Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Healing
  
345 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal Prologue: No Words

3rd April 2017:
Oh Wow! Fred is not dead!? This is so interesting - though I would be sad and heart broken if you've just given false hope here! I don't think I've ever seen as story where one takes the route of keeping Fred alive and how you are doing it keeps things VERY canon to the books and yet 'fixes' things for at least one person. Kudos on pulling that off!

Now that we've got the initial reaction out of the way I wanted to go back and state how the beginning for the story was pulling at my heart strings - I was beginning to think that this story was going to get me tearing up by the end as you feel so much for George and his loss and pain and partially because I do love Fred.

Also I admit that based on the title I thought that this story was going to be all about George healing from the loss of Fred but now I'm wondering if this is a healing story of Fred getting better. (If the main summary covers this and I'm being a dunce please forgive me - I have a habit of diving into the story without a summary sometimes.)

Anyway great job on bringing the shock of Fred possibly not being dead! I also love that George jumps to join the port key at the last minute, it is so him not leaving his brother's side.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I tried SO hard to make it so this could really be canon for almost everything except possibly the epilogue, (though technically there's no mention of Fred there, either, so.) I didn't want to be like - no, JKR was wrong! But at the same time, that's exactly what I was doing, hehehe. Because, Fred being dead is just wrong. I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

And I can't lie and say this second point doesn't also make me smile. I WAS trying to tug at some heart-strings, simply because Fred dying cut me up inside, and so I poured all of that emotion in to George there.

This story is titled for both of the reasons you just mentioned, plus others. Fred healing, George healing from almost losing him. Harry healing from all the trauma of - everything. And all the others as well.

Thank you so much! This review was so much fun to read!


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Prologue: No Words

3rd April 2017:
Here to review for Slytherin.

Oh my god. This story started out in a heartbreaking manner and then by the end of the chapter (prologue) it had me almost jumping with shock and excitement. What a way to transition your readers' emotions! The opening was great with some beautiful descriptions. You set the mood beautifully with the quote itself, very fitting indeed. George's emotions made sense, his grief came through the narrative brilliantly, of course he wanted to be left alone.

The whole "wand sweep" thing was a great idea. It's fascinating to explore how wizards do things that we muggles do. For some reason, the whole idea of the wand glowing blue around made it sound so sad, even sadder than usual! The little details also worked very well to shape up the narrative and bring the scene to life, such as the trio not being there, or Fleur tending to the wounded in a corner and so on.

The change of the pacing and dialogue with the wand glowing red instead of blue was done brilliantly. The entire energy of the narrative changed and I felt the shock alongside George. The time it took for him to register the situation made sense and you juiced out the moment perfectly by him grabbing on to the portkey last minute!

I'm very excited to continue reading and see the direction the plot is headed in. It would be wonderful if fred were alive! *sobs*

Great work, 10/10
cheers
Angie

Author's Response: Hey, that's good! That's exactly what I was trying to do with this first little part. Make everyone go from one extreme to the other with their emotions! Always make me happy to know I accomplished it for someone!

I had a lot of fun thinking up those little things that would take our normal things and change them for a magical world. And I was trying very hard to stick to the canon chapter at this point, so it's nice that you noticed those little things.

And now my grin is very big! Thank you! I'm so glad it worked for you, and you enjoyed it! Thanks for giving me a smile, when you first did this, and today when I got to read it again.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lynn The Truth Hurts

1st December 2016:
OH MY GOSH THIS IS EASILY THE BEST HARRY POTTER FANFIC IVE EVER READ!! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE UPDATE!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm hoping I'll be able to do some updating this summer while I have a break from school.

Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne The Wages of War

23rd May 2016:
Aw I love hearing Harry call himself family with the Weasley, because he is! :D

Oh Harry, I hate that he's going to every one of these funerals and having his heart ripped out at each one. It's not fair for someone so young to have to go through so much pain!

I'm so glad that she was able to save Fred, I'm so happy that I could cry!

I think I might at the description of what he looks like, but at least he can hear them and comminicate with his hands.

I really don't think that George is ever going to let Fred out of his sight now! I know that I wouldn't. Although I love that Fred and George had some sort of furious one sided argument, I can only imagine how that worked.

I love how they all talk to Harry, they're not afraid to treat him like they would treat each other. No walking on egg shells around him and it's defintely something that he needs.

