Reading Reviews for Marauderesque
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dracos_hotter Marauderesque

9th March 2010:
Ahh, can't resist a troublemaker! And such a good one at that ;)

"...blanced..." I think you meant blanched, sunshine!

Congratulations again on writing such a fantastic story! I hope I see you again soon =)

xE

Author's Response: haha awww, little bitty Potter a tropublemaker like his daddy ;)

Oh dear! I did mean blanched! *dies and goes to fix*

Thanks again, and these reviews were awesome!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #2, by Carly Marauderesque

23rd January 2010:
That was sweet. I liked it.

Author's Response: Thanks hun! Glad you enjoyed!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #3, by frostbitten Marauderesque

19th January 2010:
Firstly, I'd just like to say that I followed your link from Bree's page on PW... *sweatdrops* and secondly; you, my dear, are an amazing writer! (not that I hadn't gathered that from some of your posts.) I love the idea... the flashbacks were a very nice touch and added well to the story. Ummm... I'm not very good at long reviews, so farewell for now :)

Author's Response: Why hello!

Wow, so posting that link wsa good for something! haha YAY! Well, thank you for the compliment! But I personally think Bree's post pales in comparison to some of the stuff I write here (wow lets just pretend that didnt sound exceedingly arrogant ^_^),

Any ways, thanks for the review! (and I am wondering who you could be on PW, hmm?)
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #4, by LilyFire Marauderesque

30th December 2009:
I like this story alot. It was good, and captures Harry perfectly.

Author's Response: Hey! Nice to hear from you! ^_^

Thanks! I am glad you like it, I think it is one of my better one-shots, Noontime Suprise outweighing it in the end, but still...off subject lol

Thanks for leaving a review!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #5, by JS Weasley Marauderesque

21st December 2009:
my god, i love this. i totally agreed with harry at the beginning and was disapproving of ginny's response. but you gave the reader such a great transition from fully believing that james is this amazing rebel to that perhaps he will one day grow up and maybe it needs to come soon. but i was glad to see harry state it so simply like that at the end. he's marauderesque 10/10

Author's Response: Hey again! Im glad you decided to read more of my work! ^_^

I am glad you like Harry's reaction, I like it too :]

I appriciate your reviews! And dont hesitate to come read more!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #6, by FannyPrice Marauderesque

11th December 2009:
I really liked it! I love the Marauders, in general, and I think this touched on an important aspect that all jokers grow up. Unfortunately, tragedy often brings that on (at least in HP), but I hope that doesn't happen to James II. I loved the address on the letter, but I was wondering: is harry going to do anything to help James grow up or is he just going to let it play out on his own? I also enjoyed the memory sequence and the way you rewrote the scenes; they were touching. However, i thought, since you prefaced the fact that they were memories and the tone of the writing changed, that the italics were unnecessary. I really did enjoy the story! Great Job.

Author's Response: I picture Harry letting things play out. His whole revalation was that these things just happen, its the way of nature. Thanks for the review!!! I appriciate it! :]
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #7, by Megan and Charly love HP Marauderesque

11th December 2009:
OMG!!! That was one of the cutest things I've ever read! I FREAKING LOVED IT!!! Amazing Job and write more just like this! It was so awesome you like have no idea.well maybe you do but whatever! *Hugs and claps and cookies!* -Charly

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thanks so much! I have the most enormous smile on my face right now! *hugs*
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #8, by jaguar1223 Marauderesque

9th December 2009:
Well, I'm speechless.

Author's Response: Haha wow! Thank you that's probably one of the best comments an author can get!


 Report Review

Review #9, by green_angel Marauderesque

8th December 2009:
Awww, this is adorable! i love how Neville has a friendly tone in his letter and Harry being torn between amusement and being a parent. The memories were short, but effective. And I can totally see Harry's faith in his son that he will grow up and telling this to Ginny after they hear of a prank.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yes I rewrote the memories into
How they are now they used to
Be much more brief. Thanks again!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #10, by WWLAJD Marauderesque

7th December 2009:
Aw! This is so cute!

Author's Response: Oh thank you! Im so glad you think so!!!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lilau Marauderesque

2nd December 2009:
Hello, it's Lilau from the forum with your requested review.

A very nice one-shot. I like how you make Harry wonders between laughing at his son's antics and being mad at him. I like Ginny being the voice of reason. But I think that she lacks a little fun. She's the mother but seeing how she was when she was at school and how she loves for her brother to do mischief, I would have thought that she too would have laugh a little (or smile) at her son's behaviour and not be the serious one immediately.

I like the fact that it's Neville who writes to Harry. I would just see Neville calling McGonagall "Professor" even if he's her colleague now (and not plain McGonagall). I was also, with this letter, under the impression that James was not alone doing mischief (small group of boys). Then you're only talking about how James confessed and was punished. Maybe you could have speak a little bit more of those boy (add another Weasley for example).

Then I think you should take your time with the flashbacks. It's good to see them but it feels a little too short to be really noticed as they are: ancient troublemakers whose blood runs into James II.

