Reading Reviews for Somewhere Only We Know
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marciabarcia Somewhere Only We Know

2nd June 2010:
This is really good! You really were able to convey Dom's feelings!

xoxo
~Marcia

Author's Response: thank you so much! I tried :)
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #2, by Noc007 Somewhere Only We Know

4th January 2010:
Here's the review you requested!

Okay, here are a couple of things that I both enjoyed and noted as I read through your story:

" Today, the heavens are poignant; theyíve opened their gates and are pouring forth all their regret and sorrow down onto the world below. The rain patters softly against the forest floor, and the willow tree stands tall amidst the downfall."

- This very first paragraph is very poetic in sound! You have outstanding descriptive abilities that not only appear in the paragraph but throughout this story. This is a great way to catching the readers attention!

- I cannot exactly pinpoint to you the parts as it appears in the first half of the story when Lysander speaks. All I can say is that first half, his way of speaking sounds very formal. I'm not exactly so sure if it is the words he's speaking or the way you written them but the tone is clearly formal. Since he's speaking with a close friend, I don't really see why he should have that way about him. Unless that's his way of speaking?

- I must admit that I enjoy the way Dom expresses her feelings in this first half but I can't help but feel its being exaggerated. I
understand Lysander is a very good and close friend and that gives her an excuse, but, I still feel its a wee over dramatic. Of course this is entirely my own opinion.

- I really liked this part:

"You know what thatís called, petit Dominique doux? Soulmate; ‚me soeur. You see, mon litte l'un, Teddy and I were born to be together and thatís the way itís always been, the way itís always gonna be.Ē

Not only because it sounds so wonderful but, in a way, it seems there's a connection between this and what Dom has -whether she noticed it or not- with Lysander. I will like to call it foreshadowing.

- This:

"But sheís really moving out for good, and itís the least I can do to put on a happy face at the wedding, and tear up and make a heartfelt speech like the perfect Maid of Honor that I need to be."

Sounds so much like a puppet - she's there yet not there. Wonderful way of expressing how she's feeling.

- In the latter part of the story, I notice a change in the way Lysander speaks. The tone he's using is suitable for the situation he's now in. Perhaps, this is due to the fact that he's much older - even if it had been five years since he last seen Dom.

Overall, I really enjoyed this one-shot of yours. You have a wonderful writing style when it comes to the POV of a character. You really do get down to describing each feeling and scenery so well, the reader can just imagine it in their minds' eye. Do I consider your story fluffy? No, I find the end fitting. The only negative things I can say about this story is the way Dom expressed herself in the very first half of the story; I found it too over dramatic but this is likely my own personal opinion and others might see it differently. Then there's the way Lysander spoke in the first half; as I've said, I cannot give you the direct words that paint it but the tone itself sounds too formal.

Well, that's all I can say for now. Great job!

- Noc007

Author's Response: first of all: thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for such a long-winded and well-though-out review. it means a lot! even if I had to request it! it shows a caring, dedicated reviewer and I appreciate you taking the time.

all of the problems/issues you addressed have opened my eyes to the un-flowy-ness of some parts. your splendid descriptions of how I can fix them will most certainly help me! I thank you for that. I will try as soon as I can to get those fixed, because you have brought to my attention how awkward some parts are!

once again, thank you so much. I truly appreciate you honesty. and I'm glad you enjoyed it for the most part!

~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #3, by electric blue  Somewhere Only We Know

11th December 2009:
I love that song and I really liked this. Great one-shot.

Author's Response: thanks so much :) it's one of my favorite songs too!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #4, by lovelyinsane Somewhere Only We Know

9th December 2009:
Hi there! So sorry this review took, wow, one month! =X NaNo has taken it's tole on me...anyway here it goes!

I really liked it. At first, I was skeptical as to what would happen, but then when you went to Teddy and Victorie's wedding, it was kind of predictable but in a good way. The characterization that you give Dominique is really good, and I like the way you play with her emotions. She sounds like a love-crazed teenager, like every girl around that age.

In your request, you wondered about the description. I think there is less dialogue, which can be good or bad in some situations. I think in this it was good, because like I said before, you played with her emotions and added enough dialogue to not make it too boring.

Thank you for requesting this, and sorry again for taking so long! I loved it, a very good read! Great ship too, never thought of them.

9/10
-lovelyinsane aka torrentaldownpour :D

Author's Response: thanks so much :) and a thanks to you for considering my challenge!!
I'm so glad you liked the story. Yeah your right Dom does seem like love-crazed, doesn't she? But you're also right that she should. Aren't we all? :)
thanks again!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #5, by Laugharama_llama Somewhere Only We Know

21st November 2009:
Hello! I'm here with your review form the forums!

I thought you did a great job with this! It was very detailed and sweet! You described the setting and each scenes and Dom's emotion's very well! I loved that Lily portion! Hahaha, I have three older brothers - I know how she feels..

