Reading Reviews for Dancing Lessons
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Emily :) Dancing Lessons.

28th May 2013:
This was adorable and in perfect character! Brilliantly written and I'd love to see more of this pairing from you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by broadwaykat Dancing Lessons.

11th April 2013:
This is utterly adorable. It's been a long time since I saw the first AVPM, and honestly, I've never looked at their Quirrelmort pairings as more than an off joke - but this. This was sweet, and believable and - it is just adorable.

Plus - King and I. You can't go wrong with that.

But seriously, from what I DO remember from AVPM, I think your characterization of both characters is just perfect. You're a great writer for these little snapshot moments, and this is no exception. Plus, there seem to be a lot of little throwaway lines in this that made me giggle.

Also - you didn't even need to use the word love - which I don't think would have worked for this relationship at this point anyways. It's a schoolboy crush scenario, and it's just...lovely.

 Report Review

Review #3, by StEpH_M Dancing Lessons.

29th October 2012:
I love AVPM and this story made me laugh. Voldemort and Quirrell's relationship was always one of my favourite parts of the musical and you did it justice. I love Voldemorts 'romantic side' his feelings about flames and his hints towards dancing. The fact that he giggles! And the clothes thing! I always remembered voldemorts thing for neatness, it always amused me that someone so well evil, could be nitpicky about folded clothes.

It was rather amusing to read Voldemort teaching Quirrell how to dance, how he actually used a square and made him dance around in it. Also how much enjoyment he got out of getting Quirrell to dance. It was very entertaining and drew me in. Just imagining Quirrell dancing by himself while voldemort talks to him from the otherside of his head. It's not something you would expect. Which is what I love about it.

I also love how Quirrell blushes when voldemort announces that he 'likes him'. It's like they were flirting and Quirrell is a hormonal teenager with a crush on someone he admires. It's great.

Again, I can't really pick any problems out of the story unless I went through it again with a fine-toothed comb and was being nitpicky.

This made me laugh quite a bit and I really enjoyed the humor that Voldemort and Quirrell's relationship brings.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Siriusly3 Dancing Lessons.

4th April 2012:
That is officially the cutest thing I have ever read. *blushes* I am such a Quireldemort shipper now! Aww! I love how you took things from the totally awesome AVPM and made them cute and funny and quirky and aw. I'm imagining them dancing to 'To Dance Again' by AVPM. This is so sweet, words cannot describe! 10/10

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! It is supposed to be pretty fluffy and cute . . . very different from canon Voldemort and Quirrell, obviously. In this scene, I actually imagined them dancing to "Shall We Dance" from The King and I, but I did draw inspiration from "To Dance Again." I watched all the Quirrel/Voldy scenes from AVPM repeatedly to try to get their personalities in my mind.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Splat Dancing Lessons.

25th March 2012:
This is ADORABLE!!!

Author's Response: They are rather cute in the show!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Funfunfun Dancing Lessons.

14th February 2012:
this is ADORABLE
i adore the Quirellmort bromance in AVPM and i think you captured it really well here :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a remark. :)

Quirrellmort is definitely one of the best parts of AVPM . . . it's so hilarious and ridiculous and endearing at the same time. I'm glad you thought I captured it in this story.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gryffindorkk01 Dancing Lessons.

5th December 2011:
That was so cute! I really liked how Quirrel imagined dancing with Voldemort. :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I wanted to write a cute, fluffy story. :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Redvines714 Dancing Lessons.

6th November 2011:
Maybe it was having to sleep on his side

I’ve always thought flickering fireplaces were romantic,” the voice sighed. “Seeing the flames dancing with one another . . . doesn’t it make you want to dance too?”

Say, Quirrell, didn’t you ever want to sit by a fireplace and, oh, I don’t know, maybe drink hot cocoa with someone special?” ---“I know. So do I. I can make yummy hot cocoa, you know.” A soft giggle stopped abruptly, and the voice sharpened, for it had caught a glimpse of the turban lying crumpled on the hearth. “Quirrell. What did we agree about folding clothes?”

