Reading Reviews for Emperor of Rome
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sachita how far a blossom falls.

23rd December 2011:
This was beautiful and so poetic. I loved the comparisons in this piece. Wonderfully-done. Happy Holidays :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by inkismyworld how far a blossom falls.

11th August 2010:
I loved this line: "Do you think," she started, "many people know what they are doing when they start the great adventures of their lives?

Overall a great story

Author's Response: Thank you! And haha, it's something I've often wondered myself, so I just gave it to Minerva instead. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sugarplum Fairy how far a blossom falls.

23rd January 2010:
this was a great read because your stile is superb

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lil lily71 how far a blossom falls.

14th October 2009:
oh dear i think I now have a wonderful new favorite ship. :D Kalina this was so beautifully written, I love your use of words and you write Tom and Minerva's characters so well.
amazing how quickly you reel the reader in. I love it!!
10/10

Lore

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, thank you so much, Lore! *hugs* I'm so glad you liked it! :)
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #5, by MajiKat how far a blossom falls.

26th September 2009:
GAH!!


firstly - thank you so so much for the dedication!! ILY too!!
secondly - WOW! yes, that wow deserves to be capitalised because this was so beautiful, yet it held a reserved quality of fear and underneath that, excitment. i got a rush while i was reading it, tingles up and down my spine.

i adored all the literary references - very clever and so spot on!! comparing tom to caesar = brilliance and perfect characterisation! but yet, he is such an Iago at times.

i love that you have taken a simple moment between them, simple actions taken by a young couple of the time (you write this era so well - this period in history) and written so much depth into it. that is what i love about your work my dear - you make the smallest things so meaningful.

as always, your description and imagery was excellent! i always 'see' when i read your words. you don't waste words and that is much appreciated ^_^

thank you again for dedicating this to me!! i love it!!
Kate xxx

 Report Review

Review #6, by Margravine how far a blossom falls.

25th September 2009:
Beautiful. The concept, the writing, the allusions, the banner, characterisation and ending. Brilliant ending actually! You set the scene so well, I could picture it all vividly.

It is a little difficult to reconcile McGonagall with your mercurial Minerva, but that could be just because I have my own, very different version of Min.

On the whole: 10/10!!

Author's Response: The beautiful banner is entirely accredited to the talented Susan (Violet @ TDA, Violet Gryfindor on the archives). Haha, I'm glad you could picture it! I have a tendency of writing exactly how I picture things, so it can get confusing at times. I'm pleased you like it!

Honestly ... I like messing around with canon quite a fair bit. I have a pretty distinct view of Minerva, and this isn't it, but I felt like writing her this way for once, because I never see her have the upper hand in a relationship, especially not with Tom. Or if she does, it's because she's a very prim character, and doesn't "debase" herself, for lack of better words, by associating with him.

Thank you very much for this lovely review! I've read "Ripples" - it's a beautiful piece of writing. Receiving a review from someone like yourself has totally made my day. ^_^

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Gryfindor how far a blossom falls.

20th September 2009:
Oh that ending! It was the cherry on the ice cream sundae. I was wondering what you were going to do with the association between Tom and Caesar (beyond the obvious tyrannical genius similarities), but that last line was really unexpected. Yet it's perfect. You set up Minerva to be a very powerful figure, stronger than one usually finds in stories about this relationship. She has the upper hand, in a way, and that last line emphasises this.

Though it's possible that I have it all wrong, because your Tom is both quick-thinking and almost passive here. I want to distrust him and his suaveness. You're brilliant at making him creepy, even while he's acting fairly normal (ie: not murdering or scheming to murder :P).

It's also amazing how simple the entire scene is, and how multi-layered their conversation is in comparison. They're talking about literature, but they're talking about something much more at the same time, delving into the complexities of their relationship. It's a perfect moment in time between them, and you don't need to go into the details of what happens before and after. And the literary connections were just fantastic to follow along with.

