Reading Reviews for Sympathetic
  
60 Reviews Found

Review #1, by luvinpadfoot Epilogue - Bethany Miller

2nd September 2011:
The epilogue was definately my favorite part. I can really feel Bethany's pain and guilt. Bethany seemed affected the most by the letters, which was a great idea since she didn't even receive one. The plot was a little dull, but only because I pretty much knew what would happen from 13 Reasons Why. Your writing was amazing though. It really took me through the heads of everyone receiving a letter.

All in all, this story was really great and I enjoyed it immensely.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Oh, I'm glad you could feel that from Bethany - it was important for me to clear out how she too, was kind of involved. Yeah, I guess when having read 13 Reasons Why, you can't be much surprised - nothing really can beat that one. But I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by snuffles101 Epilogue - Bethany Miller

19th June 2011:
Hiya x

I was looking for inspiration on a story i am writing and came across this! It's amazing, and a little weird since the story i am writing is based on 'Thirteen reasons why', just like yours!! I have to say, this is a really good story, and i will have a hard time writing to try and do just as good (pretty sure i'll fail!) congrats on the amazing story x loved the names x

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I completely understand where you're getting from - 13 reasons why, is probably the best book ever written, right behind the HP books, and with a plot like that, who can fail, really? I'm sure you'll do a great job. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LilyFire Epilogue - Bethany Miller

18th May 2011:
So, I haven't came here in a while, and when I do, you've updated this story! I think this is a great ending to it, it ties everything up. You've done wonderfully with such a hard topic to approach, so kudos for that.
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you like the way I've worked with this subject - it's a line to walk, not being too hard, indifferent or insensitive... Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Beautifully Twisted Epilogue - Bethany Miller

27th November 2010:
I really liked this, Its really sad that people don't realise the damage they cause & things like this happen all the time. When i was in High School we had to read a book called Walking Naked by Alissa Brugman? ( i think thats her name) & i think that people need to read more stories like yours, and the one i read. Beacuse when it comes down to it, It really could save or change someones life forever. Anyway, loved your fic, you should read that book i mentioned, i cried and cried & i will never foget that book, it has stayed with me all these years. I hope you write more, i would like to read your next stuff, take care. Tiffany

Author's Response: I'll read the book. It's a topic that I find interesting, and sad at both times. Which is why this story was born, because people SHOULD know more about the damage they can cause, and people SHOULD know how to stop and help someone who needs it.
Hope you get around to read some of my other stories (there're a lot), and thanks very much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by naflower05 Epilogue - Bethany Miller

26th November 2010:
really good story. i read 13 reasons why, and i thought it was an amazing book. the only thing im curious about is that she said something about a detention in james' letter, and she said "you weren't responsible for what happened, that was someone else." but you never talked about the detention. i was looking forward to that =[ haha. but good job writting this, i enjoyed it. =]

Author's Response: I did talk about the detention. It was the one she served with Lily. It's not much, but I wanted to have that unintended hurt in my story too, and it was at the detention with Lily.
Thanks a lot for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by James2009 Epilogue - Bethany Miller

26th November 2010:
good story, extremely well written but it was very sad and dramatic.
You are a great author,
congrats,
James2009

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by philly94 Epilogue - Bethany Miller

25th November 2010:
Amazing. You did a really great job of capturing their feelings as they read the letters, and Theresa's feelings through her letters were excellent. It sounded like I thought they should, not really rude, but straightforward and to the point.
10/10 it was really touching :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It was the biggest challenge to not make them rude or accusing either, but finding the balance. Thank you for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by lunarocks14 Epilogue - Bethany Miller

25th November 2010:
Aawwh!! Well, you didn't manage to make me cry, thank God, but I'm not one to cry much anyway. But it's very sad, and if I was in a more emotional mood, I would be crying, honest. It's just my throat hurts - ohmigosh, it's been two hours, I can have a Strepsil!

Ahem. Uh, sorry? So, this is brilliant :) it doesn't seem at all like it's copying from 13 Reasons Why, it's original and amazing. I adore it, 10/10! :D

Author's Response: I didn't mean to make you cry either. Though then I would have been great.. um, for being able to do so... not that I want to make people cry, but... anyways!
Thanks for these amazing review!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by lunarocks14 Vera Clarkson

25th November 2010:
Can't listen to the songs at the moment - my lappy hasn't got Flash Player 10, but I'll look them up later, promise! :) If I remember, having short term memory loss and all... So, this is pretty awesome, and despite you saying you have no epilogue, there is one ^.^ so yay for that :) 10/10!

