Reading Reviews for Healing
  
343 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dizzydreamer The Truth Hurts

19th January 2016:
Seriously hoping you haven't given up on this story because it's SO GOOD! You capture the characters so well, and I really want to know what happens next! You're an amazing writer!

 Report Review

Review #2, by everBlazin_ The Truth Hurts

6th January 2016:
I just stumbled upon your story by chance. I ended up reading the whole thing. Cost me some sleep :)

I really enjoyed it. I love the different points of view. And it's not all about the good things. The bad stuff defines the characters as well.

I would like some more Harry & Ginny. It seems a bit in the background, but maybe that's your intention :)

I know it's been over a year since you've updated last, but I hope you'll keep continuing this fanfic even if does take a while. Your writing is really good!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Elfimaledeti The Truth Hurts

5th January 2016:
Hi,
well, your story is different and i like it. It's not just jumping from one celebration to other. It's full of emotions and sometimes some tears fell down. O:-)

Fred alive, Ron is HERO for Hermione, Harry helped Mr. Weasley i like it all :), maybe something more with Ginny in a next chapters? ...

... Will be some next chapters? (Your last update was in 2014 :'( )

Thank you,
Elfi.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Annie The Truth Hurts

29th December 2015:
Wow good job but there's like no romance with Harry and ginny

 Report Review

Review #5, by grizfan153 The Truth Hurts

22nd December 2015:
I just wanted to tell you that I think this is an amazing story. The writing is beautiful and you are allowing the characters to feel pain and try to come to grips with all the horrors they have seen. I really, really love it. I see that it isn't updated often, but I will always be ready to read more if you ever do add to it. Either way, what you have done is excellent and I am grateful that I had the chance to read it

 Report Review

Review #6, by mysuv1 The Truth Hurts

16th December 2015:
this story is intriguing please continue.

 Report Review

Review #7, by molly d The Truth Hurts

15th December 2015:
this is AWESOME
its my first time reading fan fiction

u really should write your own book, your just as good as j.k Rowling

you seem to have really captured the way she wrote and expressed the characters

good luck in the future writing more and i can't wait to hear what happens next

 Report Review

Review #8, by N The Truth Hurts

14th December 2015:
hey I love your fanfic ive only just started reading fanfic but I just LOVE hp so I thought ill give it a go. please carry on writing and don't forget about your poor readers!! (ps really want to know about the Hermione and ron thing and try to make the ending of that happy!) thanks :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan The Importance of Communication

8th December 2015:
For the HPFF Advent Calendar Day 9, which gave me the perfect excuse to return to this story because it's been unreasonably long since I last reviewed it (as the snorkack, which is why it appears I've skipped a chapter), AND IN THE MEANTIME YOU WON A DOBBY OMG?!?! CONGRATS ♥ that is AWESOME, and so very well deserved.

Okay, so. This chapter. I just love how the chapter starts, because I feel like this is how a chapter of the books could start. Yes, Harry would remark on how Ron's room is an eyesore with its bright orange hue and Chudley Cannons posters all over. And Mrs Weasley would pile comforting blankets on Harry to the point where he's almost smothered in them. And ahh - the point where Harry mentions he feels weird without Ron and Hermione by his side - this feels so realistic as well because usually the only time Harry was ever without his best friends was when he was at home with the Dursleys, and that's always an uncomfortable time for him, so it's this weird new situation for him that he's unused to. And then, of course, he's really awkward around Ginny, as expected. I love that he compares her eyes to drills XD It seems very much like a comparison Harry would make. So basically what I'm saying here is you've really got Harry's personality and quirks down so well and it's easy to read this as the same Harry as JKR writes. I mean it!

