Reading Reviews for I'm Not That Girl
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alwaysthetoneofsurprise I'm Not That Girl

29th March 2011:
All right, I'm gonna be completely honest with you.

I hate Cho. Detest her.

However, with this story, you made me actually feel a tad bit sorry for her.

Very nice writing and title (I love Wicked!).

Great job!

Author's Response: I'm glad, that was the goal! Ha, I feel the same about Cho... good that I changed your opinion, though. :D
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #2, by jenny I'm Not That Girl

11th July 2010:
that was really interesting. most people never even considered how cho must've felt about h/g's relationship, so i'm glad you did. great job and thanks for writing! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. (: I'm glad you liked it!
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #3, by xLauriePotter I'm Not That Girl

16th April 2010:
I think this is really good!
I love how you described Cho's jealousy.. Silly girl should of kept Harry while she had the chance ;)

aha. (:

Author's Response: Ahha, I agree. xD
Thanks again for a lovely review!
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #4, by inkheart115 I'm Not That Girl

13th April 2010:
cool
you no for once i feel sorry for cho i mean I always hated her in the books but now I actually like her

kat

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! That means so much, that I changed someone's view of Cho. Thanks for the lovely review! :D
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #5, by crestwood I'm Not That Girl

10th April 2010:
I loved it. I always wanted to know how Cho felt about Ginny an Harry. I feel their rivalry wasn't mentioned enough in the books. I think you really captured Cho's jealousy well. Good job! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much. (: I'm glad you liked it! :D
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #6, by writergirl8 I'm Not That Girl

6th March 2010:
Nicely done! I really hate the thought of Harry and Cho, so to get me to read a story from Cho's point of view is nearly impossible, but I love Wicked to death, so I read it anyway ;) I was also interested, because I wrote a similar story to this, except from Lavender's POV. I love Ron and Hermione (huge cannon freak, can you tell?) and so it was difficult to write a neutral story. It was nice to find another story like it. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that Cho kept on calling Ginny a slut. I don't think Ginny was notorious for being a slut at Hogwarts, and even in her anger I'm not sure Cho is the kind of girl that would talk about another girl that way, unless she actually was a slut. But it's your story, and your ideas, and I think you did a wonderful job with them :) ~writergirl8

Author's Response: Ha, awesome! Hmm, I may check that out. I love sympathetic Lav-Lav...

Hmm. I see what you mean, but I kind of have this idea that Cho would have made her out to be a slut, kind of? Either way, I'm glad you liked it. And thank you so, so much for reviewing! (:
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #7, by blackthoughtsredwriting I'm Not That Girl

19th February 2010:
Aww. It was a short sad little one-shot. lol. There's nothing wrong with writing too many one-shots. I myself have never written a anything longer than 5,00 words and I have 9 stories. lol. So I feel you.

Anyways, I like how you portray the pain she goes through. Pain that I myself have had to deal with. I like this story so much because I can relate to it in some ways and I think that's what makes the best stories are ones that the reader can relate to.

I think you could've added a bit more detail but all in all, it was a very wonderful story. I found you through the forums from a challenge. I'm glad I did =]

Author's Response: Ahha. (: I know how that is. I love longer stuff, but I come up with more one-shot ideas, I don't know.

Ah, I'm sorry you had to go through that. >< But I'm happy you found you could relate to it. (:

Thanks so much for the lovely review! ♥
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #8, by Alopex I'm Not That Girl

22nd January 2010:
I'm not familiar with the song that inspired this one-shot, so before writing this review, I looked it up (listened it up?) on YouTube. You can find anything on the internet these days. Anyway, point being, listening to the song gave me additional insight to your story and changed what I was going to say.

I see the point now. At first, I was quite confused about why exactly Cho would be thinking these thoughts. What triggered them? I suppose thoughts do just come to people when they see things--in this case, Harry and Ginny together--but I was still feeling a disconnect of some kind. However, when considering your piece in the context of the song, I don't feel that disconnect anymore.

Cho is a relatively minor character. She is important to Harry for a period of time, but she doesn't have a lot of dialogue. I guess it's kind of like Crabbe and Goyle. We know something about her, more than we know about Terry Boot or Theodore Nott, but we know less than we know about Luna or Neville. Therefore, authors do have a certain amount of leeway in characterizing her.

