Reading Reviews for You Belong With Me
  
111 Reviews Found

Review #1, by emerald_princess Crazy Mates

23rd March 2013:
I know you're probably never going to update this story again, 'cause you know its been a while and it's hard to get back into something after it has been so long. But, anyway, I just felt like reviewing so you would know how much I love this story. I found this story ages ago, like ages ago, but sometimes I come back and re-read it and continue to get excited about everything that is happening. It still manages to make me giggle and ignite my curiosity every time I read it. I'm so desperate to know why James hates Lily that it has become quite pathetic. I can admit it, I'm not ashamed.

So yeah, I just wanted to write this to let you know that you have killer writing skillage and although the chances of you updating this appear to me to be very slim it was fun while it lasted. :p

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rach Crazy Mates

26th June 2012:
This is an amazing story!! i love the original plot line and the complex characters you've developed :)

umm i know this is a stretch, but are you planning to update anymore? its been nearly 2 years now so i was just wondering if you could outline what wouldve happened in the story, just so you could put us out of our misery??

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm kind of a horrible person and I've put this story on indefinite hiatus, meaning I haven't quite decided if I'm going to continue or not. I don't want to tell you what happens in case I do continue, though! I can give you one spoiler: Lily and James end up together ;)
Sorry! But thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by black_n_proud_hp4lyf Crazy Mates

24th January 2011:
Omg I've been waiting for an update for foreverr, pweety pweassee :P

Author's Response: Err.maybe someday? I'm sorry!

 Report Review

Review #4, by tripping over isolines Crazy Mates

21st January 2011:
i hope you do update this soon. not only is it incredibly funny and original, but it's interspersed with these beautiful lines that sort of emanate. it's expertly written, and in a humorously resonating way - and shows a wonderfully different perspective on all the characters.

please continue!

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much. For a brief review, this is so full of compliments I can't help but smile (: I don't know if I'll ever write more, but it means a lot to me that you enjoy this story so much.

 Report Review

Review #5, by kassandra466 Crazy Mates

20th September 2010:
aweee!! that was really cute!! i LOVED it! :D

Author's Response: Thanks! Thanks for leaving so many reviews, too ;D

 Report Review

Review #6, by kassandra466 Trying to Try

20th September 2010:
oh no! poor lilly, how come i have the feeling that James and Sirius were talking about someone else, well atleast thats what i hope

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yeah, poor little Lily. Hmm...well, you can think that if you like, but I'm sorry to say it's not true :/

 Report Review

Review #7, by kassandra466 A Shortage of Answers

20th September 2010:
i LOVED IT!! another AMAZING chapter! : D

Author's Response: Haha thanks! I'm so glad you like this so much.

 Report Review

Review #8, by kassandra466 The Escapable Inevitable

20th September 2010:
Black caught me before I had even walked three steps, his legs being substantially longer than mine. "Okay, okay," he said, stepping in front of me and holding his hands in front of him as a sign of truce, "I'm sorry. Why don't we just start over?" I eyed him warily as he held out his hand, a disturbingly bright smile on his face. "Hello, I'm Sirius Black: expert prankster, devilishly handsome Gryffindor, and an all-around charming bloke," he told me cheerfully.

I wanted to remind him that he definitely wasn't an all-around charming bloke - that, sometimes, he was cruel and unkind and everything people expected him to be. But I didn't. Maybe confident sunrise girl wasn't as confident as I thought, or maybe it was because I didn't want to hurt him with the idea that, sometimes, he was just like the rest of his family.

Instead, I took a deep breath, imagining all my anger and bitterness and negativity drifting out on my exhale; I smiled and shook his hand warmly. "I'm Lily Evans, but you can call me Lily."

He grinned, reaching over to ruffle my hair like a big brother might do, and I hesitantly grinned back, recognizing the gesture from the night before. "Alright, then, Lily," he began, guiding us back to the tapestry so that we weren't completely blocking the corridor. It was almost like the last twenty minutes had never happened. "Now, about our plans - "

"Yes," I said, interrupting him impatiently, "what exactly are we planning for? You still haven't exactly said."

