Reading Reviews for The Antidote
  
65 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Emcnary Death of a War Hero

30th July 2016:
Love this!!! I love that someone cares about Snape! This story has a great start and I'm excited to see more to come. Please update soon:)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Erica Death of a War Hero

26th July 2016:
This is a great start, I love Professor Snape! You reference more chapters, am I missing them somewhere?

 Report Review

Review #3, by forsakenphoenix Death of a War Hero

20th August 2011:
I'll be honest - I was a bit hesitant when I first saw your request because it was Severus/Hermione. I still don't know how I feel about it but since the relationship isn't a huge factor in the story yet, we'll see if it grows on me.

I think you did an excellent job describing the despair and devastation after the war. All the death and destruction. I felt Hermione's emotions which is always a plus when I'm reading a story like this.

I found it a little awkward how she went between calling him Severus and her Professor. It was a bit of a disconnect for me, I think. Perhaps you should remain consistent in what she calls him and thinks would flow better.

I felt bad for Snape because of how much he sacrificed and it makes me angry that Ron would call him a "greasy dungeon bat." Ron would know of Snape's sacrifices too I would think and would have a deeper respect for him. I'm curious though if Hermione will take that venom and blood sample and create "The Antidote" to bring Snape back to give him a second chance. :)

I also had trouble accepting the idea that Hermione would not stop to grieve with the Weasleys on her way to Dumbledore's office and not going to Fred's funeral. I get that she didn't want Snape to not have anyone there, but it just seems...not right for me. The Weasleys were like family to her and she spent summers with the boys so I just can't believe she wouldn't mourn with them at all. Also, Hermione staying in Snape's quarters is a bit odd too. I'm sure it's important to your plot but it just seems weird to me.

I think I noticed a few grammatical/spelling errors. I know at one point you didn't capitalize Teddy's name too. Aside from these issues, you had a fairly well-written, descriptive first chapter. Onto chapter two!

Author's Response: THank you so much for your input. ;) I know its not a usual start... but its just what I had to write when I sat down to do it ;) *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyL8 Death of a War Hero

14th August 2011:
Hello there. Im here with your requested review :D

Firstly, I have to admit I was a bit unsure when I saw your story. I have never read any store involving Snape before, and something always keeps me from doing it. I decided to give this shot, though, and I really liked it.

The scene after the battle was touching. Your description was so good that I was close to tears. I admire you for your ability to describe well, cause that is actually my main problem when I write a story. You really made it seem easy, though. I also loved how you were in character all the way. Hermione was so well-written and in-character that I believed what you wrote. I could imagine her looking at the dead body of Snape crying over him. It really was touching.

I really liked this start. Its the first chapter so you cant really say too much about it yet. I do believe this will be great story, though, since the start is so good. I really look forward to reading the next chapters, and I hope it will be as great as this one was. Good job and I see you at the next chapter. :D

Author's Response: I love love love that you gave it a shot. I know there is a lot of Sevmione's that give us Sevmione shippers a bad name... And that is my goal with my stories. Besides exploring my imagination... I want to make this ship proud, you know? Thank you so much for reviewing! *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #5, by Bellatrixlesrange123 Death of a War Hero

13th August 2011:
When I first read your request I was a bit unsure of whether or not I was ready to read a snape ship again, the last time it lefts quite distorted for a coupl of days as I found myself a bit to attached, haha, not to mention that I've never come across a hermione/snape ship before anyway.

But, i really liked it! Your ability to discribe the scene of the battle with so much emotion yet still be able to keep to the plot was really good and each chapter folded into the next really smoothly. You discribed everything to the right amount and I will deffiantly go on a read more!

Sorry this was so short but I'll do another detailed review if you want, I'm just trying to get this done for you without any more delay :D

bella x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I love that you have never come across a Sevmione before, but you liked it. There is actually a huge following for Sevmiones... We thank you! *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #6, by academica Death of a War Hero

11th August 2011:
Hey there! academica here with your requested review :) I appreciate you reading my rules carefully enough to detect my code word, but you should take care to remember next time that I also said that I primarily look at new stories and those with few reviews. This one doesn't really fall into either of those categories.

I liked the imagery used in this piece, and I liked how serious you made Hermione, because I think that fits into her character. I didn't notice any grammar, spelling or punctuation mistakes, which is always a plus.

