Reading Reviews for Cross Your Fingers
  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Quiet Girl The Opening Practice

30th September 2011:
Oh, this story has me laughing! I wish there was more posted! :) I'm entirely amused on how consistently self-centered Ron is in your story, such as when he complained about having a hard life is at the beginning. You have a good talent for making me laugh at the best spots. And this story is still getting more and more interesting. As for Pansy, I love it how Ron refuses to see anything nice about her while he seems to be in the process of falling for her. But I noticed in one of the earlier chapters that sometimes Ron thinks of her by her first name, but in this chapter he's thinking of her by her last name. I dunno, just something I noticed. But don't worry, this chapter wasn't bad at all, promise! :)

Author's Response: I didn't even notice that! I'll have to go back and do some edits.

Anyways, I'm glad you find the story interesting! I'll definitely try and update it sooner rather than later. Thanks for your reviews! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by The Quiet Girl In Which the Elusive Parkinson Shows her Face

30th September 2011:
Before reading this chapter, I had the idea that Ron will eventually fall for Pansy. And by the end, it might yet be a true prediction. Ron is still a bit thick when it comes to girls, isn't he? Well, at least he acknowledges that he's not a deep thinker like Hermione.

Yay! Harry and Hermione made an appearance! I think Ron's interpretation of his own life it a bit biased since he's narrating (hes still funny to listen to!), but I have a feeling he might 'grow up' throughout the course of this story. Oh well, time will tell.

As for Pansy, I don't really see her as being the Death Eater supporter that she was when she was a student. She seems to be all-business. Hm, she's really interesting. You've given this story a great direction, and I can't see where you go with it! Next chapter!

Author's Response: You might right about both things you've said about Ron ;) Both Pansy and Ron go through tremendous character growth, in different ways. This story is ridiculous, yes, but there's definitely going to be a lot of change by the end of it.


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Quiet Girl Spicy

30th September 2011:
This chapter had me smiling a lot, and giggling a bit! Loved this chapter! I just love your Ron! I kept smiling at all the fantasies he had in the chapter, getting lost in thought when he saw Cornish with her things. Not to mention that I giggled with Ron's plans to get rid of Parkinson with a broomstick.

Getting back to Ron (because hes the only character who's been in the spotlight so far), he seems to have a one-track mind, doesn't he? I find it . . . interesting. But I'm a little unsure what he means with 'trauma rate.' *shrugs* Oh, and just to make another thing clear, Mr. Shah is a Muggle, right? Just making sure. Yay, now to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Aw thank you! And yes. The characterization of Ron is chauvinistic, womanizing, and incredibly arrogant as a result of being second best all the time, but it's meant to be a sort of satire or caricature and not to be taken 100% seriously. It is first and foremost a humor fic that has an aversion to realism.

I can't explain trauma rate in a 12+ way, but yes, Mr. Shah is a Muggle!


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Quiet Girl A Chat with Walpole

30th September 2011:
Great first chapter, I really want to read more right now! :) But first, I'll review. This story is funny and seems like it'll be a lot of fun in upcoming chapters too. My favorite line? "Pansy Parkinson had filled the spot of the Chudley Cannons press secretary. Kill me now." Such thoughts so early in the morning? Merlin, I love this line!

I like your interpretation of Ron in this AU. Not so much for the language, but I loved it when Ron screamed at that spider! Totally ruined the Snape-like vision you created for him! :) Now time to read the next chapter to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Haha Ron himself is definitely a bit far off in this chapter! I'm glad you enjoyed and thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by DarkLadyofSlytherin The Opening Practice

15th August 2011:
Here I am with the last of the reviews (since you haven't any more up).

This was such a lovely chapter. Pansy and Ron's interactions at the end made me smile. Eventually he'll realize he's madly in love with her and want to shag her too. Of course, I expect that it might take Ron a millenia to realize this, as it is Ron and he is a bit daft.

