Reading Reviews for We Play the Fool
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by yellowbuttermellow Ted

22nd July 2010:
It's really great.. But Ted is a muggle, he never went to Hogwarts.

 Report Review

Review #2, by belle Lucius

1st January 2010:
nice stuff ;) hahaha. it's so sad though :'( but it's awesome how you don't overdo the angst like a couple of other writers. LOL XD
oh, and may i ask, who's the blonde guy in your banner? i mean, i reckon he's supposed to be lucius but who is he in real-life?
cos he's just so, lucius. haha. for once, i can imagine lucius being like that when he was younger :) now if only i could find a cissy...

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you like it. Yeah, it was kinda sad...but I'm so happy to hear you don't think I overdid the angst. I can't really stand overdone angst, except if the situation really calls for it.

Hehehe, that blonde guy seems to be popular. This is the second time someone has asked me about him. His name is Jeremy Dufour. And yeah, he's supposed to be Lucius. Ah, yeah. Finding a Cissy might be hard. Maybe Jessica Stam?

Hope I helped a bit.

Thank you for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by angelchaser13 Rodolphus

29th December 2009:
Wow...One of the best fan fiction stories I've read yet, in my 3 years of being a member here. This was completely, amazingly brilliant! To tell you the truth, it reminds me of my writing style, although I never thought of this fascinating of a plotline. Excellent work! :)

Best,

angelchaser13

Author's Response: Wow! Really? *dies* Thank you so much! I'm absolutely thrilled that you think so highly of this piece. It was just something that came to me and the style is a bit out in left field for me...I'm ususally particularly loquacious when I write. Chapters average about 4,000 words for me. Heh. Anyway, again, thank you so so much! :D It really means alot to me.

 Report Review

Review #4, by evil evie Lucius

29th December 2009:
Aw, that was so sad! I can see why even though Lucius and Narcissa are really the only ones who lived, they wouldn't be happy. I really hope you DO write a novel about the Black sisters, because I think your characterisation of all of them is brilliant. I like how you portrayed the girls as being in power throughout this fic.

Also, one question: who is the actor/model you used for Lucius (I'm guessing? the one with the blonde hair and blue eyes on the right) on the banner? He looks exactly like one of the characters in a fic I'm working on and I haven't been able to find any good models.

Anyway, great work!

--evie

Author's Response: Aw, yeah, I guess sad is a good way to describe it. Although, really, the story of the Black sisters is sad. Sometimes sad is beautiful though. I'm glad you can see why Lucius and Narcissa wouldn't be happy. I can't imagine them smelling like roses after all they've been through. And I really want to write a novel on them too...we'll see how that goes though...muse is being picky lately. I'm thrilled that you liked their characterizations - they all strike me as very strong characters and getting them wrong is something I was terrified of. I'd always imagined that those women all had more power over their husbands than vice versa - as Blacks, they strike me as being dominant personalities. :)

Haha, I know how that is. I'm always struggling to find good models. Yes, that is Lucius. And the model who plays him is named Jeremy Dufour. :)

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It really helped cheer me us as I've had a rather rubbish day. :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by City Lights Lucius

21st December 2009:
I have no idea how you came up with the idea for this story, but it was amazing. You gave each of the sisters different personalities; you could have made them all cold and unfeeling. And their husbands - grand. Thank you so much for writing this!

Author's Response: Haha, I don't really have any idea either. It just popped into my head and I wrote it. *shrugs* I see the Black sisters as all being very, very different people. I don't think they were all cold and unfeeling all the time. On the contrary, I think they would be bursting forth with life -different types of life, but very much alive and almost...smoldering, if that makes sense. I'm glad you liked their husbands as well. Those are 3 brave men, in my opinion. You are very welcome for writing this - thank YOU for the incredible reviews! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by City Lights Ted

21st December 2009:
Very sad, but very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you very, very much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by City Lights Rodolphus