A living, breathing person with his own body. A willowy body with long, strong fingers that could gently hold his. A tall body with warm, broad shoulders that would be a bit higher than his own.


These are the moments i literally LAUGHED OUT LOUD. This is brilliant! I've always loved the quirrel-voldy relationship in avpm and this is just... there are no words. haha 10/10!! (hehe notice my penname :D

Author's Response: Yes, I do see your penname!

I never would have considered Quirrell/Voldy as a serious ship, and still don't . . . except in the context of AVPM. For some reason, it works there.

I'm glad you found some of the lines in this story funny. I viewed the going-to-bed portion of AVPM many times while writing this story to try to get a feel for the characters' dialogue stuck in my head. I like to think it worked!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ravenclaw333 Dancing Lessons.

27th December 2010:
I don't think I've ever seen an AVPM fanfic before, and I must say it's brilliant. You've got Quirrelmort's AVPM counterparts absolutely nailed! Brilliant characterisation, brilliant portrayal of the relationship between them, and a brilliant idea with the dancing lesson, I can actually see the StarKid folk using this in a scene :P You've included some neat little details about Quirrell as well, so even as a parody-type character he seems realistic. This has to be one of the best stories I've read for the snowball fight, 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You're very kind. I actually wrote this for a challenge shortly after watching AVPM. It was all the rage then, haha, so I couldn't really resist.

I watched that getting-ready-for-bed scene I don't know how many times trying to get a feel for the characters, and while I was writing, I tried to think about whether what was happening would be compatible with that or not. I'm very pleased with the way the characters turned out.

Parodies can be a lot of fun. :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by ariellem Dancing Lessons.

27th December 2010:
Personally I would rather read this then dance! I thought it was really funny and very in character with AVPM characters. Good job I really liked this line

Quirrell?” the voice interrupted his thoughts. “I’m bored.”

“I’m sorry.”

“Don’t be sorry. Do something! Entertain me.”

By the way the boy on the chapter image is Chace Crawford however Gerard Way is so much hotter (with black or red hair not blond).

Author's Response: I'm glad you were amused, since that is the only reason for this story to exist! There is no real "point" other than being funny.

I also like the line you pointed out. AVPM!Voldy strikes me as really high maintenance, so that line is an example of that.

Well, I hadn't heard of either of them before, so I looked them both up. I think I prefer Chace Crawford, myself. I could be biased because of the gorgeous chapter image, though. ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by FoundriaPenguin Dancing Lessons.

26th December 2010:
HAHAHAHAHAA
Oh gosh, Alo! I haven't watched the entire AVPM, but I've watched till about Act 10, and this was a hilarious read! I could just picture "Quirrellmort" dancing, and Voldy was just...LOL.

Here from the snowball thread, btw. xD

I think my favorite part of the entire one-shot was "He felt a little foolish, so he closed his eyes and imagined a person in the empty space before him. A living, breathing person with his own body. A willowy body with long, strong fingers that could gently hold his. A tall body with warm, broad shoulders that would be a bit higher than his own." It's kind of ironic because Quirrell feels a little foolish, but he thinks even more ridiculous thoughts!

It's great when authors can handle both funny and serious styles of writing, and this was good & properly funny :D I enjoyed reading this!

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: I did watch all of AVPM (and all of AVPS at Infinitus), but I've never rewatched it aside from the going-to-bed scene I used as inspiration for this fic. I didn't like it well enough for that.

This whole story is foolish and ridiculous! Quirrell is definitely foolish, but I hope I didn't make him too much more ridiculous than his AVPM self. I guess in this case, it was easier for him to bear his embarassment with his eyes closed, lol.

Oh, so you think I can handle both serious and funny writing? Well, I'm flattered!


 Report Review

Review #12, by kaileena_sands Dancing Lessons.