His reunion with Ginny was everything I hoped it'd be. You write Ginny amazingly well and I could really sympathise with her here, because obviously Harry messed up a lot and even though his minimal communication with her was for her own safety, I can understand why Ginny would be furious. That's a lot of time to have no idea what's happening and feeling totally useless. But that's what I like about Ginny - she'll speak her mind and tell Harry he was an idiot and that she's angry at him, but she doesn't really hold grudges, at least not when she knows the grudge would be stupid. Also, ahahaha Harry trying to make amends by quoting the Ways to Charm Witches book hahaha that made me laugh so much. (Yeah, I'd bet Ginny has read the whole thing, for entertainment!) I'm so glad Harry and Ginny made up. And then I laughed again when her brothers were like a little creepy audience at the bottom of the stairs. Haha, older brothers.

This was a fantastic chapter! I love love love your character interactions and you are a brilliant writer. Great work. ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by Jutta The Truth Hurts

23rd November 2015:
I love it! Brilliantly written I might add

 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell The Importance of Communication

23rd September 2015:
Hello there! I'm back for more. Took me a bit – Dobby time is crazy! But I'm so excited to be back :D

He planned to sequester himself in Ron’s room until he’d worked out how to speak to Ginny and explain everything without getting himself blasted to bits.
--Hahaha, this is such a realistic Harry thought. And accurate. I love how you've kept the side of Ginny that really gets Harry, and you've let her grow up a bit, but you haven't sacrificed any of her fierceness (or the fear she can instill in all who know her).

- “Were you dropped on your head as a child?”

-"You haven't met the Dursleys yet, have you? I probably was.”

--This was so great! I chuckled. And I mean, honestly, it's probably true. Poor Harry. He turned out amazingly well, all things considered.

CC:

“Haven’t your lips long for my touch?
--I'm thinking that "long" should probably be "longed".


“I know. That's part of why I love you. And why I'll get around to forgiving you.
Between the Battle, and Fred dying and coming back, and you doing the same… Well, I’ve learned that life’s too short and unpredictable to hold grudges over silly things.”

--the spacing got a little wonky here. There was an extra "enter" or something, I think, maybe?


So glad to see Harry and Ginny actually talking (and snogging!). And it wouldn't be the Burrow if there weren't a whole host of Weasley brothers there to witness it. Heeheehee. Hey, at least they got applause, right? Could have been worse. I could see Fred and George holding up voting numbers: "4 out of 10, Harry. I'm gonna need to see more passion." Really, he was lucky. And I loved that he just accepted that his life was never going to be without an audience and just carried on kissing Ginny. I mean, it's a rare man who can snog a girl in front of her brothers and have them cheering instead of calling for blood. Just go with it, Harry. Count your blessings ;)

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #12, by StarFeather A Little Wounded

19th September 2015:
Hi, farmgirl. I read the chapter 1 and came here, I wanted to know if Fred was alive or not. I felt relieved you let him alive! So I decided to review here. Congrats, nomination for Dobby!

I've noticed you mentioned AU is wonderful in the status in the forums. I think you're right. It was too sudden J.K.Rowling had Fred die. It might be necessary for her to let Fred die in the story but you can revive him in AU! I like it.

I like the conversation between McGonagal and Harry. I really respect you, I'm amazed by the way you describe the story. I wish I could write like this. It seems a far long way to climb on the top of the mountain. (sigh. I sometimes have urge to delete all chapters I posted in the past.)

I'll be back ASAP!

Kenny

 Report Review

Review #13, by Penelope Inkwell Coming Home

15th September 2015:
“No, Harry,” said Molly firmly, reaching out to turn his face back toward her as she shook her head. “The thing is that I felt the exact same way when I watched Hagrid carry you out of that forest! I thought you were dead! That I’d lost another one of my sons!”
--I literally teared up. There are tears in my eyes.

Here he was, only seventeen, and already ripped from the heart of one family and casually discarded by another. He’d had father-figures and friends thrust upon him and then torn away without care. The Wizarding World had willingly laid its salvation at his feet, and then tossed him unthinkingly aside when he shouldered its burdens without complaint and accomplished what it couldn’t do. He was an instant celebrity, the poster boy of the war. Everyone wanted his autograph, but no one thought to ask if “The Boy Who Lived” had a roof over his head, clothes on his back, food in his stomach.
--this is so real I cannot. I feel so deeply for Harry right now. You really connect us to Molly's worries, compassion, and her motherly love phenomenally well. Once again, your ability to truly think through all the likely details and outcomes astounds me. I could see this happening to Harry--being sort of left in the dust, but the Weasleys taking care of him, of course. And the way you bring back how he's lost father figure after father figure. Ohmygracious, that poor, brave boy!

