Reading Reviews for Twenty-Six Stories
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMolly L is for Lysander

8th October 2013:
fluffball,
YES! Luna has been vindicated. If it was so easy for Lysander, Lily and her cousins to find it, I wonder why Luna didn't find it sooner? But it was found. It can be found again, but it could be camera shy. Hee hee, hee. I still have a hard time wrapping my head around Lily being in Slytherin. Severus must be thrilled. But Lily still has a lot of Gryffindor in her. This was a very enjoyable chapter.
FoM
PS Why Gillyweed belts?

Author's Response: I imagine by this time Luna's found one and told her children where they lived, but they're still pretty rare. That and no one believes Luna when she says she's seen it, so it's a bit difficult for her to prove it to people with how close-minded they are. Lily definitely does have Gryffindor courage (which I imagine any half Weasley child would need to be okay with being a Slytherin), but she's also got a lot of ambition and cunning. I'm not really sure why gillyweed belts. It just seemed like a weird thing for a belt to be made of that the Scamander boys might be teased a bit for. I didn't really intend initially for it to keep popping up, but it just seemed to fit well.
As always, thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMolly K is for Kreacher

19th April 2013:
fluffball,
I am aghast! It seems that Walburga is the core of the trouble within Grimmauld Place. The boys are so little. Brothers will fight, wrestle, and yell all in the name of playing. It seems that she is the one naming Sirius as a bad boy. Kreacher is only following her lead. She could have stopped them before Reg got hurt, and the table was damaged. My heart bleeds for what is set in place by this nasty selfish woman. Kreachers outlook could have been so different. I think you have captured the situation perfectly. I hope the next doesn't take so long.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! And sorry for the long gap between responses and posts...a bit caught up with school but L is coming soon! All written, just needs some editing.

I always envisioned Orion Black as being somewhat respectable and fair...if somewhat misinformed on right and wrong (as Sirius said both his parents were proud when Regulus became a death eater). After all, Walburga, from what we glean from portrait most certainly was not and the boys must have gotten some ounce of decency from somewhere. After all, Sirius was precocious and stubborn but deep down good and Regulus made some bad choices but turned around and did the only decent thing in the end. Clearly they didn't get it from their mother so the obvious answer to me was their father. I think Walburga saw in Sirius exactly the qualities that ultimately landed him in Gryffindor and was afraid of her son growing up to be the kind of person he did, so she was trying to "stamp it out" like the Dursleys tried with Harry's magic.


 Report Review

Review #3, by trish0405 C is for Charlie

26th March 2013:
I love this one!!!
I've always been curious about Charlie, the elusive Weasley. I like how you wrote him, he seems fun and badass!
I like the ending, should've guessed it was all a set up:)
Can't wait to read the others!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it so much, Charlie was one I wasn't super confident in writing, but it seems it turned out all right! I appreciate the review a lot! Hope you enjoy the rest!

 Report Review

Review #4, by FriendofMolly J is for James

12th March 2013:
fluffball,
I really, really , really, love these tidbits of so many characters. Some well known, some not so much. James really was hysterical. I did wonder just where the rest of the Marauders were? Remus would have probably know how to stop the rain. But it all worked. I can just think about Gerd and Forge and their portable swamp. How they would have loved this one.
More, More, More!!!
FoM

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it so much! =) This chapter took a few tries, so I'm glad you liked it. I'm not sure where the rest of the Marauders were. Maybe in a NEWT class James wasn't taking? Maybe they just didn't feel like hanging around while James tried to teach Thomas a spell for his transfiguration class. I imagine Fred and George would have really gotten a kick out of it, too. Right down their alley--and not even done intentionally this time!
Next chapter's on the way pretty soon. I need to type it up, but it's written, anyway.


 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMolly I is for Ignotus

10th March 2013:
fluffball,
I think this one was most important. That the three brothers were inventors is an interesting thought. One question, if these were invented, but not given by Death, how is it that the instructions for these were never found? The fact that all three survived all this time, leads me away from the man made objects, even if it was a Wizard. The stone I can understand but the other two are from materials that can deteriorate. I would think, especially the cloak, would be shared. But then again, not. The last question is because just who was following Ignotus, and who did he shed the cloak for? If not Death? Fascinating!
FoM

Author's Response: I think that the quest that the three brothers had, as inventors, when they made the Deathly Hallows, was a private one. They wouldn't have wanted people to find out how to make what they had, or, indeed, to replicate it themselves. In my opinion, they did away with the blueprints once they were successful. I don't think the inventions are completely impossible to destroy, but just incredibly powerfully magical. We've seen powerfully dark objects that are incredibly difficult to destroy (horcruxes), so I figure that light or even neutral magic could do the same, if strong enough. I view the deteriorating similarly.

It's up to your imagination as to who was following Ignotus. It could be someone near and dear to him, or someone he'd never met. I still think of it as shedding the cloak for death because, even though death was not a person, he still spent his life striving to defeat it. I saw the ending as him finally coming to terms with the idea of death.