Nothing nitpicky for me to say on this chapter (yay!) and I'm sure when you get more of it written, it'll be just a fabulous. Good luck writing it!
Len

Author's Response: It won't go exactly like that :P But thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed it ^^ I'm currently a bit blocked with this story, but more chapters will come as soon as I'm inspired.

 Report Review

Review #6, by DarkLadyofSlytherin In Which the Elusive Parkinson Shows her Face

15th August 2011:
That last line made me laugh. It was such a Ron comment to want to know what happened to Pansy's nose. It had me cracking up.

Fabulous job on this chapter. I felt Pansy was definitely in character with her snide attitude towards Ron. I wish we saw a little more of Hermione and Harry, but I'm sure that'll come eventually. I sorta feel bad for Hermione if she ends up with Percy of all people. Lol.

Anyway, looks like I have one more chapter to go, so I'm off to it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! As for Hermione and Percy, we'll see :P And there will, of course be some more Hermione and Harry, but it will always be in small doses. Still, they'll definitely step up when the time comes.



 Report Review

Review #7, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Spicy

15th August 2011:
Me again, with review number 2.

I really thought, that while Ron had other motives behind taking to Beatrix, that it was rather sweet of him. It sort of showed who he is, but only in a slight way. I mean, he really is looking out for himself in this chapter, which is a shame and not at all Gryffindor-like.

I'm not quite sure about the Spice Girls thing at the end, but over all, I still enjoyed this chapter. I'm off to the next. :D

Author's Response: I mean, Ron really was being nice to Beatrix and obviously is very fond of her... but despite him being a Gryffindor, you can't expect him to put other people's feelings over his own. In the books, there have been plenty of times where Ron hasn't done that at all! He does care about Beatrix as a friend and he does wish her the best.

Glad you enjoyed :) Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by DarkLadyofSlytherin A Chat with Walpole

15th August 2011:
Hey!
Poor Ron is not having a very good go at convincing his boss to not hire Pansy. I feel bad for him, but I rather like that it won't be easy for him either.

This made me laugh at times. Though, I will say that the part where Ginny is waking Ron up was a bit odd to me, but otherwise I enjoyed the beginning of this fic.

Granted, Ron is a bit out of character, but that is to be expected with humour fics and where they are AU from the books anyway. I still liked it dispite the OCCness and the like.

I'm off to read the next chapter,
Len

Author's Response: I'm sorry you feel that way, but it was my way of introducing the premise humorously without being boring. As for Ron, being OOC, his true colors will eventually show themselves, but in a way it's a progression of his character and the effects of fame. My Ron has a bit of a complex from being Harry Potter's sidekick all of those years, and hence his ego is a bit wild. He's still goofy and Ron-like, but in a different setting with a different set of circumstances. We always see Ron wanting to be the best at something, to one up his brothers or Harry and to break out of the sidekick role, and I feel like that's what Ron is doing in this fic. It is an AU, and it's not meant to be entirely serious, a type of 'crackfic' if you will.

Still, thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed ^^ Off to respond to the others.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Hyenni The Opening Practice

11th August 2011:
this wasn't a bad chapter! don't be so hard on yourself, i enjoyed it (:

i loved Ainsworth. she's the textbook definition of psycho young journalist, and i loved how you wrote her. i was expecting some Rita Skeeter copy, but Gemma's a million times worse than her Aunt :') at least Rita Skeeter couldn't seduce information out of anyone.

i can't wait to see Ron and Pansy socialise for a bit longer! maybe they'd actually get along (;
Hyenni101, Slytherin (:

Author's Response: I'm glad! It was the first in a year, so a bit experimental, but if you liked it, then I'm happy.

Also very happy you liked Ainsworth, though I am unsure of where I'll fit her in next. Also am happy she's worse than Rita! That in itself is a compliment.

Anyways, them getting along is some ways off, but it's coming! Thanks for all of your lovely reviews, Hyenni :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Hyenni In Which the Elusive Parkinson Shows her Face

11th August 2011:
you do seem to have a great way of ending your chapters. that last line about Pansy's nose really just killed me with laughter. of course Ron of all people would be wondering about her nose.