Oh my gosh, Harry has never had someone to comfort him in a motherly fashion--not like that. And of course we knew that, but knowing is different than hearing it and seeing it like this. My heart!

She paused, but not because she felt odd, holding a conversation with the dead. She was the mother of seven wild children; odd didn’t exist in her vocabulary.
--there are just so many lines that I love in this chapter!


Oh wow. Wow wow wow. This scene with Molly at Lily's grave. I can't! This is perfect. This is the scene I've always needed and never knew I wanted. It's beautiful. And the way she's asking permission to help raise Harry, and to take him in. The daisies. The way she talks to Lily. Just all of it. Wow.

They grow their hair out and hang fangs from their ears, or traipse across the continent thinking fire-breathing lizards make good pets.
--haha, oh my gosh, it's the sniffle laugh. I'm laughing through the tears that are building in my eyes ever minute.

CC:

The sunshine just felt warm and comfortable on her tired shoulders and she waited a moment, soaking it in.
--This is totally just a matter of opinion, but I thought "comforting" might fit better than "comfortable".


Girl, this chapter. Wow. I'm probably at least halfway through the Dobbys list, and this might well be the most beautiful, emotionally touching thing I have read from it so far. This is an incredible chapter, and you should be really, really proud of it. Molly absolutely shines here. It's truly excellent work.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #14, by Penelope Inkwell The Wages of War

15th September 2015:
I loved the detail of Harry having a bruise from Voldemort's killing curse. That seemed very realistic, especially in light of all the talk about it being rare to survive that kind of dark magic unscathed.

a complicated sort of Bubble charm complete with floating, miniature bellows covered his nose and mouth.
--I love when people come up with their own magic. Love love love. This is a great idea for a magical breathing tube alternative!

If Gringotts ever unfroze his accounts and pulled him off their black list, that is.
--haha, this made me chuckle. I'm really impressed by how you've thought through all these practical details. The goblins to seem like they can hold a grudge, after all.

I'm glad he's going to get Bill on the issue. If anyone could sort it out, I reckon it'd be him.

Harry, Harry. George is right--you are being stupid. That was everyone's fight, everyone's war. It wasn't your fault in the least. But then, Harry is used to being the catalyst for everything, and Voldemort always was after him. It makes sense that he blames himself, but I hope that he soon learns that that's a ridiculous idea. If anyone could make him see sense, it would be the Weasley women.

I'm glad that Hermione's gone to find her parents! That'll be a lot of healing in and of itself, I imagine.


CC:

So, as a rule I always try to give CC. I find it really helpful as a writer. With you, though, this is all so clean already, so what I've got here is a bit more nitpicky, and it's more along the lines of suggestions--areas that are already good, but the flow of a sentence or something could maybe be polished up a bit. It's all just my opinions, though, so you're free to take or leave it as you will.

The reception area at St. Mungo’s was extremely crowded when Harry stepped into it.
--"stepped inside" might flow better than "stepped into it"

but he’s alive and amazingly in good humor, so we shouldn’t complain.”
--"and in amazingly good humor" might flow better than, "and amazingly in good humor."

“We did just send the unsuspecting bloke right into the clutches of all three Weasley women, didn’t we?”
--since only Ginny and Molly were mentioned, I had to think for a really long moment before I could figure out who was meant to be the third. I'm guessing it was Fleur? But it might be good to mention her, too, by name, because thinking on it drew me out of the story for a second.


