Reading Reviews for The Power of the Weak
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Why do you care Dumbledore's Army

30th August 2014:
Neville is the leader, not Ginny, she and Luna are like second in command!

 Report Review

Review #2, by angeless7fallenstarsong Dumbledore's Army

23rd June 2010:
Oooh, ten out of ten. I've never read anything like this before. I guess I hadn't even thought about Ginny's sixth year.

Your style is original and frankly, fabulous. Your grammar gets a little bit unclear at times, though. For example, in the place of this sentence: "...Ginny stood almost a head above her mother, but that wasnít exactly hard..." I would consider substituting something like "Ginny towered over her mother - not that that was hard to do."

I love the way you use the canon characters in this! Especially Colin, who's never really seen as anything other than a pest through Harry's eyes. Luna also made me smile.

Sorry this review took so long! I hope it was substantial! :) Ta ta!

Author's Response: Thanks :) This era really interests me because it left so much for the reader to decide for themselves and open for interpretation. And this is my interpretation. Colin really didn't have a fair go in the other books, so this is his chance to shine ;)
Thank you for popping by and leaving a review!
MG


 Report Review

Review #3, by Selena Going Batty

21st June 2010:
Update update uptate! I really like your story. Put more of harry in it. Let Ginny choose between Colin and Harry but choose Harry!

Author's Response: I've got a lot of stuff to catch up on with school and that but I hopefully will update soon. In the end, she'll have to chose. Thank you for leaving a review!
MG


 Report Review

Review #4, by GinnyWeasley_13 The Second Mission

18th June 2010:
So far, your story is going really well in my opinion. There's the right balance of action and mystery, and I really think you've set the environment really well...what I mean is, it really does feel like they're in the middle of a war - you've given the story that feel of uneasiness and suspense.

I liked the bit about Snape, looking at the whole thing from his point of view. It was interesting to see how he thought of Ginny...being annoyed that she was so much like Lily. I never would have thought of that, and am really glad you added it in.

Thanks for a great story so far, and I'm off to read chapter eight now!

GinnyWeasley_13

Author's Response: Thanks. Often people forget that this is actually all happening during the DH and while this is all going on there's actually a war. The Snape part was just a bit of a change from Ginny's POV. It's a reminder that Snape isn't actually the bad guy and that he is still trying to help.

I really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!
MG


 Report Review

Review #5, by GinnyWeasley_13 Dumbledore's Army

18th June 2010:
Out of the few stories I have read on this subject, so far yours is the best. I think you've really got them all in character, and your writing flows nicely. Something I noticed was that I didn't find any spelling and gramatical mistakes, which is a bonus...I can't stand it when I have to proof-read in my head while I'm trying to make sense of the story!

Overall, fantastic start, I really think you could do something with this story. I'm off to read the next chapter now...

GinnyWeasley_13

Author's Response: Great thankyou :) I really love to know what my readers think of my stories. I'm glad you like it!
MG


 Report Review

Review #6, by Mrs HJ Potter Going Batty

16th June 2010:
Your right, it has been far to long since your last update but thanks for getting us back on track. Filler or not this is another wonderful chapter. I love that you really have her still battling the feelings between Colin and Harry. If this story follows canon and we know what happens to Colin I think it will be interesting to see how Ginny reacts and what Harry will realize regarding their relationship. Love the story and can't wait for he next chapter.

Author's Response: With exams and all validation may still be a little longer than usual so I'm sorry about that. Basically everyone who has read DH knows how this story is supposed to end. All in due time :) Thankyou for leaving a review!
MG


 Report Review

Review #7, by broken slate Going Batty

3rd June 2010:
I liked this one and I don't think it was a "crappy filler chapter". I haven't read any on that Christmas so it was nice to see.