26th December 2010:
Oh, dear. :DDD *That* was absolutely ridiculous (ridiculously funny I mean). I hope my roommates won't think that I got some

hysterical laughing fit. :D

AVPM is such a good source of laughs and you've used it well. Actually, I think that I was laughing more at your story than

at the musical.

“You’ll be good at it! An artistic, sensitive soul like you, Quirrell?” the voice purred. - I am not sure if I'll be having

funny dreams or nightmares because of this sentence. But it's awesome anyway.

And the end - “Quirrell? I like you.” There was a short pause, and Quirrell felt a blush creeping up his cheeks. “I like you

too,” he said.

I think I was almost on the floor at this point of time. :DDD

All in all, that was absurdly funny and the comedy came out on many levels - the dialogue, the action, the whole RIDICULOUS

situation. Excellent!

Best,
Harley

Author's Response: Well, your review nearly gave ME a hysterical laughing fit! You're right, this story is utterly and completely ridiculous. It's a fluffy story that exists only to be funny. I guess that's not too surprising given the starting material. ;)

Haha, those lines didn't seem as funny to me when I wrote them as I do when I read you quoting them back to me! Not sure why, since I WAS trying to be funny, but there you are.

I love funny things, so I'm glad this piece amused you. Thanks so much for the review. It's one of the more exuberant ones I have received, haha.


 Report Review

Review #13, by DemetersChild Dancing Lessons.

26th December 2010:
Hahaha, that was oddly cute! I love AVPM (of course!) and Voldemort/Quirrell is definitely one of the best parts. This made me laugh out loud several times and I definitely had a smile on my face while I was reading it. Your AVPM versions of Voldie and Quirrell were spot on. Especially Quirrell.

There was a bit during the paragraph that starts: "There was a companionable..." I feel like instead of using a pronoun, you should use Quirrell's name when you start describing his actions again. Even though it was easy to figure out that it was Quirrell and not Voldemort, it would flow a bit better.

Also, I definitely got a bit bored when reading Voldemort's instructions. Not sure if there's a way to make that more interesting or not, but it was kinda...meh.

I've been wanting to read your stuff for a while, so this snowball fight is awesome. :DDD

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Yes, Voldemort/Quirrell is definitely one of the best parts of AVPM, and though I never would have thought so, it's oddly sweet. I'm glad you thought I got the characters down ok, since I did work hard to get their voices down.

When writing in third person with two important characters of the same gender, I always have pronoun antecedent issues, so I'm sure the bit you pointed out isn't the only place the flow is off or there is confusion.

Hm, I can see that the instructions could be boring. However, since I wanted to describe all the steps (the dancing lesson of the title), I did have to include it. Perhaps it could have been cut a bit. I'm not sure.

Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by lia_2390 Dancing Lessons.

21st August 2010:
Aww, this was a really sweet piece. It's nice when you read a story you enjoy and learn something along the way. I was practicing my steps while Quirrell was doing his as well. ^_^ In AVPM-verse, Voldemort and Quirrell were kept quite in character. I could even hear Joe Walker's voice in my head.

You did a great job here, Alopex =]

Author's Response: I'm glad you heard Joe Walker's voice! I watched that bedtime scene over and over and over again to get a feel for their voices, and I kept that firmly in mind as I wrote. I also watched loads of YouTube videos on basic ballroom dancing, because I haven't a clue how to dance! I actually know the basic box step for a waltz now, thanks to writing this story.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Capella Black Dancing Lessons.

16th August 2010:
A one shot based on Voldemort and Quirrell from AVPM? Too awesome for words! Your Voldemort and Quirrell are absolutely perfect - I just love lines like "Quirrell? I like you." - cracked me up, because I can just see the actors from AVPM saying those exact things.

The plot itself, though simple, really had the feeling of a missing moment from AVPM, and captured the essence of their slightly bizarre relationship. The writing style too was exactly right for these characters - avoiding excessive description except for where it added to comic effect (such as Quirrell imagining his dance partner).