And that's all I've got. I'm loving how you've thought through so many details, and your writing is excellent, though as this story has a Dobby nomination that is hardly a surprise. This is a real treat!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #15, by Penelope Inkwell A Little Wounded

15th September 2015:
FRED IS ALIVE! AAAH! *shouts of joy, hallelujahs from the sky* :D

Oh my gosh, that was crazy. I felt the tension, and the baited breath, and the overwhelming joy. Best AU decision ever. And really, it's kinda canonically sound, according to what we know from the books. Like, they thought he was dead, but this picks up right after that. It's plausible. (and wonderful, because FRED!)

*happy dances*

I'm still nervous that he might not pull through and that it could all be cruelly snatched away from me, but still. I'm excited!

In the absolute chaos that followed, Harry couldn’t help but wonder how he could be crying so hard and so completely happy at the same time.
--I liked this line

I loved what you did there at the end with McGonagall. She's so snappy. I love that, even now that he's the hero of the wizarding world, to Minerva he's still Harry, her student. She's willing to give him the shove he needs. That's so like Harry, not to want to presume or intrude, but to be desperately wishing for home. I love how she phrases the whole thing, like, "Obviously your home is the Burrow, Harry! Honestly."

Sometimes you force me to wonder if you would have made it through school without Granger’s help. Yes, home, Mr. Potter – the Burrow!”

“She’s not very good at listening when her children are involved,” McGonagall said curtly.

--These two lines were gold! I wanted to smile and laugh and cry at the same time! You nailed that!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #16, by Penelope Inkwell Prologue: No Words

15th September 2015:
Hey there! I'm here checking out the Dobby nominees--big congratulations on your nomination!

And OH MY GOSH! Is Fred alive?! This possibility fills me with joy! What is happening?!! FRED!

Okay, I'm going to try to calm down and give you a review that's actually a review.

I found the first line to be really striking. It pulled me right in. And your descriptions are really solid--the whole scene seems just how things might've looked after the battle.

I like the idea of a Wand Sweep. That's a handy piece of magic. I wonder if wizards had that way before we could detect brain activity and heartbeats with machines. I always love when people include new bits of magic.

CC:

blood-shot expressions
--Most properly, I think it would be spelled "bloodshot".

That's all I noticed, though!

Great job, and now I really do have to go find out what's happened with Fred. Like, right now!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #17, by HeyMrsPotter Coming Home

11th September 2015:
Wow, one ticket for the emotional rollercoaster please!

Harry and Molly's conversation has taken my feels, ripped them to shreds, chewed them up, spat them out, and then kicked them while they were down. Oh my goodness. I know I've said this so many times already but I'm in awe at your ability to write the canon characters. Everything that Molly said to Harry and then to Lily just felt so perfectly Molly. She said everything we know she's been feeling since the minute she met Harry and it made me sob unashamedly.

Perfect chapter ♥

Dee

 Report Review

Review #18, by HeyMrsPotter The Wages of War

11th September 2015:
He and Fred had some sort of furious, one-sided conversation about an hour ago and he finally collapsed. My favourite line in this chapter, hands down. I can picture this PERFECTLY.

Oh god, this “Something about breaking and entering, grand theft, excessive damages…” is HILARIOUS.

It's so typical of Harry to want to pay for the hospital bills, and to try and blame himself for everything. You have such an amazing grasp on his character.

I'm loving this!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #19, by HeyMrsPotter A Little Wounded

11th September 2015:
YES YES YES YES! Fred is alive and all is right in the world again!!

I have to commend you on your ability to write all of the canon characters absolutely perfectly. Like, your Molly and how protective she is over her children. Then Harry insisting that he stay and help with the repairs. And then McGonagall♥ omg she is the most perfect, that line about Harry not making it through school without Hermione, that could have come straight from the books.

I'm so excited to read on!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #20, by HeyMrsPotter Prologue: No Words

11th September 2015:
Hey, Farmgirl! I'm here reading/reviewing the Dobby stories. Congratulations on your nomination!