Black - or Sirius, I should say - let out a slightly exasperated sigh at my ignorance. "Well what do you think we're planning for?" he replied, his eyebrows furrowing into an irritated scowl. "Do you really think I'm just going to lie down and let that slimy bastard humiliate you?"

I bit my lip, a question burning on my tongue. In fact, it had been burning on my tongue since last night, when he had so expertly evaded answering it. "Well, no offense," I finally blurted out, curiosity getting the better of me, "but why do you care?"

I fully expected him to bring up the whole 'new mates' thing - an answer that wouldn't really answer the question at all, because what I really wanted to know was why he wanted to be mates in the first place, why he had sought me out at breakfast, and why he had ever promised to keep my secret when it would really provide much more entertainment for him if he didn't.

A part of me almost wished I could go back to not knowing Black, because now that I was getting to know him, it was growing harder and harder to classify him as either heartless or nice. It seemed that he was just stumbling somewhere in between the two, which meant I might actually have to start considering him human.

Sirius glanced away from me, as uneasy as he had been when he had thought I would start crying, his eyes searching the tapestry as though hoping to find the answer in the threads there.

When they gave no results, he turned his gaze back to me, his upturned lips flattening into a grimace as he said, "Look, Lily. I can't exactly give you a straight answer on this - not now, and maybe not ever. But I just want you to know..." he trailed off, raking his hand through his hair and shaking his head furiously as though struggling with some internal battle.

When he glanced up at me again, his eyes had darkened. "I just want you to know that, you and I, we're not all that different. And you may not understand it right now, but some day, you will."

Sirius rubbed his hands together eagerly like a true mastermind at work. "What we need is a diversion," he explained, "something so extreme that it'll blow your little secret out of the water. Or, better yet, something just cruel enough that it'll stop that miserable little git from telling your secret in the first place, something very public and very embarrassing. I was thinking we could take off his pants and hang him upside down in the air, or there's a spell - "

I held up my hand, abruptly silencing him. "Please tell me you're joking - that is your plan?" I exclaimed, a horrified expression on my face. When he just stared blankly back at me, indifferent to my shock, I continued in outrage, "Don't you think that's just a little hypocritical? Trying to stop him from humiliating me by humiliating him first?"

It was becoming very apparent to me why Sirius and I had never been mates before - he was definitely in the 'heartless' box.

He made an unsympathetic noise and shook his head, obviously peeved that I was questioning his strategy. "Humiliation is a nasty business, Lily. Do you want my help or not?"

I chewed thoughtfully on my lip, considering the question; without a doubt, I wanted Sirius' help, but I didn't exactly want the kind of help he was suggesting. In fact, when he had first mentioned his plans, I had assumed they were more along the lines of him somehow managing to convince James that Severus was playing a nasty prank and then giving me a lifetime supply of chocolate and a shoulder to cry on if that didn't work.

And because I was still holding on to the very slim chance that that was his back-up plan, I countered, "That depends. Do you have any better plans?"

"Well, since you asked, I know exactly where old Sluggy keeps his stock of Forgetfulness Potions, and just a little drop in Snivellus' goblet and we could forget this whole thing ever happened..." He wiggled his eyebrows persuasively at me.

I smacked him on the arm, scowling. "You're intolerable."

haha! i really loved it!! it was AMAZING! : D

Author's Response: Well thanks! :) Just a reminder: when you quote something from the story, you have to make sure the content is 12+.

 Report Review

Review #9, by kassandra466 Dirty Little Secrets

6th September 2010:
haha!! i love that song as well!! :D anywho um i also LOVED this chapter, I think that it was AMAZING and it made my day! :D

Author's Response: I guess we just have a similar taste in music, eh? ;) I'm so glad that you liked it so much! It makes my day that I made your day, if that makes sense. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by kassandra466 Everything Ends

6th September 2010:
hmm it is an odd concept, i really do like it! : D anywho i love you belong with me by taylor swift! : D anywho an amazing chapter! : D

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, it is a bit difficult to get used to, but I'm glad you like it nonetheless. And I love that song as well - and pretty much anything by Taylor Swift. Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SeverusLove Crazy Mates

5th September 2010:
It was fab, really.