Oh and I love and now want a little bat that follows me around! xx

Author's Response: Haha thankyou :) I want a little bat now too. Hopefully I can get a more exciting chapter up soon!
MG


 Report Review

Review #8, by pennyardelle Dumbledore's Army

5th May 2010:
Hi there! Thanks for requesting your story, and I'm here to review. :) To start off, I'll say that there aren't a lot of Hogwarts-Era plotlines that I personally find really interesting, but seeing what happened at Hogwarts when Harry was away is actually one that I do. I was glad to see that was what your story is about; I certainly haven't gotten the chance to read many stories like this before!

One thing you asked about in your request was whether your characters seemed true to canon. I think that you've done a very nice job with Ginny in particular--of course, we didn't get a ton of exposure to her in the books, but from what we do know, your characterization seems accurate to me. Colin is another character we didn't see too much of in the books, but I think the way you've portrayed him is reasonable, considering that he would have matured since his first year. Oh, and thank you for spending a couple paragraphs explaining why he was at school even though he was a Muggle-born. It is one of those inconsistencies within the books, and it's very nice to see that you had enough attention to detail to resolve that within your story.

As for the other characters--I think they were pretty close, though perhaps not exactly how they were in the books. Molly, for example, was a little too calm, in my opinion. When Ginny jumped up on the fence, I would expect the Molly in the books to chastise her and yell at her to get down before she broke her neck, or something of that sort. Neville seemed a little too slick and confident for me, at least at this point in the story--I would imagine that he would still be somewhat timid and shy this early in the year, and his confidence would grow over time. It was just his first lines as he entered the compartment with Ginny that made him seem a little out of character. The rest was actually quite well done, and I thought his confusion after the Memory Charm was really funny! And as for Luna...well, she's probably one of the most difficult characters to portray the right way, so I wouldn't beat yourself up over it too much. I thought she was a little less dreamy and oddball-ish than usual. When they get into the conversation about calling Voldemort by his name, I would more expect Luna to come out with some kind of ridiculous statement about why everyone calls him You-Know-Who that she learned from her father, or something like that, rather than asking Ginny how long she's called him by name.

One small thing that caught my eye in this chapter was that you didn't capitalize all of the HP words that should be capitalized: things like Muggle, names of spells (Memory Charm), and so on. You did it in some places, but not in others, so it may be worth it to quickly scan through and fix those up.

I thought this was a really nice start to the story of the remaining DA members continuing the effort at Hogwarts. I liked Ginny's reluctance to be the leader--it seemed to me like something she would do. I also liked that they all seemed very determined and confident, even in the face of torture and punishment from the new "staff members" at Hogwarts, and that they had given some thought to their plan before they even arrived at school. At first, I did think that it was somewhat unrealistic to have them all on the same wavelength right when they arrived on the train--I think perhaps I had always pictured this resistance springing up more organically and gradually--but I think the way you've done it actually makes all of them seem more loyal to Harry. Making them proactive rather than reactive shows how focused they all are on helping him in any way they can--if you'd done it the way I was thinking, it might have been more about them protecting themselves and other students. Of course, that factors into it, but I do like that the start of their resistance is based on loyalty to Harry's cause.

All right, so, I think that's all I have to say for the first chapter! I'll address your question about the summary in the next review as best I can. :)

Author's Response: Thankyou :) I was surprised when I found that there weren't too many in this era that followed the canon, and it had always interested me.

Colin I had to warp a little bit to fit the requirements of the challenge, but I suppose because we don't know him very well in the books I could get away with it. Luna I had a particularly hard time with. I tried, but nobody can really create a Luna as authentic as JK can. I'll go back and sharpen the characterisations on some of those. Thanks for your opinion.

