Reading Reviews for A Love As True As Ours
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lilypotterfan123 A Pleasant Surprise

25th July 2011:
This chapter was so sweet! I loved it and I can't wait for more on this story, Remus/Tonks is such an amazing ship and I've never really read one quite like this, which makes it even better because its like a new perspective on it. The characterisation of both of them is really great, especially Tonks.
LpF123 :D

Author's Response: Aw wow! Thankyou! I really love this story, it's got some of my favourite things I've ever written and I need to kick start my muse for an update!

I always try and stay as close to the characters JKR wrote, and I always think Tonks had so much room for growth, she's great to write, it feels so natural writing for her :)

Thankyou for another lovely review :) Looking forward to reading many more in the furture!!

LGE


 Report Review

Review #2, by lilypotterfan123 Bittersweet

25th July 2011:
This is the first of 20 reviews because you won the older songs challenge! This first chapter was beautifully written, there was a lot of description and it was great how quickly you changed the atmosphere without it causing the story to worsen. The contrast of emotions was great and I loved it so I can't wait to read more :)
LpF123

Author's Response: Yay! I'm on a real high after reading that news! Thankyou so much! Looking forward to your review on that story!

Aw thankyou, I wrote this at about 3am when my muse was being cooperative lol! I'm so glad you felt the emotion was believable and that you enjoyed it :) Looking forward to more reviews!!

LGE


 Report Review

Review #3, by StEpH_M A Pleasant Surprise

16th July 2011:
I am back!

Ok, so I am so glad you wrote this chapter about the engagement cause I have always wondered how they would have done it, whether they would have eloped or Remus had it all planned out or was it in fact Tonk who proposed. I love how you chose Remus to propose and that he had the ring on him, it made me think that it was something he carried all the time which is so sweet.

I like how you showed how much they loved each other through out this chapter, it really gave the characters depth and allowed me as a reader to understand Tonks and Remus's feelings better.

And the family I just have to say, love Ted in this chapter and how Dora's family are happy for them, even though Andromeda can't get over the fact that Remus is a werewolf she is not letting it effect her daughters happiness and shows though it that she really loves her daughter.

The writing is great as usual, but the third last paragraph has some grammar mistakes that you might want to look at.

Otherwise another amazing chapter and I look forward to more when you get round to it.

~ Steph ~

Author's Response: Aw :) Your reviews really do make me smile!

When I took on the challenge and started this story I always knew it would be a sort of untold story, JKR never really told the ins and outs of their relationship :)

I always thought that once Remus was over his intial worries for their relationship it would move incredibly quickly and I'm glad you found that believable :)

They have always been a couple very much in love to me and I'm so pleased I managed to get that across and gave them a depth :)

Aw :) Ted reminds me of my dad/grandad a little and I loved writing him. Andromeda was a little harder, and I'm so glad you think I got that balance ok :)

I'll check those mistakes and I'll try and kickstart my muse again!

Thankyou for a lovely review!

LGE


 Report Review

Review #4, by StEpH_M Bittersweet

14th July 2011:
So I have to say your writing style is great, it really makes your work come to life while reading it.

The way you have set the scene shows that the surrounds weren't that important but that it was the dialog that mattered and the connections between Remus and Tonks. You made it so that people were not distracted by setting the scene but imagining how Tonks felt throughout your chapter.

You also brought the characters to the reader in and made Remus exactly how I always pictured him, worrying about his problem and assuming no one should be near cause he is to dangerous. Tonks, it was lovely to see things from how she might see them, seeing as how you don't see much of her side or inner personality in the books, it's good to see the love she willingly shows for Remus.

Overall a very well written chapter, and a very nice story about Tonks and Remus before their sad ending.

Author's Response: Aw hun :) You're really making me smile!

To me, having had many discussions similar to this with friends in the past, when you're in that 'zone' you couldn't care less if it's torrential rain or a hurricane, you just want to say what needs to be said and get a response, and that is what I was trying to do here. As much as I could have padded out with detailed descriptions, to me it just didn't need it :)

I love Remus/Tonks, and it always killed me that they were never together for as long as they should have been, and I want to try and get that across throughout the story, but I love writing Tonks, she's rather like me in a way, but I always see her as a woman who, once completely in love loves completely, if you get what I mean :)

Looking forward to you reading more, I may get the old notebook out and write some more of this is my muse will play! Thankyou :)

LGE


 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8 A Pleasant Surprise

19th June 2011:
Wow.. It was just so simple, yet so sweet.