This critcism is a personal issue, so you don't necessarily have to take this into account. I didn't really like how Lysander kissed Dom. I feel like the whole "girl gets upset/nervous and starts to babble, then the boy interrupts/stops her with a kis" is a little cliche. From your description of their relationship and Lysander, I would have expected him to do it in a shy sort of way. For example, say they were talking about how they never see each other anymore or something serious and then he softly kisses her. Because I feel like he was unsure about his feelings for her, so the kiss should have been unsure too (because he initiated it).

The other part that bothered me was when Lysander is answering the question about why he left. I feel like the dialogue was a little bit too speech-like and uninterrupted. In that little spiel, you didn't include any of Dom's emotions until he was done. I feel like those are important in long spiels because it breaks it up and makes it feel less like one huge thing.

Other than that, I think the story was fantastic! I'm sorry if it feels like this was a lot of criticism, but I honestly did like it. 9/10!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, first of all :)
So after re-reading the kiss at the beginning, I discovered that you're absolutely right - it's a bit cliche. I think I will probably revise that particular part in the future, so thanks for commenting on it.
And yes - Lysander did sort of 'make a speech', didn't he? I've always hated that about my writing, how I can't seem to make dialogue less 'speech-like'. But I promsie to revise that part, as well, in the near future.
Thanks so much for pointing both of those things out. You really opened my eyes!
Thanks again,
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheTenthWeasley Somewhere Only We Know

12th November 2009:
Loved it, it was sweet and moving. x

Author's Response: Oh, thank you!
I'm so glad you enojyed it.
Thanks for reviewing,
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #7, by dracos_hotter Somewhere Only We Know

31st October 2009:
Hey, here from the forums =)

Firstly, I'm glad to see it's a song I know and like. Yay!

The wedding thing... Personally, I think you could tie the August 15th chunk into the wedding, as an introduction. It seems a little random, just sitting there. It made no sense whatsoever to me to include it until I saw the wedding was the scene of their reunion of sorts.

Grammar and puncuation wise, it was near perfect, with a few problems surrounding dialogue, but that could easily be fixed.

You said you wanted me to focus on your possible over descriptive work; I don't think it's too much, it's just right. You know where to stop and start, and that's great.

I like this piece, it's pretty and light. Keep up the great work!

xE

Author's Response: First of all, thank you for the review! Your feedback will help me a lot.
I'll look back at the wedding part and the August 15th chunk. As of right now I'm not too sure what you're talking about (to be honest!) but once I look back I promise I'll consider your suggestion.
I'm so glad you think the description was just right. I was hoping it wasn't too overwhelming. And of course any author strives to be punction-error free, so I'm glad I'm close to that! :)
Thanks again for the review! I'm glad you liked the story.
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #8, by Miss Lily Potter Somewhere Only We Know

27th October 2009:
Hey. Here from the forums with your review.

Wow. I really, honestly enjoyed this. (: It was sweet and heartwarming.

However, I do think that there was too much description. I like action, more then description, so I'm partial to like that better, but I have to admit, sometimes it was a bit tough to read, as it was SO full of detail.

That aside, I liked it. (: I love romance, and this was the perfect romance for me. It had an unpredictability that I haven't seen much, what with Lys leaving and such. The ending was a bit cliche, yes, but with romance, what isn't?

I love Dom, she was so sweet and a believable character to read, not to mention enjoyable to 'listen' to. So good job on that. :D

I really enjoyed it. (: Feel free to request for another story. (And sorry this review is so short, I'm a bit rushed for time.)

-Jasmine

Author's Response: First of all, thank you for the review. I needed the feedback!
I do understand that there is too much detail. I know that when I write I tend to over-flourish, and that's just a habit I need to overcome. So thank you for mentioning it. I'm going to look over the story and see what I can change to simplify the descriptions a bit.
Thanks again so much for the review! I'm glad you liked the story :)
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #9, by harrylilyjames Somewhere Only We Know

26th October 2009:
Hey!
Here with my review :)

I just have to say I really like the beginning with the poem, it was nice and started the story lovely.

When Dom is having her rant about thinking about him, it seems a bit too much, normal people[lol, that sounds wrong :p] wouldn't ramble so much like the way she did, plus she was crying so would either give up when she got too out of breath or he would of stopped her beforehand.

I don't get her comment 'This is a new beginning. But it's an end, as well, whether I know it or not.'- she does know, because she's thought of it. I think you meant something along the lines of, "wether I wanted to believe it or not"- which makes more sense.

Really liked the fact you made Vic talk in French, that was a nice touch.

Awe, the way you described Victoire's and Dom's relationship was sooo darn cute! I wanted to hug her.

He's a scribe?? Omg!! That's sooo sad. :( But how did his parent's homeschooled him, what did they teach him if he's a scribe? They were both magical, so most likely didn't hace a clue about 'muggle' subjects.

