14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roots in Water I Stole My Brother's Broom

5th February 2012:
Tag!

I think that this was a really cute and well written piece. I certainly enjoyed reading it! I think that you did a great job with the characterization- I can definitely see the comparison between Ginny and Lily!

Lily herself was very well done- I could definitely see her innocence as well as her drive and fire. You didn't make her sound too old for her age, which was great. I think that you set the comparison up well so that it didn't seem as though you "forced" Lily to imitate what Ginny had done at a younger age.

It was also great to see the warm family atmosphere in this story. Lily certainly appears to have a good relationship with her parents and Harry and Ginny are very supportive of her, something that I'd always imagined them to be with their children. It would be interesting to see what her flying lessons will be like when she's taught by two very talented players.

All in all I think that you did a great job with this light and fluffy piece! It was a joy to read and a very interesting insight into their lives almost nineteen years after the final battle. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Knowing that you didn't feel as if the characterizations were forced is a relief! I'm always worried about representing my characters believably and interestingly.

Thanks!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #2, by prettywishes I Stole My Brother's Broom

31st August 2010:
This was a really sweet one shot, I thought it was great to get a little glimpse into the life of Harry and Ginny and their children. I especially enjoyed the relationship between Lily and her father, because I always picture her having him completely wrapped around her finger.

The fact that she was steeling her brothers brooms to practice, and the fear that she was expected to be really good, were really realistic things. I loved how much she ended up taking up after her mother, and how in the end her parents think she should get her own broom early. It was really adorable, and I loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks for such a nice review! I am glad you loved this piece! I had so much fun writing it, I am glad you found it realistic.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #3, by Kook I Stole My Brother's Broom

13th July 2010:
This is a great short story! I used to read and write a lot of stories like this because of my short attention span. You kept reasonably close to dialogue style in the books. If anything, you could describe the characters more- I'd love to hear more detail about a grown up Harry and Ginny :) Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! That's an interesting thought, though when I wrote this I wanted it to be all about Lily. It's her story to me and I didn't want to take away from her.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle I Stole My Brother's Broom

10th April 2010:
So sweet (: Simple, but sweet!

Author's Response: That was exactly the purpose! Short and sweet! Thanks!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #5, by Yoshi_Kitten I Stole My Brother's Broom

13th January 2010:
Hey! I'm here again to review for you for winning the challenge!! Since you said I get to chose, I went with one because I really liked the title and Summary! This was such an adorable one-shot, it really was! I love seeing Harry & Ginny grown up together and I loved viewing the world from their daughter's eyes!

The only thing about this that really threw me off was the bit about Lily being a blond. I mean, I really don't see how that is possible, when her parents (and both sets of her grandparents) either had red hair or black hair. Even the girl in your banner's hair is red, so that just part just confuses me... But other that that spot of confusion there though, this one-shot was really good! I think you have given us a really nice insight into the Potter's lives with this, and your characterizations of everyone was really good!! It was cute, simple, sweet, and very believable as well!

Way to go hun! I really do like your writing style, and I believe that I am slowly becoming a fan of your work, lol!! 10/10 :)

Author's Response: I completely understand your confusion, and honestly, I expected someone to mention earlier, but your the first. I am a very visual person (one of the reasons I rarely like movies based off books I have read) and that tends to be how I write. I imagined this character and had all this happen, with Lily II in mind, and for some reason she was blonde. I have no clue why, but I couldn't help it. Also the girl in the banner does have blonde hair, at least to me, it just has some darker highlights. I am so glad you picked this one and enjoyed it! Thanks for the review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #6, by tbhasker I Stole My Brother's Broom

29th November 2009:
Hi again! I love this story! It's cute! I think this could be continued as well. Maybe a flash-forward to Hogwarts where she's trying out. Something along those lines. Up to you! There were a few grammar mistakes I spotted, but over all, it was very well written! :) Great job!

