Author's Response: Thank you! I really wanted to show Neville in a different light, but still keep some of his old... Neville-ness as well. Ah, well, what's done is done. Thanks for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed reading :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by seamussusan09 Promise

3rd February 2010:
Aww I love the Neville/Hannah Ship so cute
I know most people wanted Neville/Luna but your story about Hannah is so beautiful, it brings out her character which we never seen in the books because we only got to see that side in deathly hollows with Ernie and Seamus. It is really sweet

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review :) The novel should be up soon, as I've just put it in the queue!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Miss Lily Potter Promise

23rd January 2010:
Hey! Here from the forums with your requested review. Sorry it's taken me so long; I broke my laptop, and thus had no Internet for awhile. But anyway.

This is so sweet. (: I really enjoyed it. I love romance, and I love Neville/Hannah. (: This is really well-written, and I love the quote that plays into it.

It is a bit cliche, yes, but it's the enjoyable cliche, the one that makes me want to read this over and over, because it's just so cute and awesome. (:

Your writing style is really nice. It flows really well together, and you've captured a (mainly) OC and made her interesting, and seem natural.

The only thing I would say is the phrase "-made them braver when they used to be scared, or bolder when they used to be shy" is a bit... I don't know. It's less elegant, I guess you could say?

I didn't notice any grammar/tense/anything else glaring. (:

I love your description as well. There isn't much of it, being as 500 words isn't a lot to cram a story into, but it added something else to it.

I like your Hannah. The way you've written it, I could hear someone reading it out loud in my head (with a cigarette in hand, but that's totally unrelated. d: ), even if it was 3rd person.

Great job on this. (: If you don't mind, when the novel's up, will you shoot me a PM? I'd really like to read it.

Favorited. (:
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for the lovely review! The wait wasn't a bother at all, but it's always nice to hear that you enjoyed the story. I'd be happy to send a PM your way when the novel's up.

Best,
Nadhira :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by TwilightPrincess Promise

7th January 2010:
Hi! Thanks for requesting! I love reading entries for my challenge, as well, so this is a great treat for me ^_^

I haven't read many Hannah/Neville stories because I find it difficult to characterize the two of them in a way that makes the ship plausible. Neville has a little more of a defined character, but Hannah is basically just a name. She always is portrayed as the shy little girl, though, and that's what you have her as here.

I must admit that I was not impressed by your portrayals of Neville or Hannah. Hannah was the cliche damsel-in-distress, right down to the "Oh, Neville!" Whenever I read her speech, it sounded in a very high-pitched voice in my head, almost sounding like a mockery of a weeping, helpless girl. I know it's easy to fall into the cliches of something we've seen before or read before, or even something we WANT to see happen, but that's not always the best choice. I think in this instance, you and Hannah would have been better off if she didn't come off so helpless.

I'm a bit torn on Neville's characterization, though. After DH, I fell madly in love with him because he seemed to man up so fast. Here, you don't shy away from this transformation, which I like. I would hate to see another shy-guy-meets-shy-girl story, which is usually how Hannah/Neville stories go. However, if you had fallen as hard for Neville as I did, you were probably blinded by your love. The fangirl in me did a little flip when he came in there, covered in blood and sweaty and hot and holding that sword... And when you described him having callused hands when he kissed her, I died a little. That was nice. But still, it didn't seem like Neville. Yes, he'd had that man-up phase after DH, but I don't think it was THAT extreme. You made him seem like a superhero.

You did very well with the word constraint, though! It was really nice. You had just enough, I thought. Just enough description, just enough dialogue. Your word choice was crisp and precise, which is what I was trying to accomplish with issuing that challenge, so you did a nice job.

Thanks for requesting and taking my challenge!

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Wow, what a helpful and insightful review well worth the wait! Now that I go back and look at it again, Hannah does seem a bit cliche, but I think that I had fallen into writing her that way because I'd decided to just go-with-the-flow when I wrote this. And the same with Neville. I didn't want it to seem too rushed at the end, and I certainly did not want to go over my word limit, so I did the best I could. But I'm glad you liked him, and my effort at completing the challenge. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Estelle Black Promise

3rd January 2010:
Hi this is MissSpitfire/Estelle Black from the forums.
AWWW this one shot it so beautiful and sweet, I have never actually read a Neville and Hannah one. this one is just beautiful.
It was rather short but it still was a brilliant story. I love the Last line. 'And she never wanted to let go.'
I didn't see anything wrong with it at all.
10/10
Estelle XOX Very nice :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, and I'm glad you enjoyed it given that it was your first time reading the 'ship. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Clair Clementine Promise

31st December 2009:
You're right. Pretty short, but it's all also pretty sweet. Try VERY sweet. I really liked this one-shot a lot, no matter the short length. It really seems like it's introducing something new here which it kind of is as you said in your author's note. Just this short little story makes me have a whole new outlook on Neville and Hannah together. It's very, very sweet. I really liked the description you had in this. I could picture the scene perfectly. It was very powerful and all in all a very delightful read :) I really liked the kiss. The kiss was just so wonderful and happy. A good way to end a treacherous war, I'd say. I really would love to read more from you, especially if there would be more Neville/Hannah. You are a very good writer and I really hope to be seeing another request from you in the near future! Sorry it took me so long to review though!

Great job!

Clair :D (EvelynCullen09 on the forums)

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you for such a positive review! I'm glad you enjoyed reading it and are interested in the pairing now because of it. It's nice to read that you think I'm a good writer, cause that keeps me writing on most days. Thanks again for reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Harry and Ginny Promise

22nd December 2009:
this fic is so sweet. please write more about them!!!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review :) I'm working on a fic about them for the new year, so we'll all just have to cross our fingers that it'll get done by then :P

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login