I'll fix those up when I go back to edit, thanks for allerting me to it :)

They're basically doing it as a resistance movement with Harry as their symbol of hope, if I put it that way. They were his friend at school, so they would be still loyal to him. They're his army within Hogwarts much as they were with Dumbledore. This is in some respects Harry's Army.
Thankyou for that remarkably long and excellent review! It is greatly appreciated! :)
MG


 Report Review

Review #9, by pennyardelle The First Mission

5th May 2010:
Your attention to detail was noticeable again in the way that Colin wondered about the magical properties of the Room of Requirement. I think a lot of people would have just had the potion appear and left it at that, but you showed that you put thought to the way the Room of Requirement operates, as well as something of magical theory. That's something I always really like to see in stories. :)

I also liked the effect that you managed to create by having Ginny overhear that conversation between McGonagall and Flitwick. It's very interesting to have a reminder that, while Ginny and the rest are at school, Harry's been to Grimmauld Place, found R.A.B., talked to Kreacher...it was a really nice contrast.

On characterization, I'll just say that I have the same feelings on this chapter as I did about the first. The new characters you began writing about, like Flitwick, McGonagall, and Seamus, all seemed pretty accurate to me, as well.

A couple of other things came up in this chapter that I wanted to mention. First, I noticed that you had Colin refer to Harry, Ron, and Hermione, as "the trio". The problem with doing that is that the label of "the trio" is a label invented by fans like ourselves, and it was never used in the books to refer to Harry, Ron, and Hermione. Of course, "trio" is also a word that can just refer to a group of three, which is perhaps how you meant it--however, I'd try to avoid it as a descriptor, just because it's become inextricably linked to that label used by HP fans. Anyone who reads that term in your story will think you're using "the trio" in that sense.

The other issue had to do with POV. Even though this story seems to be told from Ginny's POV, you sometimes slip into someone else's for a few lines. In the scene where Ginny was relating what she'd overheard from McGonagall and Flitwick, for example, somehow we ended up in Colin's perspective in the last paragraph. In the second part of this chapter, where they were in the Great Hall, it also started to slip into Neville's perspective towards the end of their conversation. There's nothing wrong with changing POVs in a story, of course, but it can throw people off when you do it in the middle of a scene, especially if you then switch back to the POV you had before. If it seems like you've done it unintentionally, which is what it seems to me here, then it makes the story sound less polished.

Since you asked about the summary, I'll try and give you some thoughts here on it. Keep in mind, though, that I'm pretty bad at crafting summaries--you can always ask for someone else's help on the forums, because there are people who are much better at it than I am! :P Anyway, the only thing I can say about your summary is that it's a bit too vague to really pull someone's attention in. The first couple sentences are kind of unnecessary, and don't really add too much to the summary, in my opinion. I'd try to bring out more clearly what it is that's really happening in the story--maybe some of the characters, one of the more salient plot points, or something to that effect. You don't want to give too much away, but I think you may be holding too much back with the way it is. Some people have found using quotes from the story as their summaries really effective, so you could always consider that. Just try to give people who might scroll past your story something that makes them go, "Wow, I wonder what that's about--I have to read this story and find out!" (Not the most helpful advice, I know, but I think summary vagueness is something I'm already very guilty of myself, and haven't quite found the solution to yet!)

Well, I hope you found some of my suggestions helpful. Thanks again for requesting! Feel free to re-request, though just make sure these are replied to first. :)

Author's Response: Thanks again :) I'm really super picky about canon and that. I can read non-canon stories, but find them really hard to write.

Yeah, sometimes people can forget that while all this is going on the DH is happening at the same time. I do sometimes too so this is to help me just as much as it is to help the readers.

I'll go back an reread that bit because I can't remember what I as referring to. I'll be sure to change it to something more appropriate though :)

Hmm with the POV thing it was completely unintentional, so I shall go back and 'polish' it :P Thanks for that, I had no idea I was doing that. You'll probably find that later in the story as well.

Helpful advice with the sumary thing :) I suppose it is a bit vague. I might try the quote thing if I can find a good one that sums up the characters feelings or a main scene in the story. If not, I may just have to add one :D

I found that very helpful, thankyou very much :) I'll be rerequesting sometime in the near future, I assure you! Thanks again!
MG


 Report Review

Review #10, by Reducto On The Hogwarts Express

25th April 2010:
Oh I love it the version of events fits perfectly and seems very likely. Oh I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha thankyou :) The next chapter should be up soon. I'll get to work on it!
MG


 Report Review

Review #11, by Reducto Now... or Later?