I was a bit confused at the start though, where you mentioned the gust of "wind" - why the quotation marks? Was I missing something here? I admit I've only seen AVPM once, so forgive me if I'm just not getting an obvious joke.

Overall though, this was hilarious, disturbing, and strangely touching, the way only Quirrell and Voldemort can be!

Author's Response: Hi Capella Black. Thanks for all the reviews you left me. I really appreciate them. :-)

Haha, when I saw this challenge, I couldn't pass it up. I mean, what better opportunity to write a humorous fluff piece? You have no idea how many times I watched the bedtime scene from AVPM to cement the characters' voices in my head! There's so much dialogue in this piece that I more or less tried to "feel" whether what I was writing was something they would have actually said, and if it felt off, I discarded it or tweaked it.

I've also only seen AVPM once, aside from the scene I watched for this piece. There's no wind joke. It's just that in the paragraph before, a wind had plucked Quirrell's bookmark from his fingers. Since they are indoors, I intended for Voldy to have produced this wind just to get Quirrell's attention. The quotation marks around the word when Quirrell next speaks (I imagined him doing air quotes, though I didn't write that in) are just to indicate he knows what Voldemort was up to. Sorry that wasn't clear enough!

Originally, it was a genuine wind blowing the bookmark away. In its first incarnation, this story took place outdoors, under a tree beside the lake. However, for various reasons (many of which I can no longer remember), I wound up changing the setting to indoors.


 Report Review

Review #16, by ZephyrDragon Dancing Lessons.

7th July 2010:
Wow! This makes me want to laugh and cry and squee all at the same time (tears of happiness of course!)!! It totally explains Voldemort's dance when he gets his body back - he got bored being stuck to the back of Quirrell's head so he choreographed the whole thing and taught it to Quirrell! =L

Well, seeing as it's AVPM, this fanfic has to be declared Totally Awesome! You're a prime candidate for riding on Rumbleroar's back! =P

Author's Response: Ohmigosh, what an honor, riding on Rumbleroar's back! I've always wanted to see Mars.

When I saw this challenge, I couldn't resist. Like most watchers, I was strangly touched by "Quirrelmort." This is a completely fluffy, pointless piece, but I had a lot of fun writing it and trying to make it as cute as I could, lol.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by nitenel Dancing Lessons.

27th June 2010:
OMG I have never read an AVPM fanfic before!! Made my morning!! *jumps up and down excitedly and runs of to watch it*

Author's Response: Thanks so much! When I saw this challenge, I just had to enter it. I had a wicked good time writing this story, lol.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Adrielne Dancing Lessons.

28th March 2010:
This is a fun little story :) and I really enjoyed the AVPM reference in it. Despite it being a little more fluffy than I usually like, it was light and airy enough for a ten-minute read on a Sunday morning. You could write another one-shot in this style (AVPM + humor + some fluff) as a continuation of this, perhaps about a different character? Maybe about... Cedric Diggory finding Cho Chang? xD I think I would like that. Heck, I might even get to writing something like that (once I get done with all teh challenges - I think 10 at the moment - that I have on my plate).

Anyway, I really do like your writing style. Keep up the good work and don't let life eat you!

Author's Response: This was definitely meant to be a "light and airy" fluff piece. It has no point other than existing for the sake of existing and hopefully provoking a bit of amusement or laughter. I have no plans to write another similar piece, but who knows? I do like humor, so if I feel the inspiration, I just might!

You sure have loaded up on challenges! Thanks for dropping by to review. I appreciate it! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by SwedishWitch Dancing Lessons.

22nd February 2010:
Aw, that was so cute. You're good. I can really see Joe and Brian doing this (and hear them) ^^ Too bad it was so short;)

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I really wanted it to be sweet and cute. It is quite short, but . . . well, short and sweet, I suppose.

 Report Review

Review #20, by camrox64 Dancing Lessons.

30th December 2009:
I just couldnt stop laughing! The whole story was absolutely nuts! But I loved it! I forced my friend Abby to read it, now she is about peeing her pants! It was brilliant! Completely originall too, my friend abby is now trying to make it to the loo.

