Reading Reviews for Ravissant
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pixileanin Ravissant

4th February 2014:
Hi there! I'm here from Review Tag!


I love how you describe Fleur's feelings for Bill as being "enchanted". It's a little ironic, since she's supposed to be the enchanting one. I guess that's why it stuck out to me. It seems like a great description for the devotion we see in her from canon.

Another phrase you used, "something happens to her that is more than magic" is just beautiful. I think you touched on all the things we know about this couple and brought them together nicely in this lovely one-shot. I really like how Bill acknowledges his family's reluctance to accept Fleur, but deep down, he believes that she will eventually be a part of their family, and even his mother will embrace her one day.

I also love the way that you used the language barrier as a means of describing their feelings for each other. Fleur's love of her own language, and her determination to learn how to express herself in English, and then Bill's attempt to bridge their two worlds by learning French for his very special moment, it brought something more to the piece than if it had just been a straight-up proposal.

Great flow, lovely prose, enticing description and lots of tingly feelings. What more could anyone ask for?

This was an excellent, fluffy, romantic one-shot! I really enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm Ravissant

17th December 2013:
You have one of those author pages where everything just cries read me! So I ended up choosing out of the prettiest banners :P Hopefully, I can squeeze in some more reviews in the next 24 hours so all will be good!

Aw, this one-shot was just like walking into candyfloss from the cuteness of it all ♥ Seriously, if this was you trying your best at fluff this is mean dealing with that fact :'''( Ok where to start really? Fleur was wonderful, she still had that haughty air about her with the way she said she thought French and Paris was more romantic than anything English and it reminded me of the first time we met her in canon.

Though she seemed to have softened herself too because when she was thinking about how her and Billís relationship has developed it just left me awing like crazy. With the way she said he was home to her it made her seem so insecure for once and unsteady, which is a new side I never really imagined her to have. I liked the fact that she could be more sensitive and that perhaps Bill had made her like that.

Bill was so cute! The way he proposed to her in French and all. He just wanted to try so hard to please her and I could really tell that he loved her a lot so seeing that here was so cute. I probably sound a little crazy gushing away at this one-shot, but I just have a soft spot for Bill and Fleur and you really showed me why I do here. Then the closing lines with the way he kissed were perfect. It could have veered into cheesiness so easily, but you managed to keep it at fluff which was really great.

A wonderful one-shot and I hope to read some more of your stuff soon!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Thank you so much Kiana! If I remember correctly, this was my first attempt at Fluff and it was really cute to write. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it and that I got Fleur's character right - she's a really tough character to write I think. So thank you and Merry Christmas :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Ravissant

8th August 2012:
D'awww; I love this! Fluff isn't beyond you at all; this is really good and I am SO glad that I read it! :D It's definitely going in my favorites!

Most of the time when you see Fleur portrayed in a story, she's portrayed as the annoying 'Phlegm', and you don't really ever get to see into her relationship with Bill and how much they love each other. I think this is just perfect; I think it's EXACTLY how they'd feel about each other. BIG kudos to you for originality! You've really made me LOVE Fleur in this!

It was so, SO cute how Bill proposed in French! And your description was amazing; I felt like I was there on that bridge freezing in the snow... so beautiful! I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors either, so great job!

I really, really love this, Marina! 10/10!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Erised Ravissant

18th July 2012:
Yay, a Bill/Fleur! I love this ship. You definitely did it justice too! I like how the story is from both of the characters' point of view, so that we see both sides of the relationship.

The way that he spoke in French to ask her to marry him was so cute! Again, it shows the depth of love and passion that Bill has for Fleur. A nice little touch that really lifts the story.

I thought the setting was lovely, too. Paris! How romantic - perfect really. The fireworks going off at the end was just adorable too. I loved it! If anything, I wish this was a little longer so that we could see the wedding and things, but never mind.

Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Shhh...It's Secret Santa Ravissant

19th December 2011:
Hello :)

I loved this! It was such a delicate and beautiful piece. But I did catch two small things:

"He finds it amusing how his family do not warm to her, though he admits it is perplexing." ~Does instead of do

"It is one moment with of her of many that he wishes he can relive and while they stand above the Seine he can pretend it will last forever." ~The beginning of this sentence is a wee bit confusing.

But other than those two small things, it was amazing. It was filled with emotion, of the deep understanding that everyone seems to forget about when writing Bill/Fleur [not that I have read this pairing a lot]. They fail to reach and explain why it is Bill loves Fleur, even though his family is more hesitant. You introduce us to her soft nature...to how she is through not so hostilel eyes. It's really a beautiful characterization. And it was even better that you characterized her first, and then Bill. It really highlighted thier relationship, making her seem much more human and nice-different than even the Harry Potter novels themselves. I also love how Bill proposed to her in French. Really creative and beautiful! Love it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by ericajen Ravissant

21st March 2011:
Baw! This is so adorable and romantic. Sometimes fluffy stories like this are just so perfect, and this is one of those times. I love the way you wrote Bill and Fleur. It just seemed so natural and perfect. Just reading I felt like it was obvious that they were meant for each other. I really liked the way you wrote their feelings for each other; like how Fleur left all those things behind in France but was happy to do it for him and how she wished she could speak English better and then how he just adored everything about her and knew that eventually she would win his family over, too.

It was really a great piece. You are too talented; makes me jealous.

Author's Response: *blushes* thank you! I went through a phase of really struggling not to kill anyone off in a fic... angst always was my preferred genre so to write something for my secret santa (and he really doesn't like angst :P ) that wasn't angsty was a challenge.

