Reading Reviews for Snape's Reprieve
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ivy 14. Through Air and 15. Through Presence

31st July 2012:
Very amusing the entire way through. It was brilliant. I especially love the ending :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by meee 2. First Observations and 3.Through Wilderness

26th January 2012:
Snape's character is a bit patchy; sometimes you capture him then other times I'm like "really?". It did make me laugh out loud though which is always good :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Me 9. Quarantine Breach and 10. Second Observations

14th April 2011:
I am really enjoying this story so far and I hope you write more in the future. One thing though, I don't think Severus would say 'Oh my'. No offence mate! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Scarlette Sunshine 14. Through Air and 15. Through Presence

19th May 2010:
I LOVE your entire story!!! More, please! Very original, and I'm exceptionally picky. ^_~

Author's Response: Thank you!

Despite my best intentions, there is a sequel starting to form in my head. Still a few months from forming a document, however.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Miss_stephanie 14. Through Air and 15. Through Presence

18th April 2010:
I really liked this chapter because it made Snape and Miranda seem more realistic. Although the row they had was rather slight, it was important to show that their relationship is not perfect. I thought Snape hugging Harry was a bit forward, all those years of irritation would be harder to put behind, I think. I thought South's predicament with the seventh-year was a nice spice to the chapter, with Luna as a surprising and appealing solution. Wonderful, please continue :)

Author's Response: Thanks!

I'd wondered about the hug--if it was just Harry, Snape probably would not have bothered, but Ginny, too probably made it palatable. He'd put her through/protected her a lot that year when he was headmaster. And remember, Harry was responsible for sending people to find him after the battle, and for putting out a very acceptable (to Snape) official story that could have been very embarassing for Snape had Harry anything like a cruel streak. Snape has had time to digest the knowledge that the young man's character is not the same as his father's.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Miss_stephanie 13. The Wedding

18th April 2010:
What a beautiful ceremony! I loved the description of the vine-like veil, it was really original and intriguing. They have such an open and mature relationship, something reflected by both of their personalities. I'm sure that Miranda will accept all of the faults in Severus' past, but I am eager to read how you describe her reaction. I hope they get to live happily-ever-after, Snape deserves that...

Author's Response: As far as I'm concerned, it's a happily ever after for them.

And I'm starting to toy with the idea of a nice cozy mystery sequel, complete with baby in tow.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Miss_stephanie 11. Through Fire, 11.5 Through Friends and 12. Through Water

13th April 2010:
Ooh! So happy to read all of the excellent Greek references. I am a huge Greek history and mythology buff! Had a bit of trouble trying to imagine McGonagall with bells on, that one threw me for a loop :D

Author's Response: Doesn't Severus just seem like Pluto? Ex-Death Eather, keeper of the dungeon underworld, meeting up with his Persephone :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Miss_stephanie 7. The Match and 8. Through Earth

13th April 2010:
Very good, I like how you explained Severus' survival...I was a bit confused about that. I was also pleasantly surprised by the mature viewpoint of the young teacher, Miranda. I love Love LOVE your story!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Didn't think it would do to have the explanation right up front...Snape wasn't that trusting with his thoughts before, so he needed time to establish that trust in order to tell his story.

Miranda's background is not entirely sunshine and puppies, so she's had reason to mature a bit in her thinking.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Miss_stephanie 6. Through Absence

4th April 2010:
I do love how realistic their awkwardness is playing out. It is truly reminiscent of how it is between people when they first feel the sparks of attraction...Still, C'mon, Snape! Don't be so shy! He is cute though. Still Lovin' it! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! The degrees of awkwardness will change as it goes, and different sparks...

 Report Review

Review #10, by Miss_stephanie 4.Through Ice and 5.Discretion

4th April 2010:
Oh Ho! Indeed...

I'm sure he could provide several reasons for discretion for such a comely young teacher :) I love Love LOVE your story! Go Snape!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! Interesting how you assume she's comely, since I have intentionally provided few objective clues to her looks. (OK, besides the banner picture.) Or does 'comely' pertain more to her character aspect? Anyway, if she likes Snape, that's her most intriguing quality.

 Report Review

Review #11, by fred is dead 14. Through Air and 15. Through Presence

3rd March 2010:
I'd like you to know that I stumbled upon this story at about 11pm last night and read it from beginning to end until 2 in the morning (pausing for a few to do laundry and get ready for bed, but you pretty much had me neglecting all my schoolwork!)

I loved your characterization of Severus Snape. It wasn't too out of character, and when it was, it was justified by the changes he was undergoing and the feelings and emotions that stemmed from meeting Miranda. What a great read! I'd read a sequel if there was one (I snooped at the other reviews just a tad). Your writing is descriptive and well crafted. Keep it up :)))

Author's Response: Thanks! I don't recall having prompted insomnia before :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by propertyoftheHBP 14. Through Air and 15. Through Presence

11th January 2010:
It's over? No!!!

The perfect end to the perfect story, though! I loved every bit of it, and this chapter was the icing on the cake.

Great job! *10/10*

(by the way, is Severus' and Miranda's child a boy or girl?)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your consistently wonderful reviews!

I have added a section 11.5 (look in the chapters area) that's currently in the validation phase. It was an afterthought, but it needs to be there.

There may also be a one-shot with Severus and Miranda with a steeper maturity rating if it makes it through validation.