I did have a couple of critiques. I would have preferred to get a little more backstory on the Severus/Hermione relationship. Perhaps that's explored in later chapters, however. My bigger complaint is that this seems a tad unrealistic. I have trouble believing that the staff would be so accepting and aware of a teacher/student relationship, and I also find it a little hard to accept that Hermione would so easily pass up her grieving friends, even in order to be with her lover. I would tread very carefully in the future with this pairing, both to make sure that it complies with the ToS but also to build up the relationship appropriately so that it makes more sense.

Nice first chapter, though :) Your writing flowed very nicely and it was certainly an interesting read. Thanks for requesting a review, and I hope my feedback is helpful to you!

academica (Slytherin)

Author's Response: Well as of now, even in my current 11th chapter... there is no relationship. There is barely a friendship. And this means she did'nt pass up her friends to be with her lover.

Hermione saw Snape being ignored... when many others would have been dead if it were not for him and his sacrifices.

Also, Hermione is over 18... so that takes care of any TOS issues.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #7, by taylorj828 Death of a War Hero

11th August 2011:
Hi there! It's taylorj828 with your requested review! You've got a very good first chapter, intriguing and sets a nice mood and tone, also very honoring and respectful to those lost in the last battle... It flows nicely from where we finished in the books. (o:

I liked the first scene a lot. And of all the characters we know, especially the students, I could see Hermione feeling this way about Snape, feeling empathy, sadness coming on as she realizes how much Snape sacrificed, and how he never found happiness. I think she alone of all the students and even most of the adults, would actually stop and take notice. Hermione has always had a way of seeing things a little more deeply, or stepping back (or forward), and realizing things that pass others by. Anyway, very realistic!

Again, I really like the first scene, well done, interesting, and it makes the reader curious about what Hermione's thinking of doing, about why she used the phial to collect Snape's blood and the snake's venom... Curious...

Also, it was a nice touch, using Dumbledore's full name as the password to the office. (o:

Severus was the last person in this room

Just an observation, but do you think she would really think of him as 'Severus'? Or at the very most, maybe Severus Snape? I'm just curious, because we've only ever heard the students refer to him as Professor or Snape. It's a quick jump that Hermione here, in her mind, names him Severus, whereas she doesn't name McGonagall as Minerva...

Hehe, the "hem" sound reminds me of Umbridge! *shudder shudder* But otherwise, you've done a very good job on Dumbledore's voice, captured him pretty well in my opinion.

Hm, Hermione was tentatively signed up for a masters in potions? Curious, are you going to re-visit why she did this? It would have been at the end of 6th year when that was decided, right? Harry was genius in potions 6th year, because of Snape's old potions book. Hermione would have been very frustrated... I just wonder if there's going to be more reason or if this is going to come up again later as something significant?

Well, very nice first chapter! You've got me curious. I don't know if I've ever read a Hermione/Severus, perhaps only 1. I'm actually dead curious to see what you do, but... I kinda wish Snape was alive. Hehe. (And silly me, my fingers are crossed that Hemione is going to cook up just such a potion to bring him back!!!) I think I can manage reviews for a few more chapters but I don't know if I'll be able to get to all the chapters just now.

Author's Response: I might actually change that part where she refers to him as severus... Hmm.

Thank you so much for your first very helpful review ;) *HUGS*


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aero Death of a War Hero

9th August 2011:
Though this is a rather uncommon ship, I'd like to say that you did very well writing it. The characters were believable and the flow of the story was quite smooth. Also, your grammar and spelling is quite nice. I couldn't find any blatant mistakes.

Author's Response: Thank you so much ;)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Phoenix_Flames Death of a War Hero

6th August 2011:
Hello there! I'm here with your review as requested! :)

So wow! This was a great way to start off a story that I'm sure will be wonderful.

This opening chapter was so moving and gripping. You pulled me into your story from the very beginning. It's an odd portrayal, really. Or I think in my head because there was always so much tension between Snape and all Gryffindors, but really you're right. Now that he true loyalties are out in the open, there is room for forgiveness and true praise. It's just so odd to see that change. :P

You did this wonderfully. I could feel Hermione's sadness, and it made me want to mourn for Snape.

Well, I don't know what you would like me to look at specifically because you did not post an area of concern. And since this first chapter has over 50 reviews I don't know how much help you need. :P So I'm just going to give you a general overview. :)

You spaced everything out perfectly. There was a nice balance between the end of the war and all the post war dealings and to the funeral. It was all very nicely done. There was a good flow with everything. The dialogue, actions, emotions, and descriptions were all mixed in there perfectly. Emotion was bleeding through every word.