Another wonderful chapter my lovely! :D

Author's Response: Only horrifically late with this response, as usual. And I'm so very sorry about that. But I'm trying to catch up now!

It still thrills me to know you came and read this story! And liked it! Maybe someday I'll even finish it so you can know how it ends.

I always thought Harry seemed to be so good at taking on the guilt for everything, even though he didn't deserve it. It felt natural that he would try to go to as many funerals as he could, though it has to be murder for the poor kid.

I'm so glad that people agree with saving Fred, because honestly it is just wrong that he was killed off in the first place. I will fix this as many times as I can in my fics.

Yeah, he looks pretty bad. But that's the other problem with me. I love to save my characters when I can, but I can't always justify letting them off scotch free. :(

I have always felt like Harry spends all this time searching for a family, and yet kinda ignores the one that is right there in front of him, the one that claimed him without any prompting - the Weasleys. Sometimes I want to knock him over the head for that. Usually, I just try to write him as part of their family. I'm hoping one of these days he will actually notice.

Thanks for reading! You are the best!


 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne A Little Wounded

23rd May 2016:
Awww Harry is such a diamond, not wanting to worry Mrs Weasley and that being the reason why he went into the hall to tell her where he was going. He's so sweet, bless him.

I don't think that those three will let each other out of their sights for quite some time to come.

I love the idea of comparing Molly to a lioness, she is definitely a lioness when it comes to her babies.

AH I'm so happy! FRED IS STILL ALIVE AND I'M SO HAPPY I COULD BURST!!! I FEEL YOU HARRY! I'M THE SAME! FRED IS ALIVE!!!

You tell him McGonagall! Harry needs to rest and he needs to take orders from someone who is going to make him listen.

I definitely think he's hiding there.

Another wonderfully awesome chapter! And as always, I can't wait to read more of your amazing work my lovely!

Author's Response: Occasionally, Harry thinks like a rational human being instead of a teenage boy. I decided this should be one of those times.

And yes, those three have been through SO much together. Unfortunately, they will have to be separated for a while as Hermione tries to find her parents.

Please don't burst! That would be very messy and I don't want to have to clean it up!

Yes, Harry is very much hiding. But can you really blame him? He thinks he singled-handedly caused a war! Poor kid.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Prologue: No Words

22nd May 2016:
I feel like I'm going to cry during this chapter, I can feel it in my bones and my heart as I read this, and I've only gotten to the second sentence.

*tries to keep in the tears*

George without Fred always gets me sad, it always breaks my heart. They can't be without each other, it shouldn't be allowed.

Oh god, this is painful. I hate to think what it must be like for George.

No! He's alive?! Please tell me that he's alive, please don't let this be a joke.

No! You can't leave it there! I need to know what happens! He needs to be alive! I have all this hope inside me and I need to know!

This is the best and worst cliffhanger! Such a mixture of emotions right now, the main one is relief and love for you if he's still alive!

Author's Response: Um...probably. I won't hide that fact. I kinda wrote it hoping to pull at the tears a little bit, so I'd be honored if it worked.

George without Fred is just wrong, in any universe. :( It makes me too sad to think about it.

Um.sorry. But at least I know it's working!

Umm...maybe?

I think that's the best compliment ever. Thanks! So glad you enjoyed reading it, and then went and read the next one as well! You are awesome!


 Report Review

Review #7, by StarFeather The Wages of War

28th February 2016:
☆Happy Birthday, farmgirl! I hope you have a great day.⭐

I love these conversations between Harry and the Weasley brothers. I like the bright and lively atmosphere. Besides, you put his secret, the bruise on his chest and the awkwardness towards Ginny effectively.

What a relief to see Fred is getting better and better. What a nice idea that he can communicate with his brothers and Harry.

The most heartwarming spot is that Charlie hugged Harry and told him how he recognized him as a family member in the Weasleys and his devotion. You're really good at capturing Harry's character. And I enjoyed the description about Charlie we can't read in J.K.Rowling's books, she didn't write about him so much as you did.

I hope I can come back to the next chapter ASAP.