Boy, did George's grief break my heart here but then HOLY MOTHER OF PLOT TWISTS, is Fred still alive?! If Fred isn't alive and you're just getting my hopes up I will cry real tears and have an actual tantrum! I need to read on!!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #21, by TreacleTart Coming Home

10th September 2015:
Hi there!

You should know that I rarely cry, especially from reading. In regards to fanfiction, I can count on one hand how many times a fic has made me sob. It doesn't happen very often. After reading this chapter I was full on sobbing. There are just so many emotions in this and I truly believe you'd have to have a heart of stone to not be affected by this at all.

The first scene where Harry comes home is so touching. It's heartbreaking that he feels so guilty, but it's so lovely to see Mrs. Weasley comfort him and try to take away some of his burden. I love how clear she makes it for him that she considers him a son. The part about her heartbreaking when she thought he and Fred died was really what started the sobbing.

AND THEN YOU WENT AND DID SOMETHING I SIMPLY CANNOT FORGIVE!!!

You took Molly to the graveyard to introduce herself to Lily.

JUST GO AND RIP MY HEART OUT WHY DON'T YOU!

I've read several versions of Molly at the graveyard talking to Lily and vice versa, but I think this was possibly the most moving version of it that I've read. You didn't make it overly dramatic or cliche. You had Molly saying all sorts of things that a mother might really say to another mother. It read like a real conversation and I could imagine Lily standing there nodding her head in agreement.

Molly leaves the graveyard and my face is all streaky red from tears...

AND THEN YOU HAVE LILY SHOW UP! ARE YOU TRYING TO KILL ME WITH FEELINGS?

Something that I've noticed so far in your writing is that your words flow very smoothly and clearly. Even though there is a lot going on in quite a few different places, the story is still easy to follow and never verges into murky.

Another thing is how beautifully vivid and real you make each character. They seem more complete because of all the little worries and thoughts you've given them. The way that they all interact is so real too. It never feels forced or contrived.

Good job!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #22, by TreacleTart The Wages of War

10th September 2015:
Hello again!

Back to review another chapter of this lovely story!

Wow. So Fred is alive, but things aren't looking all that great for him. Madame Pomfrey's words about having to put his insides back together sound pretty ominous. And then when Harry sees him for the first time, it really doesn't do too much to reassure me. He's covered in bubble charms, his arm is all bandaged and his eyes are covered. Sounds like he really got messed up and now I find myself worried that he might not make it or if he does that he might be paralyzed or impaired in some way. Please, tell me that everything's going to be alright.

I'm really glad that Harry finally went to see Fred. I think Harry's hurting badly from the after effects of the war and he needs some love and support around him. I know that he feels guilty. I mean he does have that savior complex going on, but he's going to need help healing all of his emotional damage and I think that the Weasley family are just the people to help him through it.

One of the things that I really liked about this particular chapter was all of the little details that you included. Things like Ron not wanting to let go of Hermione's hand since the end of the war and the way that George and Charlie fill in Fred's witty banner really bring this story to life and make it so much more than just words on the paper.

I thought it was kind of sad to see that Harry's bank account had been closed. Here he saved the wizarding world, but instead of any thanks, he gets treated like a criminal by a bunch of vindictive, vengeful goblins. I hope Bill sets them straight.

It is just like Harry to offer to pay for Fred's bills. A long hospital stay like that could get really expensive really fast and we all know the Weasleys aren't exactly rolling in the dough, so it's very thoughtful of Harry to offer to help even if they don't accept it. (Of course, knowing Harry, I imagine he'll find a way to pay for it whether they want him to or not.)

I really liked the little bit at the end where the brothers are laughing about sending Harry home to the Weasley women. I imagine Molly is worried sick about him and Ginny is ready to strangle him slowly. But maybe their reactions will snap him out of this funk he's in.

This was another lovely chapter and I'm really excited to see where you go with it. (although I'm quite nervous that you're going to break my heart by making Fred's situation take a turn for the worst.)

Good job!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #23, by TreacleTart A Little Wounded

10th September 2015:
Hello there!