(also, just a side note - the idea of Ron as a ladykiller really cracks me up. it's not unfeasible, but - ah, compared to canon Ron from the books, this version of him is hilarious.)

Pansy is a right little madam! i'm assuming she and Ron aren't going to be the best of chums. and i, like him, am dying to know what's gone on between her and Malfoy - will he be showing up? because, lord, Ron meeting Malfoy would be a meeting and a half. and probably pretty funny as well :')

another good chapter!
Hyenni101, Slytherin (:

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! Sometimes it's a struggle trying t end the chapter, but sometimes it comes easily and this was one of those times where it came easily. Ron isn't a very introspective person, I don't think, and I don't like to pretend like he is.

And isn't it a bit funny? I suppose anyone whose a world famous wizard and Quidditch star has the chance to be a ladykiller, and unlike Harry, Ron goes for it!

She is! Very sassy, I like her. Malfoy will certainly be making an appearance as well.

Thanks for your review, Hyenni! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Hyenni Spicy

11th August 2011:
hahaah, that ending just made me laugh. it was so unexpected. can i just say that Mr. Shah is fabulous and I want him to be MY new best friend?

i'm still trying to get over the he said, as quiet as a mouse:
"Scary Spice is my favorite."
i don't know why, but it just made me laugh.

Harry, Hermione and Pansy are coming? I can't wait! Ron's definitely grown up a bit from the books, so i'm highly curious to see what your versions of the other members of the trio are :p

Hyenni101, Slytherin (:

Author's Response: I think everyone that's reviewed this chapter wants Mr. Shah to be their best friend!

I reckon that my Ron has a bit of a complex after years of being the sidekick, as well. Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Hyenni A Chat with Walpole

11th August 2011:
an intriguing start, that's for sure (;

i love the idea you've got going here - it's definitely very original, and if I do smell the Ron/Pansy 'ship in the air, then it's even more unique than i first thought. i've never actually read a Ron/Pansy, so no pressure, but you're my introduction to the 'ship :P

i can't wait to read some more - i'd love to see how your incarnation of Ron interacts with people. i'm also curious about where Hermione and Harry are, and just generally, i'd love to know some moe about his character (which is pretty solidly built so far XD).

so, i'm going to read on and try and find out some more (;
Hyenni101, Slytherin (:

Author's Response: You do, in fact smell a Ron/Pansy ship in the air. I'm willing to share that much! :P The rest, you'll just have to wait and see, I'm afraid. It's a bit on the Ron-centric side, but there's still a bit of Pansy.

Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Bookworm045 The Opening Practice

7th August 2011:
Ron is so full of himself it's hilarious. I seriously love him and Pansy and Hermione (she taught him a big word!) and Harry and Ginny. But mostly Pansy and Ron. They're awesome. I love them. And I very much adore this story with a whole lot of my being-fibers. This story puts me in such a good mood it's a bit creepy, yet I still wish to read it because it's. So. Bloody. Good. Update! Please?
-Katherine045/Slyterin

Author's Response: I think he has a bit of a complex, after years of being the sidekick. Thanks so much for your kind words... I haven't planned an update for this as I'm still planning it out a bit, but I'll try to get one up reasonably soon :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Bookworm045 In Which the Elusive Parkinson Shows her Face

7th August 2011:
I love how his main interest is her nose. But I, too, would like to know what happened to her nose--was she just 'pug-faced' because the books were in Harry's POV? She. Is. Bloody. Amazing. In. This. Chapter. I love her. So blunt and rude and sarcastic and mean and lovely. I want them to get together now, her and Ron, but at the same time, I am so excited for the incredible arguements that are sure to happen through out the story. Hermione and Harry seem wonderful to though, even if they seem as if they're gonna be minor characters. Great chapter, I really enjoyed it!
-Katherine045/Slyterin

Author's Response: Nope, there's a definite story! It'll be coming in a few chapters. Many arguments will ensue as well. Harry and Hermione will definitely take a bigger role as it progresses, but this fic is definitely Ron-centric in nature. Glad you enjoyed, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Bookworm045 Spicy

