Reading Reviews for Marauder or Murder
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Smurfeyy_ Chapter Eight

30th March 2010:

this fanfic is so gripping and so full of suspense!
I can't wait for the next chapter. :D

Author's Response: I'm not sure when the next chapter is coming, but hopefully I can get to it soon. I'm glad you're enjoying it, thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by bree101 Chapter Eight

8th March 2010:
I love this story! I'm sitting alone in my room with no one else home, and let me just tell you I am freaking out. The detail is amazing, and I love how you switch off to different characters! Please, don't keep me waiting!Update soon. (:

Author's Response: I'm glad you're liking it! I hope I didn't scare you too much. I'll try to update soon, but I haven't been getting a lot of time lately. Thanks so much for the review. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by FannyPrice Chapter Eight

15th February 2010:
Whoa! What a cliff hanger! I was wondering when the boys were going to find their DADA teacher. Now, where on earth is James AND Sirius, and mostly...where is Sirius? There were a couple of grammar issues, the one that I noticed was that instead of raced, you used the present tense "race" when talking about Peter's heart. The story itself is really good and getting quite intense, can't wait for an update!


Author's Response: Where are Sirius and James, that is the question isn't it? Thanks for picking up on that mistake, although I think it would be more likely a typo than a grammar mistake (I must have missed the 'd' when typing it out). I guess in my haste to get the chapter posted I didn't proofread properly before posting it. I'll go fix that up right now. Thanks so much for your review, I'll try not to take too long with the next update.

 Report Review

Review #4, by DoraTonksLupin Chapter Seven

9th January 2010:
PLEASE be one of those fast updaters. I AM DYING FOR AN UPDATE HERE!

Author's Response: I update as fast as I can, but as a busy mum I sometimes don't get time to update as often as I would like. I will try to update soon. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #5, by FannyPrice Chapter Seven

5th January 2010:
Another intriguing chapter! Did Filch leave the map behind purposely to trip up the boys? And where on earth did Sirius go? I thought the prank James/Remus played on Filch was a lot of fun, and the letter exemplified Dumbledore's character quite well. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Filch had the map with him, but most likely tucked away in a pocket, he wasn't going to let that piece of evidence out of his sight. As for where Sirius went... you will find out. I'm glad you liked my characterisation of Dumbledore in the letter, I really tried to capture his voice. Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by FannyPrice Chapter Five

6th December 2009:
Oh! You can't just leave a cliffhanger like that! Please update soon! I want to know what happens, and who the murderer is. And, is Lily going to make a reappearance?

Author's Response: Sorry about the cliffhanger, but suspense is important for the horror genre ;) You probably won't be seeing much more of Lily, I really just wanted to focus on the four Marauders in this fic. I'll try not to take too long with my next update (although it is a busy time of year in the lead up to Christmas, so I'm sorry if RL does end up getting in the way). Thanks for all the reviews so far.

 Report Review

Review #7, by FannyPrice Chapter Three

6th December 2009:
There was more great imagery in this chapter. My favorite moment by far was:
"The figure approached the lifeless woman, gazed down upon her dead body and was momentarily mesmerised by the brown potion that oozed out from the broken phial and bubbled on the wooden floor."

I love this, because in horror films there is always this moment where they focus on the blood spilling across the floor or whatever. But the Killing curse doesn't make people bleed, so there is this brown potion instead. I don't know if that was your intention, but it was really cool.
Also, the line that the murderer says after it reminds me a lot of the show Dexter. Anyway, another great chapter (if a bit short, but it works for this genre--to heighten the tension, etc.). I've never read a horror fan fic before, and I'm really liking it!

Author's Response: I think imagery is an important element in creating atmosphere in a horror fic, and I loved the idea of having the potion spill out onto the floor, in much the same way you would see blood flowing on the floor in a horror movie. I've never watched the show Dexter, so I hope that's a positive reference! I'm so glad you're liking this fic, thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #8, by FannyPrice Chapter Two

6th December 2009:
Yay! I loved the end with the dark, lurking figure--it creates the perfect image of a horror film in my mind. I saw this story on your sig. on the forums, and I'm glad I'm reading it. I was in the mood to watch a scary movie! And this is really great! I really like the idea of Peter using his animagus form to be lookout; it makes a lot of since. I also enjoyed the reappearance of the Harry's pocket knife to open any lock. Brilliant! And, I'm intrigued...I wonder how all these disappearances are linked. Poor Maureen Higgs. This also kind of reminds me of some of my favorite Agatha Christie books. Two thumbs up!