Very realistic.

You had a way of putting the fun, mischievous, playboy Maruader Sirius and the serious, smart, vengeful Black Sirius all together. I really like the idea. The whole thing was great but i have to admit that the idea of James hating Lily is still trying to wrap itself around my head since I've always been used to otherwise. But you had a way of making it so realistic. Anyway, it's really great and I do hope you update soon.

Best Wishes,
SeverusLove

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it that much (: I've actually gotten a lot of compliments about my Sirius, which is strange, because I never thought I'd be able to write his personality realistically at all. In my opinion, he's an incredibly complex character, so I'm extremely pleased that you think I've managed to pull him off. Thank you! I'll try to update as soon as possible. Thanks for the review (:

 Report Review

Review #12, by XPingufeetX Crazy Mates

30th August 2010:
Excellent well worth the wait :D I can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: :O I love you. Not just because you left me a review (thanks much! I'll try to get the next chapter out as soon as possible) but because you left me my 100th review on this story! Thank you so much :) You rock.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Jillian Ryn Crazy Mates

25th August 2010:
Yay Yay Yay! I'm so happy you updated. This is the story that I am completely obsessed with right now. I log on just to see if you've updated! Can't wait to read the next chapter. Great developments!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so happy you left me a review. I might have to do this updating thing more often ;D It makes me so proud to hear that someone's completely obsessed with a story of mine...I honestly never thought I'd see the day! You're so incredibly sweet :) Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Charmsgirl Crazy Mates

25th August 2010:
I LURVE this story! and cause I wrote 'Lurve' you simply must believe me. I love the concept, and i am sooo happy lily stood up for herself; it seemed a more lily thing to do! and i must say, not sure if you have read Pride and Prejudice, but in a way, i couldn't stop thing 'Wow! james is sooo like mr. Darcy' well, at least when he wasn't talking and minus the 'living in the 18th century' thing ;p anyhways! love your story and please, please, PUH-lease? update soon? no? *starts crying*

10/10

Author's Response: Yes, just because you wrote "Lurve", I really do believe you :) I was really excited about that part where Lily stood up to James, but you have to thank my beta that it's in there at all! She was the one who thought there wasn't enough interaction between them yet. I have read Pride and Prejudice (it's one of my favorite books, actually!) and that you would compare James to Mr. Darcy makes me unbelievably happy. I love Mr. Darcy - no, wait, I LURVE him. Yeah, that's right. It's legit like that. Haha, thanks! I will try to update as soon as possible. Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Livvy Crazy Mates

24th August 2010:
Yay! Another update! I can't tell you how much I love, love, LOVE this story. It's so different from all the other Lily and James ones out there and I get excited whenever I see that another chapter's been uploaded :D

I really like Lily and Sirius' friendship. I like how it's growing and the part when Lily vomited on Peter's shoes just made me laugh out loud. I'm glad Lily stood up for herself. I liked that interaction between her and James.

You are a really talented writer :) this story is truly addicting, I swear. You describe everything in a way that isn't too detailed it's boring but in a way that really creates the scene in my mind so great job and I look forward to reading more. Update as soon as you can! :D

Author's Response: I'm so glad you love this story so much! I really try to make my stories stand out from all the others out there, so it's really nice to hear you think it does.

Lily is growing a bit of a backbone now, which I like as well. It's no fun to write about characters who just sit back and let things happen to them, dy'know? And I liked the interaction between her and James as well - hopefully they'll be more where that came from, eh? ;D

Thank you so much! It means a lot to me that you think so. I'm really self-conscious of my details, so whenever anyone compliments me on them I get extremely giddy. No exception here (: I'm grinning like a crazy person. I will certainly try. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Galawen Crazy Mates