Hope that helps!

I really appreciate all of your reviews :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMolly H is for Hugo

5th March 2013:
fluffball,
I LOVED IT! I see a bit of both Ron and Hermione in Hugo. He wants to make his own mark. Thinking that in the Magical world that might be tough, given his family. He is following in the footsteps of his Da and Uncle, being an investigator. Hugo also showed his empathy for someone he thought a friend, and had sorry circumstances. Yet the rights of the victim of the theft ruled. I'm glad the sneakascope didn't come loose in the tussle. Something tells me his parents wouldn't be thrilled. I'm sure though it could be explained as an electronic gadget.
More, More, More,
FoM

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked it so much! I really liked writing about Hugo because I've had a personality in mind for him for ages and I've finally gotten the chance to do something with it! Years back, I started writing a Teddy Lupin fic but it didn't pan out, so I was left with a whole ton of characters and personalities swimming around, but I haven't had anywhere to put them until now. More next gen later in the alphabet!

Thanks a ton for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by R_Star_ H is for Hugo

18th February 2013:
Aww, bless Hugo. Really good light-hearted story to contrast with the ones before it. Well done!

I'll wait for the next update eagerly.
R_Star_

Author's Response: Thanks for sticking with me for so long! And thank you for reviewing so many chapters, I really appreciate it.

I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter, I had a lot of fun with it. Next chapter's in the queue, so it should be up soon.


 Report Review

Review #8, by R_Star_ G is for Gideon

18th February 2013:
I liked the structure of the story with the flashbacks and the present interspersed. The plot was great too-very impactful.

Keep up the good work!

R_Star_

Author's Response: Thank you =)

I'm glad you enjoyed it! I have another chapter a ways down the road in a similar, but slightly different, writing style because I thought it worked so well with this one.

Sorry it took so long for me to respond...I actually thought I answered this review a while ago, but maybe I forgot to hit submit.


 Report Review

Review #9, by MagicQuill F is for Fred

22nd January 2013:
Absolutely fantastic. but I love Fred, so I cried a lot and I can't say I loved it because after six months I'm still in denial about his death

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. I'm glad you thought it was so good. I can totally understand where you're coming from, though, Fred's death hit me really hard at first and even harder now that I'm close friends with a pair of identical twins.

 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMolly G is for Gideon

18th January 2013:
fluffball,
This one has taken my breath away. I will for a while ponder what you have written. What I call Twin Magic, always surprises me. This is what I believe you have written. The next is H. I wonder just what you will write of our star Wizard? Unless you choose his biggest friend? I will be waiting.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you very much. That's a big compliment. I'm glad to hear you're still enjoying these.

My next chapter is written and it's just a bit of fluff to ease a bit of tension after this one for anyone who's reading them straight through. We'll see who I wrote it about ;)

As always, thank you for the reviews! And thanks for reviewing every chapter!


 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMolly F is for Fred

7th January 2013:
fluffball,
If Freddies death could be made palatable, it would be this. I like the idea of the train. As I remember Harry was at the Train station, not on the train. I think the significance of that was that Kings Cross was Harry's gateway to the rest of his life, just as WWW was Fred and Georges next step. I hated that Fred died and I hurt for George, but you have given him some light. It was terrific that it was Fabian and Gideon who were his first guides. They absolutely had to be there for Molly's son. I'm betting that when he gets to where he is going he'll be greeted by James and Sirius.
Good One,
FoM

Author's Response: That's exactly how I interpreted the King's Cross scene in DH, but many people on HPFF seem to put all characters in King's Cross in the initial scene after they die, so I figured it merited some explanation.

I'm glad you enjoyed it so much and liked the idea of Gideon and Fabian retrieving Fred. Every time I tried to imagine what the scene would be like, I couldn't picture it any other way. I also really like your idea that James and Sirius would greet him when he got to wherever it is that he's going.

Thanks for the review!

-Fluffball


 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMolly E is for Ernie

7th January 2013:
fluffball,
Not a typical hearts and flowers sendup to a Wedding, but a meaningful one. I wonder where Seamus was? Nonetheless you have painted a picture I can see and smile. Interesting you have Ernie be the voice. He was always on the perimeter of the story, but I'm sure he played a much bigger role. Bravo!!
Thanks!
FoM

Author's Response: I imagine Seamus was there, and probably one of the groomsmen, I just named the first few heading off the processional. I didn't intend them to be the only ones; sorry if there was any confusion.

I'm glad you enjoyed reading it!