Author's Response: I really did want to capture that horror film feel with this fic, I'm so glad you think I'm pulling it off. I think it is mentioned somewhere in the books that the reason Peter is a small animal is so he can do all the sneaky things, so I'm building on that idea in this fic. I'm an big Agatha Christie fan, I love her books, so I guess that has influenced me somewhat. I'm glad you're liking it! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by FannyPrice Chapter One

6th December 2009:
I really like this story so far. It is very well-written; I only saw one grammatical error the entire time and that was just a missing set of quotation marks. Your characterization of the Marauders is very enjoyable and canon-tastic. And I really like the idea of mud Quidditch--I'm assuming they enchanted mud into balls and such? That's extremely amusing image. Great job!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying this story. I had a look through and couldn't find the missing quotation marks, unless you meant in the letter because I didn't use quotation marks when I started a new line. If it was another part I would love for you to PM me on the forums and let me know where I missed them, I'm a bit of a grammar nut, so I hate thinking I've got any bad grammar! This is my first Marauders fic, so it's good to know I'm getting their characterisation right. Mud Quidditch would definitely involve enchanted mud balls lol. Thanks so much for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Juno Chapter Four

27th October 2009:
Another interesting chapter. Not much action happened in this chapter, but you are building good suspense and developing the characters so I'm enjoying this anyway ^_^ . That was a good idea to have Filch appearing mad to the marauders, it leaves me wondering if the marauders will get Filch to elaborate, and of course, it makes me more curious then ever to find out who exactly the murderer is.

Good chapter. Hope you update soon :)

Author's Response: Yes, this one was a bit more slow, but I think it's necessary to have a few slow, suspense building chapters rather than action all the time, I hope it works for the story. I'm glad you're liking this so far, and it shouldn't be too long before I update again. Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by fall_for_you Chapter Four

25th October 2009:
Ooh, I love your chapter images! Very eerie. This story has an odd sort of old murder film kind of vibe, which I love! I can't wait to see what's going on with all the creepy grins and laughing. Pretty good so far!

Author's Response: Thanks! I was going for an eerie effect when I made them. I'm glad you love that old murder film vibe and I'm glad you're liking this so far. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Happy_Hexer Chapter Four

24th October 2009:
Filch may well be lacking brain cells but what does he know?

Another excellent chapter!

Author's Response: Yes indeed, what does Filch know? Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Juno Chapter Three

18th October 2009:
This is really good so far. Your characterisations are great, and your plot is very intriguing. I'm really wondering who exactly the murderer is, and can't wait for you to reveil who it really is. And your writing in this seems good too. I'm already looking forward to the next chapter ^_^

Author's Response: Thank-you so much for your lovely compliments. I'm glad you like my characterisations and are finding the plot intriguing and also that I have you wondering about the murderer. Hopefully I'll have the next chapter up soon :) Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Happy_Hexer Chapter Three

17th October 2009:
Uh oh. This is still brilliant =)

Author's Response: Thank-you so much. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by hilda_kitty Chapter Three

17th October 2009:
Really good, and writen clearly. I really like it! please continue?

Author's Response: Thank-you, I'm so glad you like. I will most definitely be continuing.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Happy_Hexer Chapter Two

9th October 2009:
What is Flich babbling on about? =P
I'm sure they'll find out sooner or later!

Author's Response: What indeed :P
All will be revealed...

Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Happy_Hexer Chapter One

4th October 2009:
You really have managed to encapsulate the Marauders perfectly in this fic, the descriptions, the way they interact and talk. It's just too accurate, definately going to add this to my favourites!

Author's Response: I was a little nervous about my characterisation of the Marauders since this is my first Marauders fic and we only see glimpses of them in the books, so I'm really glad you liked my descriptions of them. Thanks so much for adding to your favourites, and thank-you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by SilverFeathers Chapter One

4th October 2009:
Good description of the Marauders :D
I can't wait to read more, what trouble will the Marauders get into this time?

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked my description of them, hopefully I'll have chapter two up soon. :) Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login