Reading Reviews for Lest We Forget
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MyMyMiss Lest We Forget

15th March 2014:
holly cow! you just made me cry!

Your writing style is incredible! you should really consider writing a book and getting it published! You're amazing!

I love how you described the old age of Molly and the five story burrow home, everything was described brilliantly! I loved, loved, loved the ending! Speaking to the deceased is never a bad thing and I thought it was really cool that you threw it in there!!

The D&M between Molly and George was what made me cry though, and knowing that he had spent more time with Fred dead then he had spent with him alive was just gut wrenching!! I never thought of it like that! but it was brilliant!

great work! defs going in my favs, and you as an author!!

~MMM

-blackout battle 12/20

Author's Response: And now I've made you cry. Oopsie. Sorry for that! Well, kinda, but not really, because I'll also take it as a compliment that this story made you feel.

Writing a book? Wow, thanks for the compliment! Maybe someday, but for now I'm content to play with fanfiction. But thanks so much for saying so!

I don't deal well with the fact that Fred died. In fact, my usual approach to it is to ignore it completely. But one day this story just demanded to be written. And that line you mention, about George eventually reaching a point where he had lived longer without Fred than with him was the whole catalyst for this story.

Thanks so much for the review and the favorite! You are a wonderful reviewer!


 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLane Lest We Forget

15th August 2013:
Love the comment that George is the one of Molly's children who's most retained his boyish charm. I can totally imagine George never fully growing up.

That must be scary, to think more time has passed since Fred has died than they spent together.

OK, this fic has now brought tears to my eyes when George talks about how he can no longer fully remember Fred's voice.

Everybody in the wizarding world seems to get so much into a few years really. So many people died young and yet did more than most people do in a full lifetime. I know it's 'cause the books are sort of aimed at children and at 12, you believe you'll have so much life experience by 20, but still.

Pancakes with chocolate chips in them? I've heard of them before, but I'm not sure how they'd work. Pancakes in my mind should be eaten covered in lemon and sugar!

It's not often a fanfic reduces me to tears, but this did. And I don't usually even cry over death. Though mind you, it's not exactly the death that made me cry so much as the idea of moving on and losing the memory of somebody who was so important in your life.

Author's Response: I was so shocked to see a review come up for this story! I think it's the first thing I posted here and it's been a long time since someone read it. Thank you very much for giving it some love.

Somehow, I just don't see George ever really growing up. Not that I think he'd be childish - I just don't see him letting life make him too serious. He'd keep that part of him that liked to have fun and make people laugh.

That thought of George getting to the point where he had lived longer without Fred than with him is what spurred this whole story. It just seemed so heartbreakingly tragic. Because in the books, they are so inseparable and bound together each others best friend. It made me wonder how different it would be to go from being a twin to being alone.

Sorry about the tears. Really I am. But I am honored to have triggered an emotional reaction by my silly little story here.

And isn't that why death is sad? Not for the person who is dead but for the ones left behind to move on without them.

Thank you again so much for reading! It made my day!


 Report Review

Review #3, by rj_sunshine Lest We Forget

25th January 2012:
The most beautiful one-shot I ever read. It's amazing without eben trying to be - not saying that you didn't try, but it just seems so effortless and natural. I can relate to the plot too x Excellent job

Author's Response: Thank you! Your review has left me blushing! I'm honestly not sure what to say other than thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Empty Frame Lest We Forget

15th December 2011:
This was really beautiful. I'm always afraid to try writing Fred or George, simply because I adore them so and I would die if I didn't get them right, but you did a lovely job. George was spot-on. I almost started crying... I rarely cry, and I NEVER get that emotional in a tiny little one-shot. You're very gifted!

Author's Response: Thank you. And you shouldn't be afraid to write Fred and George! The world needs more Fred and George stories out there where they are more than just background characters! Hehehehehe. I'm sure you would do them proud if you wrote them.