Great job. :)

Forum Name: Phoenix_Flames
House: Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Very few people get what I'm thinking when I started this story. A lot of people jump to 'Where is Harry and Ron' or 'Why does she suddenly care so much for him?'. But that is the point of AU I think. It gives you a chance to pick up a thread and make a quilt lol.

As for what I need, anything you can give really. I know that this story has a good amount of reviews already, but every one counts for me. I'm not like a lot of writers here. I did'nt grow up writing short stories or poems etc... I found a Dramione story in Oct. 2006 that sparked a fanfiction flame. I started my first fic that dec. First thing I have writtern voluntarily. ever...

Anywho. It all helps. Thank you sooo much for your review. I hope that you will allow me to rerequest for the other chapters! *HUGS*


 Report Review

Review #10, by LunaLestrange Death of a War Hero

4th August 2011:
English is not my mother tongue but I really appreciate reading English. I have to say I'm totally astonished. The words you used to describe every space, every person, every feeling was absolutely amazing and I'm really curious to read more chapters. Well done, really *O*

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you very much. Its always an honor to read such reviews. Thank you! *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #11, by schoenemaedchen Death of a War Hero

22nd June 2011:
Hello there!

I'm here with a painfully, painfully tardy review. I apologize for the long wait--twas a new 60 hour job that threw a monkey wrench in my Harry Potter passion. Hah.

I find myself tonight with a rare bit of free time, and a will to do my review list right.

So, here's my review:

No, I haven't read Severus and Hermione before, but the idea is intriguing. I'll read anything, really, and if its well written its quite a plus.

Your story is well written, beautifully articulated and was pleasant to read.

Now, I'm really not a fan of AU usually because I'm such a canon fan. The only AU I ever fell in love with was an AU that felt SO REAL that it could have been canon.

If there is CC I have about this story, it is that to me the sudden "Love" of Sev from Hermione's point of view seems to come from no where. I think even a prologue would do great justice to this story, where small little tidbits of Hermione's past are pieced together to show kind of a "forbidden affection"...but then the rules with Teacher-student stuff gets a bit tricky, now doesn't it. Perhaps it could be a very recent development? I don't know, not an easy situation, hmm?

Another angle would be perhaps an odd or curious preoccupation with the death of Severus, which you've kind of presented here--but I personally think this needs to be more developed.

That point aside, and really, its more of my opinion that it is a point (hah) I do think the writing was lovely and to the fans who are not as picky as I am when it comes to AU, this is surely a banner piece.

Thanks for requesting. Again...sorry it was so late.

Best,
Katie

Author's Response: She actually does'nt love him at this point. She just respects him and really pitys him for how horrible his life was. Thanks for the review ;)

 Report Review

Review #12, by LovelyMioneWeasley Death of a War Hero

4th March 2011:
Hi there. Got your request from the forums to review. Sorry for the late pop over but RL has been quite demanding the past few days. But I was curious to see what your story would be like.

I have to be completely honest. I've never seen the appeal of a Severus/Hermione and rarely see how one could occur outside of Hermione flashing back to Maraduer era so your request intrigued me and made me wary. So I was just curious to know what appealed you to it.

My second comment is that everyone seems to be in character and you seem to do a pretty good job of handling the tense of atmosphere and giving believable plot explanation for all that is going on. My only disconnect is the interest in Snape's life and the distraught that Hermione displays over him. It just doesn't seem realistic to me, but I'm sure it grows and progresses and gets explained as the story goes. But for a first chapter, I don't think you reveal enough of why Hermione is so intrested in Snape.

All that being said, I think its clever how you have Hermione take care of everything and very clearly take some of the posion/blood from his body. Its very clear that Hermione is going to try to do something with Potions to save him and bring him back. By burying him, she knows his exact location and the exact spell used to bury him. All very clever techniques to help your plot along later.

As far as techincal issues go, you didn't capitalize Teddy when Harrry is going to bury Tonks with Teddy and Andromeda. You need to fix that; also I would reccomend some sentence variation. Watch how often you use complex, simple, and compound sentences to make your writing interesting.

I'm intrigued to keep reading so well done.

LMW

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I love Sevmione's because its like championing the underdog. Severus went through H in his past, and never got his storybook ending. Hermione, in my eyes, is an even better fit for him then Lily was. Its just... romantic to me ;) *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #13, by strawberrydarhling Death of a War Hero

27th February 2011:
Hi, it is strawberrydarhling here with your review :)

I must say, I loved reading this, simply because it is very different from anything I have ever read. Sev/Mione is one of my favourite ships and I am very intrugied to see how their relationship works out since Sev is dead!