22nd August 2010:
I finally got to the rest of the chapters!
I loved, loved when Lily finally spoke back to James. I mean I'm really impressed and intrigued by the way you've switched the roles and have Lily as the desperately in love one, but I've just always imagined her as having more spunk! than what she had shown us and I'm so glad she finally woke up a bit!
I'm dying to know about James' reasons for disliking her and why his dad would know about a muggleborn, and of course whats wrong with Dorcas, AND why Mary doesn't approve of Sirius. So many questions!
I've also got to say that I really like your characterisation of Sirius. Even when being grave he still maintains his spontanous nature; shifting from joking to upset and then back to joking and I feel like it just further highlights the complexity of his character.
Oh! And I've been racking my brains ever since I read the names Twilfitt and Tatting and I'm just wondering if you mean them to be the owners of the store Narcissa takes Draco to in one of the books? Instead of Madame Malkins? Sorry just curious!
I cant wait for more and I hope that we get to see more of Lily's temper coming through ;)

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you did, and that you liked them enough to review. You deserve some virtual cookies.
Yes, I really enjoyed writing that bit where Lily finally decided to stand up to him, but would you believe it wasn't in the first draft of the chapter? You pretty much have my beta to thank for its existence, because otherwise it wouldn't be there ;)
Haha, I'm glad I've aroused your curiosity! I assure that they will all be answered eventually, and the one about Dorcas will be answered as soon as the next chapter! Exciting, yes?
It makes me really ridiculously happy when people say that they like my Sirius, because when I started writing him I was incredibly self-conscious about making him not blend in with all the other Sirius' out there. So thank you so much; I hope his characterization continues to please you.
As for the whole Twilfitt and Tatting bit, spot on! :D You must have a really good memory. I like pulling random names from canon and turning them into characters and seeing if anyone recognizes them, and you should be proud; you're the first one who's spotted that particular one. Good job!
Haha, I hope so too, but we'll see. Thanks so much for the review! You're so sweet (:


 Report Review

Review #17, by DemetersChild Crazy Mates

16th August 2010:
Is it weird that I still imagine Mary with glasses? Probably. But you made her blink owlishly! And owls have glasses, duh! Haha, you know how in cartoons when someone with glasses is staring at someone else and they blink and it makes that *plink* noise? Well, I totally imagine that every time I read that part about Mary.

Okay, so...that was an unnecessary rant, but whatever.

I really love this chapter! I'm sooo glad you decided to make James actually talk! I was beginning to think he might've taken up a vow of silence or something. Or maybe he's just a mime. >.>

Anyway, I really think the interaction between James and Lily was just what this chapter needed. I mean, 6 chapters and how many months into this fic and James hasn't even spoken to her yet? Pshaw.

But, we already went through that. Gah, it's hard to review stories you beta for. Haha, I just feel like I'm repeating myself a million times over.

Hmm, what haven't I said yet? Ooh, I'm so glad that you gave Sirius some depth. AND that you linked it back to the second chapter. A lot of writers just make him completely silly and carefree (woah, oxymoron: carefree Sirius) but you've actually shown a much deeper side of him, even if he was rather begrudging to show it.

Also, looking forward to Snape re-entering the scene. Not sure when that happens, but I can't imagine he's gone for good!

Welp, I guess that's it. You're awesome. Like supermegaawesomefoxyhot awesome. Awesome. >.> And, yeah.

Peace out Holmes,

Beardy

Author's Response: Haha, just a bit. Sorry to burst your image of my character, but she really doesn't have glasses :P But I know what you're talking about with the plink noise thing.

And I owe the whole James talking thing all to you (: Thanks oodles for that; that seems to be the part everyone loves a lot so far. Psssh, he hasn't taken up a vow of silence...there just really hasn't been that much of an opportunity for him to pop up yet, okay? Geez :P

Haha, only 6 chapters and like...a week or two, maybe? I can't remember the actual timeline, but I guess it is a little weird >_< Oh well. Problem solved now, yesh?

I told you! Now you know how hard it is for me to review SYW sometimes. I guess we don't really have to but, still...it's nice/fun. We could always save all the nice comments for our reviews and just leave all the criticisms in Google so then we've got more to say (:

Haha, I like having a deep Sirius. I can't write a character who doesn't have at least a little depth. I don't think I could even write a story without a little depth...so fluff would be completely impossible for me xD Is that weird or what? But, yeah, I didn't want to make Sirius so unserious when it's always seemed to me like he would have a serious sort of bitter side to him because of his upbringing.