Author's Response: Those songs are really eye openers. I hope you've heard them by now :) Haha, yeah. The epilogue was finally written, a year or so later :P

 Report Review

Review #10, by lunarocks14 Lily Evans

25th November 2010:
!! Aawwh! Lily is... well... a little bit mean. But still sweet.

I bet the last chapter will make me cry. If you make me cry, I will... grrr. Joking, it's all good.

I saw Harry Potter 7 yesterday! Not that anyone cares! But heyy! :D

10/10 :)

Author's Response: Lily is different from the others. Just a little bit. Hope you're not too disappointed with the detention! I saw it too; AMAZING! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by lunarocks14 James Potter

25th November 2010:
O.o I wanna know about the detention! :O (Yes, I use waaay too many emoticons, don't I?) This is pretty amazing. :D I love it, poor James, though. Yes, he bullied her, but, poor him! D: 10/10!

Author's Response: James needed to realise what he had been doing. He was probably the only person I had decided from the beginning. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #12, by lunarocks14 Michael Howard

25th November 2010:
I don't like him, he's mean! Ahem. Anyway, yay, it's awesome! You captured how she must've felt really well. :)

Oh my gosh. It's James next. :O (I soo overuse emoticons!!)

10/10 I love it.

Author's Response: Mean, yes. I absolutely hate him. Grr! Haha. Thanks for another review, and I do love the emoticons very much! :P

 Report Review

Review #13, by lunarocks14 Jolene Summers

25th November 2010:
Favourited it! :D
Oh, my gosh. It's so sad! Everyone bullied the poor kid. What a name, though. D: it's amazing. 10/10!

Author's Response: Yeah, basically everyone did. But the recievers of the letters were the worst. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #14, by lunarocks14 Sirius Black

25th November 2010:
Aawwh, poor Sirius *broken hearted look*. Okay, shoot me, I love him to pieces. I recently declared him my true love. At least he's sorry, eh? I hope Lily wasn't too mean :/. 10/10

Author's Response: I love Sirius too! Haha. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Singerinwhite Epilogue - Bethany Miller

25th November 2010:
I've been following your story for awhile - I always thought it was very well written - and then I gained a very morbid connection to the story at the end of August.

I've had experience with suicide. Not me, but a childhood friend of mine who killed herself. It was a relationship that graduated high school and one that was kept through three years of college.

Needless to say the past semester for me has been absolute crap. But anyway...

I'd say Bethany's point of view on this is incredibly accurate. You did a fantastic job. Bethany's 'I could have done something' bit is entirely accurate. The fact that she didn't think that Teresa was so out of it that she was suicidal is also dead-on accurate - everyone thought that my friend was about to cross out of the tunnel and, 'into the light,' so to speak when it happened.

It's also entirely human and natural for her to be angry at Teresa - Teresa did one of the most violent things that anyone can do to themselves, and it's something that affects anyone who has had close contact with Teresa for even a short period of time. They're all teenagers, and at an age where they all think they're immortal beings (which is a mindset that carries into college). The idea of someone their age dying, and the death being done so at the person's own hands is something that is absolutely morbid. It's morbid regardless.

I think the tragedy of it all is that - at least in my eyes, is that Teresa's suicide could have been avoided. She was bullied, and everything piled on top of another over the course of a few years. Teresa is clearly someone that holds grudges, however unfair (in the case of Lily Evans). I'd probably say the most unfair note was the one sent to Lily, but Teresa was also not in the right state of mind to realize that she was in the wrong place at the wrong time when it came to Lily's incredibly ill-timed snappish comment.

But all of the other ones? I can't help but think of the gay suicides that occurred earlier in the fall - I was so furious at those. They were so easily prevented in my eyes, so much more than the suicide I experienced. My experience was a shade different than Teresa Bacon. Teresa was outright bullied repeatedly throughout the years, and in absolutely horrific ways. That wasn't quite the case with my friend.