Just love your idea of the toilet seats that glue girl. I would like to see the girls retaliate though. And the fact that you chose this theme to link your flashbacks was very good.

Your last sentence was very good both as an ending one and as a summary one for your story. Good job

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for your review!

Thanks for the CC, it was really helpful :]
And I actually did expound upon the memories a lot, they are waiting for validation :]

Thanks so much! This was really helpful!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #12, by WitnesstoitAll Marauderesque

28th November 2009:
Hey MadamMarauder! I'm here from the forums with your review.

Overall, this was an extremely enjoyable read. It was merry and light-hearted. In my mind, I could picture Harry seated at the table wondering what to do about his wayward eldest son while at the same time fighting off amusement.

That being said, I do have some constructive criticism for you. Since this is such a lovely story, I think that it is important to try to make it as technically sound as possible. There are some grammatical errors throughout this fic - mostly some missed commas and changes in the tense. These are easy errors to fix though, and your story is worth it. :)

Also, since the story is such a pleasant read, I would like to see a bit of an expansion of the memories. This fic isn't terribly long, so you definitely have room to expand a bit. How is Harry feeling? What does the scene specifically look like? That sort of thing. Right now, the memories (great selection by the way) seem to only offer face value information. If they could be made personal to Harry I think that they'd be that much more effective.

These several criticisms in no way subtract from what you have here. This is a lovely story as I've already said. You have taken a common theme (James as the trouble-maker of the Potter household) and made it your own. This is an accomplishment. The choice of memories is wonderful, and I love the recurrent theme of toilet mischief. Harry's faith in his son's eventualy maturation is a lovely touch too.

All in all, this was a refreshing read! Great Job!! Keep writing, and don't be afraid to go back a rework past projects...
-Melissa (Witnesstoitall)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for coming to review so quickly!

Yes, Ive gotten a lot of comments about making the memories more indepth, so I think I will definately do that!

Thanks so much for the feedback! I really do appriciate it!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #13, by taylorj828 Marauderesque

28th November 2009:
I hope you don't mind, but I decided to read this for fun, and so I don't have a really long critique to offer. I just thought it might be better to leave you a note, though, even if it's short, since I did read this. (o: It's very cute. I like the clever trick that James played on all the girls. It would definitely NOT be cute to them, but I can understand why Harry laughs. I certainly did!

I really liked Neville's letter, too. First, I like seeing that he's the Head of Gryffindor House now - it just seems to fit perfectly. I loved his role in HPDH, and I think it really set him up to grow into quite a wizard, and definitely full of honor and courage and loyalty. The amiable letters to Harry reporting on his son are really fond things to think on. (o:

And Harry's memories back through Fred and George's pranks and jokes - lovely nostalgia, and definitely shows clearly what Harry says in the last line - the apple not falling far from the tree. I bet George loves James. (o:

I also like how you ended the story with the title word. Nice!

This was a fun, light read. It felt a tad short, but yet the plot/idea was "complete." Maybe a bit more detail on Harry's memories or this life he has, his children. I don't know, I just know I could have read more. But that's a good thing. (o:

Author's Response: Why hello! Thanks for takign the time to R&R this! :]

Yes, if I was one of those girls, after I got done crying my eyes out, I would go hunt down that James Potter lol. But Im glad it made you laugh!

And yes, about Neville. We do know he's Herbology prof, so why not Gryffindor Head? He really did grow a lot, starting at OotP, just like you said. And I pictured Neville laughing when he was writing that letter, but still trying to come off as the responsible Head of House :]

I know the memories go awfully quick...I was actually thinking about adding in some memories Harry had of past things James had done, but then I'd have to work it in with the toilet seat theme (lol). I'm glad you could have read more! That means it wasnt boring, yay!

Thanks again!
~~Chelsea

PS, sorry for the long winded response oi. (but then again, I kinda like it when authors leave long responses to my reviews, so) :]


 Report Review

Review #14, by notreallyblonde44 Marauderesque

20th November 2009:
Hey _Lady Marauder_, this is notreallyblonde44 from the forum here to do your review :) sorry it took forever!

"Christmastime" - two words.

"got caught up in an unconquerable bought with the giggles." -I do not feel that Neville would write in this way, especially to a good friend like Harry. While Neville would be trying to appear official, I think there is a fine line to be drawn between his professional and personal language.

I liked the overall tone of your one-shot, and I liked the concept of all the toilet seats connecting stories and thoughts in Harry's mind. I would say though, for such a short story I do not think that an entire half of the story being in flashbacks was such a good idea. I felt that it took away from the present situation with Harry and Ginny discussing their children, particularly James. But, of course, that is just how I feel about it. good job!

Best,
-Lisa

Author's Response: Hi, Lisa! Thats alright, I have a review page too and I know how busy it can get!

Your totally right about the Neville thing. I did not even see it before, but now that you mention it...Im going to go back adn trim that up!

Ya, I understand where your coming from with the flashbacks but the way I intended it wasnt so much as a discussion about their children but more about a lesson about growing up :]

Thanks for the review! I really appriciate your imput!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #15, by kandekisses Marauderesque

18th November 2009:
Aww that was adorable! I loved the way the story went and how you connected all the pranksters. A sticking charm to the toilet seats? Classic! That was hilarious!

