Reading Reviews for The Boy Who...
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PhoenixPulse Let Go

10th June 2012:
This pulled at my heartstrings. You do a great job in portraying the thoughts of each character and showing, rather than simply telling, what each character goes through in their everyday life. I don't know why, but after reading this chapter, I couldn't help but feel pride for Draco at the end. You do a great job of pulling out raw emotions. I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really love writing all of these stories and I wish I had the ideas and motivation for more. It's so much fun delving into all these different characters, so I'm really glad that you can see the effort that went into it.

Thanks again!

Dem


 Report Review

Review #2, by ForeveReveille12 Lived

5th February 2012:
This is absolutely precious!
You very rarely find realistic renderings of Harry's adult life and parenting skills. This is one of those delightful looks into his life that make a reader want to come back to it again and again...as I have already done countless times :)

Have you ever thought of doing a longer story about Harry's life with his young kids? I would totally read that!

Kudos,
Rev

Author's Response: I haven't really thought about writing much on Harry with his kids. It isn't something I see much of, but I definitely find it interesting to think about.

I'm really happy you've enjoyed this so much to read it more than once! haha That's a pretty big compliment in my book.

Thank you so much for the review! I hope you'll come back and read the others when I finally post them.

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #3, by icegreen89 Let Go

20th June 2011:
This is excellent. Just breathtaking. I was crying a little. Poor fallen Draco, and baby Scorpius is so perfect. Now I hope you later do a bit about Scorpius too.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! It's such a huge compliment when my writing makes someone else emotional.

You know, I never actually thought about doing ones for the next-gen characters, but I might have to include that now!

Thanks for this lovely review!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #4, by hpgrl Let Go

17th June 2011:
wow. that was a great chapter. You painted Draco's character so vividly and Scorpius' innocence was moving. I love how the chapter was all simple gestures and dialogue that meant so much.

:)

Author's Response: I've been a bit nervous about this chapter, to be honest, but I seem to be getting good reviews. It just didn't flow as naturally as the other two, but I suppose that's because it's hard to imagine Draco being emotional in any sense.

Thank you for all of your lovely reviews!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Let Go

17th June 2011:
I'll admit I got a little teary eyed just reading this. I really enjoyed reading all three chapters but Harry's and Draco's especially. James and Scorp as little kids, it really pulls at your heart strings (jeez I sound like my Mother oy vey). Excellent job.

Author's Response: It's so hard to write Draco emotionally, but it tears me up, too! It's good to hear that it has that effect on others, even though I don't want you to cry!

I love seeing both of them as fathers. It's a really different perspective, isn't it?

Thank you for your lovely review!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #6, by hpgrl Lied

17th June 2011:
A great, moving chapter. I love that its just a snapshot in time. You're not giving too much background, you're just writing it as it happened, and it makes it all that much more raw.

great job :)

Author's Response: Goodness, I love this one. Every time I get a review on it I just love it that much more. It's so short but you're right--it's a snapshot. It's beautiful that way.

Thank you so much!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #7, by hpgrl Lived

17th June 2011:
Hi! this was so well constructed and written, I was smiling through the whole thing. Your descriptions were beautiful and the dialogue flowed so naturally. I love James! and Al is a funny little fussy baby. Thanks for writing this, and keep up the great work!

I'm off to the next chapter :D

Author's Response: I loved writing James and Al! Even if Albus was only a baby. xD I'm glad it made you smile.

Thank you so much!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #8, by academica Let Go

17th June 2011:
I actually came very close to tears with this one. Easily the best yet (though I may be a bit biased; I absolutely love Draco). Poor, poor Malfoy family. Great work!

Author's Response: I have to say I've grown a bit of a soft spot for Draco myself. Though he isn't entirely off the hook. :P

Thank you for all your lovely reviews!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #9, by academica Lied

17th June 2011:
Very sad, but well-written. Moving on to the next one!

Author's Response: Thanks! It is rather sad, isn't it?

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #10, by academica Lived

17th June 2011:
Absolutely lovely! So glad I ran across it. Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you found it! :D

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #11, by LowPurple Let Go

17th June 2011:
I just followed your link on the forums and I'm really glad I did. All three chapters so far are fabulous and so well written.