So yeah - I'd say everyone deserved those letters Teresa sent...everyone but Lily. I felt absolutely horrible for Lily.

You did a good job.

And as I close this - what did James say to Lily that made her run out of the Great Hall like that? I'm really curious

Author's Response: First off, thank you very much for this amazingly long and wonderful review. Let's see now if I can give it a propper resonce...
I'm very sorry to hear that you've had experience with this topic. Such things are never fun, and no one should live that pain.
Yes, Bethany's POV is so different from any of the others and it's the one I like the most. Becaues deep down, she's maybe the only one having known about Theresa, or at least, that she wasn't well. The 'I could have doen something'-part is the most interesting, because they look at themselves with whole other eyes than the others, because they have come to this conclusion without being told in a letter. Therefore I really wanted this part to succeed.
Yes, Lily's letter was definitely not fair, but when looking at it from Tehresa's side... It does hurt, and hurts more than one likes to admit, because it should be nothing. It should be something to brush right off, but sometimes it isn't easy, especially not if you're having a bad time already. Then it just piles on top and it gets harder to just let go of the small things.
I think a lot of suicides could have been prevented. If someone had spoken up. Or had someone known. But the signs are different from person to person, and it'll probably always be hard to tell.
Oh, James and Lily. Yeah. I kind of saw this as a turning point, both for them but also for James. But James got Theresa a detention, she told him something happened there. The detention she was talking about was the one with Lily. James wanted to know who it was (seeing he didn't know it was Lily), and asked her (seeing she's a Prefect and might have known), without knowing she was the one. She suddenly realised someone knew and it overwhelmed her. Anyways...
Thanks for this review!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by lunarocks14 Elizabeth Hecker

25th November 2010:
Aawwh, I was right! It's awesome! I'm gonna favourite it, and did I see a chapter named "Sirius Black"?! :O LOVE HIM! :D But... I'm sad he's getting one. Wait... and James and Lily too?! The plot thickens... O.o. (Sorry about my overuse of emoticons xD) 10/10!!

Author's Response: Thank you! Yeah, they're actually the whole reason I wrote this - I wanted our heroes to come of as having a little 'dirt' too. I like the emoticons!

 Report Review

Review #17, by lunarocks14 Prologue - Addison Cardwell

25th November 2010:
I've read 13 Reasons Why!! :D It's soo amazing! This looks like it's gonna be awesome, I'm gonna go ahead and read the next chapter now, but I'm giving you a 10/10 for this :)

Author's Response: The book is truly amazing! :D Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by City Lights Vera Clarkson

5th September 2010:
Hey! So I loved the story, and I have an idea for a 9th chapter. I think you should write a second chapter from Addison's POV, just documenting the change in the letter-receivers' behavior. Because even if the rest of the school didn't notice anything, I know that if I were Addison I would be paying extra attention to the receivers whether I wanted to or not. Or you could write a chapter or two in which the letter-receivers do their best to figure out who else got a letter from Theresa without notifying the whole of Hogwarts of the existence of Theresa's last correspondence. You know better than me how to do this.
~ City Lights

Author's Response: Thanks a lot. And that really is a good idea, I don't know why I hadn't thought of Addison before. That really is not well thought of me, because it's a great idea. And I have a few reactions already in my head. Oh, but I just can't sit down and write it, I don't know why, I'm very very stuck. But thanks! It'll be my project which I want finished before... the end of the year :P
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by the_wizards_rejection Vera Clarkson

30th June 2010:
Nicely written, although it would've been nice to have the end a little more defined, maybe another chapter with how her letters changed those who got them, or the results of them, or something. But in itself, not a bad story. 10/10

Author's Response: Definitelly. And truthfully, I wish for another ending. When in the mood, I still try to make it work, but I can't come up with more than ten lines. I hope once I can give you all a better ending, one that shows all of the persons in the pov of an outsider, one that didn't get a letter. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by LilyFire Vera Clarkson

5th February 2010:
Let me begin by saying you've done a wonderful job with this topic. I have not had any personal esperience with it, but it will really make you think. My favorite chapter is Lily Evans, because she is the one I can most relate to. I cryed the entire way though the story. I think if you wanted to do a follow up, you could maybe have some of the people with letters find out each other has them, and talk about them. Just an idea.
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Thank you very much. The point was to make you think. It is a sensitive topic and surprisingly - Lily Evans here being the unexpected. It happens and I think a lot of persons have this on them, even though it might not be like this. I actually thought about an epilogue with a person who knew all of it, but didn't do anything.
Thanks very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by This_Close Vera Clarkson

25th December 2009:
I enjoyed the story. As someone who has had first hand experience with suicide, it's not fun. You wrote the story quite good, but you should work on your errors.