It's a girl, although I'm not planning any sequel at the moment.
That may change if the characters start talking in my head again and make it difficult for me to write other things--I'd have to purge them then.


 Report Review

Review #13, by lunalovegood2009 14. Through Air and 15. Through Presence

11th January 2010:
Hey, this was really interesting! I quite liked it! Oh, and thanks for reviewing my story, I thought I would return the favor! This was a great read.

~~LunaLovegood2009

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Relyan 14. Through Air and 15. Through Presence

2nd January 2010:
That was a perfect ending. I couldn't imagine a better match. I love Luna; she always makes me smile, and I admire how she is so utterly unashamed of being herself. Awesomeness all around.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by irrelevant 14. Through Air and 15. Through Presence

1st January 2010:
yaaay :) South and Luna :) soo good together :P:D
happy writing

Author's Response: Glad you think so...I'd hoped I'd made him quirky enough for that.

 Report Review

Review #16, by irrelevant 9. Quarantine Breach and 10. Second Observations

1st January 2010:
“Who would've thought projectile vomiting could ever be heroic?” --- I cracked up at that :p:D
:):) great story!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you're enjoying it. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Drummergirlred 14. Through Air and 15. Through Presence

28th December 2009:
I have enjoyed this story and finally leaving you a review! I love how the school found out about the two I was cracking up! So funny!
I also enjoyed the end of this chapter."The Slytherin seventh year was entirely forgotten." so perfect love the South scenes, great character!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
My son will be delighted--he designed the South character for me to use, but then Frazer took off with a voice of his own.


 Report Review

Review #18, by metamorphicNerdfighter 0. Prologue and 1. Convocations

28th December 2009:
Ahh this is great. I think you've managed to portray Snape pretty well, and your OCs are interesting too.
And I liked how you handled Binns retirement, I've always hated the fact that an interesting subject like History of Magic is made so unbearably boring just becuase of the teacher; Binns helping out the Ministry is believable.
Anyway, your story seems really interesting! Moving on to the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thanks! The OCs did manage to take on lives of their own while I was writing...Frazer surprised me by being the most psychologically well-adjusted of the lot.

 Report Review

Review #19, by propertyoftheHBP 13. The Wedding

21st December 2009:
Snape's married! Yay!

Lovely descriptions, and the poem was beautiful as well. An Unbreakable Vow? Interesting...I like the idea!

Great chapter! *10/10*

Author's Response: Thanks!
I was concerned that the poem might be too much.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Relyan 13. The Wedding

21st December 2009:
Wootness! I've really enjoyed reading this story. I can't wait for the update!

Author's Response: Thanks!
The update is in validation holiday limbo.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Relyan 9. Quarantine Breach and 10. Second Observations

21st December 2009:
I meant to do this a few chapters back, but I was so enthralled with the story that I completely forgot about reviewing and kept on reading. I obviously enjoy this story, and I love your humor. I end up laughing out loud quite frequently. For example, the image of Frazer running away from the Whomping Willow, screaming his head off was very funny. Oh, and if you've ever considered a theme song for this, try "It Must Have Been the Mistletoe." I think that the song fits Miranda and Severus perfectly.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Hadn't considered a theme song...Snape never really struck me as musical in that sense.


 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMolly 13. The Wedding

20th December 2009:
Oh how lovely. This was just perfect. I was probably as surprised as Severus with the Unbreakable Vow. It was what they both needed and wanted. I was a bit surprised at Narcissa's attendance. But she was a DE's wife, not a DE herself. She did save Harry in the Forest. I'm sad that Severus didn't include him, but that's his way, what he thinks is the past. The ceremony was soft and spectacular. By soft I meant simple, yet lovely and poignant, very beautiful. Thanks!

Author's Response: Snape also saved Draco regarding ownership of the elder wand, another reason Narcissa has to remember him well. Harry was not included, as they are not particularly friends, even under the known circumstances.
There is one more chapter stuck in validation limbo where you'll see Harry at the reception.


 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMolly 11. Through Fire, 11.5 Through Friends and 12. Through Water

20th December 2009:
For a story that was slowly coming together, this sure took off in a quick way. Perhaps it's because both Miranda and Severus were longing to have that special someone in their lives. I had to sigh a bit when Severus spoke of who his Best Man should have been. Miranda is really bringing out the true Severus. Lily would be sooo happy. Me too.

Author's Response: Thanks. You're right on the reason they hit the fast track. Miranda has sufficient background as well to be ready for someone like him.

 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMolly 9. Quarantine Breach and 10. Second Observations

20th December 2009:
Each chapter is richer and more detailed. I really liked the battle in the Greenhouse. Nothing like creativity. I think the firemints should be a necessary tool for teachers and Aurors. Just wait till George finds out the Defensive use of his products. There will be no living with him! Hee hee hee. I can't believe that Severus was able to tell his tale. This is relatively soon after Riddle's demise. I must read more.

Author's Response: Thank you!
This chapter was set about 2 years after the final battle.


 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMolly 7. The Match and 8. Through Earth

20th December 2009:
Oh how nice. You went from cautious to full out smooching. Good for you. And good for Severus and Miranda.

Author's Response: It was Severus, not me, who was cautious. I actually wrote the kiss scene first and the rest of the story grew out of it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>