Thank you so much for the compliments on the story! It always makes me feel so good to know people enjoy the things I write. And I'm sorry you cried!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by parashar_harry Lest We Forget

18th November 2011:
i like this story also.

i think u love to write sorrow , but in best way.

i generally avoid sad story but both ur stories are amazing.

just one line HAPPY BIRTHDAY FRED.

no one will forget him , don't worry george

^_^
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! It's always nice when these older stories get some love from readers. :)

I don't know that I always write sorrrow. I'm not really a sad person, promise! I just find that I feel emotions very strongly, and sometimes I have to write about them to get them out of me, if that makes sense.

Which is weird, because, like you, I generally avoid reading sad stories, too.

And yes, Happy B-day Fred.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Phoenix_Feather49 Lest We Forget

13th November 2011:
That was beautiful.
Honestly one of the best written one-shots I have ever read! Some are just trying too hard or too desperate, but this was perfect. Exactly how I'd imagine all the Weasleys to react, especially George.
Gorgeous. Beautifully written and an excellent idea. Besides, Fred will never be forgotten: he'll be in our hearts as well!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much! Such high praise, I'm seriously blushing right now!

This was a hard story to write. I usually live in denial that Fred actually died, so to acknowledge it outright and write about George having to deal with it was really, really hard. I'm glad it paid off and you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Siriuslover177 Lest We Forget

5th August 2011:
My goodness.
I was crying right from the start.
This story, it was so beautiful, and real, amazing, and so many other things.
I could feel the emotions coming off of the page as I read this. It was just so amazing, and I loved it so much.
I cannot believe how much emotion you put into this.
I love Fred so much, and even the thought of him gone brings me to tears, and this story, it was so beautifully written, and I cannot even express how much I loved it.
It's a really amazing story.
10/10

-Siriuslover177
Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Awww.I'm sorry to make you cry, but I'm also taking it as a huge compliment! Thanks! Your praise and compliments are making me blush, even now as I read this review again.

This was a hard story to write. I generally like to pretend that Fred's death never happened, so to acknowledge it outright like this was hard. I'm glad to know it touched someone, though.

Thank you again for such a wonderful review! And I must applogize for how long it's taken me to respond to it. Life just sort of swallowed me up for a bit and I got behind in everything.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #8, by NeverGotHerLetter Lest We Forget

19th December 2010:
I really love this one shot, it was really pretty. i think you've written it at the perfect time, on the twin's birthday, and I really liked seeing some speech about fred's death between molly and george. I especially loved the ending. NeverGotHerLetter x x x x x

Author's Response: Thank you. This was a very hard story for me to write, as I don't like to think about Fred dying, but I guess the muse needed to get this one out. And maybe Molly and George's talk helped me a little as well.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #9, by draconian88 Lest We Forget

12th December 2010:
Thank you, this piece truly touched my heart.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! So glad you stopped by!

 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle Lest We Forget

12th December 2010:
This is seriously an amazing, beautiful, sweet story, and there's nothing much more I can say then that.
Truly well written, I honestly enjoyed every bit of it.

Author's Response: Wow! What a review! Thanks so much! I'm so glad you read it and enjoyed it. It was really hard for me to write, being on a topic I tend to try and forget happened. So I appreciate the praise.

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #11, by melian Lest We Forget

16th August 2010:
Again, Farmgirl, bawling. I'm putting my four year old to shame here, that's how much you're affecting me with these stories. I don't know how you do it but you do it every time and I'm seriously reconsidering reading Healing now, because god only knows how I'll look at the end of that. If this is any indication, then it might have to wait till a time when I have more privacy.

They said on Story Seekers that this was a fantastic story and I have to say that I agree with them. You've really hit a note with this one, I have to say. That conversation was so real and so much in character that it was hard to remember that JKR didn't write it herself. The only thing that I thought might not be kosher was Molly saying "I reckon" - she seems the type to be more likely to say "I think", but then again she is Fred and George's mother so maybe I'm not giving her enough credit here. Beyond that, brilliant. The idea that Fred would haunt George in a manner that put Peeves to shame was fantastic, and I really loved Molly saying that she'd have Ron, Charlie and even Harry over every day if word of the pancakes got out.