I couldn't see any grammar issues however this line jumped out at me -

Harry had walked away from Ron to escort Andromeda Tonks and Little teddy to their seats.

-

because it should be 'little Teddy'.

You have set up a great little fic here and I would love to read more, so please feel free to re-request :)

strawberrydarhling

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I will be re-requesting. And thank you for the grammer catch... ;) *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #14, by electricfeel Death of a War Hero

26th February 2011:
Hi electricfeel from the forums here with your review (sorry it took a little while to get to it!)

I've never read a Severus/Hermione pairing before, so this was new for me. It's a really unique time to begin the story; after Snape's death. I can imagine that the story will be full of surprises and it's all very intriguing.

Your style of writing worked well and your descriptions of post-war Hogwarts were also well done. I especially loved the opening lines of this chapter, very eye-catching.

I do have a few issues though; first, the golden trio's friendship seems to have been swept under the carpet. I actually think that in such hard times, they would become closer. I don't think they should become merely faces in the crowd. Athough they were both mentioned, Harry's was very fleetingly and Ron's was done in a more negative tone.

I have my problems with this ship because I see it as completely unrealistic. I think you have to address the reason for Hermione's sudden infatuation with Snape. I read some of your earlier review responses and saw that you believed Hermione would fight for injustices (such as the way Snape died) and whilst I agree with this, there were many more injustices in the war. Take Lupin's death for example; all of his good friends had died and he had only just settled into the comfortable life that he longed for before it was snatched from him. So why did she feel more sorrow for Snape than Lupin? I think we need more information as to why she feels such grief for Snape, especially more so than her friends who have lost their lives.

I hope that makes sense and I hope this review helped :)

Author's Response: Well, in the world that JKR created, this relationship is unrealistic. But in the world of FanFiction where you can take the characters further then ever before, its makes complete sense ;)

As for the Trio going be the way-side, yes, I did that on purpose. When it comes down to it, I'm a new writer. So jumping into a story with so many characters to juggle while creating the main plot, is a bit too much for me. So that is why, after you read the first 6-7 chapters you will understand my sweeping the trio aside ;)

Thanks for the review ;)


 Report Review

Review #15, by writeyourheartout Death of a War Hero

29th January 2011:
Hello EchoLynn! I'm here with your review!

I'm immediately intrigued by this story: The opening paragraph is very grabbing and it's a great place to start a fanfic; right where the book left off, just about! And I love this line: "Severus Snape is dead; he will never get his chance." I've never really understood the hype about Snape, but that line really made me re-evaluate, it was so powerful!

After reading through the entire chapter, this is the conclusion I've come to: You have a good plot, an intriguing pairing, and a skill with words, but there is one thing that really concerns me, and that's the large number of canon plot holes I found. I find myself asking all of these questions that never end up being answered - questions that should have been answered in this chapter because it's directly following the books. Basically you need to let us know what parts of canon you're sticking to and which parts you're disregarding, otherwise we feel a bit lost and confused, making assumptions that may be completely wrong. Like, did Hermione and Ron kiss in this fiction like they did in canon? Do they even have a history of liking each other? What about Hermione's parents? Are they in Australia after having been obliviated? Because if they are, then why would Hermione be so obsessed with Snape - a man who's never been kind to her - that she would put sifting through his leftovers above finding her parents? And on a similar note, why exactly does Hermione care so much about Snape at this point? Has she even seen the pensieve? If the war just ended, when did Harry have a moment to tell her that Snape was actually a good guy? You're picking up where canon ended, except you aren't following canon perfectly, which is fine, but when that's the case, you need to let us know what from canon has stayed the same and what has not, cause I feel a bit lost; hence all the questions. Does that make sense?

Another problem I'm having is how quickly Hermione became attached (obsessed!) with Snape. I understand that you need her in this situation where she spends her summer in Snape's old room with his stuff, because it's your plot, but there was no building of her feelings. It was just taking off from the book, where she despises Snape, to this complete and total passion for him, stemming from seemingly no where! I just think you need a greater build up of her changing emotions; a bigger reason and a slower progression of her feelings. It's just such a sudden change that it feels unrealistic.