Just a little thought for you...would it not be better as a short story? So you could add in parts of the the years he went without him and how she tried to love someone else, but how those relationships fell to pieces. Just an idea, because it skipped a lot of time. [5 years!]

I must say, that ending was just beautiful. Really liked it. Overall it was a lovely story and really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: Wowee...thank you for such a dedicated review! It was truly extraordinary to read!
Alright. First things first.
I understand your comment about the rant. I'll be sure to look over that part and maybe re-word it. Thanks for pointing that out.
Dom's comment on it being a beginning and an end 'whether I knew it or not' was because she didn't know he was going to leave, but I think your comment makes sense as well. I'll be looking over that as well.
I tried to make the story authentic with the whole French shabang and what not :)
Yah I felt bad for Lys, too. I think it would be pure awful to be a squib in a magical family. I guess there is some confusion there with the 'homeschooling' and all, but I think I'll just leave that to your imagination, because I think it would take too long to explain.
And I'll be sure to think about your short story idea. It's something to think about, you're right, because five years is a long time.
I liked the ending, too. :) Thanks for the praise.
Again, thanks so so much x's a million for the insighful and thoughful review. It meant a lot!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #10, by E Somewhere Only We Know

23rd October 2009:
Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. This was just great. I love this song, that's what drew me to your one-shot. I like the whole Dominique/Lysander pairing. And your description was very good. I don't even think I saw any spelling mistakes which is great because this site is infested with bad English. Anyways, this was just to say that I thought this was fantastic. Really. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. The song is one of my favorites, and I try to make my spelling/grammar mistakes as minimal as possible. So I'm happy to hear that you didn't spot any!
Thanks for reading and reviewing,
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #11, by brunetteweasley Somewhere Only We Know

18th October 2009:
Hey, it's brunetteweasley for the review you requested.

I have to say, I love the imagery and metaphors you have in this story. It's really special when the author takes that time to really add in little nonce's that make the story different from the rest.

I also loved how you portrayed Dom and Victoire's relationship. I have read many stories where they hate each other, so I am glad that you wrote her more like a confidant. And Teddy made me laugh, with his over enthusiasm.

And, the relationship between the Lysander and Dominique was very organic, and not forced. And the symbolism to the willow was fantastic, how after Ly moved away, the tree died. *I* nearly died.

Overall, this is one of my favorite song-fic I have read.

Fantastic work,
brunetteweasley

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you!
That is exactly the kind of encouragement that I need! I really appreciate it.
I was hoping that I'd potrayed Dom/Lys well. I was afraid of doing it wrong just because it was a ship I wasn't too farmiliar with, but I'm glad you thought it was good.
The willow tree sympolism was my favorite part :) thanks for the praise of it.
Well, you've officially made my day. Thank you for taking the time!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #12, by ClearCutDiamonds Somewhere Only We Know

10th October 2009:
All right, so first off I need to apologize for taking so long to actually review! And thankyou so much for being the only one to actually go through and write my challenge. So, you're automatically the winner :)

Anyways, onto the actual review... Wow, you so totally took what I gave you and wrote this amazing one-shot, better than what I would have done with it, no doubt. I was listening to the song as I read and oh, my gosh, both together are great. I love the excerpts of lines throughout the one-shot.

You're a great author, you write description so well. The characterization of Dominique was very well done, considering you said you hadn't previously been familiar with her character. I think you wrote a fabulous Dominique/Lysander.

I loved reading every part of this, it really shows how much effort you put into it. I'm so thankful you went through everything and wrote my challenge.

Reading this makes me love the song even more and now every time I listen to it, I'll think of this. Your use of imagery is perfect, I could practically picture everything. So, thankyous and expect to see my reviews for your other stories :)

Author's Response: Wow, wow, wow. Thank you so much! I never expected to get that much praise. It's absolutely an amazing feeling.
Here's the thing: I'd never written a challenge before, as you know, and I wanted to make my 'debut' challenge the best, because I wanted to prove to you as well as other people that I could take it seriously. I spent a lot of time on SOWK, and even had other people edit it for me, just to make sure it was as good as it could be. In the end I thought it ran a little long, but as long as you liked it :)And then I got this amazing banner and I'm just so happy right now.
Your review has a) made my day and b) definately encouraged me as a writer. So thank you! I truly appreciate the feedback. And you're welcome for doing the challenge. I don't know why no one else came through, because I think it was a great challenge and your music was pretty amazing. Somwhere Only We Know has to be one of my favorite songs now!
Thanks again for all you've done:)
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #13, by somewhere only I know Somewhere Only We Know

9th October 2009:
hey ennabellabeast. love the story. i, as of now, WILL this story to be advertized and instantly popular. enjoy. you're welcome!
lol if people knew how amazing your story was the internet would experience technical problems because so many people would be on HPFF at once reading it.

Author's Response: I love you! You make my life what it is, SOIK! Thanks again for catching my MONUMENTAL spelling error! I'll fix that ASAP!
~EBP


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login