All in all, brilliant. *reaches for more tissues* Dare I tackle Healing now?

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: Should I send you tissues, or has it been long enough now that you're over the bawling. I'm only VERY glad you that you didn't bow out on reading Healing because of me making you cry in these others.

This was my most painful story to write. I didn't want to, but it wouldn't leave me alone until I did. It's not easy breaking your own hard held rules, though. I really, really, really just hate the idea of George left alone, but I guess I needed a little closure. Thanks for reading and and honored it got you emotional.

Sorry for the moment of Molly being OC. Being the non-British person that I am, I try to make it seem so, but I don't always do it right. I have read the books a lot and studied their patterns of speech and such, but that generally has two affects on me. One, I go overboard with it (which is probably want happened here) or two I get so depressed and down on my own writing, thinking I can never get it to match the books, that I end up not writing at all. Sometimes, I just have to let it go at good enough. Does that ever happen to you with stuff?

Thanks for reading! I really love getting your insights on my stuff. Makes me rethink my own stories.


 Report Review

Review #12, by propertyoftheHBP Lest We Forget

16th August 2010:
I heard about this on StorySeekers and it just sounded so amazing that I had to check it out. ^_^

I can totally empathize with you--Fred's death was easily in my top three saddest things in the series. I actually had to minimize this story a couple of times because I was seriously tearing up and my family would look at me all strangely if I started crying--I know that if I read it straight through I'd be bawling by the end, and I don't think that a single piece of fanfiction has ever affected me that much.

Right off the bat, the phrase "George's birthday" just seemed so odd. It was empty and strange, missing a distinct four letters along with an "and". It was also so weird to think of their room as clean. No strange smells or awkward stains? I've never read a fic that went into detail about the Weasley's day-to-day life that far into the future after Fred and yours was so realistic--I'm almost positive that that's how it really happened. The thought of George living longer without Fred than with him...it's so sad. I hate it, but the way you've tackled it really fit his character.

The conversation between Molly and George was so touching, and it was the part that made me tear up the most. I love the end, with "Operation Reintroduce Fred" and all. It's so sweet despite the tears and really was a great way to finish off the piece.

And on a lighter note, George in his mum's apron? Charming it purple and orange? That whole bit near the end was hilarious and I was able to laugh reading it. :) The "keeping an eye on him" line was very fitting in the end, and so very true to Molly's character.

Everything was perfect here--there's not one thing I would change. (Except, you know, not making the piece necessary in the first place. ^_^ But that's sort of beyond our control unless it's AU.) I'd rate this far beyond 10/10 and you're getting a wholehearted favorite on this from me. :D

Author's Response: I must have appologize for how late I am in responding to this review. I'm slow, but I'm not generally THIS slow, but real life has been so crazy lately. Please know that the tardiness of my reply does not in any way reflect how I felt about this review. This is an incredible review and I love it!

I'm terribly sorry that the story made you tear up, but perhaps by being so slow in sending this response, time has dulled the pain? I'm not sure, though. I know that Fred's death, fictional character that he is, STILL breaks my heart. I am extremely honored by your compliment about how moved you were by my fic.

It was really, really hard writing this, and having it so empty of Fred. As much as I wanted to show they were okay and they had moved on, it just about broke my heart TO do that, to have them move on because it was like I had to accept that Fred was dead myself. Does that make any sense?

As for why I set it so far in the future, it was probably the only way I could write it. I had to have that distance to deal slightly with the pain. (Yes, all this can tell you my mental state, so worked up over a person who doesn't exist, LOL.)

I love Molly to pieces, and any chance I get to use her in a story I can't help it. And I really couldn't handle the thought of George trying to cope with this scene by himself. I knew he'd need his mum there.

I'm also so glad you liked the humor I added. I have to put some humor in things or I can't write them, but I know readers to always appreciate that. I, however, feel it sometimes make the bitter a little easier to deal with.

I also firmly believe, if these characters were real and heaven forbid Fred had really died, he would stick as close to George as he could, keeping an eye out on him.

