339 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Amelia A New Day Dawns

5th November 2013:
Sequel! Sequel! Sequel! Sequel.
haha is there any chance you may consider writing a sequel? I know it has been well over three years since you finished the story, but yours is still one of the best stories out there, and i know anything you may write as a sequel to this stories will spread as wildfire. Please consider it. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMolly Halloween

25th October 2013:
sig74,
I'm rereading my favorites and have been thoroughly enjoying this one. How I managed not to review this chapter, I have no clue. Pansy is an idiot. She's letting her emotions rule her actions, lucky for Harry and Ginny. Not that I want her to succeed. Her discovery and arrest is something to look forward to. The portraits missed their chance, but if there were any other non Head Master portraits in the corridor, they might have seen the attack. Something tells me the Elves might have a hand in her demise.
I must continue,
FoM

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jordan den A New Day Dawns

18th May 2013:
I actually enjoyed this more than some of the harry potter books, this comes second after deathly hallows brilliant book you should be thinking of carrying on this story:)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rob A New Day Dawns

13th April 2013:
Simon, where are you?!?! It's been over a year since you said the sequel was coming back! If you aren't going to write it, can you at least affirm that? But I really hope you will write it because I liked the premise and you are a great writer! Hope to hear from you soon!

 Report Review

Review #5, by AvadaKedavra1 A New Day Dawns

22nd February 2013:
Okay, I have read your story from beginning to end. Forgive me, I rarely review. I wish to thank you for sharing your story. It was a joy to read.

I will say that I am male, and older. So the standard, happily ever after sap we generally read on this sit rarely gives me pause. When we connect so deeply with these characters, as I do, drawing tears is not quite so amazing. This is a compliment to your story-telling.

I feel you did not reach for the stars with this story, as telling the happily ever after, isn't really a challenge to an intelligent mind. Yet, you found a deep story in this, and made it just complex enough, and just intense enough that I really enjoyed it.

To my critiques. I found very few typos, props to any beta's you had assisting you or perhaps your own attention to detail.

Emotional, sappy, made for Lifetime moments, were always on the horizon in your tale. However, just as I was about to cringe, reading the next paragraph, you always delivered a decent dialog instead on what I was fearing: too much emo. Basically, just when I though you were going off the deep end on the emotional stuff, it leveled off to a tolerable level. Every time Harry said, "My sweet Ginny," and I about gagged, it didn't go over the edge.

Your story was really good. I enjoyed Harry's power now that he was no longer a Horcrux. Though it flirted with the perfect hero story, his struggles with his power made it very human and very much in character.

The sex and love scenes were vague and rare, and I thank you for that.

Harry challenging his muggle class to disarm him was what I felt as uncharactaristcally risky, perhaps a plot flaw b/c of the elder wand but the quality of your tale allowed me to look past that.

Ginny was real, strong, yet connected and human. Well done there.

Max and Mary's expelliarmus, was perfectly timed at Kings Cross.

The bit with Harry's eyes was new, and quite clever.

Harry's strength in battle and dueling was a bit over the top but you sold it very, very well.

Basically, I like action, and you write that bit very well. If I were to categorize your novel, I would call it "bordering on sappy" but you never really got there. As a male I found the emotion completely tolerable. There were no excessive toasts to hero's, no excessive honor or celebration, and inside the characters very real, and heartfelt pain.

"To truly critique a book, you must first read it in its entirety."

Thank you for your story. I am very glad to have read every word.

I wish you luck in your future.

AK

 Report Review

Review #6, by Chezz From London to Hogwarts

28th December 2012:
I just love this series!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Freezer A New Day Dawns

19th December 2012:
Please write another

 Report Review

Review #8, by David A New Day Dawns

20th September 2012:
After finishing Harry Potter 1-7 on my kobo, i took it upon myself to turn your story into a .txt file and then convert it into a .epub file, then moving it onto my kobo for me to read it from there,

Thank you again for creating such a wonderful book.

I'm wondering where the second book has gone.. Dangerous days i believe, it was first uploaded about a year ago now.. and disappeared shortly after appearing.. is there any news on this book or have you given up on it?

I did see you replied to someone in february about the second book but that was 6 months ago.. any news would be welcome to.. im sure.. everyone who has read this.