Ummm...Snape probably won't be in it for a while. Like, he is in it again, but I can't remember exactly when and I think it's a good amount of chapters away o_O

Welp, thanks for the review :P You are supermegaawesomefoxyhot awesome too, and thanks oodles for betaing and reviewing and stuffs (: You rock.

(Also, only five more reviews till 100!!! Can you believe it? :D)


 Report Review

Review #18, by flying_rabbit Crazy Mates

16th August 2010:
Haha, Dorcas really is oblivious :D And Lily... I feel bad for her. Were Sirius and James fighting about bringing her along again?
Sirius wanted to make Lily tell James how she felt about him and more? Wow. She wouldn't have stopped talking to him, probably; I suppose that wouldn't make him like her more. He'd just get annoyed. I mean, he's already annoyed by Dorcas blabbering like that, and he hates Lily. It's a good thing she used Dorcas as a test subject for the potion ;)
Oh deary me, that sounds like a wonderful song Dorcas is singing! I bet Remus loves it. And that's just Lily's luck, sitting next to James now... at least she can't really see his face.
I can't believe Sirius did that! Okay, actually, I can. It's Sirius. But still. Lily was quite funny there, how she closed James' mouth just like that - Sirius is right, she would never have even thought about doing that if she hadn't had that potion. So it was a good thing that Peter was going to dance with her, right? Otherwise she would've vomited all over James' feet :S I can understand very well that she's ready to kill Sirius. It is a good thing, though, that the potion's out of her body now.
Oh wow. She fought back! :D That's great! I bet James was surprised. At least she told him now that she thinks he's insufferable with his stupid hatred towards her. I'm not sure if he'll be bothered by that, but at least he's got something to think about, it seems :)
It's good to hear that Mary had a good night, that's one out of the three (well, Dorcas had a good night too, I suppose, but not because she wanted it to be like that).
Sirius talking about his brother there was pretty unexpected. At least Lily knows now what was bothering him that evening. It is, indeed, pretty similar to her own situation, but she should've watched what she was saying there :D And Sirius will come up with a new plan? Let's hope that one is better than the previous one. Even though, of course, Lily did talk to James! Why was Sirius laughing there? Because he was thinking about their situations and was taken out of that process by the Squid? Or is it supposed to be a mysterious reason? They all seem to be pretty bipolar, if anything.
Hopefully you'll update soon!

Author's Response: Lily is having a bit of an awful time right now, but don't worry; things will get better for her. Yes, James and Sirius were still arguing about Lily coming with them.

Lily, you, and I have the same logic, but Sirius thinks in weird and sometimes idiotic ways. You can't fault him for trying to help, but I guess you can fault him for doing it so stupidly. Haha, yes, good thing Dorcas was there to try it for her, although I can't imagine she'll be too pleased about that ;)

I had a lot of fun trying to think up a song Dorcas could sing that might lighten the mood, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. I imagine Remus did as well, eh?

Yes, if the Courage Concoction actually exists I imagine it would make loads of people do a bunch of crazy things. You don't really realize how ridiculous some of the things you think and want to do are until you actually do or say them. I guess, in retrospect, it's good that Peter took Lily out on the dance floor instead. Things would definitely be even worse if she had vomited on James.

Yes, she fought back! Aren't you proud? I'm very proud of her. He definitely has something to think about now; let's hope he'll realize she's not going to take his stupidity lying down, right? ;)

Yeah, I don't like to read stories where Sirius is all jokes and funniness because I think that, in reality, he would probably have a bit of a darker side to him that would just pop up unexpectedly. I wanted Lily to really see both sides of him, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Sirius is a very very strange person, who is, for some reason, driven to laughter by the similarities between him and Lily. I would definitely call him bipolar.

I'll try my hardest! Thanks so much for the long review (:


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ronsgirl29 Crazy Mates

16th August 2010:
Ah loved this chapter! The whole courage concontion thing was rather halarious, but I did feel bad for Lily. As funny as it was, she did leave a rather negative impression on James, who already hates her (It's really killing me because I wanna know why he dislikes her!)