Thank you so so so so much for such a wonderful review! It means so much! And again, so sorry for the delay!


 Report Review

Review #13, by AndrinaBlack Lest We Forget

16th August 2010:
That made me teary and giggling at the same time. That was a very thought provoking piece as well as quite beautiful.

“Twenty-two years next month, Mum. And I’ve now lived longer without him than I ever did with him.” I can believe that George felt like that. I'd never thought of that, but when you think of when George gets older, it really gets a long time ago when Fred was around and he must really feel it. You wrote those emotions very well as well as their thoughts about how Fred has disappeared from their every day conversations. It was quite sad, but sweet as well with the talk between Molly and George. You had them both down perfectly.

I also liked that you added some humour to the story towards the end. It ended with a nice happyish feeling even though they were still thinking about Fred. I also like the quote you have at the end btw. It suits the story well. This was a very good story and I especially liked all the thought behind it.

Author's Response: Why thank you so much! I'm very glad you enjoyed it. It was rather difficult to write and I really wanted to make sure I had that balance of sorrow and humor, so it's nice to hear your response.

That sentence you quoted right there is actually the sentence this whole fic was based on. I just got wondering how George would change when until Fred's death much of his identity was wrapped up in being a twin, but eventually he would have lived longer solo than he ever did as a twin. So thank you so much for the compliments you just gave me.

I'm also glad that you liked the humor at the end. I just couldn't leave it so sad and wanted to show that life has gone on and they are healing and happy again, even if they still miss Fred.

Thanks so much for reading! I really appreciated your thoughts and comments.


 Report Review

Review #14, by princesspatience Lest We Forget

9th June 2010:
It made me cry, not in a bad way. It was a very good combination of sweet sad and funny. This is the first story that I have read that has Fred gone, it's usually something I try to igonre in both reading and writing. I think you handled the subject beautifully.

Author's Response: Glad the crying wasn't too bad. And I'm completely with you on ignoring that Fred died. This is the only story I've ever written where that is the case, but for some reason it wouldn't leave me alone until I put it on paper.

Thanks for reading it and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #15, by TallestTower Lest We Forget

8th June 2010:
Oh, this was breathtaking. I am not embarresed to tell you that I am sitting here with tears drying on my face - because I hope that will convey the kind of emotion that your beautiful writing made me feel. There was so many different emotions here - it wasn't simply sad, sad, sad - there was triumph, and humour and that is what makes this one of my favourite stories I have read yet.

At one point, I was crying from a paragraph and then began to laugh at the one below. I think that you have created something special here - you have made me feel George's sadness, but made me laugh too, just as George and Fred would have. (I was laughing at the part when it's suggested Fred will haunt George :P)

This was so beautiful, and such a unique idea. I came in search of this after listening to story seekers- the people at the podcast were so full of praise for you there too (and you deserve it- and I'm so glad I did. In so many ways, this was wonderfully touching.

I don't like to acknowledge Fred's death either, and reading this it was so hard to listen to George describe his life without Fred. But it was also very creative of you. What a unique idea to write about the point when George realizes that he has lived longer without his brother than with him. I think that is a wonderful base for your story.

The fact is, the characters were so beautifully in character that they seemed real. Molly and George are too strong to let themselves be dragged down entirely by Fred's death, and I loved that they were still able to laugh and joke about it.

I don't think there is much else that I can say... I've been blown away. Your writing was beautiful, and everything about this is so perfect and so wonderful. It's sad, but after reading this your left with a kind of grinning, triumphant satisfaction.

The ending was perfect, with Molly closing the door of the room. Very touching. And I've been left with this image imprinted on my mind of George bounding up the stairs in a boyish manner, to help out his mum and achieve some birthday pancakes. A beautiful ending! :)

Thank you so much for this. I have no doubt I'll be returning again and again for a re-read!

Author's Response: Oh, wow. I'm honestly not sure what to say to respond so such an amazing review! It made my day to get it and to read such wonderful things about my own writing.

