Reading Reviews for Open Doors
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by frenchy19 A Temporary Truce

20th July 2011:
This line:

"This person shall be your partner for the year. Exchanges are unable to be made, Miss Evans. Oh, we'll start simple. Sleeping Draught, please!"

So Slughorn! Good work!

I also really loved the tiny Lily thing. Written so well I totally wish I could ride around in James Potter's hood for the day.

T

Author's Response: -covers face in embarrassment- I wrote that, didn't I? Well, I'm glad I got Slughorn right at least! Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by frenchy19 Surprise to James Potter

20th July 2011:
Aww what a beautiful way to end this chapter! Tragic but beautiful.

(And now I've completely stuffed up the review I was planning because I'm feeling all warm and fuzzy inside. Otherwise it would have gone something like this:

Best part? "Years of careful observation." James grinned at her charmingly. It was a serious statement, covered and amended with a joke.

"More like stalking," Lily joked back.

"Okay, so stalking," he grinned cheekily.

Haha! Oh gosh I love how you write their banter! )

Ahem yes. And now I shall leave with my warm fuzziness in tow to read your next piece of brilliance. Yay!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it. I cringe in embarrassment at how I wrote it because my style has changed so much, but I'm glad you like it anyway. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cassie_Heart Is This What You Want?

6th June 2011:
I really like this story...I've never looked at it this way and I like it.*professional voice* my only advice is that you reread your chapters before you submit them and maybe if you could have someone else read them too. It would probably be helpful...great job and keep writing!

Author's Response: I can say I don't remember it much. It went through so many revisions (if you think these chapters need work, you should've seen the earlier versions), and it got to the point where I didn't care about quality, I wanted it to be over. I like to finish things I start; leaving it on hiatus forever makes me uncomfortable.

I do promise to go back and fix them one day. Just... Don't check out its sequel, okay? Because those aren't getting fixed.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by frenchy19 An Un-Lily-ish Event

6th April 2011:
This is a great start! (I know you've already completed the entire story so I sound like a bit of a douche saying so) but awesome first chapter. Sets the scene and the L-J relationship really well. Can't wait to read the rest!

T

Author's Response: Haha, it's okay! I feel like that when I review completed stories!

I hope you enjoy it, and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Fanifical Avoiding James At All Possible Costs

15th March 2011:
I read that last word and I was like NO. You absolutely HAVE to keep writing because I NED to know what happens during Christmas break! You should get Lily and James together or something! Really. I. Am. Dead. Serious. That was really good. So you gotta keep going and don't give up... I WILL be reading it!

Author's Response: Don't worry, it's on its way. Well, more metaphorically. I've had it written for something close to three years, and I'll get it up after I get my challenges in.

And, just so you know, I think you'll like the Christmas break story.

Thanks so much for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lillover It Can't Be True

6th December 2010:
oh god please write sooon
this is so good

Author's Response: I really am trying. No excuses, I just haven't gotten to it. I'm more focused on Until We Die at the moment, which I also haven't updated like a lameface, but I should this weekend, after my ACT.

 Report Review

Review #7, by kassandra466 Head Duties

15th September 2010:
ohhh snap!! sorry i just couldnt resist, that was so far one of the biggest mistakes that James has made!

Author's Response: It is the biggest mistake he makes, more or less.

Thank you so much for reviewing! It always brightens my day.


 Report Review

Review #8, by kassandra466 A Temporary Truce

15th September 2010:
haha! i LOVED it! that was AMAZING! : D

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by kassandra466 Surprise to James Potter

15th September 2010:
aweee! : ( poor Lilly, i did love it, it was amazingly well writen! : D

Author's Response: Poor Lily, but she is eventually okay. Thank you, I'm glad you thought it was well-written! I like to take my time with the chapters, so that was lovely feedback.

 Report Review

Review #10, by kassandra466 An Un-Lily-ish Event

15th September 2010:
awee!! i LOVED it! that was AMAZING it was AMAZING! : D

Author's Response: Thank you very, very much. I really do appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Luna65 An Un-Lily-ish Event

14th September 2010:
really good :) i like it alot.
10/10
~Luna65

Author's Response: Thank you. Very, very much.