Kenny

Author's Response: THANK YOU! And look, I'm only a year and a half late responding to it. *hangs head in shame*

I'm so happy you enjoyed the talk between the boys here. I like the idea of Harry being adopted into this big brotherhood of Weasley boys. It makes my heart happy, to I try to bring it out when I can.

Yes, slowly Fred is getting better, though he still has a long way to go. He's trying to cheerful though.

I loved writing that hug between Charlie and Harry. It was sorely needed, and so nice to finally give Harry a little caring.

Thank you so much! This was such a great review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by victoria_anne A Little Wounded

27th February 2016:
Hello again! I hope you're enjoying your day as much as I'm enjoying your story! Honestly, it's so well done, and you write the characters as if they have jumped straight out of the book. I see why you won a Dobby for this now!

"Fred's still alive." This. Gave. Me. Goosebumps.

I can't wait to keep reading, a fic hasn't given me feels like this for a while!

Author's Response: Thank you! And even though it was a year ago, I'm quite sure I enjoyed the day, especially since I was the recipient of all these amazing reviews! I'm still blushing!

And thank you for the compliments! It makes me happy to know you enjoyed it and felt the characters came to life and were how they should be.

:D Fred should always be alive. Glad you approve!

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #9, by victoria_anne Prologue: No Words

27th February 2016:
Happy birthday to you!
Happy birthday to you!
Happy birthday dear Farmgirl!
Happy birthday to you!

Aand now the mood is going to change after I've read this. Oh man. So sad. Fred's death is still so painful and I felt all of that all over again in your writing. You write beautifully, by the way.

Oooh what is going on?! I actually got butterflies in my stomach when Madam Pomfrey's wand turned red! Sorry, I'm going to have to leave now, I HAVE to find out what happens next!

I hope you have birthday as wonderful as you :)

Bianca x

Author's Response: Ah! Beautiful singing! Thank you!

And...um...yeah. The mood is probably a little more somber in this first chapter. Fred's death is just wrong on so many levels, so I totally understand what you're saying.

And yep. There's my little twist. Sorry about the butterflies, but hopefully you liked it! And rushing to find out what happens is the best compliment ever!

Thank you for the birthday wishes, and for reading!


 Report Review

Review #10, by dizzydreamer The Truth Hurts

19th January 2016:
Seriously hoping you haven't given up on this story because it's SO GOOD! You capture the characters so well, and I really want to know what happens next! You're an amazing writer!

Author's Response: Thank you. And no, I haven't. I just write super slow, and get easily overwhelmed in real life. I am hoping to get some work done on this story over the summer, though. I'd really, REALLY like to finish it.

Thank you for such a wonderful compliment!


 Report Review

Review #11, by everBlazin_ The Truth Hurts

6th January 2016:
I just stumbled upon your story by chance. I ended up reading the whole thing. Cost me some sleep :)

I really enjoyed it. I love the different points of view. And it's not all about the good things. The bad stuff defines the characters as well.

I would like some more Harry & Ginny. It seems a bit in the background, but maybe that's your intention :)

I know it's been over a year since you've updated last, but I hope you'll keep continuing this fanfic even if does take a while. Your writing is really good!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry about the lost sleep, but I'm seriously grinning madly that it kept you reading! Thank you for the ultimate compliment!

I have a hard time sticking to one character. I want to know what everyone is thinking. So, I've just had to embrace it and try to use it to my advantage. Glad you liked it! And yes, good and bad things - we have to go through them all.

Harry and Ginny are in the background right now because Harry's head isn't quite in the right spot yet. He's got to figure out how to be Harry again before there's a whole lot of room for Harry and Ginny. But it will come, promise.

It has been a very long time since I updated, and a horribly long time since you gave me this great review, for which I'm so sorry. I do have plans to continue this. My muse went away for a long time, but I'm working really hard now she's back to try and get these unfinished stories done. So, sometime soon, hopefully, there will be more.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Elfimaledeti The Truth Hurts

5th January 2016:
Hi,
well, your story is different and i like it. It's not just jumping from one celebration to other. It's full of emotions and sometimes some tears fell down. O:-)

Fred alive, Ron is HERO for Hermione, Harry helped Mr. Weasley i like it all :), maybe something more with Ginny in a next chapters? ...

... Will be some next chapters? (Your last update was in 2014 :'( )

Thank you,
Elfi.

