Reading Reviews for Look What You've Done To Me
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hdawg Look What You've Done To Me

6th September 2012:
Hi! I've been looking around for some Cho/Cedric's to read, and your summary just sounded so beautiful (and your banner was too), that I knew I needed to read this.

But wow. That was...wow. I love the way you used 'Wuthering Heights' as your inspiration. That book has always been a favourite of mine, and the love/hate relationship in that has always fascinated me, and you have captured it perfectly and with a ship that I legitimately feel strongly about.

There aren't enough Cho/Cedric stories like this out there. Your imagery is gorgeous, and the old Chinese proverb you used is just perfect. I particularly love the constant use of memories, because it completely shapes her.

I never did truly believe that Cho would be able to move on as JKR always made it out to be. And you have convinced me even more of this.

This is beautiful. You have inspired me and I thank you so much ♥

Author's Response: Thank you! There really aren't that many Cho/Cedric stories out there, and I'm sorry that this is so short...I think their relationship is very interesting so, who knows, maybe I'll write a longer piece about them one day (:
I think Wuthering Heights is a really fascinating book, and I'm so glad you could see where my connection came from.
And I'm really happy that you liked this so much! Especially since it's the oldest thing I have posted on here and re-reading it makes me want to cringe. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Will of The Abyss Look What You've Done To Me

28th February 2011:
I loved this. It was beautiful and it made me cry. Angst always seems to do that to me...

Good job. It was amazing. I loved the relation to Wuthering Heights and how Cedric promised Cho he was going to marry her but "all that came out of that was broken promises".

Brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm sorry for making you cry, but I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.

 Report Review

Review #3, by You Have No Idea Who Look What You've Done To Me

25th August 2010:
This is so sad...but I like it a lot. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I like sad things a lot, and I'm glad you do as well. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jane_Volturi Look What You've Done To Me

24th August 2010:
Hi Cherry Bear

This is JaneTwilight from the forums. I was scrolling through your author page and this particular one shot seemed to jump out at me. It's very rare that I ever come across a mourning Cho story, but as much as she may annoy me, I can't deny the fact that Ive always had a soft spot for Cedric, and anything that reminds me even remotley of him always seems to catch my eye.

It's interesting that the book 'Wuthering Heights' inspired you to write this story; I don't think I've ever come across a story that was based around that particular type of romance before (except for 'eclipse' of course.) I did kind of make the connection towards the end of reading this one-shot (though that could be more to do with the fact that I just finished reading the novel last night.) I really like stories based around classics, you can just tell that they're going to be good.

I really enjoyed reading this. Your words flowed really well together, and your writing made the story nice to read. You handled Cho's heartbreak really well and you kept her very much in character.

I couldn't really spot any flaws, this was a great story and it's definitley going into my favourites. Feel free to request more reviews in the future if you like. You have a great writing style and I'm sure I'd enjoy reading more of your work.

10/10

Katie (JaneTwilight) x

Author's Response: Hey there Katie! First can I thank you so much for leaving me this review? You really didn't have to at all, and it was really really really sweet of you. One of these days when my life stops sucking and being busy I'm going to leave you a super long review to thank you for it. Just wait ;) But, yeah, thanks. You rock. This review definitely made my day a little brighter.

Before I wrote this, Cho annoyed me just as much as she does you but, even after I wrote this, I'm still annoyed with her. I just think that, just like every other person in the world, she has some sadness in her life story that can't just be ignored. I'm glad you'd never read something like this before, because that's part of what I strive to achieve when I write something.

It's ironic that you just finished reading Wuthering Heights and then you read this; I wrote it right after I read the book for the first time as well. So many reviews have told me that there's not enough to compare Cho with Heathcliff, so I think the acceptance of a parallelism between them must only seem realistic and apparent after just reading the book. Or, at least, that's what I'm going to tell myself haha.

I'm so glad that you liked this so much as all that. I'm totally blushing like a loon right now. Thanks so much for the review and all the wonderful compliments! :) You're really good at cheering people up, apparently.


 Report Review

Review #5, by AndrinaBlack Look What You've Done To Me

19th August 2010:
I liked this story, but I can't quite see anything Heathcliff like in Cho. I think she's too sweet for that and somehow I can't think that she would really hate him for all those things even if she says so. It comes to me more as hating fate. But I really liked the way you wrote her and wrote the emotions. I think it's probably not your fault if I can't see that Wuthering Heights inspiration that well here because I have my own understanding of Cho already.