Thank You.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Coral A New Day Dawns

29th August 2012:
Wicked, it's much better than the other stories on the internet.

 Report Review

Review #10, by atty_jannie A New Day Dawns

9th August 2012:
i soo loved this story. and i find myself crying and laughing at times.

great job in this story dear author. :)) i'm hoping you will write another story soon.

 Report Review

Review #11, by talltwin18 A New Day Dawns

24th April 2012:
I loved this story, especially the first 5 chapters. This is the first fanfic I have read set after the battle of hogwarts where it really shows Harry's pain. Much more realistic and addictive to read! thanks

 Report Review

Review #12, by Aurorofthelight A New Day Dawns

10th April 2012:
That's marvelous news, Simon! I'll certainly be watching!

 Report Review

Review #13, by HartOfARebel The Road Already Travelled

8th April 2012:
The cabinet would have been destroyed by the fiendfyre...

This is very well written but not close enough to canon for me. I'm looking for a particular story and I'm finding it difficult to come across. I hope people come and read this though!

 Report Review

Review #14, by HartOfARebel After the Battle

8th April 2012:
Very good start. You have the characters spot on. I think Ginny forgave Harry a little too quickly though haha.

The only issue I have is that Harry pulled Hermione and Ron aside after the battle, before they went to see Dumbledore, and explained everything that had happened. But I suppose the fact that they don't know is the basis of your story so far so I'm just going to go with it =]

 Report Review

Review #15, by Taylor A New Day Dawns

5th April 2012:
I loved every word. :) This was beautifully written, very creative, realistic, and not far off from the way J.K. Rowling wrote the first 7. I'm impressed-you possess some serious talent. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Aurorofthelight A New Day Dawns

20th February 2012:
Simon! What happened to the sequel you were posting! All the sudden - POOF! It and you are gone! Did you move the sequel elsewhere!?! It's like you've fallen off the face of the earth! Give us A sign O great one!

Author's Response: Hello Aurorofthelight,

I'm still here. Sorry it's been so long. I took down the first chapter to the sequel because I realised I had made an error and wanted to correct it before I went any further. It will be back soon.

Simon


 Report Review

Review #17, by Bob The Road Already Travelled

31st January 2012:
you said they escaped hogwarts through the vanishing cabinet, which surely would of been destroyed by the fiendfyre.. you mention this yourself a few chapters further into the book.

 Report Review

Review #18, by tinashe Halloween

28th December 2011:
so far i have really enjoyd but whats with the crying?too many tears especially from harry and mcgonagall.i dnt think even harrys past would prompt so much crying.otherwise really nice so far

 Report Review

Review #19, by David L. The Station

16th December 2011:
Even though I've made my final comments on the book, I had to say something about the attack on the kids and how the DA members swung into action and stopped it. The first time I read this, I actually started to sweat. Rather than the massive battle at the end of the Deathly Hallows, this was personal with the terrorists attacking kids. As far as Harry killing Pansy at the end, I thought the event was correct the way you wrote it. When your love ones are under attack, you aren't worried about holding back but instead doing whatever it takes to protect them. Harry Potter is becoming a mature hero in the story and really makes the future actions much more believable.

 Report Review

Review #20, by xCinnamonAngel93x The Difference a Day Makes

12th December 2011:
Your story is one of the best works I have ever read! I can read it over and over again.

 Report Review

Review #21, by xCinnamonAngel93x Freds Final Farewell

12th December 2011:
I love the part where is eyes glow, hehe =D.

 Report Review

Review #22, by xCinnamonAngel93x The Boy Who Lives

12th December 2011:


 Report Review

Review #23, by xCinnamonAngel93x A Sacrifice For Love

12th December 2011:
Your story inspires me to continue my stories... (even though you don't see it on this site. Maybe one day I will come back to writing on here.

 Report Review

Review #24, by xCinnamonAngel93x Nightmares and Happiness

12th December 2011:
Beautiful, just beautiful! =D

 Report Review

Review #25, by xCinnamonAngel93x The Road Already Travelled

12th December 2011:
You are great writer. When I read this story... I spotted a few errors but it's great that it's not that big to even notice. Wonderful work! I wish this would come out as a motion picture.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>