Another great one from your pen? excellent imagination (the latter being more literal and complimentary :P). It's wonderful to see the different ways that you're interpreted the characters and ship with each story. This story shows a more romantic view of them, which is rather nice to see in a ship that's usually quite dark and disturbing. Beautiful writing!

Author's Response: Ice cream sundaes are amazing, so I thank you for the comparison! Honestly, I thought I rushed the ending a little bit, but I couldn't think of any other way. Those last two lines came to me before anything else, and I really wanted to use them, but I couldn't reconcile them with the story. So I tacked them on. It's great to see that you thought they worked, though! :D And I wanted to write a fic with Minerva as the more powerful as the two. I feel like Tom had to step on so many people to get to where he was, and Minerva just wouldn't give in. So he skirted her.

Distrust him away. He is a slippery snake. I liked the idea of him in day-to-day activities: a day at Hogsmeade, walking back to Hogwarts. The image came very clearly to me and it seemed almost deceptive in its simplicity. So, you see, I couldn't resist!

I wanted to have the literary themes mimic their relationship. It's very precarious, on the edge of a knife, and, well, you know me. Give me some Shakespeare, some Wilde, and some Dostoevsky and hey! I'm on board!

Thank you so much for this beautiful review, Susan. It always makes my day, every time I read it. :) And you should write more Tom/Minervas! Sharing Fire was just so amazing.

Again, thank you! ^_^ I'm so happy you liked it!
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #8, by soliloquy how far a blossom falls.

20th September 2009:
Wow. This is a beautiful piece of work. I think if anyone convinced me of the Tom/Minerva ship - it would be you. I love the comparisons of him and Caesar. Your style is so eloquent, yet, at the same time, very concise and abrupt. I like it. I like it a lot.

The words seem to move together, like a wave and you've caught the reader - moving us back and forth, back and forth. It's a powerful thing, your words. I think when Tom grabbed her chin, shivers shot up my spine. I felt like I was intruding on something so personal - it just felt wrong.

Tom was so in-character. The things that he said, I felt, were very Tom Riddle-like. I like your Minerva - young, seemingly innocent but also not. She's smart, ever-changing like the moon. That's how I see them - ever-changing.

Another beautiful piece! I'm so envious at how you can flush these out - it's a really stunning piece of writing. The two last lines in the entire piece are my absolute favorites - because it ties the whole piece together. It opens and then it closes it off neatly. In a seemingly short work, you've unraveled bits and then you've tied them together at the end.

Wonderful. Good job ^_^

Author's Response: I think I love your reviews. You're amazing, you know that? ^_^ Have you ever read GubraithianFire's story "King Me"? Or Violet Gryfindor's story "Sharing Fire"? They are much superior to mine, but I'm very happy you liked it! *blush*

A wave? LOL! I honestly wrote this in an hour so I had no idea what their relationship was. :P I wrote it to celebrate all the new Tom/Minervas coming out - they're popping up like daisies all over the place!

Really? I thought he wasn't. XD At least, not compared to "For Such The Angels Go", where he rather scared me. Haha, Minerva was odd to write. This is a very odd one-shot, actually. If I may, I rather liked that concept, of ever-changing natures. The world is moving too fast for them to keep up.

Aw! *blush* I thought up those last lines before anything else, actually. Thank you so much for your lovely review(s), my dear. They make my day every time I read them. *hugs*

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #9, by TheSecretRiddle how far a blossom falls.

20th September 2009:
You just made me realize how little I know about classical literature. Brutus killed Caesar, right? (I feel like an idiot right now) You have a very good writing style though, and you even have some good themes even though it's a one shot.

Author's Response: Haha, that's more history rather than literature. :P Yes, historically, Brutus murdered Caesar with other senators of Rome. Hence the words "et tu, Brutus" (you too, Brutus) or, as in a variation "tu quoqui, mi fili" (you also, my son), as Brutus was Caesar's adopted son. Thank you very much for your lovely review! I'm glad you liked my writing style. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login