I feel like everyone is just a bit OOC, too. Hermione speaks no words to Ron or Harry, who are her best friends, and vice-versa. It's almost as if after the war, they no longer need that friendship, they no longer care about each other. I understand that Harry and Ron may not be in the rest of the story, but they are in this chapter, except she cares more about finding Snape's dead body than rushing to Harry and Ron! If you're going to be changing Hermione into a person who starts obsessing over Snape and forgetting about her two best friends, you have to do it much more gradually, smoother; not so abruptly, you know? And why didn't they come to her either? Then there's Dumbledore who's just too modern here, it seems - none of that mystical aura that, admittedly, is very difficult to capture with Dumbledore.

Everything that you have written already, though, is (for the most part) very good! You're a talented writer with an understanding of words, original ideas, and you can create clear visuals - these are all really important tools to have as a writer! It's just the holes that are pulling you down, that are making your writing look young and like you didn't put a lot of thought into it (which I know isn't true!). I read somewhere that this is only your fifth story or something, right? You're doing great for such a new writer, which is why I'm being so nit-picky, because you clearly have the raw talent, you just need a bit of refinement - a little guidance to know what to look for the next time you write or if you ever come back and edit this. Holes are your biggest enemy right now. Also, you make really, truly lovely descriptions. They lead to very powerful moments of emotions and also really great visuals. So you see, I know that you are capable of filling in these holes with a few extra paragraphs of background information slipped into the appropriate areas, because you have such a nice way with descriptions! :-)

This is a small detail, but I have to say that as much as I liked the funeral scene, I feel like the white tomb was for Dumbledore alone; I mean, the final chapter in book 6 is called 'White Tomb', so I just think it's special to be only his. But the rest of the scene was really nice!

"Taking an educated guess, she asked quietly, "Albus Percival Wolfric Brian Dumbledore?"" - This did bother me a bit. It just seems so unlikely that she'd guess on her first try, especially Dumbledore's full name. It would be such a simple adjustment to say 'After a few educated guesses, she finally landed on the correct password with...' Tiny detail, but it did stand out to me.

The exams thing doesn't really make sense. They've canceled entire exams for much less than the biggest war of the wizarding world; not to mention that the previous years teaching was heavily compromised by delusional teachers! So I just think the exam premise seems entirely off.

I think the ending was strong, though, with the teachers staying and Hermione's reasoning as to why she should move into Snape's old room. Smart choice, solid ending!

For the most part, this is a really good beginning. Yeah, there are a few moments that bother, but it's a solid start, an original idea, and a unique pairing (for me at least) and I do look forward to the next chapters! So I'll see you there! I hope this review has been helpful! Keep up the good work!

xTanya

Author's Response: Wow. That did make up for the long wait lol. Thank you so much for your words of wisdom... I'm taking it all to heart. ;)

 Report Review

Review #16, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Death of a War Hero

29th December 2010:
Hey Echo!

So, I know I promised I'd read the rest of MoD, but I figured I'd start here first. Probably because it has recently been updated.

Anyway, let me start by saying, this is so heart wrenching. Poor Hermione who wants nothing more than to grieve for her fallen Professor is left to do so alone. You would think that after everything Severus had done, Harry might have been there supporting her a touch.

What I really like about it, is the originality of it. While, I will confess, I don't read many Severus/Hermione fics (save yours), I find that I am particularly drawn to the story almost immediately. I want to know what she plans on doing to rectify the atrocity that was Snape's demise. Also, I am quite glad that she decided to remain at Hogwarts to sort out his things. It seems only fitting that she do so.

However, what I don't get (and maybe I will as I read onwards) is her adoration for Severus. It seems to have come out of nowhere, shocking both readers and the characters themselves. While this is not necessarily a bad thing, it just seems to me that I'm a touch lost in the sense of her grief being so strong.

Other than that, I found this chapter to be a fantastic read and am looking forward to reading more. I can't promise more reviews, but I will try.

Len

Author's Response: I picture the moment she went into full battle mode for the Houselves and that is where the start of this story begins, in a way. She say injustice for him. After everything that he gave up and went through, he was left alone in the Shrieking shack and ignored really. So that is where the sudden care came from. ;)

Thanks for reviewing Leanne ;) *HUGS*


 Report Review

Review #17, by Hermione Clone Death of a War Hero

21st December 2010:
Very good start!!!

I'm a little confused about why Hermione is so upset about Snape. I hope that this gets explained a little more as this story goes on. Not that I can't see her feeling this way, I love Snape/Hermione, but this kind of seems to come out of nowhere. That being said, I'd love to see where this comes from, and I am really intrigued to find out what exactly Hermione is going to do.

I'm really enjoying this so far!!! Great job!!