I'm in the proccess of reviewing all of the stories that were nominated for a Dobby, so congratulations on your nomination!

Warning: Some of this review may verge into shouty rambling!

OMG FRED IS ALIVE! FRED IS ALIVE! *happy dances all over the living room*

In cannon, Fred's death is literally the single hardest death within quite a few really awful deaths. I mean there's Sirius, Dobby, Colin, Remus, and Tonks just to name a few, but there's something particularly gut-wrenching about the idea of Fred dying. Maybe it's because he'd leave behind a twin. Maybe it's because he was always the life of the party. Maybe it's because he's so young and full of life. Either way, I'm so happy to see that in your version he's alive at this point!

AND DON'T YOU DARE GO AND KILL HIM IN THE NEXT CHAPTER! I DON'T THINK MY HEART COULD HANDLE IT.

I love how fierce Molly is when she sees Fred and George being taken away. I've always felt that her kids come above everything else and I doubt that she'd have taken to kindly to not knowing what's going on with them. And Arthur is there being the calm voice of reason to her rage. You captured both of them quite well.

I always imagined that Harry would've stayed behind at the school and helped with the repairs. He seems like the type to want to busy himself with work to keep his mind off of the tragedy of the war. Plus, you pointed out something in this chapter that occured to me too. Harry doesn't really have a home per se. I mean of course Molly feels that the Burrow is his home, but Harry would never just make that assumption. Someone would have to explain it to him first.

I was happy to see that Professor McGonagall is keeping an eye on him and trying to encourage him to leave Hogwarts for a bit. She knows that he needs a break and some time to heal, but he's a little to stubborn to see it yet. I think a firm nudge in the right direction is just what he needs.

From a technical point of view, this chapter is quite nice as well. The grammar and spelling all look good. It's easy to follow what's going on and there's enough detail to imagine the scenes as they are occuring. The dialogue seemed realistic and all of the characters fit within the realm of cannon.

Good work! I'm on to the next chapter right now!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #24, by Frankie05 Prologue: No Words

14th August 2015:
Hey Farmgirl,

I asked if anyone wanted reviews on the forums and Tanya in her sweetness directed me to your story :)

This seems promising, George and Fred our beloved twins, starting out with the heartbreak of losing Fred, George suffering in silence. You already start out sad and upset that one of the best is dead. And the fight isn't even over yet (if we are going by canon). so when we see the audience around those in the Hall- we see the reprieve. They cant find Harry, Ron, or Hermione, Bill's sad face is making sure that he is okay, but he can't say anything. The anguish!

I love that he is annoyed that he just wants time with Fred but people are getting in the way of that. He can't mourn properly. But then comes Poppy to adequately assess Fred, and what? IS HE NOT DEAD RIGHT NOW? Oh my, what kind of magic have you unearthed! Poppy all wonderful makes a portkey (serious magical ability) and George in the last second decides to go along for the journey because Poppy is freaking out about Fred and taking him to St. Mungos. You have a great way of hooking people into your story :) Great job, Farmgirl. I look forward to reading more!

Frankie

 Report Review

Review #25, by The Ghost Of His Last Laugh The Wages of War

20th July 2015:
Hi, farmgirl!
Can I just start by thanking you for writing so many Fred and George fics? I love them so much.
Anyways, I think this story is superb. The first chapter made me cry within probably five seconds of reading, and then took me on a fantastic roller coaster of emotion. I am so happy Fred is alive! I thought it was really clever how you explained Fred lived, by the curse hitting the wall. It actually made sense to me and was very believable, much better than some of the "he survived the killing curse just like Harry!" fics I've read.
Also, you did a great job at writing the interaction between Fred, Charlie, and Harry. It all flowed seamlessly, even though one of them can't even talk. Charlie is really well characterized as well. I don't see enough of him in fanfiction and it's always great when I do.
George is also perfectly characterized. I feel so deeply for him when he's hurting, and when he is describing how happy he is Fred is alive, I feel so happy for him. He's a really empathetic character.
Anyway, great job!

-Joanie
Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>