The moment with Sirius was a nice bonding moment in their new friendship, but it's a bummer he didn't open up a little more.

Great chapter as always, I'm in love with this story. Update soon!

-Ronsgirl29

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, you'll probably feel bad for Lily a lot in this story, but at least you know she gets a happy ending! (Except for that whole dying young thing but, hey, you can't have everything ;P) You'll find out eventually!

Well, I've always thought Lily and Sirius would have to be very good friends for Lily and James to work so they'll have loads more nifty bonding moments.

Thank you so much! I'm so glad you like it all that much, and I will try my hardest (:


 Report Review

Review #20, by Blue Biro Crazy Mates

16th August 2010:
aw, AMAZING chapter! pleasepleasepelase update soon, this is my fav fic at the momment!
loved it!
your fan becky!
you rock!
:)

Author's Response: Wow, all of you reviewers are really too nice to me :) I'm so glad that you liked this chapter so much, and that this story means so much to you! It means a lot to me, too, so I'll try to update as soon as I possibly can. Thanks so much for the review and all the compliments!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Galawen The Escapable Inevitable

16th August 2010:
Normally I read every chapter of a story I've just found before reviewing but I had to stop here and tell you that you DEFINETELY DO NOT GO INTO TOO MUCH DETAIL!!! Seriously I'm hooked after only 3 chapters, well after the first one really and part of that is because of the incredible detail! Normally I avoid stories with less than 10 chapters up because I don't feel like I can get properly invested in the story but you managed to to do that in the very first one! So never ever worry about having written too much :) now I'm off the read the rest!

Author's Response: You are so unbelievably sweet. I really can't keep the smile off my face right now, so thank you :D The incredible detail means that this is going to end up being a lot of words, so, don't worry, you'll have a lot of time to get properly invested! Thanks so much for the review (seriously, you have no idea how happy it made me) and I hope you enjoyed the rest of the chapters!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Friday_Star Everything Ends

16th August 2010:
Whoa, I love the idea for this! It's so different! Oh dear, Severus is NOT very nice :/ ah well. Such is life. I love Dorcas and Mary :D and the boys talking about Quidditch - :p

great work!

xx

Author's Response: Thank you! I really wanted to write a Lily/James story that hadn't been done before, so I'm glad you think this is different. Haha, no, Severus isn't very nice at all :P Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by ACCIO ANNA?! Everything Ends

15th August 2010:
WOW! this is absolutly wonderful. im so glad YOU thought of this idea. i love how you have the roles flipped, and its so beautifully written. wow. the details and the whole thing has me hooked.

Author's Response: You seriously have me blushing. Thank you so much (: I'm very self-conscious of those details you're talking about, so it means a lot to mean that you enjoy them.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Gryffy Girl917 Crazy Mates

15th August 2010:
That was hilarious! I loved how for a slight moment, James stopped glaring at her and they had a somewhat conversation. And when she called him on his glares and everything, I found that hilarious! I just wish that we had found out why he hates her so much. Sirius and Lily's friendship makes me laugh. It's funny. I was anxiously waiting for the update though, and I'm glad it finally came and that we'll be getting them a bit more often because I love this story and I really want to know why James hates her!

Author's Response: You have no idea how nice it is to hear that! I feel like I'm a pretty humorous person in real life, but when it comes to writing I just cannot put it to paper (er...screen?) for the life of me. So thank you so much. Haha, if I told you that then your curiosity would be satiated and we can't very well have that, can we? ;) But, don't worry, you will find out. All in good time. Thanks so much for the review! It really means a lot to me :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by aidanlynchrox Crazy Mates

15th August 2010:
hehe I laughed a lot when Dorcas sang "I kissed a werewolf!"

I really love this story! it's such an interesting take on the standard lily and james story, and I'm interested in seeing what happens between lily and james next.
I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha, that's good. I'm afraid I'm not very good at humor normally, so it makes me happy when people laugh at my story. Thank you! I'm so glad you appreciate that. I wanted to write something that wouldn't blend in with all the others. Hopefully the wait for the next one won't be as long as this one, huh? ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>