Reading Reviews for I and Love and You
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CloakAuror9 ocean blue; as luminous as a star

28th January 2013:
Ooh! I did that 'random story' button thing and I was given this. I see that the last review was two years ago. Oops.

Anyway, I've been coming across a few Percy/Audrey stories now and I have to say that a lot of them have been really good. This one is no exception!

I love how the romance in the story is a subtle and not too right in your face. I'd always imagined the two of them to start off as an awkward pair but soon finds comfort in each other and I and Love You gave me just that.

Percy's characterisation was so believable. It was just so like him to want to secure his on career first before anything else. Though, I didn't think that went as planned because he just fell in love with Audrey. :D

A really great job! I love it!

~Izzy

64th review out of 100

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Misty_Rey ocean blue; as luminous as a star

6th January 2011:
Heya Stephanie!

Hmm, weird, I'm 88% sure that I left a review for this. But the empty review box with my name on it doesn't lie so here I am to rectify that error. :p

First off, I think you captured Percy perfectly, especially in the first part of his story, about choosing a career over a love life, so Percy :p. Percy as a character has always struck me as quite being tricky to write, since he comes off as a terrible person in the books (except end of DH). It would have been easy to fall into the trap of making him either unbearably unlikable, likeably out of character or a parody. Here, you show some restrain, focusing more on his remorse and self-improvement.

I also enjoyed the depth you gave Audrey, she's a type of female OC we don't see enough around HPFF. While she does have a romantic streak in her, she's also realistic, mature and down-to-earth. In such a short span of words, half a one shot, you gave her a fully evolved personality that I enjoyed reading. Her interaction with her mother also had an interesting dynamic to it, one I can't quite put my finger on. It's as though there are unresolved issues and tension between them that you conveyed beautifully into words.

The small glimpse into the reformation of the Ministry was a great touch, one I wish could be further explored. But I realize the one-shot contraints ;). The epilogue was lovely. Sappy and romantic yes but oh, who cares. It was great the way you linked it together with both their concerns about love earlier on and have those concerns squashed by each other hehehe. I know the story title is from a song and one tree hill episode title but it fits perfectly with the style of how you wrote this: I (Percy) and Love (epilogue) and You (Audrey). The story's wonderful and so are you! Forgive me for taking so long to review! *hugs*

~Misty

Author's Response: aw, misty! your reviews always me so incredibly happy and humbled. i'm so sorry for this late reply; and i'm sorry for this lame attempt at one as well, but i am quite speechless *hugs* ^_^

 Report Review

Review #3, by nana_banana_xx3 ocean blue; as luminous as a star

3rd June 2010:
okay, first of all. avett brothers = absolute win. i love them so stinking much, and i practically jumped out of my skin with excitement when i saw the title of this story. yeah, moving on, though. secondly, i love your percy. people just don't give percy enough credit, imo. he was an absolute idiot, sure. but really, he's a pretty good guy. you did an awesome job showing the many sides that he has. :) and (third, i guess, ha) really, just an overall great job. i liked this a lot. :)

Author's Response: thanks so much for this lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by VampireKisses ocean blue; as luminous as a star

18th February 2010:
ROMINA!! Hi :) It's Kristen! I don't know if this review will be as long as some of my others because my dad has been claiming to get on this computer for the past twenty minutes. Nonetheless, I will not be deterred from what I have to say about your story ^_^

You are a great writer. I mean it. If you write professionally, you are sure to do quite well, I think. Your story enveloped me in its smoothness, taking me from sentence to sentence until I was set on my feet at the end there. Moreover, I REALLY like how this is a Percy/Audrey story...it's so very nice reading something new. And the way you set it up! I liked how you clarified it as his story or her story.

I don't know...there was just something about the language and style you chose that made "I and Love and You" seem like one of those classic stories you read on a cold winter's evening by the fireplace.

I do have to admit though, there WERE some things I thought were off. Like for instance, I noticed (and this is going to sound nitpicky, but I'm trying to be thorough here) you have a little repetition (both the good and meh kind.) I liked how you started both their stories with the same sentence of not expecting to fall in love. It sort of fits them, don't you think? It's short and to the point, clear as day...not really buried beneath flowery descriptions. Anyway, sorry for the ramble there, there was some meh repetition scattered in the sotry. Like I particularly noticed you used "across the threshold" or something to that effect, twice in close proximity.

Not to mention, there seemed to be some loose ends still...loose by the conclusion of the story. Like how did Mr. Forrester die? Was he muggle? What about George, why wasn't he ready for big crowds? If there was a problem (like depression or alcohol) wouldn't Percy have SOME clue? Do Audrey and Percy ever tell each other that they love one another? That ending sort of made it murky, for me personally, or do they just never admit that this love was life changing?

But that's just my opinion. I tend to think deeply...maybe sometimes too deeply.