Author's Response: Well, I see Hermione as someone who see's an injustice and her mind goes into battle mode to fix that injustice. Remember how she just attacked the Houselve issue? There she was, seeing all the horrible deaths and injuries after that major battle, and while everyone was gathered around those bodies, she was just very much aware of the lack of anyone attending to snapes.

Thats how I saw it when I started developing this story. Hope that explains it for you ;)


 Report Review

Review #18, by orderofthephoenix Death of a War Hero

21st December 2010:
I love Sevmione so I'm really looking forward to reading this fic. :D

Author's Response: Thank you. I really enjoy hearing from fellow Sevmione admirers ;) *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #19, by Elliana  Death of a War Hero

21st December 2010:
Good first chapter... off to read the next one!!

Author's Response: Thank you ;) *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #20, by MidnightBlue_x Death of a War Hero

6th December 2010:
Hey There...

I'm ElysiumJayne from over at the forums and you requested a review from me back in October.

I'd like to aplogize for not getting back to you until now, I've been rather busy with school and such...Anyway.

This is a great chapter, I've never a Sevmione before, I've heard of plently but never read one :/ This is defintely interesting for me and I shall see you in the next chapter.

x Ely

Author's Response: Thank you so much. ;)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Reyes91 Death of a War Hero

4th November 2010:
Hey, it's Reyes here for your review.

I'm in no way a fan of Snape, even after his big "revelation" in the final book before dying. He's just this mean character to me, but this chapter works out since he's not in it. I do, however, like how you portrayed Hermione's grief through it all. It seemed very realistic. Well done with that. But I was a bit confused throughout it all. I didn't understand why she would be so caring for Snape (even though you did list this as a pairing between the two), and I didn't get why she would apply for an apprenticeship for Potions. But, of course, this is just the first chapter and you probably explained everything off in the next few. Still, it left me a bit confused while reading.

Again though, good job with creating the atmosphere surrounding the war and the fallen from it. It was very much real and deep. Well done.

-Reyes91

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. ;) *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #22, by slytherinchica08 Death of a War Hero

25th October 2010:
well i must say this first chapter has me a little confused because you have it seeming like snape is in fact dead i mean he was put in a tomb and everything so i'm not quite sure as to how this will all turn out. it is very well written though and a nice length. great job.

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thank you so much for readling and reviewing ;)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Elizabeth_Black Death of a War Hero

24th October 2010:
Hi! It's Elizabeth23 from the forums, here with your review :)

First off, I absolutely adore this story. I've only very recently discovered that I love the ship, and am totally addicted :P

This chapter is honestly beautiful. Your word choice is very elegant, it's touching and I can picture everything perfectly.

I thought Hermione's grief was very well written, for such a sensitive topic. I could connect with her and feel the sadness she felt at the number of deaths.

I thought it was very sweet how she wants to clean out Severus' rooms. When she said that she felt she owed him that, I honestly went "aww" :)

I also like how you haven't dived straight into Hermione falling in love with Severus - I think she sees the situation as more of a terrible loss that he died after all the good he did, rather than that of someone she loves. Well, at least, that is how I viewed this chapter, anyway :)

10/10 for this! *dreamy sigh* I love this story.

~Lizzie

Author's Response: *Squees* lol... Very Very Very thrilled by your awsome review! I'm soo happy right now. lol. Thank you for reading, reviewing and enjoying my fic! *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #24, by AbbeyAndEleanor Death of a War Hero

18th October 2010:
You really have put Snape in a different perspective, which I really love. At first, when I saw on your pairings that Snape/Hermione was listed I wasn't looking forward to reading your story because I'm not that fond of that ship.

But, actually, you've got me pleasantly surprised! The flow was good, the plot left you guessing and the characters were well in character.

Well done!

Review for the one you requested on NARIS' reviews.

Author's Response: Thank u so much. I love it when people give my fic a try, despite it being a Sevmione. Thanks for the awsome review! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #25, by Ravenclaw333 Death of a War Hero

18th October 2010:
Very well written. You've evoked the emotion, tragedy and even honour associated with the battle and those who died in it, and you've made Hermione's slightly unexpected reaction to Snape's death believable and understandable. Sevmione is an extremely difficult ship to pull off, but from what I've seen so far (which admittedly isn't much) you're managing to lay the foundations without making Hermione OOC, which is an achievement. One thing I would suggest, however, is that at least in the beginning, she would think of him as Snape/Professor Snape, as opposed to Severus. That is the only bone I can think of to pick, however. Good work, I shall read more :)

Author's Response: Thank you for pointing that out. I will take a look at that soon ;) *HUGS* And thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>