Author's Response: Hmmm another good point and a great idea about her tryouts. I will have to play with the idea for a sequel... Thanks! About the grammar mistakes, if you ever read another one of my fics again point them out!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #7, by readerwriter4ever I Stole My Brother's Broom

27th October 2009:
SO SO SO cute! I love it when lilly is constrewed as mischevious!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, for the sweet review, and just for taking the time to read and review in the first place!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #8, by kaylag12 I Stole My Brother's Broom

19th October 2009:
Love the story,how do you put the banners on your stories?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! About banners, I request them over at the Dark Arts and they have a really good tutorial for putting them on your story summary. I can't post the link here, but if you go through the HPFF forums, then help needed section, Banners & Graphics, (your now on TDA site), then banner requests and its a "Sticky" under that last section. Hope that helps!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #9, by ollieb I Stole My Brother's Broom

18th October 2009:
aw so sweet :)
its a really nice fic, short and sweet.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #10, by fall_for_you I Stole My Brother's Broom

11th October 2009:
I liked this story! It was simple, and I enjoyed seeing Harry as a father, and the similarities between Lily and Ginny. Though I would have preferred if Lily had red hair like in the book, I thought it was good that you showed Lily having that bravery and spunk that Ginny has. Keep writing :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the sweet review, and just taking the time to review at all! I am so glad you enjoyed reading it.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #11, by Cedrics_gurl I Stole My Brother's Broom

6th October 2009:
Hey! :) It's me, from the forums!

I'd just like to start off by saying how much I loved this - it's cute, simple and...well...so much fun!

I mean, I loved Harry being a Dad, he's so cute! :D One of the best things was the way you wrote in present tense, which I find really difficult to stick to, so well done for that!

Even though the story is really short, it feel "right" if you know what I mean, not forced. The only thing I noticed was this one thing: They said I was too little, a entire year younger then Ron...

That should be "an entire" rather than "a entire". Yeah, it was picky, but every little helps, right?

Other than that, I loved it! Feel free to request again!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this lovely review. Thanks for pointing that out too, your right, every little thing helps! I am so glad you enjoyed reading this!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jackson Robles I Stole My Brother's Broom

27th September 2009:
I usually start out with grammatical errors I spot--puts a damper on the review, but I promise I'm trying to help.

Your first sentence is a hefty run on. Speaking it aloud would help to fix it, at least, it helps me.

In your fourth paragraph, after Lily stops speaking you've got another one of them there run-on dew-hickeys.

That was it, besides the erratic capitalization and uncapitalization of Dad (dad). Not really that bad at all. Go betas!!

And onto the story.

First off I like the verb tense. Present tense stories are a welcome break from the monotony. (ever try reading a future tense story? ...I swear it's the most trippy thing ever)

Lily is adorable. You do a grand job of writing her. Harry is a loving father and I could tell Ginny was wonderful to their kids as well. I like this excerpt from their life.

Pure fluff, and I do enjoy reading that as well! Thank you for requesting me, as I wouldn't have found this story otherwise!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for everything, even the grammatical errors I want them pointed out for sure! About dad/Dad isn't Dad when it is a proper noun like it's there name "Hey, Dad," and then I think dad is when it is just a noun, like "my dad is,"? I think that is how I learned it back in 5th Grade but there is a huge chance I am way off. About future tense, I have no clue how I could make that work, it would take me awhile. But an interesting idea.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lucie321 I Stole My Brother's Broom

27th September 2009:
I think that was so FANTASTIC. You should write sme more stories about Harry, Ginny and their kids!

Lucie321 xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You just started my day out wonderfully. I am into a Next-Gen writing mode at the moment, so there could be more coming. THanks for taking the time to review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #14, by hplover_15 I Stole My Brother's Broom

19th September 2009:
I really liked it, it was fluffy and funny

Author's Response: Thanks, so much for reading and especially for reviewing. That was pretty much exactly what I was going for!
:) BaletGir


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login