25th April 2010:
Glad you did your research for this part of the story ;D
Wonderful! Love it!

Author's Response: I really like to stick to the canon so it feels like it could actually be happening while the trio are off searching for horcruxes. Thankyou so much!
MG


 Report Review

Review #12, by Reducto The Plan

25th April 2010:
Oh so exciting! Off to read the next chapter ;D I am really enjoying this story.

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy the other chapters too :) Thanks!
MG


 Report Review

Review #13, by Reducto Dumbledore's Army

25th April 2010:
This is fantastic! Well written as well.
I really wanted to find a fan fiction that was set during this time of the Deathly Hallows.

Author's Response: Thankyou. There are a few around. I really like stories set in this time period as well, especially when they stick to canon :) Thankyou for reviewing!
MG


 Report Review

Review #14, by _Lady Marauder_ On The Hogwarts Express

30th March 2010:
Ive been meaning to say, those white deviding lines are extremely snazzy! How'd you get those suckers in there!

I must say, I freaked out when I saw the chappie image!! *dies*


Arnold the Pygmy Puff! Id have never remembered about him!!! And, once again, the animals have better instincts than do the humans. One for the animals.

And one for the stupid bloody Death Eaters *grumbles* Taking Luna. I gotta admit, I was really startled when all of the sudden, toward the end, I felt a little prickle in the corners of my eyes, and I am PRETTY sure I didnt suddenly get a piece of dust stuck there ;)

Good job, love! I am QUITE enthralled, and I cant wait to see what comes next!!!
~~Chelsea

Author's Response: They're line breaks. When posting, check the little tool bar and you'll find it. I can't remember quite which button it is, but I'm sure you'll find it :)

The sixth sense that tends to be ignored ;) Listen to the animals, dear children. Arnold is so cute. He's PURPLE... need I say more?

Poor Luna :( Thankyou. I think I had a prickle too. Maybe at some point, but that may have been the dust.

Thankyou! I hope to get the next chapter up before I go away (in like, 3 hours) but if not, when I get back. I might just make it a short one.
MG


 Report Review

Review #15, by _Lady Marauder_ Detention With Hagrid

30th March 2010:
Aww, can I get a woot woot for Hagrid? I love that big lug! I also luuurrve how you've kept his accent in there!! That's fabulous dahling! I love it when people spend extra effort to do those sort of things! Accents being the foremost, of course (I did Krum's once in a one shot of mine. Holy crap it was killerly hard!)

Did you invent those lovely little mushrooms, or are they canon? I dont recal them, but I suppose I could be forgetting.

I like how they are sharing their ideas over Harry. When reading Deathly Hallows, it is SO easy to forget that no one else in the wizarding world had any IDEA what Harry was doing on his prolonged camping expedition. To them, Lord only knows what they thought was happening.

Ahhh... Hagrid really IS smarter then he's letting on! Good boy, Haggie!

Eagerly continuing!
~~Chelsea

Author's Response: This was kind of a fluffy chapter. A sneak peak of what is to come. I tried to make him talk as little as possible, because accents are really hard! I applaud those (like you) who take on Krum's or Fleur's accents, because they'd be even harder than Hagrid's.

No, they're my little invention. I couldn't find a real plant that would fit the storyline.

As readers, we have the advantage of knowing what's going on at each stage of the plot. For example, at this point the trio would be split, Ron at Shell Cottage and Harry and Hermione at Godrics Hollow. The others don't know any of this, and as you said, it's really easy to forget that sometimes.

Thanks for reviewing!
MG


 Report Review

Review #16, by _Lady Marauder_ The Second Mission

30th March 2010:
Aww I find the fact that Michael is compromising himself by being an indirect part of the breaking-in plot adorably loyal and heartwrenching!