I'm so glad you saw the humor mixed with the sadness. I tried really hard to find a good balance between the two in this story and it is always nice to read that others like how it turned out. I've always felt that Fred's death would have forever changed George, but not to the point he'd stop being himself, or stop living, because that's not what Fred would have wanted. George would keep on laughing and joking, because that would honor Fred more than anything else could.

I too am very grateful you came looking for this story! I wouldn't have this wonderful review if you hadn't!

As for acknowleding Fred's death, I do it as little as possible. I have another fic where I kinda fix that little detail. Perhaps it's not exactly proper to do, according to canon, but I can't help it. I love the twins too much.

Having you say that the characters seem real is one of the ultimate compliments you can pay to an author. Gave me this huge, goofy grin when I read that, so thank you very much!

I hope you enjoyed the story as much as I enjoyed your review. If you liked it, perhaps someday you'll want to check out one of my other stories. I'd love to see what you think of them.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Singularity Lest We Forget

5th June 2010:
You did a beautiful job with this story. I absolutely love your characterizations of Molly and George. I think you've really captured them and how they would react in this situation. George is the perfect balance of that carefree prankster we know and love, combined with the adult who fought a war and lost his brother. Molly still has that strength, but she seems a bit more relaxed now that she is older and her kids are grown. It's so unique to read a story that is written so far in the future, but is not a next-gen. Very nice job. I loved reading it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! It was very hard to write this story for me, and to hear that other people appreciate it makes it worth it.

I was very concious of the amount of grief in the story as I was writing it. Fred's death shook me up a lot, and I've never been able to write about it. I found the only way I could do it was to set it so far in the future to have allowed time to make the grief not quite so raw. I knew it would still be there, but I hoped to show that life had dulled it a little. I'm glad you appreciated that.

Thanks again for reading and taking the time to review. I'm sorry it has taken me so long to reply. My life was a little hectic for a bit and some things had to be put off, but I'm getting caught back up now.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Edward Ollivander Lest We Forget

21st May 2010:
Gone but not forgotten. happy writing.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Mez Lest We Forget

5th April 2010:
That was some really good and powerful writing and i think it is a beautiful and realistic (in terms of Harry Potters world) story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's always great to hear from readers and know your work is appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed the fic. Thanks for stopping by.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Jet LaBarge Lest We Forget

7th March 2010:
Second story, second little tear jerker, second review. 90% of the stories I either start and stop before I get very far or read but do not review. All except Mrs_Grainger's marvelous saga where I write long reviews.
Keep writing! This is a gift!

Author's Response: Thanks for coming back! I'm so honored that I'm one of the 10% of stories you actually finish, let alone review! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Siriusly_confused1000 Lest We Forget

6th March 2010:
OMG this was so good!
I was crying by the end of it! Excellent
RIP Fred
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review! Sorry I made you cry, but glad it sparked that emotion with you.

And yes, I will never get over losing Fred.



 Report Review

Review #21, by Laugharama_llama Lest We Forget

9th February 2010:
That was beautiful! You were so good at evoking all the emotions and had some of the most beautiful lines I've ever read! None if it felt speech-like at all! AH! -small sob- It was so bittersweet, sad but beautiful! I loved it!

I have to say - I read this because I kept seeing your name popping up in places. A bunch of people recommended you for Story Seekers and this story was brought up in another forum I'm part of called The Golden Snitches! This was such a fantastic story! I'm so glad you posted in my review thread because it gave me the opportunity to read your work, and it didn't disappoint at all! This story just raised my idea of you as an amazing writer! SO GOOD!

Katrina

Author's Response: Wow! I don't quite know what to say! That was such a wonderful, and unexpected review!

This fic holds a strange place to me. One the one hand, it was very painful for me to write and I resisted the thought of even writing it for a very long time. In my mind, I like to pretend that Fred never died, so acknowleding it enough to write a fic about it hurt, silly as that may sound.

On the other hand, I worked really hard on it, so hearing that others were touched by it means a lot. So thank you!

