Reading Reviews for The Looks that Kill
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Vampyr A Bezoar, A Bezoar, My Kingdom for A Bezoar

16th May 2010:
bahahha
this would be so tragic if it wasn't so funny

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you thought it was funny. I almost didn't post this because it's not really representative of me.

With H&L being my OTP, I had to write this.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Pixileanin A Bezoar, A Bezoar, My Kingdom for A Bezoar

5th February 2010:
*wipping eyes* Sorry, still laughing...

A secluded one-shot! Brilliant!

Hang on... still laughing.

This was a really great parody. Oh, and I love your name too. My first cat's name is Pooka and I almost used that for my name too...

Sorry, still laughing...

Now I'll have to check out your other writing for sure. I know you said your usual stuff is darker, etc.

Thanks for a hillarous piece!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this piece. I wrote it when I was feeling silly, and I think it shows. I almost didn't submit it since it's a bit of a crack-fic, but since it's a parody of the 'Hermione makeover' stories, I went ahead and did it.

Also glad you like my name. And my other stuff is generally darker, but there are some humorous spots here and there. I think you would also like 'Xeno's Paradox.'

Thanks for the kind words and review.


 Report Review

Review #3, by some random person A Bezoar, A Bezoar, My Kingdom for A Bezoar

6th January 2010:
Wow, what to think, I guess that would have to be the strangest, not to mention funniest, story I have read so far.
LOL.

Author's Response: Thanks. It's meant to be a parody of all the 'Hermione makeover' stories that are out there and it was very deliberately wack.

Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #4, by voldy_needs_a_hug A Bezoar, A Bezoar, My Kingdom for A Bezoar

10th December 2009:
this story was depressing me heavily untill the last sentence.
i was about to cry untill he got that red welt to go with his scar. lmao
ur funny..
10/10 fosho!

~Annie

Author's Response: This story is really meant to be a parody of all the "Hermione Makeover" stories where she gets all dolled up and Draco falls for her. I can't stand those stories, so I had to poke fun at them. I thought, 'Hmmm, who'd be least likely to go through a makeover to attract guys? Ah, Luna,' and then the story wrote itself.

I'm sorry you found it depressing, it's definitely meant as funny. Sometimes, I don't think I should have posted it because it just flows a bit strange for me. I don't think I have parody down yet.

Glad you enjoyed it, Annie from Canada.


 Report Review

Review #5, by sexyelf A Bezoar, A Bezoar, My Kingdom for A Bezoar

12th October 2009:
that was an digusting

Author's Response: thanks, i guess

 Report Review

Review #6, by RonsGirlFriday A Bezoar, A Bezoar, My Kingdom for A Bezoar

7th October 2009:
Ha! I would never have guessed someone would take this challenge and write a humor piece for it. How very droll! ^_^

I am assuming, because I know you're a very good writer and this was parody, that the choppiness and awkward working and other similar issues here were intentional. (If not, I've just gone and shoved my foot in my mouth.)

Gotta love Harry's recurring A secluded [blank]! Brilliant! Only one thing on his mind, I see. The whole thing was very farcical (and I love a good farce, so two thumbs up for that!)

All in all, this was a really unexpected, creative, fun read!

Melanie

Author's Response: The choppiness, awkward wording and other issues were indeed intentional. I knew I couldn't be too serious with this and it had to be a parody, otherwise I couldn't bear poisoning Luna.

Thanks for the very nice review. Every once in a while, I have to indulge my silly side with something like this.

Harry was being controlled a bit by the veela hormones, so it only makes sense that he'd have just one thing on his mind.

Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pretty Purple Pelican A Bezoar, A Bezoar, My Kingdom for A Bezoar

5th October 2009:
BAHAHAHA!

Oh. My. Lord.

Pookha, when I saw you entered this challenge, I was like, "Great. He always does Horror and Angst well. This is sure to be good." Then I saw that your genre was Humor, and I was a little unsure of what to expect. What I got was a brilliantly executed tongue-in-cheek parody of some very silly cliches. I think this is excellent because you took the challenge and made it totally your own. Instead of something angst-ridden and dark, you created something utterly ridiculous and lovely. The last line especially was such a nice touch. Well done and thanks for giving me a big laugh! :D

Author's Response: You're welcome for the big laugh. I just knew that I couldn't go with a serious story for killing Luna; and it had to be Luna who died, since it had to be our favourite character. I also thought, "Hmm, who would be least likely to actually get a classic fanon-style makeover?"

I'm glad you think that I took the challenge and made it my own with my own take on the silliness. I'm glad you liked the last line, too, as it seemed to need something ridiculous to round it out and that was ridiculous.

Thank you so much for the review and the compliments. It's always good to see a review from you.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Alopex A Bezoar, A Bezoar, My Kingdom for A Bezoar

1st October 2009:
Righto, so was just on the forums, checked your profile page, and I saw that you had decided to post your first SC4 piece. Well, I couldn't let your posting get even further of my reviewing, so I decided to pop in and have a look-see at it.

I think I see why you were trying to write another one. This one is a little silly. Are you sure you chose the correct era and characters? This seems like it could be a *coughcoughhackhack* Marauders-era *coughchoke* story. Hehe.

I don't normally go for these silly things. Or, I should say, I only go for them in small doses (which is why I can't read Douglas Adams or Piers Anthony books one after another like candy), which is why I'm so glad this isn't some random novel you've decided to start. Ok, sorry, I'll get to the point.

Yes, this story was funny. I found myself alternately giggling, groaning, chortling, rolling my eyes, and cringing. The beginning was a little heavy on the stupid boy-humor for me, but I laughed anyway. A stairway pass? That's brilliant. That's exactly the sort of thing I can see George and Fred doing.

The one thing I can't see is Luna vamping herself up like that, but it did make for an amusing story, as well as a rather sad one, when you really stop to think about it. And gee, I sure as heck wouldn't buy Veela hormones from Fred and George. The very idea makes me shudder. Too bad about that bezoar. The bezoars were a huge obstacle for me in writing my own piece. Because of that, I'm sort of wondering how exactly you got around it, how the poison worked, etc., but it really doesn't matter. It's rather nice that you breezed by it, actually, just allowing the reader to assume that bezoars don't counteract wyvern venom and leaving it at that.

By the way, I liked Luna's dialogue at the end. I think you definitely captured her matter-of-fact and honest side. Also, the final line was funny and, of course, reminded me of when Harry chucked a Potter Stinks badge at Ron's head.

Author's Response: You're right that Luna wouldn't be vamping up, but as this is a parody of all the 'Hermione makeover' stories, I felt justified there in being ridiculous.

I admit that I was indulging my silly side here. I think it's good to not take myself so siriusly sometimes. Uh, Marauder's era...ick, generally, but I can see the comparisons when you put it like that.

I really did mean for it to be way over the top and full of really bad prose, so I'm glad I succeeded there.

I've already told you my view on bezoars.

Just to make you happy, there were a lot of puns and double-entendres that I left out of this. It could have been much worse pun-wise.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login