I'm glad you liked it :D thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by mugglemania Ravissant

12th March 2011:
YES!!! This is my 100th review and I'm happy about it. But you probably don't care so I'll let you know what I think of this story.
It's so sweet. I liked the descriptions and the idea. Bill was cute proposing in French for her :D I'm a sucker for fluff ;)
10/10
~mugglemania

Author's Response: thank you so much! it's an honour to receive your 100th review :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by butterbeergal Ravissant

25th July 2010:
Hi, Marina!

I've been meaning to read your stories since forever, and so here I am. XD

This was so sweet and delicate. I must admit that I'm not very fond of Fleur as a character even though I know that she isn't really that bad, but you really made me like her here. Yes, she's still the Fleur we know in the books, but you've made her less arrogant, more human, more accessible. I loved your characterization of her.

Bill! Oh my gosh, I swooned when he proposed. In French, no less. I mean, I personally don't know much about him as a character, and have not read much stories about him, but it was such a Bill Weasley thing to do.

And the setting -- you couldn't have picked a more romantic place and time. Makes me wish I would have this kind of proposal. XD

Beautiful story, Marina. And for someone who says fluff is beyond her, this was a solid piece.


Gill

Author's Response: Damn, I was sure I responded to this! Obviously I was more lazy than I thought. Thank you so much for your continuing support, Gill. I really appreciate it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by peppersweet Ravissant

14th June 2010:
Fluff is beyond you? Yeah right! That was excellent! I loved the description in the first paragraph - 'Her breath forms a mist in front of her face, the cool air whisking it away into the night before she has time to watch it.' - that line is exquisite. I stumbled across this in the 'Review Tag' thread and I'm glad I did, because it was very enjoyable (: Well done!

Author's Response: aww you're so sweet! thanks so much for this review, it made my day and brought a smile to my face :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by purplewings721 Ravissant

3rd June 2010:
Aw, this made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. (:

It's hard to believe you when you say that fluff is beyond you, because this was really good. I loved how Bill proposes to her in French - it was the perfect example of a cliche being done right. I usually find those kind of things rather corny, but it fit perfectly with the story. Especially how you mentioned that Bill had been rehearsing those words for weeks. Very cute.

-Camila :)

Author's Response: awww thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jenny Ravissant

7th January 2010:
*sigh* This was truly amazing. I enjoyed it a lot.
I love how you evoke the feeling that you are right there watching it and how you described their feelings. It's just lovely, fluffy and heartwarming. I will definitely re-read sometime. :)

Author's Response: thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Inti Ravissant

24th December 2009:
Oh Marina. This was for me? :wub:

Author's Response: it was indeed :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by FannyPrice Ravissant

14th December 2009:
That was superb! Beautiful and touching. I love the fact that he proposes in French--so adorable and thoughtful. So, maybe not totally fluff, but its better this way. Your descriptions of everything from the frozen river to how Bill feels about her are very realistic, as well as artistic. I think my favorite part is " the illicit thoughts and feelings" that Molly doesn't approve of. It brought a smile to my face. Great Job!

Author's Response: thank you so much! *blushes and squees*

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rose_Weasley123 Ravissant

14th December 2009:
Argh. Damn computer cut off my review :(.
Here's the rest:
. I LOVE him!

As for the plot, it was beautiful! I know you say you can't write fluff without it turning into angst, but this really wasn't very angsty. More like pretty and lovely and awesome! There is more substance to it than most fluff, but it made me squee inside :D.

I love the way your wrote Bill and Fleur. Their love was so beatuiful to read about. It was just described to perfection.

I'm so happy I read this, and I'll DEFINITELY come back and re-read this. Point it, 'twas amazing! :D

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Rose_Weasley123 Ravissant

14th December 2009:
Marina! I am so jealous of your Secret Santa right now. They'll open their present, and get THIS.

Everything was lovely. Just beautiful. I still can't get over how amazing your descriptions are. Can I steal your writing talent? Or just your descriptions. I want to marry them, just a little.

'Her breath forms a mist in front of her face, the cool air whisking it away into the night before she has time to watch it.' I love this line. It's so beautiful.

Bill and Pleur is such an underexplored pairing in Fanfiction, and reading this I really wonder why. Their love is so pure and elegant, although I think that has a lot to do with how you write it.

Fleur was never a character I exactly warmed her. Yet somehow you managed to take her essential nature and twist it, to make her entirely sympathetic and nice. I never really thought about how hard it must be for her, on her own in a strange country.

And Bill! Bill was so lovely, learning French so he could propose to her in her mother tongue

Author's Response: thank you so much :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by collette michelle Ravissant

13th December 2009:
Oh, Marina! This was lovely. Just lovely!

I think you did a wonderful job, it wasn't at all 'uber-depressing'. You did a lovely job with the fluff! I did love this, really. I simply adore Bill and Fleur and to see you had written one was great. You did a brilliant job with it, dear.

Oh, how I wanted to be there, along the River Seine, with them at New Years, how lovely that would have been. I liked this because I think I was able to relate to Fleur, in a sense of the whole language barrier. I am very understand to her of that.

Anyway, that was lovely! I am sure your Secret Santa will love it.
xx.
Collette

Author's Response: thanks so much Collette, I really appreciate your comments and feedback! Merry Christmas :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Ravissant

13th December 2009:


That's all I have to say.
Short, simple, sweet - gorgeous banner - superb writing.

Ah, I have a point!
I saw no angst.
None.
Niente.
Rien.
Therefore this was uber success, no?

Really, it was absolutely gorgeous to read and I'm sure your SS will love it - if not, I'll have words ;)

Love it
Love you
Love Bill/Fleur

xxx
P.S. I think English is prettier than French, personally. More words.


Author's Response: je t'aime :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login