Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Gain/Loss.
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by penguinforpresident ONE-SHOT

12th June 2010:
Very nice. I liked it a lot.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! i'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by onestop_hpfan18 ONE-SHOT

18th March 2010:
Hey, Leslie from TGS here to review as requested. I quite enjoyed this one-shot as you wrote James's reaction marvelously, and the way everyone would have reacted around him, as well. I liked how he received an owl from his mother carrying the note and engagement ring before the Daily Prophet arrived with the terrible news. I also thought you did great with how the Marauders would react upon seeing such news and keeping James from finding out in such a way, and of Sirius following James to Potter Mansion to take him back to Hogwarts; that's how true friends are with each other. I know at one point my eyes felt like they were tearing up, and that's quite a feat as it takes a powerful scene in a book/movie to get me to break down and cry. There isn't any for me to critique, actually, it all flowed seamlessly and the plot so nicely written that it could have been canon for all we know. Overall, great job, Miranda! 10/10

Author's Response: Hey Leslie! Sorry for the delay in responding; time just really passed me by so quickly. I'm really glad you liked the story so much, and thought i captured the true spirit of friendship well. i was really striving for that. Thanks again so much for the review, and I am very glad you enjoyed it!!

--Miranda


 Report Review

Review #3, by BrandyAlexander ONE-SHOT

7th March 2010:
That was great. I have always wondered how James' parents died. And Lily's too...hmm

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!! I have a story about Lily's parents, its called Dearly Beloved, if you'd like to check it out! Thanks for reading and reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by PotterGirl75 ONE-SHOT

5th February 2010:
Golly.. you are a brilliant writer. I love it..

Author's Response: Awww, thanks so much. *blushes* this is one of my favorite pieces, so thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Holunder ONE-SHOT

23rd January 2010:
Wow, your one-shot is great. The happiness and sweet little Marauder moment at the beginning enforces the pain later just great. James grief is really sad, although it's bearable through the presence of his friends!

I also love the characterization of Sirius in the story. He seems very caring, not so reckless like his usual characterization.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! And on my birthday, too. So awesome. i've always viewed Sirius as extremely caring when it came to james, because they were so close. reckless with himself, caring with his loved ones kind of thing. also, i think azkaban really unhinged him. I purposefully wanted to show that tragedy strikes on any normal day, and so i threw in the beginning. And, friends are very important. :)! Thanks again for the review! i'm very glad that you enjoyed this story.

 Report Review

Review #6, by island_babe23 ONE-SHOT

1st January 2010:
this is really nice.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by propertyoftheHBP ONE-SHOT

15th December 2009:
I'll come right out and say that I'm not a huge fan of James/Lily...but this was one of the best, most enjoyable, amazing, heartwrenching, well-written one-shots I've ever read. The height and range of the emotions were superb as well.

I loved and completely appreciated the line, "Anyone we know dead?" from Sirius.

On another note, I loved the name "Itty" for a house-elf. :D

I think I'm running out of adjectives for this review, but I'll throw in another... Fantastic job!

*10/10*

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I appreciate it so much. I think Itty is a perfect name for a house elf! So adorable sounding, huh? I especially appreciate the fact that you enjoyed my story so much when you're not a fan on the ship! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by kassandra466 ONE-SHOT

14th December 2009:
OMG!! i LOVED it!! it was AMAZING!! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! It means a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Cherry Bear ONE-SHOT

3rd December 2009:
From the moment I saw your incredible summary, I was intrigued. I've always enjoyed sad stories, even when they strike close to home, like this one did. I was particularly interested in your story title; it's a strange idea to think that such a ghastly loss of one thing could mean a gain of something else, but it's such an original idea, and I think you pulled it off really well.

This is the first piece of writing of yours I've read, but I'm blown away by how amazingly well-written it is. I loved how you managed to capture the readers' interest in the beginning, and held it throughout the piece. Despite, or maybe because of, the story summary, I found parts of this still unexpected. Normally fanfictions have letters informing students of deaths and, because I knew that that was what this was about, I was fully expecting the letter to James to be a letter informing him of his parents' death. I was pleasantly surprised when I found it wasn't, and I have to applaud you for not resorting to cliche.

I also have to say that I really loved how you didn't make the story as dreary and dark as the story summary was. That's not to say I didn't like the story summary - I adored it, actually - but I find it unrealistic that James would be thinking about the meaning of life and how much he loves his parents right before he finds out they're dead. Nothing fits together perfectly like that in real life, and I like how you accepted that. The beginning of the story was so light-hearted, and you made it seem like just another day, which, to them, it would seem at first.

Even though we got only a small glimpse at James' mum, I loved that small glimpse. You managed to give her a personality and so much more information about her than some authors give in a whole chapter that it made me ridiculously happy. Everything in her letter, from her small explanation that James' father still thinks she's doing her hair, to her description of the Minister's party, to her reference to Sirius as another son just paints such a vivid picture. Every word of that letter made me like her character even more and, while I'm not sure if you did it purposefully, I know that it made me all the more sadder to find out she was dead.

I loved Remus and Sirius' reactions. The casual but serious way Sirius asked if anyone was dead, Remus' panic and clear protective nature of his mates, how Sirius began to tear up right away - it was all so perfect. I never would've imagined it happening that way, and yet, now that you've written it like that, I'm shocked at how well it fits. The only critique I have about the whole his-parents-being-dead-in-the-newspaper thing was why no one else in the Great Hall said anything. You'd think that when someone's classmates' parents died, people might read that and start whispering or pointing or maybe even randomly giving said person a hug, I don't know. I guess I kind of just expected more of a reaction from the other student bodies - but, then again, maybe there was a reaction and you just didn't feel it important to mention? I also found it a little odd that James would not find out already. Wouldn't the Ministry contact the school and charge them with the difficult task of letting him know before they published it in the Daily Prophet? Especially since it takes a bit of time to write articles and send out newspapers. And, if the school did know, why did they wait so long to tell James? It just seemed a little off to me, but if you think my argument is completely wrong and offensive, then just ignore it because I still found this piece lovely.