I really enjoyed the way you portrayed Harry and how he laughed at his son's prank. It was something I could completely see him doing. And the flashbacks were an added bonus, the one about Fred and George was so sad! But yes your story is perfect, I absolutely love it and its going straight into my favorites. The apple really doesn't fall far from the tree huh? Yes, very marauderesque =)

The only criticism I have is in the flash back to the lessons Harry had with Snape you put Occlumany instead of Occlumency.

Thank you for posting this story, it made my day!

Author's Response: WOW that was fast!!!

Aw thanks so much! I know I puzzled FOREVER about what James should do as a prank and then the Sticking Charm hit me like a slap in the face :]

O my goodness I am so flattered by everything you said! I dont even know what to say

I am going to go fix that mistake right away! *whacks head and says 'bad, Chelsea you should know better!* Thanks so much, you made my day too with this review!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #16, by Burke Marauderesque

17th November 2009:
Naw I really like this!

I love the prank- its hilarious!

I also like Neville's tone in the letter, and how Harry cannot help but laugh.

I think the memories are good and it's difficult to make them smooth when they transition so quickly, and you do a pretty good job, but it's a little rushed maybe? Not sure, still works well though.

The Fred's death and funeral made me sad :'( It was very well written, adn I loved the memory of detention and James and co.

Interesting use of growing up in this, and I love the last two lines, they're great!

I really like this story, its light, quirky and yet has meaning to it, a good tribute to the mauraders and Fred and George :)

One comment is that you have passes where it should be passed in the third paragraph.

Which reminds me- love how the letter is address so specifically to the kitchen table! Great touch!

Author's Response: Hey thanks for reviewing this!

Yes, I know what you mean about the memories being rushed. I was trying to go for the feeling that all the sudden, all these memories crowded into Harry's head.

I'll go back and fix that typo. Thanks!

And thanks for commenting on the kitcchen table thing, I figure since Hogwarts can address things 'Under the Cupboard' and 'Floor' they could certainly do table :]

Thanks so much!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #17, by Cousin Marauderesque

15th November 2009:
Woah this is sooo crazy!!! The last line...you have no idea how much that pertains to my week. NO idea. I loved it. As usual. Was there meant to be a connection between James the 1st and George? I saw one. :}
I will read the others tomorrow, I promise! Muy bueno dahling! xoxox

Author's Response: George? Im curious to what exactly you saw but yes, a connection between James, Sirius, George, Fred and James II in an inextricable loop :] or rather :} Grinchy! LOl
~~Chelsea
living with bated breath for tomorrow jk


 Report Review

Review #18, by Ava Pearce Marauderesque

15th November 2009:
Aw... love it!
Love the flashbacks, they're sweet and sad!
10/10
Ava xx

Author's Response: Hey thanks so much for the review! Yes I tried to make the memories kind of bittersweet. Thanks!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #19, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Marauderesque

10th November 2009:
Hi there! I'm here with your requested review.

I have a tiny bit of CC, then I'll gush about the story:
Your summary completely put me off your story, and I was sure I wouldn't like it. I loved the story, but the summary was poor. The tense changed halfway through, and it was choppy. I suggest you post in the Summary Help thread on the forums. Your tense also switched a few times in the story. Nothing big, it could be easily fixed by either you or a beta.

Now, onto the compliments. This was a great story! Your writing was far better than your summary suggested, and I loved the pranks you thought of, all involving toilets. Your letter from Neville to Harry was particualarly well written. Harry and Ginny were characeterized perfectly, and your writing flowed nicely. The only thing it needed a little more of was description. But it was really funny and enjoyable! Keep it up!

~lllb

Author's Response: Oh. My. Goodness...I just went back to read over my summary and practically fainted from embarassment...you can believe me that I will be changing that ASAP!!! Thanks so much ffor pointing it out though because chances are I never would have gone back to reread it myself and it would stay suckish :]

Thank you for the compliments about the story though! And I cant say thanks enough for taking the time to read this story (scary summary and all :] ahh!)
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #20, by MalfoyloverPadfoot Marauderesque

5th November 2009:
Hello!
I very much enjoyed that spectacular one-shot. Stuck to the toilet seats! lol. Very cute! I heart James 2.

Yeah!!! Lady Marauder!

 Report Review

Review #21, by James2009 Marauderesque

3rd November 2009:
excellent one-shot, maybe you could write a story that shows james at school? that would truly be awesome...
James2009

Author's Response: thank you so much for the review!

ya I am definately working up to a bigger story! As of now, I am a little uncomfortable with writing the Next Generation characters (I have no idea why). This was my first organized try but Im going to try and get better at their characters and hopefully write a novel or novella about them!
XOXO Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #22, by xxxHannahxxx Marauderesque

3rd November 2009:
This is great! Love the flashbacks; please write more stories, they're good!

Author's Response: Thanks hannah hun! Ya I'm trying to write as much as possible!
Chelsea


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login