Author's Response: Hi. Thanks so much for this review! I try really hard to give a balance of sorrow, funny, real life, magical aspects... It's hard and it's always nice when someone appreciates it. (And I haven't forgotten Ginny, I promise. I have plans for her.)

I know I'm awful at updating. Real life tends to get in the way of my writing a lot. But I'm trying to get back on top of things now and hopefully sometime soonish I can put more of this up.

Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Annie The Truth Hurts

29th December 2015:
Wow good job but there's like no romance with Harry and ginny

Author's Response: Thank you! And there isn't yet, but I bet there will be some in the future.

 Report Review

Review #14, by grizfan153 The Truth Hurts

22nd December 2015:
I just wanted to tell you that I think this is an amazing story. The writing is beautiful and you are allowing the characters to feel pain and try to come to grips with all the horrors they have seen. I really, really love it. I see that it isn't updated often, but I will always be ready to read more if you ever do add to it. Either way, what you have done is excellent and I am grateful that I had the chance to read it

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your compliments mean so much. I don't believe in writing "quick fixes" in stories, but I know that can sometimes be frustrating to readers. It's nice to know you like the pace I'm setting here. Makes me feel better about the way I chose to write this.

Yes, I'm horrible at updating. Real life gets in the way too often. But I don't consider it dead. I will update as soon as I can.

Thanks so much! You made me smile.


 Report Review

Review #15, by mysuv1 The Truth Hurts

16th December 2015:
this story is intriguing please continue.

Author's Response: Thank you! Hopefully sometime soonish I will be able to do that.

 Report Review

Review #16, by molly d The Truth Hurts

15th December 2015:
this is AWESOME
its my first time reading fan fiction

u really should write your own book, your just as good as j.k Rowling

you seem to have really captured the way she wrote and expressed the characters

good luck in the future writing more and i can't wait to hear what happens next

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the story so far!

I appreciate your compliment so much. Right now, I'm having too much fun still playing with these characters, but maybe someday I'll try writing a book of my own.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #17, by N The Truth Hurts

14th December 2015:
hey I love your fanfic ive only just started reading fanfic but I just LOVE hp so I thought ill give it a go. please carry on writing and don't forget about your poor readers!! (ps really want to know about the Hermione and ron thing and try to make the ending of that happy!) thanks :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you found it and enjoyed reading it!

I haven't forgotten my readers, I just got waylaid by real life and my writing went away for a while. Working on fixing that now.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfan The Importance of Communication

8th December 2015:
For the HPFF Advent Calendar Day 9, which gave me the perfect excuse to return to this story because it's been unreasonably long since I last reviewed it (as the snorkack, which is why it appears I've skipped a chapter), AND IN THE MEANTIME YOU WON A DOBBY OMG?!?! CONGRATS ♥ that is AWESOME, and so very well deserved.

Okay, so. This chapter. I just love how the chapter starts, because I feel like this is how a chapter of the books could start. Yes, Harry would remark on how Ron's room is an eyesore with its bright orange hue and Chudley Cannons posters all over. And Mrs Weasley would pile comforting blankets on Harry to the point where he's almost smothered in them. And ahh - the point where Harry mentions he feels weird without Ron and Hermione by his side - this feels so realistic as well because usually the only time Harry was ever without his best friends was when he was at home with the Dursleys, and that's always an uncomfortable time for him, so it's this weird new situation for him that he's unused to. And then, of course, he's really awkward around Ginny, as expected. I love that he compares her eyes to drills XD It seems very much like a comparison Harry would make. So basically what I'm saying here is you've really got Harry's personality and quirks down so well and it's easy to read this as the same Harry as JKR writes. I mean it!

His reunion with Ginny was everything I hoped it'd be. You write Ginny amazingly well and I could really sympathise with her here, because obviously Harry messed up a lot and even though his minimal communication with her was for her own safety, I can understand why Ginny would be furious. That's a lot of time to have no idea what's happening and feeling totally useless. But that's what I like about Ginny - she'll speak her mind and tell Harry he was an idiot and that she's angry at him, but she doesn't really hold grudges, at least not when she knows the grudge would be stupid. Also, ahahaha Harry trying to make amends by quoting the Ways to Charm Witches book hahaha that made me laugh so much. (Yeah, I'd bet Ginny has read the whole thing, for entertainment!) I'm so glad Harry and Ginny made up. And then I laughed again when her brothers were like a little creepy audience at the bottom of the stairs. Haha, older brothers.