I was actually crying. (I am quite sensitive)

10/10 :D

Author's Response: Aw! I didn't mean to make you cry, honest ;)

And a wow! That really made my day, truly! I love to hear wow when people read my work, gives me an urge to go off and write some more :)

Thankyou for another lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyL8 Bittersweet

19th June 2011:
This was so sweet. I could imagine this happening.

I loved this. It was so realistic.

10/10

Author's Response: Aw thankyou so much :) I really do love this story and I want to do it justice which is why I haven't updated in so long!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it and thought it was realistic! Writing emotions is always hard, especially to make it believable :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by theelderwand A Pleasant Surprise

28th December 2009:
With this chapter it seems there's more unsaid than said.

This line was particularly sad and underlies the point:

"Although she knew he was now hers, she still had a foreboding feeling that they would not remain together for long."

And again, with Andromeda:

"Andromeda withdrew into her thoughts. Although she appreciated how happy Remus made her daughter - and that was clearly visible as they gazed at each other in her kitchen -- she simply could not forget the fact that he was a werewolf."

This IS going to come up again, isn't it? I suppose its a stupid question. No angst, no story.

You can feel it, just out of site all the way through this chapter. Maybe stoke it a bit more. A glance here, a subdued but troubled smile there. But you've captured it.

I've favorited this tale and will be waiting expectantly for new chapters!

Author's Response: There will be a lot of angst to come, afterall, we all know the way their tale ends, and what is included, we have Remus being off with her once she finds out she is pregnant, we will see her parents views on that too. You know me, I like canon so much I can't bear to write anything that isn't lol! But as it's only a short story (or at least that's all for the moment) I'm having to be careful to keep it concise, but I love this ship a LOT more than I had imagined I would and enjoy writing them so much I may have to extend it slightly, but we'll see :)

Thankyou for reviewing, and I will owl you when I have chapters written to save you having to check for updates :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by theelderwand Bittersweet

28th December 2009:
Lily,

This is amazing. The anguish in the begining is palpable. Best line in the opening:

As she thought back over the incident, she realised now that it was not grief she was feeling, but rejection. He had removed any small light of hope that she would ever be with him. She began to allow herself to wallow in her loss, but barely had the sobs begun to form, when she heard a rustling in the woodland surrounding her. She could not make out anything - but it was dark, the only light a faint glow from the moon, taunting her from its lofty perch amongst the stars.

Excellent bit of prose, this is.

There fight was good, powerful. I might put in some more contractions to make it flow more naturally and perhaps a few more exclamation points, or mentions of slow simmering hurt. But its very, very strong.

Now this was simply exquisite:

They kissed with a passion which spoke of desperation, urgency, danger and of a love so deep, so meaningful, that it appeared to them both, at that moment, that they were inseparable and indestructible. When they finally broke away, they continued to hold each other as though afraid of breaking the delicate bond by which they were now entwined. They sat together on the sofa, gazing into each others eyes, with each gaze saying a thousand words that were long overdue.

Love is one of those things that's hard to write, even if you've experienced it. Especially the longing and pain of a love strewn with obtacles.

I think you've managed to capture it here.

Fine work!

Author's Response: I'll respond again cause the computer glitched on me lol

Thankyou so much for all the encouragement you have given in this review, and in owls :)

This was really the first attempt I'd ever made at doing something with angst or love or any real complex emotions to write so I'm really happy that you liked it :) And when you say it's fine work, it must be cause the standard of your writing is exquisite :)

Thankyou, and apologies for the lost response, darn technology being glitchy :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by InvisibleWitch19 A Pleasant Surprise

26th September 2009:
I liked this chapter as much as the first though the fact that it was validated a while after my first review intrigues me.

Anyway, the characters' portrayals here fit perfectly. You make me feel like Remus and Tonks are really meant for each other here. Her parents' reactions to their love are also accurate to what they really should. The plot is interesting; I can't wait for the next chapter.

I didn't find any errors and I'm still holding on tight for the next chapter so keep up the amazing work!! :)

Author's Response: It was actually validated quite soon after I think but I noticed a typo lol :)

I'm really glad you like the way I've written them, and that you understood the whole 'meant to be' aspect I was going for. I tried to make it subtle and not overly romantic as I don't think either of them were like that.

