Reading Reviews for Lights Will Guide You Home
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lumos_knox Fix You

9th July 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the House Cup 2014 Event Five review.

I think that you got across so much in so little in this story. There's so much emotion and power packed in here that it's really effective and a great read. I think you captured the war aftermath perfectly. The devastation afterwards would have been massive especially for Ginny who's just lost her brother Fred. I think what she needed was Harry and he was there for her, just like he was before. Your description is one of the many strong points in here. You were able to make even the littlest thing sound great in here. And of course, the Great Hall, I think it was clever to have the four tables to symbolise normalcy and everything that was before, even though we know it's not the same.

Thanks for sharing this,

Lauren

House Cup 2014 Event Five Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by HarrietHopkirk Fix You

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

This is so moving! I enjoyed your descriptions of Harry moving through the castle, before it ended on a rather hopeful tone. There's still a lot to deal with though - just because the war has ended does not mean there's nothing to face now. Yes, there's a certain sense of relief, but there's also grief and loss to deal with. That relief and eventual happiness comes at a heavy price.

The Harry/Ginny moment was really well-handled. You focused more on the grief and loss aspect of both the characters, and that became the main focus of the story. But still, it was nice to end on this comforting note, the two of them coming together. Very bittersweet, that they come together out of so much pain.

You were very concise and it worked really well. There was so much conveyed in so little words and it came across very nicely. The flow and rhythm was very good.

Overall, a lovely little one shot. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection Fix You

7th July 2014:
Awww, this ended up having a sweet ending filled with love and hope. I don't really read a lot of Harry/Ginny, but this was an enjoyable read.

I think you did an excellent job describing the effects of war, both during and after. For many people, surviving the war is actually one of the hardest parts, and you did a great job relaying that to your readers with feelings and emotions.

I particularly liked the part about how Harry never really conquered his fears, just swallowed them and kept on going like he had to.

Very well written.

--- House Cup 2013 Review ---
Pretense Of Perfection, Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #4, by Roots in Water Fix You

18th July 2012:
This was a very interesting and true story. Sometimes it's hard to realize that the end of war does not end all the suffering that's occurred and allows the grief that was previously suppressed to flourish. The line "The pain they must face is the inheritance of those left behind" expresses this idea beautifully.

I found it interesting that the Great Hall was repaired when Harry entered it- I would have thought it would still be broken from the battle that occurred in it, especially since it has only been less than a day since the end of the battle. However, I suppose that the house elves might have been able to repair it, to try and restore some order back into their lives as well as the lives of the people in the castle that they serve.

The line about how Harry was able to sleep peacefully last night while being so troubled this morning was an interesting, and truthful, idea. It makes sense that he was so tired last night that he was able to sleep without problems and that now, slightly more awake, he is unable to ignore his problems.

I also liked the idea of Harry comforting Ginny, something she definitely needs after the death of her brother and her friends. However, I'm a little uncertain about the use of so many different descriptions of Harry Potter because nothing was included about their brief relationship and it made it seem as though they were almost strangers, something they most definitely aren't.

All in all, I think that you did a good job exploring life immediately after the end of the second Wizarding war and it's true that whatever happens next will be bigger and greater than just Harry and Ginny.

 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne Fix You

14th August 2011:
You wrote this brilliantly! I could see it all clearly in my head as though it were a movie, the words you used and the way you wrote them was amazing.
You got the pain and suffering Harry went through really well and I really enjoyed the last sentence.
Fix you goes so well with this story, and I'm glad that it inspired you. ( i love that song)

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #6, by baletgir Fix You

23rd December 2010:
Before I even began reading this I got very excited, I love Fix You! I fell in love with the song this summer when it appeared on So You Think You Can Dance. I think it is great that you found inspiration in such a wonderful song. Also, the every word counts challenge!! Oh my! I cant even imagine trying to limit to almost 500 words (and Im not one for very long one-shots) never mind EXACTLY 500. That just amazes me, so congrats on accomplishing that, it is truly its own feat in my opinion.

