Reading Reviews for New Times
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by pinkslippers New Times

14th January 2012:
So cute! What was up with Severus, though? And as with all your stories... I loved it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Skye Elle New Times

10th September 2011:
Why are almost all your stories one-shots?
Gr.
Loved the story though! Even though I felt incredibly sorry for Severus. ): I still hate him for calling Lily a mudblood, that was so uncalled for. Anyway, yeah. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by girly1393 New Times

6th March 2011:
I'm confused. For half the story, she's dreading going on a date with them. At the end, she'd gone on the date with him...

I liked the premise, that she was choosing her own path in life.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Lily had been on a date with James the night before, and she was thinking about why she'd agreed to go out with him in the first place. Sorry if that's confusing..

Thanks :)
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #4, by LilReindeer New Times

30th June 2010:
WOW

OMFG you are extremely talented! you should definitely become an author for a living

you would be absolutely A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!

and im not talking about just this book, all of them, esp. ABOVE THE CLOUDS!

although i think that you should REALLY put up a new chapter for that one REALLY soon

:)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm so flattered.
I don't think I'm good enough to become an author for a living though, but thanks XD

Thanks, I will update ATC soon!
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #5, by IncompleteSentences New Times

7th March 2010:
i really liked it. it was short and sweet. but now i want you to write a james/lily story really badly. it would be really nice to read one from you. hope you take the suggestion. great job and keep on writing!

Author's Response: Thank you :) I don't know if I could write a novel-length James/Lily story, I'm just not that huge of a fan of them. But I'll think about it! :)

Thank you,
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #6, by mrs_scorpiusmalfoy New Times

27th February 2010:
Hey!

I think you did fine. The spacing is a bit off but other thanthat I enjoyed the fic. 9/10

I was wondering if you made banners. You made some for your fics and
they look pretty cool. I would've just gone to TDA like eveeyone else, but it's blocked here in the Middle East. So, can you help me out?

Awaiting your reply,

Jaz

Author's Response: Hello :) Thank you.

Yes, I make banners. At TDA. But contact me on the forums and we might be able to work something out :)

Thank you,
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lillywanabe4422 New Times

26th February 2010:
its reli good you should continue it

Author's Response: Thank you :)
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #8, by long_live_luna_bellatrix New Times

11th October 2009:
This was a pretty good one shot. You wrote Lily gradually liking James very well, and instead of just having her immediately like him, you had her battle with herself, which I liked.

There were abundant minor grammar mistakes, and I think a beta would be wonderful for this story. At one point you said something along the lines of "She would never forgive him." when I think you were talking about Severus so it would be "He would never forgive her." The spacing was also inconsistant and annoying; fixing that up would make the readers like the story even more.

Another thing to work on, and this one is harder, is show and not tell. For most of the story you stated Lily's feelings, when by describing her mood and reaction and thoughts you could've gotten the same effect, but in a more sophisticated, enjoyable way. For instance, here you said "James had told her that he would stop being mean towards Severus if she agreed to go on a date with him and that had been the only reason why she had agreed, or so she tried to convince herself." Besides that being a run-on sentence, you could've shown that better with a flashback, or maybe describing James' encouraging, honest grin and her thinking of how much she cared for Severus despite the fact that he'd called her a Mudblood.

Otherwise, this was good. I liked how we got into several POVs- it was a little confusing, but the effect was good. I liked how Snape was trying so hard to convince himself he hated Lily for being a Mudblood when he knew he loved her. I also enjoyed how Lily liked James for legitimate reasons; he was nice, gentlemanly, sweet. You showed Lily and James' changes nicely over a short amount of time, which is hard to do. The idea of James' bribing Lily into going on a date with him was also a good idea- because that's the only way Lily would ever in a million years go on a date with him. Nice work.

Author's Response: Gosh, such a long and lovely review :)

I'm sorry about the grammar mistakes, and this story actually has been beta'ed, so I think that the beta needs a little slap on the wrist, haha.
Oh, I'm not sure which exact line that it, but I think it was something about Lily not forgiving Severus for calling her Mudblood? I need to look that over! And I'll look the spacing over, as well :)

That's great advice, thank you. I might just add a flashback scene there. It would fit perfectly and add a nicer touch to the story, I definitely agree with you.

I'm glad you liked it, and I tried to get many POV's in to it, because as I wrote I felt that all characters needed to be included as much as possible. I just couldn't leave out Severus feelings about it all and such. I think it added a nice touch to it, at least I hope it did. I'm very new to writing in Third Person.