I liked it that you gave a bit of background to Cho as well. You wrote that bit so interestingly also that I really wanted to know more about what happened there. What did she want to do with a wand as a child? It seemed like something specific that she had in mind. And I didn't quite understand why the other man said that she was clever then. Not only because she had taken a wand, right? The emotions in this also came through as strong ones and I could feel her pain. Well done. :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for the review! (: I wrote this last summer, after I had first read Wuthering Heights, and while the book isn't as fresh in my mind as it was then, I still feel like Cho might be a lesser version of Heathcliff. As you pointed out, she is a lot sweeter than him, but I've always pictured her selfish to the point where she would resent Cedric for making her fall in love with him and then leaving her. It's an interesting idea, anyway, but I can see how it might seem out-there to someone who wasn't inside my irrational mind, haha. I'm glad you liked it anyway, though.

Looking back at this piece now, I'm glad you like the beginning because I'll admit that I don't really like it at all anymore. I think I intended for the clever bit to be a hooking beginning and then transition into how she wasn't clever for falling in love with Cedric, but who really knows? I had the other man calling her clever because she had cleverly stolen her father's wand and was hiding from him trying to figure out how to do magic. It does seem like there should be a little more there, so maybe one of these days I'll try to rewrite this. Anyway, thank you so much for the review, and the compliments and critiques! (: I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #6, by DemetersChild Look What You've Done To Me

4th June 2010:
I love it. Of course, I love it. I was never a huge fan of Cho, though I was rather fond of Cederic.

The writing is beautiful, as always. I only read about half-way through Wuthering Heights (got annoyed when I realized that half the characters had the same names; much like J.K. Rowling did...) but I can see the similarities in the characters.

I agree that the last line was very powerful, however short it was. It's always the simple lines that stand out to me.

Bravo!

-Demi-

Author's Response: Strangely enough, I've never really liked either of them. And I wrote this a long time ago, so I'm pleasantly surprised that you find it acceptable. I still sort of cringe when I look at it :/

Yeah, I found Wuthering Heights rather tedious to read but it was a requirement for my English class and I refuse to use SparkNotes as a substitute for an actual book (yeah, I'm weird). Still, the ideas in the novel are pretty bizarre yet stimulating.

I love powerful last lines. That's one thing that I hate about YBWM; it's harder to leave off with a powerful last line because there's going to be another chapter, and then it would just get a bit repetitive with the end of every chapter being all cryptic and whatnot. I suppose I'll settle for making the last line of the story incredibly powerful (if I ever get there).

Thanks! I love you times a billion.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Rose_Weasley123 Look What You've Done To Me

24th December 2009:
Rose_Weasley123 here with your requested review! Iím so, so, SO sorry for the lateness. Life got a little hectic for me, and Iíve only just got it back on track. Anyway, Iím here now, and thatís what counts ;). BTW, a little off topic, thank you for your lovely review for one of my stories! I canít describe how happy it made me. Anyway, back to the serious reviewing. Iíll start off with the things you asked for.

Grammar, Spelling ect: I noticed a couple of run on sentences here, but really nothing major. The one thing I did notice was a little overuse of sentences starting with Ďsheí. I know itís hard, especially when there are only one or two characters you are talking about, but try playing with sentences so that the Ďsheí comes in the middle instead. Alternatively, try using something like Ďthe girlí. Iím sure you can think of better ways, but the use of Ďsheí too much does jar a little.

Style and fluency: I for one love the power a short one shot can hold (see most of mine, itís only recently Iíve been able to bring myself to over 1000 words :P), and I think you made great use of the length. Hardly a word was wasted, and I felt like you told a full story. I really liked the infusion of memories with the prose, and it was done much more subtly than an announced flashback. It flowed really smoothly too, which was surprising, given the jumping around in time. The one thing I could suggest is a little more description. Maybe itís just because Iím a description freak, but I think it would make it even better if you just gave a little description of her surroundings. Although really, itís good as it is. I also love the slightly dreamy, yet grounded style you have here. Perhaps one little bit of criticism is that the style, very occasionally, seemed to shift slightly into something more ethereal, which didnít quite suit it. However, I think thatís purely down to sentence structure.