 Report Review

Review #13, by LittleLionGirl E is for Ernie

13th July 2012:
This is such a sweet chapter. I love how you wrote one of the first recoveries after the war and how the world was beginning to righten itself. I cant wait to see more of your work :)
XOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Thank you very much. More is on the way =)

 Report Review

Review #14, by LittleLionGirl D is for Dean

13th July 2012:
I personally like the chapter title as Dean because he gives Dirk a ray of hope.. As small as it was it was more useful to Dirk then anything any of the others said to him. Please keep writing :)
XOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by LittleLionGirl C is for Charlie

13th July 2012:
This was a really good piece :) Cant wait to read more!
XOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked it! =)

 Report Review

Review #16, by LittleLionGirl B is for Buckbeak

13th July 2012:
Poor Buckbeak that makes a whole new level of sad with Sirius gone :(

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I had some ideas for what was going on behind the scenes in books 3-5, especially regarding Sirius and Remus and thought it would be interesting to talk about it from Buckbeak's perspective. Because he understands so much, but also so little.

 Report Review

Review #17, by LittleLionGirl A is for Andromeda

13th July 2012:
Hahahaha Great first chapter! I love how you even see back then Remus had a choclate obession :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review (and my apologies that these responses took so long). I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter! The entire idea for this fic came because I thought of that story and wanted to publish it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMolly D is for Dean

27th June 2012:
fluffball,
The first thing that struck me, was that both Dean and Dirk said Voldemorts name out loud. At the time of their "camping" saying it was taboo. That's what brought the DE's to the Diner where Hermione, Ron and Harry were hiding. Then later it brought Snatchers to the campsite where the three were hiding. So why at this time, saying the name didn't bring the bad guys? I do see what both Dean and Dirk are saying. They have their own perspective based on what they have experienced. You hit the proverbial nail on the head.
Keep it going,
FoM

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for all the reviews! In response to them saying Voldemort's name...you're completely right! I tried not to have them say it, but I wrote that late at night and I guess I slipped up a couple times and (clearly) didn't do a very good job editing =P Thank you for pointing that out! I'll go back and fix it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMolly C is for Charlie

27th June 2012:
fluffball,
Being a Weasley, I'm surprised he didn't stun his "friend" when he found out he wasn't in trouble. But being a Weasley he certainly would look at the big picture. If Charlie had really wanted to play Seeker, he might not have been so quick to rush off. Not that he wouldn't have wanted to save his friend, but he didn't give any regret for leaving the tryout. So he found what he really wanted to do. But I still think he might hex his friend, just for the Weasley of it.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! =)
All very good points about Charlie! And he may very well have hexed his friend after, it just didn't make it into the story!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jen B is for Buckbeak

26th June 2012:
I seriously love this. The first chapter was good and all, but this chapter was fabulous. Poor Buckbeak.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it so much! It took some time to write and make sure I was consistant with my wording for Buckbeak because it's so different from my normal style. I'm glad it paid off!

 Report Review

Review #21, by FriendofMolly B is for Buckbeak

26th June 2012:
fluffball,
I really liked this one. You seem to know animal minds and feelings, just as you do Wizards. It's so sad that no one even thought to tell Buckbeak what was happeing. Most people don't know that animals who are around us, understand what we say and do. Thank you for including him. I hope there will be other non humans included in your story.
FoM

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed reading a story from Buckbeak's perspective. I hope to do at least one other from a non-human's perspective, but probably not an animal. It's going to be quite a challenge, but I've found that this series of one-shots is good both for telling stories I wouldn't otherwise be able to and for challenging myself to write someone I normally wouldn't.

Thanks for the review! =)


 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMolly A is for Andromeda

26th June 2012:
fluffball,
What a novel idea. I have seen stories that one shot a lot of characters, but usually it's either what they did during the War, or how they're faring AtB. I don't know if you're going to continue this theme, of who they were before. but I like that concept. I must continue.
FoM

Author's Response: I don't know how I never got around to responding to this! I'm sure you have more of an idea of what this story is going to look like (which is a lot of things =)) than you did when you reviewed the first chapter! There'll be more before the war later on, but it's really whatever stories I feel like the characters have to tell.

And thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Sara_Sj C is for Charlie

26th November 2010:
That was wonderful. It was everything I imagined Charlie to be, and then some. Charlie was funny, sarcastic, and has the Weasley loyalty. It was brilliant, nothing else to say about it.
In such few words and length, you got so much across, it's unbelievable! I had always wondered how Charlie ended up in Romania...
Loved it, and I can't wait until the next chapter! Please update soon.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Thebooktheif A is for Andromeda

12th November 2010:
I'm taking it you've read the story with James and Sirius on the motorbike since the name "Elvendork" was brought up.
I would never have thought to write about Andromeda, and poor Tonks being named "Nymphadora" because of that.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review =)

And yes, I have read that story.


 Report Review

Review #25, by R_Star_ C is for Charlie

24th September 2010:
I enjoyed this chapter, so don't worry. If I liked it, (and I'm picky), I'm sure everyone did.

My favourite quote was: "how the bloody hell does someone have a bit of a run-in with a dragon?"

Great work,
R_Star_

Author's Response: Hey! First off, I'd like to thank you for all of your reviews!

Second, I'd like to apologize for the like...two year gap since you wrote these reviews. I got caught up in going away to college and then forgot my user name on here. BUT I'm back and chapter 4 will be up very soon.

And, again, I really appreciate that you've reviewed each chapter.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>