My favorite part of this piece, by far, is how you tied it all together. You started it with James receiving the engagement ring, and that last line at the end, about Sirius thinking that Dorea Potter had known what she was doing, brought the ring back into play and made everything seemed to fit together nicely like a neat little puzzle. I adore you and this piece, and I can't wait till I have time to read your other stories.

10/10! :)

Cherry Bear

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I just had the worst day of work, when I came home and saw this, and it really made me feel better. As far as the good from the bad thing, that is something my mother told me when I was little: That there is always something to be gained from failure or loss. I guess it stuck with me. Smart woman, my mom.

I've been thinking about this story since about 2005, actually. So a lot of thought and few years of life experience went into the creative process of this story. I think that is why diverts from the cliche letter. And, I strive for realism. So, I'm glad you found the beginning with them just having another breakfast real. It's always so good to hear that.

Like this story, I've spent a lot of time thinking of James' mum, too. And I do like her a lot, too, and I wanted that to come across to the reader so they would feel for her similar to the way James does. I always saw James' dad as being a serious career focused ministry man (still a loving husband and father though), and I think James got his sense of fun from his mother. I've always seen Sirius as an empathetic/emotional type of person. And, i think seeing James hurt like that, and hurting himself for the people who'd been so kind to him would definitely bring him to tears.

I enjoy getting critique, so don't worry about offending me. I think other students were probably whispering, but I also think James and Sirius might've been used to that. ;). Because I primarily wrote from James POV and he was engrossed in the letter and the ring that I don't think he noticed any odd behavior. He barely noticed Remus and Sirius fighting over the newspaper. However, a sentence or two on the rest of the Great Hall's reaction could improve the story. So, my rationalization about the newspaper finding out before James did is this: Rita Skeeter, or a rita skeeter like reporter, scooped the story at the scene. I know that real reporters will often listen to police frequencies to catch stories "before they happen". I think Dumbledore, who in my mind was friends with James' parents, had left Hogwarts to inquire about the deaths. The ministry/Dumbledore were so wrapped up in the investigation that they hadn't realized the story had been picked up until the paper had already gone to press. And Dumbledore caught James just in the nick of time. But then again, it might have just been a plot contrivance to heighten the drama. ;) Thanks for asking though. I enjoy answering questions like that.

I'm glad you appreciate the resurfacing of the ring at the end of the story. I like that the story is circular, like the ring itself actually...

Again, thank you so much. Do you have a review thread on the forums? You might want to think of starting one, since yours are so well constructed. Please, read and review my other stories when you have the time. I look forward to hearing from you again.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Alicia07 ONE-SHOT

3rd November 2009:
I don't even know what to say. This was so wonderful, you really seem to KNOW these characters. It must not be easy to craft their personalities from the very little amount of canon we have on them. Anyways, amazing writing as usual, I hope you do more little James/Lily things in the future. :)

Author's Response: Do you know how excited I was to sign on and see that you left me two reviews? I was blown away. Seriously, thanks so much for checking out this story. I am glad that I've written these characters in such a way that they strike a chord with you. And, you know, Lily/James always seem to be popping into my head, distracting me from other stories, so you'll probably be seeing more of them too! Again, thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Megan and Charly love HP ONE-SHOT

1st November 2009:
Oh! I SO LOVED IT! Awesome Job! U Need to write more!!! I swear I'll read them!! *Claps and loads of cookies* -Charly

Author's Response: *bows* Thank you, Thank you! I'll definitely be writing more! Thanks again, I love reviews and you made my evening. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Noblevyne ONE-SHOT

1st November 2009:
...I validated this and I have been wondering what the blazes HPFFSAD stood for. I enjoyed it immensely in the queue, and I enjoy it just as much this second time around.

It's a really lovely way to tell a story, showing how circular life is with no beginning or end. Plus I am a HUGE sap for Lily/James - and you've captured so much of what I find fascinating about them: their youth in such a dangerous world, forging something together as if to spite everything that works against them.

James' grief is real and heartbreaking, and Lily's strength is there without you even having to say a word about it. That one paragraph with everyone knocking on the door is my favourite, it says everything so simply and beautifully. He lets her in...man, I'm struggling to express how much I loved this and how fantastic a writer you are.

Thank you for being a member on this site, you've given me much enjoyment in the queue, and thank you so much for writing this!

Lauren

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you. This review means so much to me. Those are also the things that I love about Lily and James, and I am beyond happy that I was able to convey something of that to the readers in this story. You should see how much I still cry when I read the part in DH about their gravestones...they were so young, but brave. I could go on about that for ages, but I won't. I'll end this reply with another thank you for you and all the other staffers on this site who have made my return to fanfiction so wonderful!

-FannyPrice


 Report Review

Review #13, by stupify ONE-SHOT

28th October 2009:
So sad. So heartbeaking. Yet so beautiful.
Congratulations. This was very well written. You are a great author.
My english yeacher would be proud to have you as a student!
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks! That compliment made me chuckle! I'm so glad you liked the story.

 Report Review

Review #14, by GrintsGal ONE-SHOT

28th October 2009:
Oh wow. It's beautiful. Heartbreaking, but beautiful. Well done, FannyPrice, well done!

Author's Response: Wow! I feel like I should take a bow or something after this review! It really made my day. Thanks so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login