 Report Review

Review #12, by couldyoureallyknow Horror on Halloween

30th May 2010:
keep going!! great story!! 1 million/10

Author's Response: Wow, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #13, by alexis0599 Is This What You Want?

1st May 2010:
you need to continue it

Author's Response: I am working very hard to continue it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by alexis0599 Is This What You Want?

1st May 2010:
you need to continue it

Author's Response: I will, I promise.

 Report Review

Review #15, by stag_in_a_field Head Duties

23rd October 2009:
:O:O
i love it XDXDXDXD

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Paloma Patil A Temporary Truce

21st October 2009:
I loved this chapter. It reminded me of 'Gulliver's Travels', which is one of my favorite stories.

I also like that Lily was able to appreciate the assistance James was giving her.

Well done.

P

Author's Response: I think I'll check out that story.

I tried to make Lily less of an ungrateful wench and to give her a softer personality. Of course, she gets angry and she has weird personality switches. But she's in mourning, and as she begins to adjust to life again, it will pan out.

Thank you much for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Paloma Patil Surprise to James Potter

21st October 2009:
Favorite line: '"Years of careful observation." James grinned at her charmingly.' My least favorite line came right after this: 'It was a serious statement, covered and amended with a joke.' That one seems extraneous. That's exactly what I got from the quote itself. They say that great writing is about showing, not telling. You've shown us in the first line what's happening in James' heart - you don't need to tell us, too.

The last part of this was great. I think James is realizing that he has to treat her with kid gloves this year.

I'm excited to read on. Well done so far.

Paloma

Author's Response: I do tend to reiterate... a lot. So I thank you very much for you kindly-phrased critque. I have future reference now and that's always a great thing. I'll watch extra hard for those!

I do enjoy my parts with Peter. He is going to be a lot more prominent than most people seem to make him.

I am very happy you want to read on. That's so encouraging.

Thank you dearly for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Paloma Patil An Un-Lily-ish Event

21st October 2009:
I really like the beginning of this. I particularly appreciate that you haven't revealed too much too soon, so that there are plenty of reasons to read on.

That's what I'm going to do right now.

P

Author's Response: Ooh yay! I always fear I'm moving too quickly, simply because I hate exposition. In original stories I write, I usually always skip the expostion and jump straight to the initial incident and things pick up as I go. I tried very hard not to do that in this story. So your comment was especially helpful.

Thank you so, so much. I'm glad you're enjoying it.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ames A Temporary Truce

14th October 2009:
I love this so much! Please update soon.

I love the shrinking potion twist, it is so unique I haven't seen anything like it :) Aw James..cute. Poor Lily! Her dad :( Please update soon!

Author's Response: I'll try. Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Siregulus_Black A Temporary Truce

12th October 2009:
Loved it :] poor Lily... I love Sirius' hilarious inability to keep his mouth shut or say anything halfway polite.

10/10! Update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I have plans to get one up this very night, if possible!

 Report Review

Review #21, by jameslover4ever An Un-Lily-ish Event

9th October 2009:
this was really good! its interesting too! hmm...i wondering whats bugging lily? oh well i guess ill just read and find out! keep writing!

Author's Response: Yep, it's all there in the next chapter! Thanks so much.

 Report Review

Review #22, by EnnaBellaPotter An Un-Lily-ish Event

8th October 2009:
A funny thing happened here. I like your story; it's quirky, clever, cut-to-the-chase good. But in a way, it sounds just like this chapter in one of my stories (an un-posted, futuer chapter), which is why I think it's funny (not literally of course). You're whole James being HB and Lily thinks he's lying and that Remus is actually HB is like exactly what I wrote to. But great minds think alike, right? Haha. Great start. Can't wait to read on.
Yours,
EnnaBellaPotter

Author's Response: Great minds think alike. Wow, that's weird. Good weird though, I think. Hey, at least we know that neither one is copying! That's a great plus! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by dark_princess91 Surprise to James Potter

6th October 2009:
i really like this story i hope you update soon!

Author's Response: I'm working on it! Thanks so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login