This was a fantastic chapter! I love love love your character interactions and you are a brilliant writer. Great work. ♥

 Report Review

Review #19, by Jutta The Truth Hurts

23rd November 2015:
I love it! Brilliantly written I might add

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Penelope Inkwell The Importance of Communication

23rd September 2015:
Hello there! I'm back for more. Took me a bit – Dobby time is crazy! But I'm so excited to be back :D

He planned to sequester himself in Ron’s room until he’d worked out how to speak to Ginny and explain everything without getting himself blasted to bits.
--Hahaha, this is such a realistic Harry thought. And accurate. I love how you've kept the side of Ginny that really gets Harry, and you've let her grow up a bit, but you haven't sacrificed any of her fierceness (or the fear she can instill in all who know her).

- “Were you dropped on your head as a child?”

-"You haven't met the Dursleys yet, have you? I probably was.”

--This was so great! I chuckled. And I mean, honestly, it's probably true. Poor Harry. He turned out amazingly well, all things considered.

CC:

“Haven’t your lips long for my touch?
--I'm thinking that "long" should probably be "longed".


“I know. That's part of why I love you. And why I'll get around to forgiving you.
Between the Battle, and Fred dying and coming back, and you doing the same… Well, I’ve learned that life’s too short and unpredictable to hold grudges over silly things.”

--the spacing got a little wonky here. There was an extra "enter" or something, I think, maybe?


So glad to see Harry and Ginny actually talking (and snogging!). And it wouldn't be the Burrow if there weren't a whole host of Weasley brothers there to witness it. Heeheehee. Hey, at least they got applause, right? Could have been worse. I could see Fred and George holding up voting numbers: "4 out of 10, Harry. I'm gonna need to see more passion." Really, he was lucky. And I loved that he just accepted that his life was never going to be without an audience and just carried on kissing Ginny. I mean, it's a rare man who can snog a girl in front of her brothers and have them cheering instead of calling for blood. Just go with it, Harry. Count your blessings ;)

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #21, by StarFeather A Little Wounded

19th September 2015:
Hi, farmgirl. I read the chapter 1 and came here, I wanted to know if Fred was alive or not. I felt relieved you let him alive! So I decided to review here. Congrats, nomination for Dobby!

I've noticed you mentioned AU is wonderful in the status in the forums. I think you're right. It was too sudden J.K.Rowling had Fred die. It might be necessary for her to let Fred die in the story but you can revive him in AU! I like it.

I like the conversation between McGonagal and Harry. I really respect you, I'm amazed by the way you describe the story. I wish I could write like this. It seems a far long way to climb on the top of the mountain. (sigh. I sometimes have urge to delete all chapters I posted in the past.)

I'll be back ASAP!

Kenny

Author's Response: Hey Kenny!

I'm so sorry its taken me so long to respond to this brilliant review. Trying to catch up now, though, and I didn't want this to sit unanswered for any longer.

Thank you so much for reading! I'm so glad you are relieved that Fred lived. Fred dying was the single worst thing for me in the whole series. It killed me. So I try to undo it whenever I can. So yep. I love AU for that reason.

Thank you! I had fun writing McGonagall and Harry there. Sometimes Harry needs a poke to get going in the right direction.

Aw, thank you so much for the compliments! That means so much! And keep writing! You write very well, so no need to cut yourself down! NO DELETING!!!

Thanks again!
Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #22, by Penelope Inkwell Coming Home

15th September 2015:
“No, Harry,” said Molly firmly, reaching out to turn his face back toward her as she shook her head. “The thing is that I felt the exact same way when I watched Hagrid carry you out of that forest! I thought you were dead! That I’d lost another one of my sons!”
--I literally teared up. There are tears in my eyes.