Your dialogue is very realistic, as well as the insights to life. I found Audrey particularly relatable because I've had to lie to get away from unwanted suitors (creepers actually) so in that regard, I sort of been in her situation. I thought your quip about dating (the third paragraph) was so funny! Because its true. That was my favorite bit.

Great job!! Its nice to see you again!

Love,
Kristen

Author's Response: Hey, Kristen! I was very happy to see that you were offering reviews, because you're always incredibly thorough. And don't worry about the length of this; I totally understand when someone wants the computer and what that can do to you.

Anyway, first of all, thank you so much. Writing professionally is my dream, and hearing that I can do well just warms my heart. Makes me want to achieve this dream (even if it's a long shot sometimes). I'm very happy you liked the writing, as well as the ship - writing this was new to me too, the set-up, the characterizations, and I just loved it, so I'm glad you liked it too.

As for your thoughts on the weaknesses of this story, well, I now exactly what you mean. I've been told that I sometimes am very inconsistent in my writing and the plots I create. I like to be ambiguous about certain things, but I realize that, while some things are better left unwritten, some aren't. And I'm also aware that I tend to be repetitive, and I will keep both those things in mind when I write next time.

As for your last question (the other ones I really can't answer because I haven't thought them through), about their love, I think at first they never admitted that their love was life changing, but they did share their feelings with one another, or at least when the time came.

And I'm happy you liked my take on dating - I needed to vent =P

All in all, thank you so, so much for this amazing review.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Dagmar Beck ocean blue; as luminous as a star

7th November 2009:
Nice, this story makes me think more of "Some Enchanted Evening" but maybe your too young for Rogers and Hammerstein

Author's Response: I might be - I've never heard of Rogers and Hammerstein *blush*. Thank you for reviewing though!

 Report Review

Review #6, by annie ocean blue; as luminous as a star

4th November 2009:
ooh, that was so cute! i loved it very, very much! you write so wonderfully, i can't help but be jealous. ;P

10/10

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by witch_in_training ocean blue; as luminous as a star

30th October 2009:
Hey Romina Stephanie, happy HPFFSAD!

Even in a single one-shot, you gave life to Audrey (who I'll likely always think of as Audrey Forrester now) and gave me a Percy I could sympathize with. Neither one really has anything against love, they would just rather do other things... until they actually discover what love is. It was very believable, very adorable, and very canon. It's stories like this that give a person something to base minor ships off of.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much. Your review made my day (:

 Report Review

Review #8, by pennyardelle ocean blue; as luminous as a star

30th October 2009:
Happy Staff Appreciation Day! There are not nearly enough stories about Percy and Audrey out there, but I think they're just wonderful, especially how you've written them! I laughed at Percy saying that dating was a nuisance; definitely something he would say.

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so! Percy was difficult to write =p Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by RonsGirlFriday ocean blue; as luminous as a star

30th October 2009:
Happy HPFFSAD!

Percy/Audrey makes me so happy - the ship itself and all of the various possibilities when writing it, since it's such a blank slate. I love seeing what other authors do with this ship.

This was romantic enough to give me that bubbly romance feeling, but not over the top in a way that would make me think "This isn't Percy." On that note, I liked what you did with the characterizations of both Percy and Audrey.

I do wish this could have been longer, though that's not a criticism of your writing - just wishing there was more to read! ^_^ I did notice in your author's note that you said you struggled while writing it, and know how that is. Terrible feeling. However, the struggle doesn't show. This is a lovely one-shot.

What I've read of your writing so far is stellar, and I look forward to reading more of your stuff in the future!

Cheers!

Author's Response: I'm very relieved you liked the characterizations - I had trouble writing both characters. I was trying, in Percy's case, to make him as close to canon as possible, while I tried making Audrey seem as realistic as possible. It was very tireing. So, yeah, both relieved and happy you liked what I did with the characterizations and that the struggling wasn't noticeable. Anyways, thank you so much. Your reviews are always lovely to receive (:

 Report Review

Review #10, by faerieall ocean blue; as luminous as a star

23rd October 2009:
This is wonderful! :) I like the way you told the story, it was poetic without being too flowery. You switched the stories flawlessly too! All in all, just wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by midnightblack07 ocean blue; as luminous as a star

20th October 2009:
this was really nice :) I didn't get the impression through the writing that this you struggled through this do that's definitely a plus (y) and I think you captured Percy quite well from what little we see of him...

Author's Response: Really? *phew* That is a relief. I'm very happy you think I captured Percy - it was very difficult writing him. Thank you for reviewing - I'm very happy you liked this.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Harry and Ginny ocean blue; as luminous as a star

17th October 2009:
cute fic u have here. u should make a story like when they discover they are to be parents or something like that. what do u think?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: I do like the thought, but it was horrible writing Percy - I really struggled - so I'm going to wait a while before I decide to write him again. Still though - thanks for the idea and for reviewing! Really kind of you (:

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login