Reading Reviews for Swamp Trouble
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Snapdragons trouble on the double

23rd February 2011:
First off, that was a great prompt you got there for "Things I am Not Allowed to Do at Hogwarts". Quite funny, especially since we recently studied American history in school :) Lindsey was quite the lively character and made me laugh. Great one shot!
(and I remember Liberty's Kids! Was one of my favorite TV shows when I was younger...)

Author's Response: keke, thank you! liberty's kids = my childhood. literally. i love it so much. and i miss it :( i was a bit worried about the prompt, since it originally had something to do with a famous battle...but i think event fit more/made it more hilarious.

lindsey is hilarious. american, but somehow, hopefully, not cliche :P

thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Kandy trouble on the double

27th December 2010:
This is SUCH A GOOD ONE-SHOT. Full points for this, and *not* just because the main character is me to a T of course :P Read and reviewed, return the favor if you get a chance!

Author's Response: HAHA. thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by charlieee trouble on the double

13th March 2010:
this was amazing! (:
this = epic win. "I was aware that we looked like the painting of Washington crossing the Delaware and grinned. It was nice, you know, to compare yourself to George Washington – he, wanted to be free from British rule and me…I just wanted to free myself from the injustice of Dolores Umbridge." XD
you're an amazing writer. keep up the awesome work!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much! Hehe. Lindsey is pretty cheeky compared to her friends -- I mean, it takes a lot of gall to compare yourself to George Washington :)

I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the review ^_^


 Report Review

Review #4, by LexieLikesLoopyLlamas trouble on the double

14th February 2010:
OK cool.

Actually, I love to do fake British accents.
My British friend Ryan says I suck though...
Hm.
Well anyway. Thanks. (:
~Lexie

 Report Review

Review #5, by LexieLikesLoopyLlamas trouble on the double

14th February 2010:
"Alright, it's not entirely accurate, but I suppose it'll work."

"Firstly," Alice had stated then, her blue eyes bright with exhaustion. "Please don't employ random British terms"

I don't get this. I'm American, and I fail to see the "British term" in this. "Accurate"? Because honestly, I know lots of American people who say that word.

ANYWAY

Other than that one line, I love it! The story is AWESOME! ten out of ten(:

Author's Response: Alice is refering to when Lindsey said that it was a "right brilliant idea". It's more of a British thing than an American one, considering that brilliant (for my friends, anyway) is always spawned from reading British-fiction.

Of course, I could always be wrong because I'm not British, either.

I guess, basically, it's just making fun of Americans who like to put on false British accents or say things that we know are very British things to say. :) I'm glad you liked it, though ^___^


 Report Review

Review #6, by GubraithianFire trouble on the double

29th January 2010:
As an all-around history buff and similarly crazed Yank, I adored this. Really, truly did. I've actually been a fan of yours for a few months, since reading the first chapter of Becoming Molly, but (pathetically) am not the best at reviewing, ever. I was pleasantly surprised by this - certainly turned cliché on its head and (picture a very loud squee) incorporated AMERICAN history. Not the hugest fan of the Revolution myself (in American history, I like Imperialism on, and am fond of post-Revolution politics), but I thought you pulled it off cleverly and with a lot of charm. Lindsey is a wonderful character - I found her suitably dramatic and realistic. I kind of felt that her connection with Cedric, while a great idea, was a bit randomly inserted, but that's really it. I really did enjoy the piece, am favoriting it as well. Wonderful job. :)

P.S. Liberty's Kids is the reason I passed the first quarter of US1. I'm so happy someone else remembers that amazing show.

Author's Response: So, yeah, took me a couple days to collect my thoughts? Your review completely took me from surprise! I LOVE your works! They're brilliant and well-written and just, oh my merlin, it took me awhile to wrap my brain around the fact that you reviewed AND favorited my story!

I, also, am not a big fan of the Revolution. Liberty's Kids is AMAZING. I wish I owned the DVDs. I like Civil War (though, I'm starting to get a little tired of it; i'm writing my Extended Essay on espionage and the Civil War - sounds more exciting than it actually is...)

Thank you so much for your kind words about Lindsey! Considering this piece was written at about 3 in the morning in the span of an hour, there's bound to be some randomness - that bit with Cedric is a prime example!

Again, I can't thank you enough for your review! And your favoriting it! Ah, I hope you're enjoying Molly, as well ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by jaguar1223 trouble on the double

9th December 2009:
I liked it a lot but there was just something that bugged me. Maybe it was the tea. I just hate tea.

Author's Response: It was probably Umbridge. She tends to have that effect on people. :P Thanks for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jane_Volturi trouble on the double

24th November 2009:
Hi *hugs*
I'm really sorry that it's taken me so long to read and review this amazing piece of writing. Really, when I handed you this cliche I wasn't expecting it to be this good. Mary Sues are usually very hard to make original but you did an amazing job. I really like Lindsey's character, sure she was a little mary-suish but you did exactly what I asked; you took the cliche, made it into something completley original and I really enjoyed reading it.
I also enjoy the fact that you didn't go for the boring trio theme or the marauders theme, you chose Fred, George and Umbridge as your main characters and I really love how you characterized them. They were all in character and they all contributed evenly to the plot.
As far as this challenge goes this fanfiction is definitley my favourite so far, the writing was amazing as well, I'm actually quite jealous lol.
10/10
x

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I didn't expect such praises! I'm glad you like Lindsey; she was a spur of the moment character and I wanted to show that yes, the cliche was in play but it wasn't the entire point of the story. Personally, anything to do with Fred & George is absolute love. Umbridge is just, by far, the perfect villain - so, they sort of stole the story.

I'm really happy that I managed to keep everyone in character - that was really important to me.

Again, thank you SO MUCH for the praise and for offering such an amazing challenge. I had a lot of fun writing it ^_^ ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by roonilwazlib22 trouble on the double

13th November 2009:
and the colonist thought of themselves as British, so he would not be saying it anyway. (yes, i am that person...and oddly enough very much like your character)
loved it, as an American history buff, and Weasley twins enthusiast! Job well done!

Author's Response: Ah, precisely my point! Though, it is rather cool to think about it as a myth though. (I think about the Liberty's Kid's cartoon when I say this...) I'm really glad that you approved of this & your review is really appreciated. Thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by liliesandroses trouble on the double

13th November 2009:
i like your story, and your right you do have a few grammar mistakes here and there, but it made me laugh out loud.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! & It would be more helpful if you had told me where it was, but again, thank you so much :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login