Harry, Dumbledore and Draco are three characters I rarely read fics about but you chose three lovely moments in their lives and showed a side that's never really shown in the books. I loved little James and Scorpius, they're both completely adorable. And I felt so sorry for Albus and Aberforth, both so lonely in their grief.

I could probably gush for hours but I'm just going to say that I can't wait for the rest.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I'm loving writing these stories. It's fun to really look at each character and find the best thing in their life to write about.

I'm really glad you liked James and Scorpius! Sometimes it's really difficult to write children.

Thank you again!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #12, by Trundlebug Lied

1st June 2011:
I think the title of this one sums up Dumbledore completely. He was a great man, but a lot about him was either a lie or an unuttered secret.

There is a lot of power in this scene, and I can see him, sitting at her grave, very clearly as he hates himself a little extra on this particular day. Anyone who has ever failed someone can imagine it, at least a little, and I think being human requires a bit of failing before all is through.

I loved the final bit, as he and Aberforth walk past one-another. There is a lot said by those two silent men in that brief moment.

Excellent and exceptional as always.

Author's Response: You know, I was certain I wanted to title his chapter "Lied" but I couldn't think of a single time that he just right out lied in the series! Until the socks, of course. :) He was a very secretive man.

The last bit is probably my favorite. So short, but so incredibly powerful.

Thank you for this lovely review!

Dem


 Report Review

Review #13, by Trundlebug Lived

1st June 2011:
Beautifully written; a nice, honest look at Harry the father.

The whole scene is fun for me because I have experienced the same thing first-hand. But you depart from that in a way that ties it with Harry by having him remember his surrender and the parallel he draws from it.

This is a great scene, and an apt one for this collection.

Author's Response: Thank you!

I really enjoyed the parallels between this scene and when he gave his life before. Just the fact that he would do it again speaks strongly to me.

I am so glad you enjoyed it. :)

Dem


 Report Review

Review #14, by grednforgesgirl Lied

19th April 2011:
Wow. . .this is a really good story so far! You definately need to keep going with this one! Can't wait for more!
~gfg

Author's Response: Thank you kindly! I'm rather fond of this collection myself and am really excited about what's to come.

Glad you enjoyed it!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #15, by marinahill Lied

26th January 2011:
Oh my gosh, that was stunning. I find this whole storyline with the Dumbledores so tragic and beautiful and I felt every bit of Albus' pain in this chapter. The fact that he's the boy who "lied" made this even more poignant and sad. I'm blown away by the poetic beauty of this chapter, and I don't often say that with true sincerity. I just want to give him a hug or something.

Really, I'm pretty speechless. Thank you for writing this ♥

Author's Response: I'm so glad you got to read this chapter as well! When I saw that you read the first chapter I was hoping you would get to the second because it is definitely the better of the two.

Dumbledore was so fun to write just because he was such a challenge. Even with Rita's book, there's so much we don't know about Dumbledore and his long long life. He's a character that was always looked to for wisdom, always believed to have everything under control, all the while he was battling his own demons.

I thought of the title for this chapter before I actually thought of the lie. It took me forever to think of an instance in the books where he actually lied. I was starting to think that there wasn't one! But then, suddenly, it popped into my head, as did this chapter, and I absolutely love it.

It truly is one of the saddest things I've ever written.

You are so welcome, and thank you for reading it!

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #16, by marinahill Lived

26th January 2011:
I love the idea for this short story collection! It's really unique and has so much potential :)

I think you captured Harry perfectly in so few words. Although he was exhausted, he recognised how much he had and how much he could have lost that day in the forest. James was very sweet and well-written too - children can be very hard to write and often they go over the top; but you didn't. It was simple and fresh and very charming. Excellent :)

Marina

Author's Response: This is probably my favorite idea I've had for HPFF yet. Which is weird since I've only updated it twice! xD

Children are really difficult to write, and I definitely had some backup when I wrote this chapter to make sure I was getting it right, but I really enjoyed writing James. Before he grows up and becomes much like his grandfather and is too embarrassed to outwardly love his brother--it was a lot of fun and really cute. I'm so glad you think that I got it right. That means a lot to me.