7th August 2011:
Ahahaha, this was short, but it was funny. I love Mr Shah already, and Ron is just so adorable it's hilarious. Yes, I want to see Pansy and Harry and Hermione, but at the same time, it would be strange if you just introduced all of them at once. This thing is really well written. I am very much attatched to it already. Lovely chapter!
-Katherine045/Slyterin

Author's Response: Adorable? That's a new one for this Ron! I'm so happy to hear that and thanks for another lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Bookworm045 A Chat with Walpole

7th August 2011:
Ahahaha, I love Ginny and Ron's relationship and his ridiculous response to her saying Pansy after his question. This is actually really well written, and I'm only surprised because It's really hard to write in a boy's point of view, and you've got it down flawlessly. Ron is such a loveable person in this. And I really want to meet Pansy! I love this chapter, it's so amazing. :D
-Katherine045/Slyterin

Author's Response: Haha not so hard... you just need to know boys but I think it helps that I have a bit of a masculine energy (or so I think) Thanks for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by KittyLuna The Opening Practice

4th August 2011:
I love this story. It's quite funny! I always had a hard time writing in Ron's POV but I def. can see this. Continue please when you can.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! :) I certainly will, I'm very motivated to write, the only problem is the long list of things I always seem to have waiting for the queue.

 Report Review

Review #18, by BJMJOOO The Opening Practice

4th August 2011:
Another good chapter! I'm thinking about writing about a descendent of Rita's at some point, when all my other fan-fics are done.

Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks! And I definitely think you should, that's a fantastic idea.

And yes, this will definitely be updated soon, I've got everything outlined out and I'm trying to write a chapter a week... validation is another story though, because I'm not a TA.


 Report Review

Review #19, by BJMJOOO In Which the Elusive Parkinson Shows her Face

4th August 2011:
Another great chapter. Ron is one of my favourite charcters and I love humor fics. So this ticks all my boxes! XD

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that this fic really works for you :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by BJMJOOO Spicy

4th August 2011:
Another great chapter! I'll promise to review all of them!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm looking forward to it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by BJMJOOO A Chat with Walpole

4th August 2011:
Great start! Really funny 11/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Anonymous In Which the Elusive Parkinson Shows her Face

17th December 2010:
Hey there (: I read this a couple months back, and I really really loved it. I book-marked it, but I was disappointed when it was never updated. It seems like a really great story and I encourage you to continue. I found it funny, interesting and although it was only 3 chapters, they're probably some of the best Harry Potter FanFiction I've read. I mean it (: So please please please continue! Good luck!

Author's Response: I definitely will! You can expect an update very soon :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by toothpick In Which the Elusive Parkinson Shows her Face

30th May 2010:
I like how timid, or actually, normal, Harry is compared to Ron at the moment. I guess Ron still has issues from being so insecure when they were younger. Percy/Hermione is actually a good match personality wise.. And I like what Ron said about the three of them in the beginning and how they were jealous of him. xD

Well, a pug nose can still be a good nose. People keep wondering about her and Malfoy (who sounds like a loser), but people do break up when they dated around their age. But that is their last memory of the two of them. I too am curious what happened to her and Malfoy, though.

I really like the style of writing. I want Ron Weasley to narrate my life. x)

Author's Response: Ron's... Ron. Only way I can describe it, really. And hm, maybe Percy and Hermione are. We'll see, about that, and Malfoy! I have all sorts of hilarity in store there. But yeah, thank you, I appreciate your kind thoughts and review :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Kenna In Which the Elusive Parkinson Shows her Face

29th May 2010:
Oh-My-GOD:

Best Ron story EVER.

KEEP WRITING!

Author's Response: Of course! Thanks for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by iCrucio Spicy

14th January 2010:
Mr. Shah, i want you to be my best friend too :)
This chapter is as great and funny as the last one, i'm eager to see when Pansy comes in and what Ron says.
I can't wait to see more of this story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I might entirely scrap this chapter though. We'll see /:

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>