Characterisation: I must admit that Cho has never been one of my favourite characters. Yet here, she is actually quite sympathetic. You are very good at manipulating emotions, and I could certainly imagine her love for Cedric being real. It felt very pure, somehow, and I could empathize with her pain at his death. I love the subtle clues you added to her personality, such as her (what seems like) twisted relationship with her father, and the mysterious stranger. Those details were not necessarily needed, but they made Cho a much deeper character. I also loved the links to Heathcliffe, with the love turning into hate. Cho certainly felt like a real person.

As for making sense, you have absolutely nothing to worry about. It made perfect sense. I especially loved the last line. It really showed Choís devotion to him, even as a memory. In some ways it was a very simple storyline, but it felt a lot deeper in some ways. Please kick me if Iím not making sense. I guess what Iím trying to say is that you told a lot in such a little, and every facet of it made sense.

Okay, I guess this review is quite nonsensical, and Iím sorry. Still, I hope I helped. But, bottom line, I really liked this story, and I hope Iíll see you back for more. :D.

-Becca

Author's Response: That's quite alright! I'm fine with any reviews, late, requested, or not ;D And you're very welcome. I feel like this whole review will seem like just a giant big thank you, so let me just start off by saying it straight away: THANK YOU.

Haha, yes, I do have a bit of trouble with that, and thank you for pointing it out. I always find the whole 'the girl' thing so...redundant, but I suppose consistently using she is even more so. I'll try to mess around with that and see what I can fix, thanks.

Me too! One-shots can be so amazing, and I have a hard time extending my writing to be multi-chaptered as well. I'm glad I'm not the only one ;) I'm really glad you suggested description actually; I felt a bit like it was hard to imagine where Cho was and what exactly was going on, but I couldn't quite find a spot to insert description. I will definitely look into this, though.

Yes, Cho isn't really a favorite of mine either, which, I suppose, is why I wrote this in the first place. In real life, I can't stand to not like someone - I always strive to justify their actions, even when I really shouldn't be. Some people might say that I look too deep into Cho's character, that she's much more shallow, but I'm glad you appreciated this. I think everyone is deeper than we realize, that people are inherently so blinded by their preconceived perceptions that they often don't see that there's more than that.

Thank you! I think you made a lot of sense, and I'm glad you thought I did too. It did help a lot, actually, and I'm really glad that you actually critiqued me. Sometimes reviewers just seem to sugarcoat everything, and I have a sweet tooth just like everyone else, but a lot of the time I'd like the bitter truth in there as well.

Thank you so much! Hopefully this review response did your wonderful review justice (:


 Report Review

Review #8, by kandekisses Look What You've Done To Me

22nd November 2009:
Short and sweet is the first thing that came to my mind when I finished reading this wonderful story. I've got to say that the plot was very interesting. I loved how you portrayed Cho and her feelings. I could really understand how she feels and that made me relate to her. The ending there really tied it all together and made me smile even though it was pretty sad.

Brilliant idea! I loved it =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review (even though I requested it). It was really nice and it made me smile. I strive to make people relate to my characters, so it's great to hear I was successful.

Thank you so much! I don't really know what else to say beyond this. Gracias! Merci! (Those are the only other languages I know, sadly)



 Report Review

Review #9, by fall_for_you Look What You've Done To Me

22nd November 2009:
That was sad, but really good! That last line was really powerful- 'she always did', and I thought the title fit the story unusually well. And the small connection with Wuthering Heights was fascinating as well. Great job :)

Author's Response: Thank you! For some reason, it's always been easier for me to write sad things. I really liked the last line too; I wanted something to sort of wrap things up and give the story some other meaning. Wuthering Heights = amazing. Thank you so much for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by redherring Look What You've Done To Me

22nd November 2009:
I really liked this! It was a very interesting take on Cho and her relationship with Cedric, and beautifully written, too. I especially liked those last three lines - it was a very powerful way to end it. And, of course I couldn't help but love anything inspired by Wuthering Heights, which I adore xD Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I live to hear that my writing was interesting and written well, so your review made me smile. Yes, Wuthering Heights is just a very inspiring book for some reason. I adore it too, even with all its twistedness. Thank you for your kind review! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login