Author's Response: Thanks! Well, I admit, it went rather fast at last and I probably should give it another look :P

 Report Review

Review #22, by Cedrics Blueyed Girl Sirius Black

24th December 2009:
Hey! Another lovely chapter =]

I have a few minor issues: first, I feel like, especially at the beginning, some of your wording and phrasing is a little confusing and it was hard for me to figure out what was going on with her and the Marauders. Second, I think it's just a little cliche that she hates all the Marauders guts. I mean, maybe she'd dislike a few of them for some real reason, but it's just not very clear to me why she doesn't like them. Also, if she hates them, why does she call James by his nickname?

I know that all probably sounds awfully nitpicky, but I have to find something for you to improve, don't I? Or else this review wouldn't be very helpful ;)

Anyways, I am still very intrigued by the plot, especially the way you give away a little bit of info at a time. Also, I think you've already characterized the MC very well, for the 3rd chapter! As I've reviewed 3 chapters, I've got to move on to the next story in line, but I've enjoyed reading the start of this one, and I'd be happy to help you out again anytime you need it! Hope I was helpful =]

~CBG

Author's Response: I'm not exactly sure what you mean first here. First of all, she doesn't hate all of them, but she has a major problem with James and Sirius. I can't recall I ever wrote James' nickname there, but if so, it's a mistake. I put a lot of effort to refer to the persons in different ways, making the persons and their relationships different, like Theresa go by Tessa, Theresa and Bacon. I don't mind you being nitpicky - it's how we really learn.
Thanks for these reviews! They've been helpful!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Cedrics Blueyed Girl Elizabeth Hecker

24th December 2009:
Hi again, I'm back for more. alrighty, well, first off, my CC. I had one minor problem with this chapter which is that the tense is a little awkward in places. You do a good job sticking to present tense, not switching back and forth, but I think maybe because of the nature of the plot, present tense sticks in a few places. But, of course, that could just be a personal opinion of mine =]

Other than that, I thought this was a very nice continuation of the prologue. It was great the way you added just a little more information about your MC and the plot without giving away too much. Again, good blend! Well, I'm off to the next chapter!

~CBG

Author's Response: Yes, the tense. I'm not a big fan myself, but I found it easier to part the letter from the action if I wrote one of them in present, and since the letter was a story of some sorts, a tale, I couldn't really change that :P
I tried all the way through to give a little away at a time, so it wouldn't be too overwhelming, and it all would be more of an emotional ride, and then let the letter tell the story, backed up by what my character thought.
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Cedrics Blueyed Girl Prologue - Addison Cardwell

24th December 2009:
Hi there =] You requested a review from me on TGS a very, very, very long time ago, and I'm sorry for the delay. I just haven't been on Harry Potter world for a while due to real life stuff. Anyways, here I am now!

I really enjoyed your prologue - the nicest thing about it was probably its length. Often times you find people writing gigantic prologues that give way too much information for the beginning. The nice thing about this length is that it definitely keeps the reader guessing, wanting to read more because you've only revealed a little. Make sense?

Aside from that, I also like the premise of the story - very intriguing, makes me want to read more and figure out exactly what's going on. You found the perfect blend of mystery and explanation!

This was too short for me to find any real issues so I'll just keep reading =]

~CBG

Author's Response: Haha. I think it's such a long time ago that I don't even remember :P
Funny you mention it, I had problems making this long enough. It was only meant as an intro and I think I kept it that way. And, as you say, meant to make people want more.
Thanks very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by sad Vera Clarkson

24th December 2009:
I loved this sory, it was different and really beautiful but at the moment i want to bitch slap Vera Clarkson in the face because she's a stuck up loser! GR! haha, your story made me feel something and I really enjoyed it, thanks for writing :)

Author's Response: Thanks very much. Well, I want too, she is very stuck up and that's really who she is and how I intended her to be. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>