I loved how you began this piece, flat out the truth about war and the end of it. It was blunt but a perfect opening. It began a perfect progression and flow from beginning to end. And speaking of the end, it was very sweet, if I may dare to describe it as so. I guess bittersweet would be a better word, but I feel that is such an overly used word, but it does seem to fit here.

I think Fix You as inspiration shows through, especially toward the end. I know/assume that Harry is now going to proceed in trying to Fix the entire country/magical world, starting with Ginny.
Great Job with this, I really liked it! Happy Holidays!
:)BaletGir

 Report Review

Review #7, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Fix You

2nd January 2010:
Okays, will have another attack of this for commas and the like that seem to have escaped me first time round.

Anyhooo, this was just as beautiful as the first time I read it. I wouldn't have thought that 500 words could sum up the aftermath of the battle but I was sorely mistaken. The grief and pain were depicted brilliantly and it felt extremely real.

I must also give you a HUGE amount of credit for the Harry/Ginny aspect. I think it's another moment that is so perfect and that could have gone on and on but in the word limit, you managed to make it poignant and gentle, and that is far more important than anything else.

I adore, just on a side note, how very few people used dialogue in the entries for this challenge and I think, especially here, that it really adds to the horrid calmness of the situation.

In two words: simply excellent.
xx

Author's Response: LOVELY. You are quite the comma guru, one day you shall reach my very high standards ;).

Am very glad you enjoyed it, my lovely. Hahahaha, I had NO idea what I was going to do when I signed up for the challenge, but it was a little difficult to shove it all in in 500 words :P. I'm thrilled that you think it was well done though, MAINLY BECAUSE I IDOLISE YOU. OMG. PWRS IN REVIEWING MEH.

I went through a bit of a phase where I seemed to write these two subconsciously XD. I'm glad you think so, this is the first time where I've properly been inspired by a song, so it could have gone very wrong!

Yes, me too, it was really lovely to read through. I ADORED so many of the entries for the challenge.

THANKS LOFF, FOR THE REVIEW AND THE COMPLIMENTS ^_^.

Jane xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ravie_girl29 Fix You

19th October 2009:
i really really liked it

Author's Response: I'm glad that you did! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review ^_^.

 Report Review

Review #9, by TwilightPrincess Fix You

22nd September 2009:
Hi! So sorry it's taken me so long to look at this, but I really loved this! The idea of war is one that's written about often in stories, and I have to say, it never gets old. You took an interesting spin on war here - I like that you ended it with a bittersweet scene of Harry holding Ginny in his arms. The war is inevitable but they can at least have that one last moment of peace.

Your writing didn't sound like it was choppy - it didn't sound like you were trying to mash a story into 500 words, which I encountered in a lot of the other entries. I love the flow of this. =)

Thanks for taking my challenge! I hope you enjoyed yourself ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Hey, Ilia!
Don't worry about that at all, it doesn't matter, Lol. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! That's very true, especially in HP. War is a very prominent theme, but I never once became disinterested in it in the series. Thank you, I've got a bit of a problem, which is that I always end up putting some hope in even in a terribly depressing story. I'm really happy that it worked here, but I've got to strive to make sure I don't become repetitive.

I was a little worried about the flow and I'm so thrilled that it's coming across well!

I enjoyed this challenge immensely. Thank you so much for issuing it and then stopping by to read and review. It's very much appreciated.

Jane


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jellyman Fix You

20th September 2009:
JANE. What a beautiful story ♥

For 500 words, this was really fantastic! There were some really strong, lasting lines in there and I must say, I'm a little jealous :P Harry was brilliant, the setting was heartbreaking and overall, the writing was amazing.

My favourite lines: The pain they must face is the inheritance of those left behind.
Even if there was it is doubtful that they would ask any more of the Chosen One; he has already given them all he has and so much more.