However, I wasn't crazy about Cho's voice in this piece. I think it was mainly because of your use of the first person--which fits with the song perfectly. It just made her seem kind of annoying and whiny, and even when main characters are that way (and there are definitely a lot of people out there who would argue that Cho fits that description), I look for something that makes me actually want to keep reading about them, despite their obvious flaws. With Cho here, I didn't feel that . . . she was just so whiny and poor-me that it totally turned me off of her as a character. Maybe that was the effect you were going for; I don't know. I do know that I have real reservations about her voice, though. There were flashes of Cho, but to me, there was a generic, 15-year-old drama queen thing going on.

I like this slice-of-life thing you have going on, though. It's interesting to explore characters' thoughts and motivations without the action and sustained plot necessary to a longer story. Obviously, Cho's spent a lot of time turning over her relationship with Harry in her mind (people don't just go around thinking, oh, we could be Romeo and Juliet and similarly grand thoughts out of the blue), and it was interesting to read her take on the whole thing. The scene before the battle in DH does leave room to speculate that she regretted the way things ended with him.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for the review. (:

Okay, sorry you didn't like her voice. Hmm. I can see what you mean. I was kind of going for that, but I"m sorry that you didn't want to keep reading. ):

Thanks for the review, I'll definetly take a look at it and try to fix it.
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #9, by SunSation Gal 07 I'm Not That Girl

11th December 2009:
I have to say I was drawn her by the name (Wicked is just ten kinds of awesome), but I ended up staying for the fic and liking it. I'm usually not into anything with Cho, I just never really came to like her for some reason, but I did end up enjoying this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. (: I'm glad you liked it. (And yes, Wicked is amazing. :D)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Pauly I'm Not That Girl

30th November 2009:
I really felt this one.
I'm not just saying it either.
I felt like I could really connect to Cho.
I think that you portrayed Cho's emotions in words perfectly. I don't have any useful critiques. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, dear! (:
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #11, by Muggle Born 12 I'm Not That Girl

19th November 2009:
Nice I some time forget about Cho

Author's Response: Thanks...?

 Report Review

Review #12, by Rose_Weasley123 I'm Not That Girl

28th October 2009:
Hello, Rose_Weasley123 here with your requested review! By the way, thank you for the lovely review you left me. Also, you put the wrong title in your request. I reviewed the one the link led to.

Congratulations on writing a Cho-centric fic. Many people avoid her, and if they chose to write her, shes never portrayed in a very sympathetic light.

The one thing I think you should work on is setting the tone of the piece. It starts off with quite a lot of anger, but half way through, this trails off and it loses some momentum. It conflicted a bit too much, and it lost some of the tension that you had built up earlier. You also used a couple of unnecessary you knows.

Cho felt in canon, from what I saw of her. We dont know much about her, but she was recognisable as Cho. She had a slightly conflicting voice in parts though. She has some lovely, deep thoughts, which are broken up with more teenage, casual words in-between and it disrupts the flow slightly. Also, pay attention to the era. Crushing felt a little too modern.

However, you wrote the continual theme of jealousy really effectively. You could really sympathise with Cho and her situation. It also seemed believable as a plot. The description you did have was lovely, and you used the 500 words to great effect. Ive read quite a few entries for this challenge, and I think you did it well.

I think on the whole it is a good story, it just needs a little work to take it up to the next level. Feel free to re-request.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Oh, I'm sorry, I noticed that right after I posted it, but I forgot to fix it.

Thanks, that's kind of waht I was going for... I'm glad I made it. (:

Okay, sorry. I'll work on that when I edit it... Well, the way I figured it was, there was always crushing and stuff... But I'll work on that as well.

Thank you! :D I'm glad.

I will when I edit.
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #13, by fatality I'm Not That Girl

27th October 2009:
Hai love, this is fatality from the forums.

First things first, the flow is clean. I love the simplicity of this fic and how your message was read clearly. I also enjoyed the what ifs. In fact, its human nature and partially a defense mechanism that Cho feels the way she feels and thinks whatever runs through her mind. I love the endless possibilities and how Cho stays canon and alive throughout the story with that as its muse.

