Reading Reviews for Like Porcelain
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pretense Of Perfection Like Porcelain

7th July 2014:
Hi there!

I'm writing this for the House Cup 2014 Review.

I also love a good story about Bellatrix, but I've definitely never read about her and Rabastan before. Very interesting take on this situation, wow.

I really liked this line, "in a flurry of tarnished hope and harrowing regret." I think you have a way with words, and you really set the scene. You also draw the readers in with powerful emotions that they can relate to, which is always a good thing.

I think your characterization was pretty spot on. I might've liked to see Bellatrix acting a little bit colder toward him, but then again, I've always thought that the only person she ever loved or cared about was Voldmort. But you still managed to get Rabastan's love and hopelessness across without seeming overly needly of whiney, and I definitely don't see him begging or anything like that, so you managed tto stay true to both of the,. Good job!

Very pleasant read, I'll have to check out some of your other work soon!

Pretense Of Perfection, Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne Like Porcelain

14th August 2011:
Now this was interesting, I never thought about Rabastan having feelings for Bellatrix before but I like it.
He's so quick to anger and I almost want him to fight for Bellatrix. Is Rodulphus only asking Bella to marry him so his brother can't have her? because if he saw them together then he obviously knows... mmm the plot thickens :-D
loved it!

alicia and anne
slytherin

Author's Response: I don't actually know where the idea came from, other than my affinity for sibling rivalry dramas. I'm glad you thought it interesting, though!

Rabastan is the brash, fiery younger brother, fueled by passion and rage. Rodolphus is more the thinker; he knows that he and Bellatrix are a powerful pairing, and so he must have her. In my head, at least.

Thank you very much for your kind review! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Secret Santa Like Porcelain

23rd December 2010:
'She is like porcelain, Rabastan thinks, ice cold and beautiful to behold.'

I love that image of Belatrix and thought that reiterating it at the end was lovely.

I actually think she's an interesting character and like to see her written with some dimension. You did that and packed a lot of punch in your word limit. NICE!

~Ty

Author's Response: Thanks, love! So glad you enjoyed it :) I definitely agree with you 100% when it comes to Bellatrix; there's so much to her that I thought I'd try and take a stab at a younger characterization of her. Thanks again for the stellar review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Cleopatraa Like Porcelain

17th August 2010:
I love Bellatrix Lestrange, Rabastan Lestrange and Rodolphus Lestrange very much and you put them all in one story. I love you! I want to warn you now because this review is only going to be praise, praise and much more praise. I love the fact Rabastan and Bellatrix had an affair and they had to broke it up because Bellatrix is betrothed to Rodoplhus and the fact he betrayed Rabastan. Brilliant. Just Brilliant. The fact Rabastan wanted to cheat with her was also very Lestange-like. I know thatís not a word. But still. You can write amazing. I love the way you describe this and Iíll be definetely putting this in my favourite story list. Because itís worth it. This was just smoking hot!

-xoxox-

Cleopatraa

Author's Response: Haha, thanks darling! I'm glad I got all three of your favorites into one story. No need to warn me on the compliment front, I think I'll survive ;)

I'm thrilled you liked the little triangle scenario I had going on here - I've never once read a Bellatrix/Rabastan, and it just seemed like such a welcome trek into uncharted territory in my mind.

Smoking hot? Well, there's a new one! Thanks for the compliments, I so appreciate your kind words.

Thank you oodles for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ruby Like Porcelain

3rd April 2010:
Brill! I loved the "paris" story as well.
xxx

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thank you for the kind review!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Tom_DracosGirl Like Porcelain

24th January 2010:
I'm so very glad that I found this story, I've not thought of Bella/Rabasta before, but now I really want a happy ending for them lol, you make me feel so sorry for them both!!

This was wondferully written, lovely use of language and such a far cry from the evil Bellatrix I usually see. This was the woman before Voldemort entered her life and I think you did a great job of showing a "normal" woman with a regular life to to lead. I have to say thank you for not making her insane as I so often see in Bellatrix one shots.

Brilliantly written, I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: To tell you the truth, I hadn't of thought about it at all until I thought about the Ted/Vic/Dom triangle, and then it sort of popped into my mind! I'm glad this one-shot could persuade you!

Thank you so much, I do appreciate your lovely compliments so much! ^^ That's precisely what I wanted to show, her normalcy before the latter, darker, parts of her life.

Thank you again for the lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by conquered Like Porcelain

21st November 2009:
so first off, you used bellatrix. i instantly love you.

Author's Response: Bellatrix is so under-appreciated.
It makes me insanely happy that you loff her too.

Thanks oodles, Hafsa. ^__^


 Report Review

Review #8, by spam_up_sam Like Porcelain

8th November 2009:
I read this on a whim...and I'm grateful I got the urge
So, it is a far cry from the pairings I usually read and I thought it was beautiful, really, no one has ever mad me feel sympathetic towards Bella but you succeeding in doing just that
It was extremely interesting to read that character in such a vulnerable light
Beautiful writing, beautiful idea, great read
spam_up_sam

Author's Response: I'm so happy you did read it! I so appreciate the praise, thank you so much for the review!

I agree, you don't see a lot of Bellatrix/Rabastan out there. I don't really know how it came to me, actually, just sort of a random spark.

I'm really glad I was able to make you feel sympathetic towards Bella, as she is one of my favorite characters! I'm so happy you thought it was interesting and enjoyed it.

Thank you so much,
Zinny


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login