The reactions of her parents were actually based, in part, on the reactions of the Trio in PoA. With Ted being a Muggle born, he wouldn't have had the anti werewolf nonsense drilled into him, but Andromeda would have, and my beta was a star at this point letting bouce ideas off her :)

I'm glad you didn't find any errors, and as soon as it is updated I will drop you a line so you can come review agin :)

Thanks for taking the time to review :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jackson Robles A Pleasant Surprise

24th September 2009:
That was good as well.

No minuscule problems with this one, I promise. Just a 'I hope you keep writing because I really like it'.

Oh...well, there was a single grammar problem. Third paragraph I think, it starts with ' and no one's talking yet.

I do enjoy this story, I promise!

Author's Response: Yay :)
Another good review :) Your boosting me up so I'll write more, aren't you :p

I will keep writing, I just have to switch between this and my other fic, as well as write a piece for another story challenge I'm doing so you will get updates, I have the next chapter already written in my head :)

Oooh, thanks for spotting that grammar problem, you must have very sharp eyes!

I'm glad you are enjoying this and it really makes me smile to think people like what I write :)

Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Jackson Robles Bittersweet

24th September 2009:
Too romantic? BAH! That was lovely.

My secret is that I love love stories. Well, obviously it's not a secret on here, but I kind of search for them. And LOVE them.

So long as they're well written, of course.

And I know I don't need to tell you that your story is well written. You articulate their feelings wonderfully, and it makes me smile.

There were no real problems with your story, only one thing that I would rework. And it's extremely small, but it sounded strange to me. I want to stress that I'm not nitpicking at all! (I keep getting that accusation when I review)

It's right at the end of Remu's reply to Tonks, I think the first time.

"...I'm not - I'm not good enough for you. You deserve better and I don't deserve someone as good as you."

He's saying it, and it's not out of canon at all--I don't know enough of Remus to say that. It sounds like him, sounds like a person too, until the last sentence. I think it sounds strange... 'You deserve better', okay. 'and I don't deserve someone AS GOOD AS YOU.' He said he wasn't good a second ago...

I'm debating deleting this whole thing. It's not like he should say 'as amazing as you' or something, but... 'as good as you'...

That's it. I'm ending my tangent.

This story is wonderful. I'll follow it to the chapter!

Author's Response: Thankyou for your wonderful review :)

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story and don't worry about going off on a tangent, I do that lots, and I must admit, I really debated that line too lol

But wonderful? Seriously? Now thats brightened up my day :)

Thanks again for the lovely review, and I can only apoloigise that I didn't respond sooner :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by InvisibleWitch19 Bittersweet

23rd September 2009:
Hey, I'm here for the I-forgot-how-many-day-late review you requested. :D

I love the intense romance here but you're on the brink on being overly romantic. Don't worry, it's really written so well; I love it. I read a lot of Remus/Tonks but haven't read one in about two or three weeks so it's good to get started again: with a GOOD fic this time. Characterization is brilliant while the plot is exciting, excellent!!

Fortunately for you and your beta, my prying eyes didn't find any errors at all. I wouldn't have bitten you if I did find one, anyway. Haha.

Keep up the good work! I'll be waiting for the next chapter!

-Bree-

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for reviewing :) and don't worry about it being late, if it was I never noticed :)

I was really worried about the romance but I'm glad it was too sickly. And I am so happy you think this is a 'GOOD' Remus/Tonks, looks like I picked the right person to review :)

And I'm so glad I have the plot and characterisation sorted :)

Thanks for the great review, it made me smile (lots) and my beta will love to hear that there aren't any mistakes :)

Thanks again


 Report Review

Review #13, by XslowlyXfadingX Bittersweet

21st September 2009:
A bit too romantic for my personal taste. But greatly written none the less. I'm really liking your initial ideas here and I can't wait to see where exactly you're going with this fic. I haven't really read any Tonks/remus fics and i like the drama and emotion you evoked in this chapter. Very tense conflict too. I'm loving it so far.

And as far as i can tell there aren't any grammar of spelling errors. You're beta has done an amazing job. So congratulate him/her for me will you?

Well done really. That's about all i can say for now. I'll definitely be watching out for the next chapter!
-Nat

Author's Response: Thanks for a wonderful review!
I just sat down and it kinda flowed from the pen, I was shocked when I looked back at how it came out! I've never read any Remus/Tonks, or even written one before this so i'm really happy with it :)

I will congratulate her for, she will be delighted to know she did a good job as my stories are the first shes betad on and she is a real star :)

The next chapter is currently waiting for validation, it should be up either tomorrow or wednesday I think, unless the queue has changed again :)

Thanks again for the review, it's a real boost to me to know you are enjoying it :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login