Thank you for this really lovely review!

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #17, by maskedmuggle Lied

10th November 2010:
Hello again :P

Albus Dumbledore isn't easy to write. (Well I think so, and some others I've read haven't been all too good truthfully)! But this chapter, is really well written. I think you got his character perfectly, and again, you wrote it so well I can really imagine this scene happening, and I can see it happening.

You gave me an insight into his mind, and it really tied in with the theme "Lied". You engaged me the whole time, I find no faults with your story, really!

I loved the ending too, it was a nice touch. And I like how you didn't openly say it Aberforth, but rather described it. Oh, and the part about the fourteen yellow roses was beautiful.

Loving this story! I hope you update soon, because I'd love to read the rest. You've really intrigued me, and your writing is awesome! :)

Author's Response: Seriously seriously grateful for that compliment. I believe Dumbledore is a really complicated character and we barely get to see past the surface during the series, making him incredibly hard to write. I'm so happy that I was able to do even a decent job of portraying him!

This chapter is, so far, my favorite of the two I've written for this series. I think I did a little jig when I remembered that Dumbledore actually had lied!

The ending, I have to say, is my pride and joy. I really don't know where it came from. Suppose I have my muse, Rusty, to thank for that little bit of genius.

I've actually got a few others written up in the first draft stage, but what with NaNo and school I haven't had much time for editing. xD BUT, no fear, I will be updating this! Likely in the holidays. :DDD

Thank you so so much!

Dem


 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggle Lived

10th November 2010:
Hi there!

So, I'm a Claw and part of the QTR staff, and someone who was supposed to review for you like two months ago. I'm terribly sorry at how late this is. Really. But I'm so intrigued by all your stories that I'll probably end up reviewing more :)

Anyway, so I chose this story to review, because the summary and the BANNER was so intriguing! I LOVE the idea of this short story collection - and its so clever too! Lived, lied, longed, loathed, I love the alliteration, its simply too clever.

Anyway, this chapter is brilliant! I love the way you write - I can just picture the scene occurring - how cute James must be, and Albus too! The ending part was really sweet.

Looking forward to DUMBLEDORE :)
Great story so far!

Author's Response: What a pleasant surprise! I completely forgot about these reviews. xD

I love this story, or rather this collection of stories. Honestly, it's the idea I'm the most proud of and I'm not surprised by how much attention it has gotten. I wish I could say I made that banner, with how wonderful it is, but unfortunately not. I was lucky enough to find someone that talented to make it for me, of course!

I loved the idea of each title starting with the letter L. I literally got up in the middle of the night to get paper so I could write this idea down. I was so incredibly excited about it.

I'm glad you liked this chapter. I really liked writing it. I don't see many fics where the children are actually, well, children. And I always thought Harry would make an excellent father.

Thank you so much!

Dem


 Report Review

Review #19, by moonbaby11 Lied

23rd October 2010:
Hello! Here I am with your, albeit late, review for answering the Riddles for Tom! Congrats on that! :)

Anyways, I thought this was a good idea. I really loved the way you went into Dumbledore's mind, which I think woudl be hard to do! Dumbledore just seems like such a complex person! I thought it was a good idea, though sad, that Dumbledore thought Ariana wouldn't forgive him just because he still hadn't forgiven himself.

Your writing is really great and definetly brought this peice to life. It was so haunting, but in a good way. I like the way you ended it, Aberforth and Albus looking at each other for a moment as they each laid flowers on their sister's grave. I thought it was sweet. :)

So, congratulations on winning this review! Good luck for the next issue of Quoth the Raven. Who knows, maybe you'll earn some more reviews! ;) Anyways, keep up the writing because I think you're really great! Good job.

Author's Response: Sorry it took me forever to respond to this! I've been dreadfully lazy lately. >.<

Anyway, I love the story you chose to review. I love then entire Short Story collection idea, but I especially enjoyed writing Dumbledore. He's such a wise, complex character. We don't really get to see a ton of the things that he must go through. So it was nice to bring it out.