Splendid.
10/10! (ILY)

Author's Response: GEORGIA. What a beautiful heart shape!

-Blushes- Thank you very much. I'm so thrilled that you thought I made some impact with this piece, as I really enjoyed writing it! Also, you are insane! There is nothing here to be jealous of Georgia. You are utterly fab. You, my dear, are far too nice to me. No wonder Jack is the way he is... You know what I mean :P.

Thank you! I adore it when people quote things and I get all smiley and silly... :P.

ILY MORE!


 Report Review

Review #11, by RonsGirlFriday Fix You

13th September 2009:
OMG. Jane.

How can only 500 words bring me close to tears? How, I ask? I have no idea, especially since I don't cry often when reading. But I loved this, and it was deeply moving -- I think you accomplished exactly the point of Ilia's challenge, which was to say a great deal with very few words. This piece said so much, and every single word had an impact.

This is the kind of thing that makes me love Harry/Ginny. I'm a H/G shipper, but I don't generally read many stories that make me feel passionately about it. Dare I say it, this one-shot made me feel more passion for H/G than the actual HP series did (I don't mean to blaspheme against JKR, of course!)

I don't even know if I can describe this properly. This one-shot really channeled the epic feel of HP, and you applied it so nicely to Harry and Ginny's relationship that it really shows their love as an epic love -- it's the perfect new beginning for Harry after everything he's been through. I've read a lot of one-shots that deal with Harry in the castle right after the last battle ends, and I don't think any of them accomplished what you did here -- in fact, they were starting to seem a bit cliche, but this wasn't at all.

This is beautiful and lyrical and tragic. I adore it!

xoxo
Melanie

Author's Response: Melanie, I didn't even know how to respond to this review XD. It's so incredibly flattering and I just couldn't quite muster up the words, but I'm just going to have a stab at it anyway, or I'll never know how to respond.

I don't know either, Lol! I'm amazed that I managed to have this sort of effect on anyone, and also sort of pleased in a twisted way :P. However, I did really enjoy writing this piece and I'm so glad that you thought it lived up to the challenge.

To join in the non blasphemy, I'm not much of a Harry/Ginny shipper, probably because the relationship didn't really thrill me in the series, but I find myself writing more and more of it. First was Ginny for the TGS collab and now I've written them out of choice. I don't quite know what it is that draws me to them.

I am ridiculously thrilled and flattered that you think this XD. Maybe it's because it wasn't set up to be all about the Harry/Ginny element, but for the pairing to be weaved into the situation. I've always wanted to know how they got back together and this idea just sort of hit me. I've actually never read a one shot dealing with the immediate aftermath, which is what inspired me along with the song, but these compliments are bowling me over...

Melanie, I adore YOU! Lol

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and leave me this breath taking review.

Jane


 Report Review

Review #12, by Erised Fix You

10th September 2009:
JANE
LAV your alliteration, dahling.
"saturated with soldiers slumbering" - try saying that five times fast ;)

Aww, this lickle story warmed my heart :') it's so cute and I love the way you depicted the characters. I've always wondered what would happen the days after the war concerning Harry. The last sentence made me go 'aww' out loud too :P YAY HAPPY ENDINGS

Congrats on guessing what the sticker said! ;)

10/10
LOVE YOU
AND YOUR WRITING
YAY JANE

Author's Response: CHUTNEY
Thank you, dahlink. Vot do you mean? I do not vont to say this line five times. I am thinking that you may have the insanity. /creepy accent

I was wondering too and that's how this came about. I didn't really have any idea what I was doing when I started this piece, but I'm quite pleased with the result. HAHAAHHA, me and my happy endings. WE NEED SOME MORE TRAGEDY IN MY WRITING.

Thank you. It is only because marina of the hill is an eejit. Do not tell her I said this. Although... it is rather obv.