Author's Response: Hey, I'm glad you found it funny! That was the whole point in writing this. I hope Abby made it to the loo . . .

 Report Review

Review #21, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Dancing Lessons.

13th December 2009:
Ha! That was hilarious! The entire time I read it, I imagined it in AVPM Voldemort's high, rough voice, and it was extremely enjoyable. Quirrel and Voldemort were very realistic when I read them in an AVPM frame of mind, so I don't want to know what I'd think if I went back and tried to picture a normal Quirrel and Voldemort.

They were very in character, as I already said. Voldemort was exactly like he was in AVPM, caring for Quirrel and ordering him around and all. Quirrel was good as well; flustered and pleased with himself.

It was a very enjoyable story; just the right length, and you had the dialogue down pat. The only part I felt myself wondered was, why would Voldemort know all the crossword puzzle answers? Otherwise, it was clear and enjoyable and just plain hilarious.

Author's Response: Thank you! My entire aim in this story was to amuse people and to keep true to the AVPM versions of the characters. I was imagining AVPM Voldemort's voice in my head the entire time I was writing this. I think that made it easier for me to get the feel of the characters, because it was like having the story told to me, almost. And yeah, this DEFINITELY would not work with JKR's original characters!

There is no particular reason Voldemort would know all the crossword puzzle answers. My former stepdad was the most amazing crossword puzzle solver I've ever met, and doing a puzzle with him was no fun at all, because he could pretty much fill out the whole thing in one go on any crossword puzzle he tried. When I was trying to think of something annoying to use in that scene, the crossword puzzles sprang to mind. Since it wasn't much of a stretch for me to imagine AVPM Quirrell liking crossword puzzles, I decided to go for it.


 Report Review

Review #22, by misery Dancing Lessons.

20th November 2009:
hahaha, I like very potter musical, and this was rather entertaining

Author's Response: Thank you! Entertainment was my aim. :-)

 Report Review

Review #23, by WeasleyTwinMom_staff Dancing Lessons.

11th November 2009:
To dance again! I've been waiting all these years - ahem, sorry. I thought this was lovely. You kept them very true to their AVPM characters, and it was just a sweet little one-shot. Loved it! And now, I'll be in the kitchen, making a delicious sandwich for Dumbledore...

Author's Response: Now at once a chance appears . . .

Thank you so much! Since I now know you know AVPM backwards and forwards, I'm especially glad you thought Voldy and Quirrell were true to their AVPM versions. I'm also glad you thought it was sweet! I did want it to be, particularly the end.

Hahaha, you could be in AVPM yourself! Tick, tick, tick . . .


 Report Review

Review #24, by Pookha Dancing Lessons.

10th November 2009:
It's always good to see author's who don't always take the subject matter so siriusly. A good, strange, but funny story is always welcome. I haven't watched AVPM, but from this story, I could picture the song.

I was very amused by this and it lifted my spirits a bit. I've not been feeling great lately, so a new story from one of my fave authors is always a good mood lightener.

As always, your stories are well-edited grammatically and well written.

Thank you for brightening my day. :)

Author's Response: Sirius subject matter? Pshaw! Yep, this is about as far from serious (I almost spelled that "sirious") as you can get. The whole point was to be silly. I'm so glad you found it funny. I myself thought it was funny, but . . . you know. Sometimes we find ourselves a lot more amusing than anyone else finds us.

The "Shall We Dance" song is nowhere to be found in AVPM, though Voldy is a tap-dancer (and he has a Death Eater kickline!) in it. The song just seemed appropriate to the subject matter. I originally had this as a songfic, but copyright issues = TOS violation, obviously, so I had to change it.

I am a bit of a stickler for grammar. Heck, I'm only human like everyone else, but grammar comes easily to me. I've got to give a nod to Weasley_Twin_Mom for correcting my spelling of "Quirrell" though.

Thank YOU, pookha, for brightening MY day with a review and kind words! :-)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login