Thank you for the lovely review :) I'm glad you thought it was a nice read!
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #9, by Miss Lily Potter New Times

7th October 2009:
This. Was. Adorable. (: You write sweet romance very well, and I love Lily's internal turmoil over whether to let herself fall for James. -squee- Ah, I love that pairing.

Poor Lily, though. Even if Severus was sorry... He's still a jerk. d:

All right, now that I'm sufficiently happy inside...

I loved this. (: You're an excellent writer. (By the way, I love Above the Clouds as well. Just thought I'd mention. ;])
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I'm a sucker for romance so that makes me happy to hear - that you think I write it well.

Honestly, I'm not that big of a fan of this pairing, but I'll admit that they were very fun to write, and I'm glad that someone who is a fan of this pairing liked it!

Aw, I feel so bad for Severus, poor jerk!

I'm so glad that you love it, thank you so much. And I'm glad you love ATC as well, woho! :D

thanks for reviewing,
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #10, by HarrietHopkirk New Times

3rd October 2009:
This is a gorgeous one-shot! I love how Snape was actually included in this, because, like Peter, he is usually just pushed out of the picture, which sucks. He would have been against James and Lily's relationship (like he was in this one). I think the characterisations in this were perfect. Well done.

Author's Response: I completely agree with you. Severus is hardly ever a part of these kinds of stories, but he's one of my favorite characters and I love his and Lily's relationship so I had to include him :)

Aw, thank you so much. I'm very happy to hear that you liked it :)

Thanks for reviewing,
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #11, by xxRedheadramioneloverxx New Times

29th September 2009:
Pretty good. It was sweet. But seriously... PLEASE update on Above the Clouds! Please? *makes puppy face*

Anyways, on your reply to one of my other comments, you said that you had an above the clouds playlist on the forums. I cant get to the forums, even though Im registered on them, so can you post it in your reply back to this? Thanx. ;)

Author's Response: Haha, oh, I will update! I've got the next one in the queue!

Sure thing!

1. Slow Dancing in a Burning Room - John Mayer.


2. Look after You - The Fray.
Perfection put down in lyrics.

3. Pour some Sugar on Me - Def Leppard.
Perfect song for those intense or slighty violent scenes.

4. Without you Here - Boyce Avenue.
One Word : LYRICS

5. Lips of an Angel - Hinder(acoustic version).
It really doesn't have anything to do with the story itself, but I love the song and I find it easy to write while listening to it! =)

6. Never Think - Robert Pattinson.


7. Wish You Were Here - Pink Floyd.
"Did they get you to trade - your heroes for ghosts?", "We're just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, day after day," - the lyrics! Darn it, the lyrics are great, as is Pink Floyd. This song means so much to me.

8. With Me - Sum 41


9. Handlake Village - Takida.
I found myself listening to this song while writing chapter 29(Yes, I listened to it for about the whole chapter, which is a long time x) I love this song!

10. Sweet Marie - Timo Räisänen.


11. We Are Golden - Mika(acoustic).
It's one of those songs which you can just listen to over and over again and never get tired of.

12. Tim McGraw, Mary's Song and Our Song - Taylor Swift.


13. Road to Home - Amy MacDonald.
A bit of lyrics; "But I'm here where I belong."

14. Careful - Guster.
"Ringing all the warning bells, careful you don't hurt yourself."
.

15. I'm Yours - The Script.
Lyrics, lyrics..

16. Rascal Flatts - God Bless the Broken Road.
There's this one line in it, I think it's "You were there, you understand" or something, which I find fitting :)

17. The Story - Brandi Carlile.
Cute song, kind of fitting.

There you go, =) I've got a rather special taste in music, haha =)

Thank you for reviewing.
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #12, by brunettelily New Times

27th September 2009:
that was very good. I love how you combined the two relationships into a profound moment.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm super happy to hear that you like it! I'm not used to writing this ship so it was a bit tricky, but I'm glad I did it and that you like it.

Thanks,
- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #13, by lilylvr New Times

27th September 2009:
awesome keep writing! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, it means a lot.

- Cathy


 Report Review

Review #14, by hopeprince New Times

27th September 2009:
Wow i really liked it
i always thought she gave in like this or similar to it at the beginning
im really not that into when it comes to other ships
so well done
it was nice
Hope

Author's Response: Thank you! :) It was, like it said in the AN, my first try on Lily/James so I'm glad you liked it. Though, I think that I might write Draco/Hermione just a little bit better ;D
Yeah, same here. I'm not that into Ron/Hermione and Harry/Ginny and Lily/James, but I'm rather fond of this little one shot.

I also have a Harry/Ginny-sorta, one-shot coming up called 'Empty' which is going to be a challenge to write! :D Wow, I'm rambling..

Thank you :)
- Cathy


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login