My name has been popping up in places? Are you serious? Me? And if you don't mind my ignorance, what is Story Seekers and The Golden Snitches? I'm honored and oh so humbled to think my name is going around out there, but I honestly don't know what those are. Help?

I'm so glad I posted in your review thread as well! I've loved your reviews, and I can't believe you went and dug up another story of mine to read just because! Makes me happy!

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I'm sitting here still stunned and blushing from your praise!



 Report Review

Review #22, by blueirony Lest We Forget

24th January 2010:
This was just sad. Really sad. But hopeful, at the same time?

I haven't read any post-Hogwarts stories about George. And, to be honest, I think I have avoided them. I was not at all happy about Fred's death. Hedwig was depressing. Dobby, I slowly got over. But Fred? And then Tonks and Remus in about two sentences? Much too depressing.

But we're talking about this story. Not DH.

And this story was lovely. The imagery at the start was beautiful. Molly is just so motherly, isn't she? You can tell just how loving she is. And those little things you say about her enjoying life, enjoying her grandchildren, being excited about one of her children's birthdays - it's exactly the type of person I would imagine her to be when she was older.

Some of the things that George says. That line: “Twenty-two years next month, Mum. And I’ve now lived longer without him than I ever did with him.”
That broke me. And that was the point where I was thinking, "Oh, God. This was not a good idea. Why did I start reading this? Where are the Kleenexes?"

The things that George said. It's just so sad. And so touching.

I'm not really sure how to review this. How am I supposed to review someone's outburst of pain and emotion? It was just beautiful. And you wrote it absolutely beautifully.

You're very good at writing things that are real and believable. As sad it is, it only makes sense that the memories of Fred would fade after years. It makes sense that they slowly start to forget. And it's just... natural? It just works. Really well.

That last line, especially, got me. About how some things don't need cleaning. I absolutely adore stories that do that. They bring in a small theme and reintroduce it at the end to make a poignant last few sentences. Your small theme was Molly spring cleaning. And I go nuts when writers do that. It just closes the story off so, so well.

I also loved the quote. That's just lovely. It really is.

One thing, though - maybe take the asterisk out of the story title? I don't think you need the asterisk. As long as you acknowledge the poem, as you have in your A/N, you don't need the asterisk.

This was beautiful. And, yes, I did tear up a bit.

It really touched me. It really did. And I bet you that I'll come back to this one day and start crying over it. I tend do to that. I have the most horrifically sad stories saved on my computer and I sometimes dig them out and have a bit of a sob fest. Don't ask why... But yours has been added to that list. And take that as a compliment, even though it might not make that much sense.

Ju :]

Author's Response: Sorry it has taken me so long to respond to this. I've honestly been thinking what to say.

I DO read George mourning Fred fics, but I have a rather love/hate relationship with them. Some of them are EXTREMELY well done, but I can't handle them very well. Fred's death hit me really hard, way too hard to be healthy, probably. I don't like reading about him being dead (as you probably figured out from me bringing him back in Healing.)

So, when the muse told me to write this fic, I didn't want to. It hurt too badly. But, muses can be insistant... And that line you point out, the one about George now having lived longer without him than with him, is the one that was the catalist for this whole story. When that one hit me I knew I had to write it, painful or not.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed (is that the right word?) it. Your compliments mean a lot to me, especially telling me the imagery was good and the characters are real, because those are two things I admire in YOUR writing. So, thanks!

I'll lose the asterisk. I wondered about that, but I'm trying to be very mindful of rules so I felt it better to be safe...

It means a lot that it touched you. And I totally understand about having those things you pull out on the days you just need a good cry. I have my own pile of those.

Thanks!



 Report Review

Review #23, by Sheri Lest We Forget

10th January 2010:
Very sad. Realistic. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you. And yes, it was sad. I had a hard time writing it, but I guess I needed to to help with my own feelings over Fred's loss.

Thanks for reading.


 Report Review

Review #24, by RonsGirlFriday Lest We Forget

10th January 2010:
Oh, my gosh...wow! What an excellent, heartwarming story!

