Reading Reviews for Lioness
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 Lioness

4th August 2011:
This was a very interesting piece!

I must admit I never pictured Minerva and Caradoc together, always having had the impression that Caradoc was a good deal younger than her. Nonetheless, I was impressed by it. You write improbable ships very convincing.

Throughout the whole story I felt like what you recounted was but a small piece of a larger picture. As if a page has been ripped from a novel, And I loved that! I always praise authors when they give backgrounds to their characters.

I was also a bit confused because at times it felt like everything was happening in the Muggle world. Was the war you wrote about the Grindelwald one? Since I read him mentioned as well, I imagine so.

Well done indeed!

 Report Review

Review #2, by J_O_I_Rowling Lioness

4th March 2010:
It was like reading the prologue to one of those classic novels. It was really good, and it was something new for me, because I have never read a story where a pairing other than the three generations of potters aren't present (speaking of james generation, harry's and his kids :D)
great story!

Author's Response: You are far, far too kind, even when I am old I will never be able to compare to the classics. I do think I know what you mean though - it doesn't feel that connected to the HP universe and really could be an old world fandom with a few tweaks.

My main main story is a Minerva fic, this was just a spin off from it, I only even started dabbling in next gen recently. There are some amazing stories set in this era, but most aren't too well known, which is a shame.

Thanks for reviewing, I can't tell you how much I appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Sadly Romantic Lioness

30th January 2010:
Sweet, but I hate how depressing it is to muse on the war to come. Tinged with regret and pessimism, as if the knowledge of his death was already upon them - it is also full of their understanding of each other, and where they stand in each other's lives. And their shared sense of duty in separate aspects of the War.

Author's Response: I was just about to call you out on the shameful flames you have handed me, but this sort of makes up for them. Thankyou for taking the time to review!You still owe me chocalate for the flames though!

Mica love this reads like a blurb. If I ever publish anything, it's lucky I know where to find you!


 Report Review

Review #4, by BardicFire Lioness

18th December 2009:
This is very good. I can't do any technical critiquing. and barely any other kind. I love how you used Byron at the end. how you used little of the actual magical world, but enough to make it feel like it wasn't just a slapped on template. despite I still believe this is so good, you must republish it sometime, without the fanfiction parts. bravo

Author's Response: I don't even know what to say. I'm thrilled you liked it, and considered it PUBLISHABLE (are you by anychance on any kind of medication?) The idea of publishing never crossed my mind, this was just a random bit of wallowing that popped in my mind. I'm a literature geek, so I just had to slip in some classic poetry, glad it actually worked!

Thankyou SO much for your review - I love getting any feedback, but you noted something I never even realised when writing - there isn't actually, any 'magic' in this piece, but there is still (hopefully) just enough of the JK world to anchor it.


 Report Review

Review #5, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Lioness

16th December 2009:
Hi there! Well, I really enjyoed your style of writing. Your words had a certain grace, or elegance to them. You captured Minerva and Cadorac's love extremely well, and your writing was enchanting. The way you described the war, and his need to fight, and her need of him. . . It was all magnificent.

I don't think I have any suggestions to make this better... I was wondering throughout whether you were referring to WWII, another Muggle war, or a wizarding war with Grindlewald. Although I have heard speculations that Grindlewald and WWII were closely entwined in JK's mind.

I was a little surprised that McGonagall could let herself love someone so deeply, give herself up so much for one person. But you did touch on that, and love is strong. . . I don't think you have anything to worry about. Fantastic job, it was really enjoyable!

~lllb

Author's Response: Hey luna! Thankyou so much for your review - you are far, far too kind, but I'm glad you liked it!
It was Grindelwald, which JK says cryptically was related to wwII, but most people have read this in the context of major work (Min/Caradoc) and so already knew that. I did want to get a feel of how new readers would respond without having that framework, so this review is perfect, and a relief!


 Report Review

Review #6, by WitnesstoitAll Lioness

15th December 2009:
wowee. I found this in the collab thread. :) You know how I feel about cad and min and so you must know how I feel about this. This was beautiful but sad. The prose was very poetic if that makes any sense at all.

wonderful! Looking forward to more Ripples!

Author's Response: Melissa! Lovely to hear from you! I'm going to infer you didn't completely hate this lol ;)

Quite a few people now have mentioned (while doubting their coherency) that my prose is a bit poetic. I don't try for it intentionally, it just kinda comes out that way, so I'm glad it doesn't irritate people too much.

I have the next chapter of Ripples in the que, the one after that is also written but probably won't make the que, but I intend to do a good bit of writing and editing while the que is down, so after the break I can safely promise very steady updates - this site is taking over my spare time!
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Nar Lioness

14th December 2009:
...*cry*

Min can't win, can she? If Cad wanted to stay he wouldn't be someone she could love.

Christ, I don't even know what to say. It's very pretty and heartbreaking and you're evil.

Author's Response: *passes tissue box*

I'm having a minor crisis over my inability to write happy endings but yes, you went straight to the crux of the story; the things they love about each other seperate them because of the time they live in.

It's lovely to hear from you, and that this story is provoking emotional responses, it was a strange piece to write.

I admit without reserve that I am completely evil (although this is AU remember.. Cad can't die til he gets in Moody's photo)
And Antiquity's divine banner surpasses my poor words on the pretty scale.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Violet Gryfindor Lioness

11th December 2009:
I'm glad this is AU because I was afraid I'd really spoiled myself for the rest of your story (which I hope to continue reading soon! I miss it). But this also works so well as a separate story, one that stands comfortably on its own. What does that, I think, is the amount of realistic emotion - they could be any two people before either the first or second World War, any two who were separated, knowing that, when he returned, things could never be the same. It's a situation I've come across a lot in stories, yet yours doesn't seem like "another" of those stories, either. It's painful to read because the emotion is so raw and deeply felt. You really capture two people experiencing a moment that can never repeat itself - they will be forever different, this moment only a memory.

The writing is excellent, but that's not a surprise. :P You don't waste time with flowery language, yet your writing still flows beautifully. And you word things perfectly, like that second line, with "the still grey dawn creeps through her window and into her soul" - I love how that sounds!

Thank you for this story! I haven't read fanfiction in a little while, so it was great to find a story like this that gets me hungry for fanfiction again. :D

Author's Response: Susan, I'm speechless. I really don't know how to respond!

I'm very happy that your first venture back into fanfic didn't make you run screaming, and it's always lovely to receive reviews, but yours especially because of the squee inducing mix of generally undeserved praise and insight!

Yes, this is AU, it just popped into my head and really could, as you have noted, be any couple in this era - I've just got ridiculously attached to Min and couldn't let go! And I'm absurdly chuffed (hmm, there's a word I've never used before) that you miss Ripples =)

I'm very relieved it didn't seem like 'another' story, I did feel that it was very familiar ground - the morning after, perfection shattered, etc, and that the wording isn't too dense with description.

Thank YOU for this lovely, entirely unexpected review! I do appreciate it, especially from such a brilliant writer in her own right!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login