However, I felt like a spark was missing. Or maybe there was an emotion you forgot to capture? Cho is a character we dont really hear of, but there is definitely more to her than just her attraction for Harry. Its already been read that Cho doesnt believe that Ginny belongs with Harry and that she regrets losing Harry, but how come you didnt take some emotional risk and wander through her thoughts with how she felt when she heard of Harry and Ginny, become official? How come you did not speak of what she liked in Harry? Or for her love for Cedric? Or her reason for still believing she and Harry had a chance?

All in all, good job. This was a wonderful read.

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for reviewing. (:

I'm glad you liked those things. (: And I didn't put the others in because, honestly, I only had 500 words. I wanted to capture one single plot, if you will, and that would have taken too much for the challenge it was in. However, I can see where you're coming from, and I'll keep that in mind.

A wonderful read? Thank you so much! :D
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #14, by baletgir I'm Not That Girl

12th October 2009:
I liked it. I was nice to read. It seems as if Cho has a whole lot she is feeling, but I'm not really surprised, it goes along nicely with canon Cho, good job.
:)BaletGIr

Author's Response: Thank you so much. (:

 Report Review

Review #15, by TwilightPrincess I'm Not That Girl

11th October 2009:
Hi there! Ilia here to review for my challenge. =)

I could reach through the screen and hug you right now. A Harry/Cho fic? I LOVE it! I think that far too many people are afraid to write Cho - lots of people don't like her just because of that scene we saw in the series. It's a shame because I think Cho is a brilliant character. She's actually a really deep person, and you definitely showed that here.

I love that you stuck with canon and showed Harry with Ginny. I kind of always wondered what Cho would be thinking when Harry chose Ginny. I love how deep you made Cho's thoughts, and your phrasing of them was phenomenal. Like this: Maybe I just wasn't born to be with a guy like him. Awesome.

I really loved reading this story. Thanks so much for taking my challenge! I hope you enjoyed yourself ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! Yeah, I wanted to do something that hadn't been done too often. I'm so glad you liked it. (:

It crossed my mind when I read book 6, and it's always been a little plot idea in my head. I'm glad I'm not the only one who thought that. xD

Phenomenal? :D Yay! Thank you!

I did enjoy myself. (: Thanks so much for such a lovely review.
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #16, by the girl who lived 13 years I'm Not That Girl

10th October 2009:
Really good! I loved how you wrote it. I really wish i could know how they would have worked out too. Ginny is for him though. Too bad Cedric died; he was her soul mate.

Author's Response: Thanks! :D I'm glad.

Same here, I've always thought he was as well.

Thanks for reviewing!:D
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #17, by HarryGinnyFan18 I'm Not That Girl

10th October 2009:
Hey! Its Jackie! This is my 2nd time reading this story. I am not a fan of Cho. But reading this story made me think about the 7th book when Ginny asked Luna to go with Harry to see Luna's house but Cho asked first.I am never a cho and harry fan but I'm a harry ginny fan. Harry hate when Cho cry on their date.

Author's Response: Hmm, I'm not sure what part you're talking about... But yeah, so am I.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Laugharama_llama I'm Not That Girl

9th October 2009:
That was so good! I loved the insight on Cho's mind; it's very unique! I like that you kept with JKR's version of Cho - kind of jealous of Ginny. And that ending was brilliant!!

This story was was so adorable, even tho it was a little bit sad.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. (: Aww, brilliant? I'm so happy. (:

Thanks. :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by harrylilyjames I'm Not That Girl

9th October 2009:
I am totally with you with hating Cho...grrr.
The first thing I noticed was on the first sentence you wrote, "and her giggling." -which isn't correct grammar, probably something along the lines of "and her soft girlie giggles erupted throughout the hall."
OMG!! How dare she call Ginny a slut! I couldn't believe it when I read that. -gasps-
I think you did a really good job with her, I could totally relate to her feelings, especially how she regretted breaking up with Harry- I always had a feeling that she didn't walk away and say 'oh well, that was fun' and then turn back up a few years later to try to get with him again, that she always secretly regretted ever breaking up with him.
Nice job.

Author's Response: Well, I can't exactly make it say that because the thing was 500 words exactly... But I'll try to word it better.