I had realized I'd never read or reviewed any of your fics, and I wanted to thank you for the reviews you've left me, and this one-shot looked so interesting I had to read it.

Your writing is...impeccable. A great style, and a touching story. George is markedly older, but still George at heart. He is more mature, but not any less youthful. And his dialogue with Molly is so natural and humorous - their little quips and the caring way they interact. Not forced at all. Dialogue is one of my favorite things, and I love it when it's well-written.

It was very heartbreaking, how George realized he'd lived longer without Fred than with him. I'd never thought about that before. And how Fred had slowly been phased out of their vocabulary. Everyone likes to think that George would never have forgotten Fred for a second, but honestly, your way is a very realistic alternative. George had his own life to be getting on with - it makes sense that he would think about Fred less and less.

-weeps-

Oh, so brilliant! I'm glad I read this.

10/10

Melanie

Author's Response: Wow! Such a wonderful review from one of my favorite authors! You made my day!

And, honestly, there's no need to thank me for reviewing your stories! I'm happy to do it since they are such wonderful fics.

I'm blushing from your praise. So excited that you read this fic and liked it. It was really, really hard for me to write. Usually, I like to pretend that a certain scene in DH didn't even happen, so to acknowledge it so head on was really hard. It makes me feel good to know that you thought I got the emotions right, and that it was realistic!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. It really means the world to me.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Alopex Lest We Forget

7th January 2010:
This was another beautiful story. I normally don't much like to read stories that involve the twins (look what I just said) after Fred's death, because it is very sad, but when I read a story like this (you and Georgia Weasley are the two best writers in terms of gripping a reader emotionally that I have come across on this site), I almost feel like I should read more of them.

I enjoyed the arc of emtions in this story. It started out with Molly being a little melancholy, trying to distract herself and doing a pretty good job because she's had a lot of practice and time by now, then it went to downright sad, and finally, it wound up being happy and funny, with another touch of sad thrown in. The arc felt quite realistic to me. There is no problem with the balance of emotions as far as I am concerned.

It was absolutely heart-breaking to read about George worrying that he was forgetting Fred and pointint out that they were no longer thinking Fred so much . . . which is as it should be. It's quite a serious topic to take on, George more than twice Fred's age at his time of death. Obviously, life went on without Fred, but it's really sobering to think of it the way George pointed out.

My favorite part of this story was the rapport George and Molly had. I really like the way you portray Molly, both as a person and as a mother. The love that exists in the Weasley family shone through so strongly in this story.

Author's Response: I am so, so, so sorry it has taken me so long to reply to your wonderful review. I was sick for most of this week and now I'm trying to play catch up with everything.

No need to appologize for not liking to read fics that are set after Fred's death. I'm EXACTLY the same way. There are so many of them out there, and some of them are extremely beautiful and heartbreaking, but I just can't do it most of the time. It's too hard, which is why I was so surprised when my muse insisted I write this. It was also why I was worried about how it had turned out, since I was writing what was, in my own little world, basically a taboo subject. It means a lot that you enjoyed (is that really the right word for a fic like this?) what I wrote.

I have only recently run across Georgia Weasley's writing and she's amazing! To have you put me in the same catagory as her? I'm stunned and don't really know what to say other than THANK YOU!

Very happy that you think the emotional arc of the story worked. Something in me rather desperatly needed to explore the fact that George would live a lot longer than 20 years, and how he would feel knowing what he always used to define himself by, his being a twin, was in reality now only a small part of a long life. I didn't like doing it, but I guess it needed to be done. But, in the end, him being George and me wanting to show that he HAD survived and gone on with life, I couldn't leave it all sad. I'm grateful the shift in emotions came across as I hoped, to you at least.

Thanks again for the compliments on Molly. She's a character I seem to "get" for some odd reason, and while I do flub up on writing her still, I think I'm getting better at it. And I just knew I couldn't send George down this emotional rollercoaster without someone there to help him.

Thanks, Alopex, for taking the time to give such detailed and thoughtful reviews. I really do appreciate it.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>