12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LidaRose Blessed sleep, please

4th December 2010:
Fantastic. I love it when people write stories from Crookshanks' perspective. I think he's vastly underused as a character. Kudos to you for your sassy and frustrated portrayal.

Time to Go is also one of my favorites. Your story fits it beautifully. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the very kind review. As you can tell, my wife and I have cats and I based a lot of Crookshanks's behaviour on our cats. I'm especially glad that you read 'Time to Go,' as it's an amazingly funny story by Georgia_Weasley.

Happy you enjoyed this, and I really enjoyed writing it.


 Report Review

Review #2, by SaphireSmiles Blessed sleep, please

25th October 2010:
Bloody hell, you're brilliant.
I love your Crookshanks; that's him exactly.

Great job!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. My wife and I have two cats and I based him on them for the most part with what I knew of Crookshanks from the canon books as well.

Thanks so much for the nice reviews. Now this old tom cat is off to sleep; hope I have better luck than Crookshanks did.


 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirl Blessed sleep, please

17th January 2010:
LOL! Poor Ron, bested by a cat! That's gotta hurt!

Great fic!

Author's Response: Yep...Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by voldy_needs_a_hug Blessed sleep, please

10th December 2009:
wow.

very original
good job!

10/10
~Annie

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the nice review and the kind words. It's been a while since I had a review, so your reviews made my day.

Can you tell my wife and I have cats?


 Report Review

Review #5, by alyosha Blessed sleep, please

24th November 2009:
Haha. What an amusement.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Georgia Weasley Blessed sleep, please

21st November 2009:
LOL!!! Anyone with a cat will definitely get a kick out of this one. Leave it to Crookshanks to get that last dig in on Ron! Very clever, and I love the way he kept getting driven from his comfy spots by the married couple. His comment on how cats have nothing on Hermione's noise cracked me up. It made me smile to know that the Weasleys made the most of their night alone! Thanks so much for the reference. This was priceless.
~GW

Author's Response: I knew I wanted to do one of your stories and I really considered 'Full Marks' since it beat me for the LDWS competition, but I decided to take an off-kilter look at 'Time to Go' instead.

I'm glad you like this and that you think I got Crookshanks' characterization right. I actually had scooterbug check the story specifically because of the line you mentioned.

I'm glad you liked this story since I based it on one of yours.

Ah, the dig on Ron. Our two cats each seem to prefer a different human. Sophie seems to be more my cat and Gremlin more my wife's cat. I always thought that Crookshanks and Ron would just tolerate each other and live in an uneasy truce.

Thank you very much for your kind words.


 Report Review

Review #7, by WitnesstoitAll Blessed sleep, please

21st November 2009:
This was brilliant. I couldn't help but think of my own cats (Luna and George...) while reading this. Your characterization of Crookshanks was wonderfully entertaining. :) Well done!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words. I based a lot of his actions on our two cats, Sophie and Gremlin. I'm glad you liked Crookshank's characterization of a 'grumpy old man-cat.'



 Report Review

Review #8, by crazygurl17 Blessed sleep, please

21st November 2009:
lol i love it is funny as hell

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Paloma Patil Blessed sleep, please

21st November 2009:
This is hilarious. I think you've done a terrific job of finding the voice of a world-weary half-kneazle. I think his perspective on all that he's seeing is a riot.

Well done.

Paloma

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked the story and the voice of Crookshanks. Glad to hear that I'm getting better at finding a voice in first person.

I truly appreciate the review.


 Report Review

Review #10, by datbenik513 Blessed sleep, please

21st November 2009:
I just had a flashback from my favourite Garfield movies.

I must admit that you have a fantastic talent of picking out themes, which no one else would ever dare write about. I don't remember having ever read a story from a kneazle's POV.
You deserve a standing ovation, only for this.

The style of this small piece reminds me of "stream of consciousness". One just feels so sorry for this poor old cat who just tries to find a peaceful place to sleep.

The last paragraph, however, just proves my reason why I hate felines. We've had a cat when I was a boy and we constantly fought. It wasn't always me who won.

Bloody brilliant, Carl. An A+, in HPFF terms 10/10.

Author's Response: Thanks, Z for the nice review. Yeah, I like to write about different characters and concepts for sure.

I'm sorry you don't like cats. Even though ours are sometimes pains, we love them a bunch. I don't particularly like Garfield, but I understand what you mean and take it as a compliment. :)

It was meant as a very immediate piece, so I'm glad that came through.



 Report Review

Review #11, by Alopex Blessed sleep, please

21st November 2009:
*huff* I can't believe someone snuck in here and left a review before I did! I checked your page almost exactly an hour ago (59 minutes by my clock as I type this sentence, believe it or not; I know the time because I was planning out my reviewing time tonight), but I decided to plug away at my project read for a little bit. Ah well, it's pretty cool that someone saw this and wanted to read it! :-)

Anyway. I loved it! It was so funny, though of course I would not be pleased as a pet owner. Actually, I'm not much of a cat lover, though I know you are. (I'm actually not much of a pets-in-the-house lover . . . I know, I know.) But I still think I could appreciate this story. :-)

I definitely think you captured the character of a cat, particularly a Crookshanks cat/kneazle. I loved that this story was entirely from Crookshanks' POV, and the present tense made it seem so much more immediate and amusing! Crookshanks' thoughts were so grouchy and full of character. What a fabulous read!

I got such a kick out of Crookshanks' predicament! Poor cat, just couldn't get any peace at all. That was so comical. But then, I suppose we shouldn't feel TOO sorry for him (though I have to admit I was moved by the image of an old, sneezing cat huddling under the couch, trying to escape the noise--though perhaps I was moved because Crookshanks cleverly described the scene in such a way as to manipulate the sentiments of the readers) because it seems he's more than clever enough to look after his interests. Typical Ron . . . out-maneuvered by a cat! Of course it would be Ron. Haha! Really well done. This is going right into my favorites. :-)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. You know your opinion means a lot to me.

I don't usually write first person or present tense, but I thought this story really needed both. I'm really trying to work on first person as it's what I'm going to need to do to get through 'Dudley and Lavender' when I re-do it. I'm really working on each character having a distinctive voice.

And yes, you're correct that my wife and I own cats and love them very much. I based some of this on how our cats act.

I've been wanting to write a story from Crookshank's pov for a long time, ever since my wife suggested it for a challenge during the Last Drabble Writer Challenge at eHPF (the one for the Mirror of Erised when I wrote about Griphook instead). I think Crookshanks was definitely spinning things his way in his telling of the story :)

I wouldn't feel too sorry for Ron, he got some of what he wanted, too, and Hermione; you especially know if you read the story this is based on by Georgia_Weasley.

I'm so glad that you thought I got the grouchy 'old man' character of Crookshanks. I sort of based him on myself...a grumpy old man. LOL.

Thanks again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Banba Blessed sleep, please

21st November 2009:
Pookha,

That was very nice. Your crookshanks acts very much like my new cat (I was watching her torment the dog as I read your story). I love the ending and the disdain that crookshanks feels towards Ron.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad that you liked the ending. I didn't mean for Crookshanks to really show disdain for Ron-I just wanted to show that he would always be Hermione's cat first and Ron's second.

I love my two cats and I think it shows that I have cats in the story.

Thanks again.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login