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #20, by xoxoginnyxoxoharry I'm Not That Girl

7th October 2009:
LOVED IT!!! 10/10 it sounded interseting and it was awsome! thanks or sharing your talent with me! it means alot!

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! :D Er, you're welcome? xD Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by chillychick95 I'm Not That Girl

7th October 2009:
Hola, issa Lexy !!
This is a very sentimental one-shot. It's sweet, long enough to get everything across but short enough to not drown us in first-person woe-fulness -claps- Commendable there.

First thing's first, your summary is good :] but I felt the fact that you don't have a banner just detracts from your story. People like flashy, sparkly graphics when they click on a story and most of the time it's the bright sparkly stuff they click on.
It might get your review/read rate up =]

I'm a little stumped as to your title. 'I'm not that girl' I would've thought the story is about Harry comparing Cho to Ginny... I think you should call it Wishes but I haven't heard the song "I'm not that Girl" - goes to check it out-
Ow. I totally see where you're coming from now! Right. Disregard what I said about the title totally - Although I would put the lyrics up at the beginning for all those uneducated people like me who haven't seen/heard Wicked.

I abhor Cho. I'm sorry, but I'm not a fan of her clingyness and yata yata but anyway, I'll be diplomatic and continue. I thought you characterized well. She's human with wants but accepts the situation. I liked how you wrote about Ginny the entire time without using her name. (form experience I know that when vindictive you rarely grace the person with their first name)

I didn't see any spelling errors or punctuation etc but I wasn't really looking. I was too busy reading. Nothing really stood out that much so ... good job!

I liked the short phrasing, it reflected how she was thinking at thoughts aren't usually very long but short thought processes and I thought you got that across very well.

I felt like it was missing spark. Obviously it's an angsty piece but there was just so much teenage vindictiveness but no outlet if you know what I mean. It sounded like internal raging... but then she goes onto talk about 'What if's?' and it dissapates. The whole feeling of changing places is there, but then Cho is resigned to the fact that she isn't the type for Harry. although she could be? You know what I mean, you create such a fantastic emotion of jealousy, of naivety and then it's lost... It was so good, but I lost the tension in parts.

8/10 - Definetely something I'd read.
I hope that helped and you didn't get offended or anything. I'm not here to gush over your story but to tell you honestly what I think (constructive criticism) so don't take it to heart but understand writing can never get worse it can only get better and you're already so far ahead!
Lexy

Author's Response: Haha, thanks!

Yeah, I'm going to be getting a banner sometime soon. Hopefully. I know what you mean.

I totally understand what you mean, I'll check that out and see what I can do. I appreciate the comment, I'll reread it and see if I can add something in there...

I'm really glad you liked it. (: And thanks for leaving concrit, it really helps me! :D So far ahead? :D Thank you.

Thanks for such a lovely review. (: I appreciate it.
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #22, by theRandomSlytherin I'm Not That Girl

6th October 2009:
*gasp*
Amazing.
That was great
*applause*
Like I said, I detest Cho, but I feel a tiny (really microscopic) twinge of sympathy for her now.
Just a bit.
Anyways, I think it was totally realistic because she seemed a bit jealous in the beginning and..you know.
Loved it.
It's going in my favs.

Peace, love, and Harry Potter,
Michelle

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :D I'm so glad it's realistic, I tried with that...

Thanks for the review and favorite! (:
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #23, by Samiiiii :] I'm Not That Girl

1st October 2009:
I love it [: It's not my usual reading but I really liked it. You did a good job writing it and it was an interesting little one shot :]

Author's Response: Thank you! :D This makes me happy insidee.(:
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #24, by MovieMagic I'm Not That Girl

1st October 2009:
I thought this was realy good and i'm of to read your other storys because I hate Cho to. :) 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks! Awesome. (:
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #25, by my wicked quill I'm Not That Girl

30th September 2009:
i liked this alot. considering that fact that though we never saw Ginny and Cho together we knew they hated each other... lol but i loved the bit where she was saying how Ginny was fast-paced like him and how she was for him. i had to stop and think, and cho was right, could u have imagined Cho standing by his side in battle? she'd probably started crying. but ginny, no. shes the girl for him

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yeah, that was the feeling i got as well...

Thanks for reviewing! :D
-Jasmine


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login