Here he was, only seventeen, and already ripped from the heart of one family and casually discarded by another. He’d had father-figures and friends thrust upon him and then torn away without care. The Wizarding World had willingly laid its salvation at his feet, and then tossed him unthinkingly aside when he shouldered its burdens without complaint and accomplished what it couldn’t do. He was an instant celebrity, the poster boy of the war. Everyone wanted his autograph, but no one thought to ask if “The Boy Who Lived” had a roof over his head, clothes on his back, food in his stomach.
--this is so real I cannot. I feel so deeply for Harry right now. You really connect us to Molly's worries, compassion, and her motherly love phenomenally well. Once again, your ability to truly think through all the likely details and outcomes astounds me. I could see this happening to Harry--being sort of left in the dust, but the Weasleys taking care of him, of course. And the way you bring back how he's lost father figure after father figure. Ohmygracious, that poor, brave boy!

Oh my gosh, Harry has never had someone to comfort him in a motherly fashion--not like that. And of course we knew that, but knowing is different than hearing it and seeing it like this. My heart!

She paused, but not because she felt odd, holding a conversation with the dead. She was the mother of seven wild children; odd didn’t exist in her vocabulary.
--there are just so many lines that I love in this chapter!


Oh wow. Wow wow wow. This scene with Molly at Lily's grave. I can't! This is perfect. This is the scene I've always needed and never knew I wanted. It's beautiful. And the way she's asking permission to help raise Harry, and to take him in. The daisies. The way she talks to Lily. Just all of it. Wow.

They grow their hair out and hang fangs from their ears, or traipse across the continent thinking fire-breathing lizards make good pets.
--haha, oh my gosh, it's the sniffle laugh. I'm laughing through the tears that are building in my eyes ever minute.

CC:

The sunshine just felt warm and comfortable on her tired shoulders and she waited a moment, soaking it in.
--This is totally just a matter of opinion, but I thought "comforting" might fit better than "comfortable".


Girl, this chapter. Wow. I'm probably at least halfway through the Dobbys list, and this might well be the most beautiful, emotionally touching thing I have read from it so far. This is an incredible chapter, and you should be really, really proud of it. Molly absolutely shines here. It's truly excellent work.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #23, by Penelope Inkwell The Wages of War

15th September 2015:
I loved the detail of Harry having a bruise from Voldemort's killing curse. That seemed very realistic, especially in light of all the talk about it being rare to survive that kind of dark magic unscathed.

a complicated sort of Bubble charm complete with floating, miniature bellows covered his nose and mouth.
--I love when people come up with their own magic. Love love love. This is a great idea for a magical breathing tube alternative!

If Gringotts ever unfroze his accounts and pulled him off their black list, that is.
--haha, this made me chuckle. I'm really impressed by how you've thought through all these practical details. The goblins to seem like they can hold a grudge, after all.

I'm glad he's going to get Bill on the issue. If anyone could sort it out, I reckon it'd be him.

Harry, Harry. George is right--you are being stupid. That was everyone's fight, everyone's war. It wasn't your fault in the least. But then, Harry is used to being the catalyst for everything, and Voldemort always was after him. It makes sense that he blames himself, but I hope that he soon learns that that's a ridiculous idea. If anyone could make him see sense, it would be the Weasley women.

I'm glad that Hermione's gone to find her parents! That'll be a lot of healing in and of itself, I imagine.


CC:

So, as a rule I always try to give CC. I find it really helpful as a writer. With you, though, this is all so clean already, so what I've got here is a bit more nitpicky, and it's more along the lines of suggestions--areas that are already good, but the flow of a sentence or something could maybe be polished up a bit. It's all just my opinions, though, so you're free to take or leave it as you will.

The reception area at St. Mungo’s was extremely crowded when Harry stepped into it.
--"stepped inside" might flow better than "stepped into it"

but he’s alive and amazingly in good humor, so we shouldn’t complain.”
--"and in amazingly good humor" might flow better than, "and amazingly in good humor."

“We did just send the unsuspecting bloke right into the clutches of all three Weasley women, didn’t we?”
--since only Ginny and Molly were mentioned, I had to think for a really long moment before I could figure out who was meant to be the third. I'm guessing it was Fleur? But it might be good to mention her, too, by name, because thinking on it drew me out of the story for a second.


And that's all I've got. I'm loving how you've thought through so many details, and your writing is excellent, though as this story has a Dobby nomination that is hardly a surprise. This is a real treat!

--Penny

Author's Response: Okay, trying to get a few more of your amazing reviews responded to tonight.

I'm glad you liked the idea of the bruise. It just seemed unrealistic that Harry would come through all of that unscathed. I wanted to make it a little more difficult for things to go back to normal.