I wonder, would the portraits really have tattled on her? I mean, I know they owe alligience to the Headmaster, but to Hogwarts also, and I wonder if they would have known Ginny was attempting to help?

I like how you havent forgotten that Snape was acting. Yay! Even if you hadnt had the section at the end, that one little glimmer of pride that she saw in his eyes would have been enough to make me recognize how much you have thought this story through, and how thorough you tend to be (not like I hadnt notoced before).

As it is, the piece at the end was brilliant! It shows how much Snape is really vulnerable, and it reminds us that he isnt the bad guy here. That he is trying to HELP. You're winding this all in with what we know of Harry's 7th book canon really really well. I am continuously impressed by your ability to take a totally unknown storyline, and make it LITERALLY seem like it was all happening!

Good job, but now I wouldnt expect anything less!
~~Chelsea

Author's Response: Hey
He's not going to give up. Thanks. He IS Ginny's ex, so he would have some loyalty still there, even just a little bit.

We will never know, will we? Because the portraits didn't know what was going on, and thus didn't tattle or keep it secret. I suppose some may understand what they were doing, but others (eg Phineas Nigellus Black) would probably have run to Snape.

Even when he was meant to be evil, I could never truly hate Snape. Dislike him yes, but never hate him. I love it how he ended up to be the best good guy of them all.

Thankyou! Everyone knows the basics, I'm just filling in the specifics. I'm really enjoying writing this story. Thanks for the awesome challenge, by the way :D
MG


 Report Review

Review #17, by _Lady Marauder_ Now... or Later?

30th March 2010:
Hello again!

Once again, you still are impressing me, m'dear! I continue to be thoroughly creeped out by Carrow. And everytime Colin does something really adorable, it jsut makes me go 'aw'! He really is a sweetie, and I like how you've changed him to fit your needs for the story. All we got in canon was Harry's undoubtably biased view of Colin, so our picture is incomplete. I have to say, I like this one better!!

Also, youve managed to make me feel PITY for Ginny, which is a huge feat, and you should be proud of! I never liked Ginny all that much, but I actually suprisingly LOVE your Ginny! So three cheers for that!!!

I adore how wonderfully you have managed to mesh drama, action, horror, and romance! You would think they are all paradoxes, but youve proven that wrong! Its a lovely balance, so keep it up!

I wonder what she will end up doing! The choice seems obvious to me, but Im obviously biased towaard Colin. And ive just remembered, Colin dies in canon doesnt he? I wonder if you are going to stick to that canon, or tweak it a bit?? We'll see though!!

Well done darling!
~~Chelsea

Author's Response: Hey!
Thanks. Colin is really OOC compared to the books, but as you said, it was just Harry's view of him. But who really knows what he was like? We really didn't get a clear image of him since the second book, only mentioning him in between. I like this Colin too. He's not as annoying ;)

YAY! I actually didn't pay much attention to Ginny until... the fourth time I read the sixth book. Then I noticed how deep her character was. But not everyone shares my view on that. Thankyou! I feel like I've converted somebody! lol.

Wow, thankyou. I didn't know what I was doing was meshing paradoxes. Sounds fancy ;)

To be continued! You'll find out eventually, even if it's after the deadline. I'll keep going even after the competition is over. I may... I may not. Wait and see ;)
Thankyou!
MG


 Report Review

Review #18, by _Lady Marauder_ They Can't Crush Us

30th March 2010:
Hello love! Me again, and lets jsut pretend that it hasnt been months since Ive reviewed my challenge entries *shifty eyes*

Before I even get STARTED on the story part: YAY! The chapter images are GORGEOUS! The one for this chapter literally almost made me faint. Of course, it helps that you have an unbelievably smexy Colin *wants Colin* :D NEVER thought I would say that!

Oh no no no! Poor Michael! The way you described it, I could just SEE how bad it was in my head - which was obviously the point.