I especially loved the end. Thought it was fitting.

Thanks for the review! Those riddles were awesome. :DDD

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #20, by icegreen89 Lived

25th September 2010:
I read the other reviews, so I cannot take credit for this, but I can agree with them and say that Harry has died for the rest of the world. It's what he does- he sacrifices himself for 'the greater good'. His family should give him reason to live. I think he'd want to watch his sons and later his daughter grow up. He'd want to live.

I really wish you'd update, BTW. These are great.

Author's Response: Yes, Harry did die for the rest of the world. He already sacrificed himself once, why should he feel that he would do it again? I don't know. Perhaps it is a minor flaw of his--growing up always putting his neck out to save other people. Maybe he doesn't know that living for someone is just as powerful if not more than dying for them?

Or maybe I just made all that up. xD It's a possibility. Yes, his family does give him a reason to live, but he would be willing to die for them nonetheless. ^^

And I hope to be able to update soon! I have a few stories for this in rough draft form. Just haven't gotten around to prettying them up yet.

Thanks for the reviews!

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #21, by icegreen89 Lied

25th September 2010:
These are lovely. I really wish you'd write about the other Weasley boys too. With your skill, I know they'll all come alive. The banner is also fantastic.

Author's Response: I'll definitely be getting to all the Weasley boys eventually! They each have such fantastic stories and characters, how could I pass them up?

And thank you for the compliment on my writing skill. ^^

I love the banner. So much love. xD

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #22, by Canadian_Hogwarts Lied

11th September 2010:
What an amazing look into Dumbledore's mind. The ending made me tear up, the brothers meeting at their sister's grave is such a touching and terrible picture (I mean terrible in a good way...if that makes any sense). I think that you were spot on with Dumbledore's character, especially the fact that he does not forgive himself, so he believes that Ariana doesn't forgive him. You're really a fantastic writer! Keep it up... and update soon!

Author's Response: Thankies! This is definitely my favorite of the two I have up so far, even though it's barely over 500 words. I really think the story ended up being written just to show that last scene with the brother's meeting but ignoring each other.

And I do get what you mean by terrible. The relationship between Albus and Aberforth is really heartbreaking.

Thank you so much for both of your reviews! I've been working on the next chapters, but I don't know when they'll be up. Maybe soon. ^^

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #23, by Canadian_Hogwarts Lived

11th September 2010:
Wow! What a great start! A really good look at Harry's post- war life.I can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really enjoyed writing this piece because it's a part of Harry's life I've never really seen before. It was fun. ^^

I hope you enjoy the rest!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #24, by TheTenthWeasley Lied

8th September 2010:
That was terribly, and wonderfully, sad.

The last couple lines when Dumbledore and Aberforth (it was him, right? I mean, who else?) saw each other was very moving and ... well it fit, for some reason.

Update soon? I am really enjoying this, and I like the way you've name the chapters (:

10/10

Author's Response: I love this story. It is my favorite of the two I have written so far in this collection.

I think this story was written for that last line. I didn't have it in mind when I started it, but now that's it's over, it just seems like it was made just so that part could you shown, you know?

Hopefully I'll be able to update soon! I've got a few others written (at least partially) so it shouldn't be too long.

And I'm rather partial to the chapter titles as well. xD

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #25, by TheTenthWeasley Lived

8th September 2010:
Before I begin, I'd like to point out two things:

One - " I firsty, James repled, his words muffled by the thumb he'd placed in his mouth. "

I'm sure that should be 'replied'.

Two - That was really cute line, as was the one about James patting Albus's head. Awww.

I really loved how James ordered his dad around, and Harry just gave in. Ironic how he could accept death and face Voldemort okay, but when it comes to his two-year-old son and a little baby he is defenceless.

Beautifully written. I'm going to go read the next one now (:

10/10

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! And I can't believe I missed that typo. O.o *goes to change it*

I love how Albus pushes his dad around, but Harry's tired and it's just easy to do what the kid says than to fight it. xD

Thank you so much!

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>