I have to admit I have a lot of fun thinking of little magical details that make the world seem more real. It's fun!

Again, for the Gringotts thing - I just wanted to make things a little messier at the end of the war, not just instantly happily ever after.

And yes, Bill will help him out.

Harry is really good at taking blame and guilt upon himself, isn't he. REALLY good. The Weasleys will eventually straighten him out, though.

And yes, I couldn't just leave Hermione's parents in limbo! Had to let her go save them.

And thank you so much for the CC! I appreciate it!

Thanks again for reading and reviewing, and for your patience as I try to catch up on responses.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Penelope Inkwell A Little Wounded

15th September 2015:
FRED IS ALIVE! AAAH! *shouts of joy, hallelujahs from the sky* :D

Oh my gosh, that was crazy. I felt the tension, and the baited breath, and the overwhelming joy. Best AU decision ever. And really, it's kinda canonically sound, according to what we know from the books. Like, they thought he was dead, but this picks up right after that. It's plausible. (and wonderful, because FRED!)

*happy dances*

I'm still nervous that he might not pull through and that it could all be cruelly snatched away from me, but still. I'm excited!

In the absolute chaos that followed, Harry couldn’t help but wonder how he could be crying so hard and so completely happy at the same time.
--I liked this line

I loved what you did there at the end with McGonagall. She's so snappy. I love that, even now that he's the hero of the wizarding world, to Minerva he's still Harry, her student. She's willing to give him the shove he needs. That's so like Harry, not to want to presume or intrude, but to be desperately wishing for home. I love how she phrases the whole thing, like, "Obviously your home is the Burrow, Harry! Honestly."

Sometimes you force me to wonder if you would have made it through school without Granger’s help. Yes, home, Mr. Potter – the Burrow!”

“She’s not very good at listening when her children are involved,” McGonagall said curtly.

--These two lines were gold! I wanted to smile and laugh and cry at the same time! You nailed that!

--Penny

Author's Response: Again, woefully late! But, finally here!

And yes, Fred is alive. I couldn't help myself - it just had to happen.

You don't know how happy it makes me that you can see how it COULD almost be canon. I mean, I tried not to contradict ANYTHING that was said in the books. Even the epilogue doesn't mention Fred, so he COULD have been alive in it. I tried really hard to make this work. SO glad you agree!

I like your happy dance, by the way.

And yes, he's hurt really badly. I won't deny that. I knew I could save him, but I couldn't do it without him getting pretty hurt.

Aww! Thank you!

I have a really fondness for McGonagall. I like getting to write her, and this scene was fun. And I needed someone who would treat Harry just like that - normally. Not like he was a hero.

And now I want to smile and laugh and cry at the same time because of your words. THANK YOU! This review made my night all over again as I read it to reply.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Penelope Inkwell Prologue: No Words

15th September 2015:
Hey there! I'm here checking out the Dobby nominees--big congratulations on your nomination!

And OH MY GOSH! Is Fred alive?! This possibility fills me with joy! What is happening?!! FRED!

Okay, I'm going to try to calm down and give you a review that's actually a review.

I found the first line to be really striking. It pulled me right in. And your descriptions are really solid--the whole scene seems just how things might've looked after the battle.

I like the idea of a Wand Sweep. That's a handy piece of magic. I wonder if wizards had that way before we could detect brain activity and heartbeats with machines. I always love when people include new bits of magic.

CC:

blood-shot expressions
--Most properly, I think it would be spelled "bloodshot".

That's all I noticed, though!

Great job, and now I really do have to go find out what's happened with Fred. Like, right now!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you! This was so kind of you! And I'm so sorry that it's taken me two whole years to reply to this amazing set of reviews you left me. I do hope you can forgive me.

AH! I love your reaction to this! It is so much what I hoped would happen to readers when I wrote this chapter. You have just made me smile.

And yes, there might be hope for Fred in this story. Just a little bit of it.

No need to calm down. This was the best review ever! But, thank you for your words just the same. I really had hoped to make it seem like this was just an extension of the canon scene we saw in the books, so it's lovely to hear you think it worked.

You know, I'd never thought about what came first - The Wand Sweep or muggle tech to show if someone is dead. Interesting.

Ah, thanks for the typo spot! And thanks so much for reading!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>