THANK YOU
ILY


 Report Review

Review #13, by apriltruex Fix You

9th September 2009:
ohhh. gave me goose bumps...great story and a great use of words...it made me smile and cry. thanks for writing.

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! It's lovely to know that this piece was able to evoke such emotions in you ^_^.
Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by SnitchSnatcher Fix You

8th September 2009:
OH. MY. GOD.

JANE. THIS IS BRILLIANT.

Words cannot describe how this makes me feel. Even though it's only 500 words, you've managed to create a world within a world and GOD, IT'S A PLACE I WANT TO BE. Even if it is swimming to the gills in grief.

I love your description of Hogwarts, specifically the Great Hall. The imagery was fantastic - almost as fantastic as the way Harry looks as Ginny. I love the way you described her grief. I think this: He only has eyes for this tortured soul, whose wretched appearance is only eclipsed by the grief that emanates from her. was my favourite line in the whole piece, aside from the last one. There was something so powerful about it. Just. . .UGH! I WISH I COULD WRITE LIKE THIS!

Fantastic work, love. I adored it from top to bottom, from start to finish. I hope you continue doing little vignettes like this. It's easy to see that you're marvellous at them!

1000/10

Molly.

Author's Response: OMG. YOU ARE TOO NICE TO ME XDDD.

I think I thought quite a bit more about what I was writing in this piece than I normally would(like most people had to), and it probably paid off. Hahahaha, yes, it's sort of depressing, but not overly so because of the ending. Maybe that's what is trying to suck you into the land of depression?

Thank you so so much! I love it when people quote their favourite lines and this was a favourite of mine as well. I think the description worked because in 500 words you can't have a lot of it, so I didn't have too little as I normally do :P. YOU CAN WRITE AMAZINGLY! WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?!?!?!

Thank you millions and billions. This was such a wonderfully lovely review and I appreciate it so much ^_^. And don't tempt me :P

Jane


 Report Review

Review #15, by WeasleyTwins Fix You

7th September 2009:
Hello Jane! I'm here for TGS's Frantic Frenzy!

Such a great one-shot. With only five hundred and fifty-five words, you have packed a lot of punch into so short a piece. You've taken the challenge given to you and proven your exemplary writing abilities. I love the heart-wrenching description; it made me want to cry and wrap my arms around Harry, pushing Ginny out of the way - that is, until that last bit in the scene. It was then that I wanted to envelope them both and sing a song like a motherly type. It's reactions like mine that further show the abilities of a writer to elicit such reactions.

I enjoyed this one-shot, the only thing I saw was that you forgot a period on one of the sentences. Other than that, this was certainly an enjoyable read.

10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: Hey Shelby! Thanks for stopping by.

You're too nice to me, but thank you so much! XD I've been checking out the other stories that have been written for this challenge and they're unbelievably good. Most people think 500 words is too short, but this challenge has produced some amazing work and shown that sometimes less is more. Lolll, sing like a motherly type. That's a very cute reaction. I just wanted to have a little go at Harry/Ginny without having to go too in depth :P. Thank you once again, your flattery is making my head swell!

Thank you for pointing that out. I'll track that full stop down immediately and put it in its rightful place. Thanks for taking the time to read and leave such a lovely review!

Jane


 Report Review

Review #16, by collette michelle Fix You

6th September 2009:
Oh, that was amazing! I am quite stunned, you have left me speechless! You were able to convey such strong emotions through just 500 words. Though it seemed so heart-breaking, you gave the reader a glimmer of hope with the ending. This 500 words challenge has brought such good stories from writers. I love it!

Lovely job!
10/10
xx.
Collette

Author's Response: I must say, the reaction is mutual because this lovely review has left me speechless! Thank you so much, Collette ^_^. I have a problem which is basically that I cannot write a story with a sad ending-I just can't bring myself to do it, Lol. One of these days it will happen. I love this challenge too! It's fantastic. The small amount of text really forces you to consider what you write.

Thank you so much! -beams-


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login