Reading Reviews for Looking For Tomorrow
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lia_2390 Goodbye, Penny

20th August 2010:
Would you believe this is the first Percy fic I've ever read? You did a really good job with Percy's characterisation. I know he's not that much of a stick-in-the-mud like everyone says he is and I thought it was nice of him to go up to the hospital wing to see Penny. I could hear his voice say all this perfectly. You've made him very comfortable with her, to the point where he has a slip of the tongue which I found was cute :)

You did a really well capturing a perspective such as this one and during such a time as well!

Lia.

Author's Response: I love Percy and have read rather a lot of stories about him and so I'm shocked to hear this is your first!! Just kidding x) There are some really good ones out there, though, so if you ever feel like reading another you'll have plenty of choice :) I'm glad you liked my charaterisation of him, because I find it really difficult not to make him OTT.

I definitely think he would have gone to see her at some point, because underneath all the stuffiness he is sweet, really. (Yes, I am a total Percy fan xD So I like to think the best of him)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Lady of Tears Goodbye, Penny

18th June 2010:
This was very beautiful! I find Percy to be a fascinating character, and I thought you wrote him perfectly. I'd love to see more things like this. I always forget that Harry and the others really were twelve once and the only thing they had to worry about was a Basilisk. Love it!

Author's Response: Thank you! I find Percy rather fascinating as well and he's one of my favourite characters in the books, but I find him hard to write because it's so easy to make him over the top...

Haha indeed the Basilisk was a piece of cake compared to good old Voldy! Oh, the innocent days of second-year... xD

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Mad Hatter Goodbye, Penny

12th February 2010:
ah. this must be one of my favourite oneshots of all time. XD I LOVED Percy in this - he was so cute and so perfectly Percy! All this awkwardness and discussion of the weather and it's just all... -melts-

The style was also gorgeous - any chance we get to see more P/P from you? It was just...amazing. End of.

Author's Response: OMG really?? That's really amazing to hear. Thank you so much! I'm blushing :D And a little bit lost for words. But THANK YOU!

*ahem* Anyway, I've been thinking about writing some more P/P, actually, because I just love both of them so much. Just watch this space... haha x)

Thank you SO much for this lovely review! It's genuinely made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Muggle Born 12 Goodbye, Penny

10th February 2010:
please write just one more chapter

Author's Response: Ahh this is just a one-shot I'm afraid and will most likely be staying that way, but thank you for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by RonsGirlFriday Goodbye, Penny

7th January 2010:
OMG.

-dies of squee-

Percy = love

I adore this. I can't even write a coherent review. It was just so lovely to read. I could really hear Percy's voice in your writing - his mannerisms were there, and his stiffness and slight social awkwardness, although he was also a little more genuine as a result of believing she couldn't really hear him anyway - so he wore his heart a little more on his sleeve than he normally would have. Just perfect!

It's so hard to pick favorite lines, but I know this one definitely ranks:

Oh Merlin. There's something that sounded a hell of a lot better in my head.

He. Is. So. ADORABLE!

Gah! I'm beginning to ramble. Just like Percy. I loved it. favoriting it immediately! Thanks for writing Percy in such a sympathetic way!

xoxo
Melanie

Author's Response: So right. Percy = love. So few people appreciate that :(

His mannerisms are pretty much the best thing about Percy, so I'm glad they were all done properly ;) And this is definitely the only situation where I can imagine him properly wearing his heart on his sleeve (i.e. when the girl's unconscious xP), which is part of the reason I wrote the story in this setting, because I didn't think I could make Percy romantic and in-character any other way :D

Hehe, haven't we all done that? I constantly say things that sound way better in my head than they do out loud xD

Thanks so much Melanie :) xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by ShadowKisses Goodbye, Penny

6th January 2010:
I loved this! I feel as though you captured Percy's awkward, bumbling tone - and its almost self-deprecating with his "oh, errr, well..." delivery, and the broken sentences and apologetic "Sorry, that was me trying to be funny" - perfectly! You really did reveal a vulnerable side to a character who I've always seen as one-dimensional - pompous, self-concerned, anti-social. His alarm at saying "I love you" out loud - I could just picture him, furtively glancing around, eyebrows hairline-bound, glasses askew. -melts- Adding this to my favourites, 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'm SO glad you thought I got Percy right - he is so horribly difficult to write! But fun all the same. I was really worried about over-exaggerating the awkwardness and the bumbling and just the general Percyness, so it's a relief to hear that :D

Hehe, I love the way you phrased that, and that's EXACTLY how I always imagine Percy would be whenever he attempted to talk about his feelings x)

Thanks for the review, the favourite and the rating!! -squees-


 Report Review

Review #7, by witch_in_training Goodbye, Penny

24th December 2009:
Merry Christmas again!

I can't remember reading a fic that had Percy so... well, Percy-ish! How, pray tell, did you keep that boy in character?! Not to mention, in character and in love? I've wondered over and over about Penny and Percy's relationship, but I've never read a fanfic on them. This, however, was adorable.

And did you say you wrote this in HALF AN HOUR? Excuse me? I may have to bow down a little. In character, in love, and in half an hour. Three reasons this little fic deserve accolades.

I can hardly imagine how, after this, Percy wound up with someone else instead.

Cheers!

Sami

Author's Response: Having your Percy described as Percy-ish is probably one of the biggest compliments there is! And in-character?? Oh, I'm lost for words! Percy is SO hard to write because he's just so... individual. So, genuinely, I'm very flattered :)

Ahh, well I'm a bit of a Percy/Penny fan so I've read quite a few ;) Though I love Audrey, Penelope was a fellow prefect, so it's clearly a match made in heaven! How Audrey could ever compare to that is beyond me. xD

That was, and still is, the shortest time I've ever written ANYTHING in. Even my 400 word drabbles tend to take longer. I mean, I've edited bits of it now and then after posting it up here, but nothing major. (Mainly typos etc, which are the bane of my existence.)

Thank you!! *huggles* xx



 Report Review

Review #8, by Resplendence Goodbye, Penny

30th November 2009:
This was so incredibly sweet. I loved it!

I love the character voice you gave Percy -- I think it fit him perfectly. I really enjoyed getting to listen to him ramble to Penny about the weather and his siblings and nothing. I also loved how he dragged out leaving for so long. He said he was going to go, and then he just kept on talking for another minute or so. Adorable!

Thanks for writing. This was cute, and I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! I'm so relieved you thought I wrote Percy well - he's one of my favourite characters (in fanfiction, in the books he's a little dodgy if hilarious xP) but I've never tried writing him before and I was so worried about getting him wrong :D I'm also glad you thought it was cute - I didn't know if it was too over the top or too soppy, as my attempts at romantic fluff often are xD

Thanks so much for the review! It's always brilliant to get some feedback, especially when it's as lovely as this :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login