EEe! That conversation with Carrow made me so uncomfortable! In the most amazing, splendid, awkward sense of the word, of course! What a major crepp!

I siriusly (Siriusly, get it? lol) love how you have portrayed Death Eaters. The divide between good and evil here is so amzingly abrupt and powerful, that it is quite reminiscant of how JKR herself wrote it!

Keep up the good work! I am moving onto the next now!
~~Chelsea

Author's Response: Hello :D
Yeah I love the chappie images too. Thank the awesome person who made them ;) No, he's MY smexy Colin *sits on Colin* :D

I wanted it to be Colin who helped Ginny, but that wasn't canon. Oh well. He helped later :)

That's how I imagine they would be. Creepy Carrows ;) I get it lol. Thankyou, that's siriusly [;)] the best compliment you could give me.
Thanks for the awesome review and for just being awesome!
MG


 Report Review

Review #19, by Mrs HJ Potter On The Hogwarts Express

15th March 2010:
Wow, they killed Pig, how sad. I hope we get to see the next chapter real soon.

Author's Response: It was necessary, I'm afraid. Thankyou, the next chapter should be up soon.
MG


 Report Review

Review #20, by dracos_hotter On The Hogwarts Express

14th March 2010:
Just because I knew it was happening didn't make it any less painful =( Especially Luna's dreamy state as she was led away...

Excellent as ever, I see.

xE

Author's Response: Thankyou. I told it as I thought it would have happened. Luna was never one for putting up a huge fight against the inevitable. Thanks for leaving a review!
MG


 Report Review

Review #21, by Mrs HJ Potter Detention With Hagrid

8th March 2010:
Well, I liked that you went into what their detention entailed and in having the 3 of them attempt to talk Hagrid out of the party idea. The chapter was short so I am anxious to see what happens on the train ride home and what goes on during Christmas break. I have the feeling that things will get much rougher for Ginny and Neville upon their return to school.

Author's Response: Thanks. Yeah, I know it was too short, but the next coming chapters will hopefully be longer. I won't hold back ;) Everyone knows what has to happen next, so that'll be in the next chapter. Thankyou, my faithful reviewer, for leaving yet another great review :)
MG


 Report Review

Review #22, by Mrs HJ Potter The Second Mission

28th February 2010:
I loved the you added Snapes point of view. That completely made the chapter in my opinion. To have thought that Ginny was so similar in looks and attitude to Lily and to see Snapes thoughts on that, well it was great. Your story is wonderful. JK really left us with a lot to imagine by not going in depth on the fight at Hogwarts. Lets face it she could write a whole book just on that. I love your version of this struggle and can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Thanks :) What's with the Potter boys going for the red heads? Haha. I'm really glad you like it, because that's why I write. For my readers to enjoy. I agree. JK left a lot of material for people to play with. Not that that's a bad thing. Next chapter will be up as soon as I decide to write it!
Thanks for reviewing!
MG


 Report Review

Review #23, by JohnnyPickAlot The Plan

28th February 2010:
Oh. I really like how you're going about this story. The plot is quite intriguing and so are your characterizations.
Very good job. :]
Feel free to re-request!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad it's ok. I think I will re-request :)
MG


 Report Review

Review #24, by JohnnyPickAlot The First Mission

28th February 2010:
The flow of this chapter is good as well and I really think you have the characterizations of everyone down real well.
Good job!
*next chapter!*

Author's Response: Awesome :) Thankyou!
MG


 Report Review

Review #25, by JohnnyPickAlot Dumbledore's Army

28th February 2010:
Hey, Sarah from the forums. :]
First I'd like to say that the flow is good and so are your descriptions. Nothing seems too rushed but I did notice that you spelt organization wrong near the end of the chapter.
*off to next chapter*

Author's Response: Hey :) Thankyou! I'm glad its not too rushed. Ah organisation ;) Australian spelling.
Thanks for reviewing!
MG


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>