21st December 2009:
I love the way you humanized Rodolphus - it shows us a completely different side of him. In the books all we see is a cold man with no heart and a passion for evil, here we see a married man with regrets.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so glad that you liked it. I'm a firm believer that no one is truly evil, and I wanted to explore the more human side of Rodolphus, because like you said, all we see is the evil side. Thank you so much for the wonderful review! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Cathleen Fenton Ted

3rd October 2009:
Yep, I am getting there. Interesting stuff!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you like this story too! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by blueirony Ted

22nd September 2009:
In your review request, I read the summary. My eyes locked onto the "three beautiful, smart girls" and I was immediately sold. You had to be referring to the Black sisters. No one else fit the description. And, thank you, thank you, THANK YOU! I adore reading about the Black sisters! I just think that all three of them are so, so, SO different and there is just so much to be written about them. So I got ridiculously excited when I knew it was a Black sisters' story.

Your take is different from anything I have ever read before. Normally, people do acknowledge that Bellatrix & Rudolphus would, perhaps, not have the best of marriages. But I don't think I've ever really seen anyone lay it out like this for me. Andromeda & Rudolphus. Who would have thought? Certainly not me. But you made me believe it. It is just such an unlikely pairing. Yet, it works. It does.

I particularly love how you donít give us clues as to who you are talking about. In the first chapter, I initially had no idea who you were writing about. I knew they were in a prison. I deduced pretty quickly that they must have been evil. But you only told the reader who the character was through a very clever device. The same for Andromeda. To be perfectly honest, when I first realised it was Rudolphus, I thought it was Narcissa (the girl who would come crying to him). But, what a twist! Iím not sure if Iím getting to my point here, lol. Hmm. What I guess Iím trying to say is that itís a really neat thing you have mastered. We donít know who the characters, in the sense that you never name them. You keep us guessing. And you never make it painfully obvious. You sort ofÖ indirectly allude to who the character is? Argh. I donít know if what I just said makes sense. But just know that itís a really cool device. And itís something that few authors use. And itís pretty awesome that you do.

I feel for Ted. I really do. I think I always imagined Andromeda and Ted to have the perfect romance. You know, sheís ostracised by her family and he sweeps in, becomes her rock and they learn to depend on each other. I never, never would have thought that they were locked in a one-sided marriage in terms of love. Huh. But you portray his emotions well. I really did sympathise with him. Hell, I sympathised with Rudolphus, as well. Well done on that.

You did well with the word count. I donít know how you managed to write so much down without actually writing much down. I wish I could do that!

Can I also add, that I love the ellipses you used in the quote of "Can't Help Falling in Love". They're timed perfectly with how the actual song sounds. I just thought I would add that :D

-Ju :]

Author's Response: Wow! And to think I was nervous that you wouldn't like to read a Black sisters story. Hehe. :P I'm so happy that you did like it and that you were excited! You're very welcome. :P Thank YOU for leaving such a fast and wonderful review. I've read it literally like 10 times and I still grin just as broadly as the first time.

I'm so flattered that you think this idea is original - I was reading The Other Boleyn Girl and Half-Blood Prince when I got the idea for this and the ideas just sort of conglomerated. Like most people, I imagined that Bella and Rodolphus had a rocky marriage, but I wanted to pick a different reason than an arranged marriage. And I love a good love triangle. I'm so happy you think it fits. I'm shocked at how great of a response that is getting. :) Thank you!

Oh gosh, I'm blushing. Thank you! You have no idea how much it means for me to hear that you thought it was done well. Most of my writing is done in first person, so I'm really used to identifying characters right away, so this is way out in left field for me. Thank you so much. I don't even know what to say.

Ted deserves some love. He's rather neglected. Again, I was trying to go for something a bit different. I always imagined Andromeda as something of a broken character - and a bit like Bella in some ways. The men in this story really are the victims - I'm writing a novel on the three girls next, and much of this love triangle/square is explored in that, which is very exciting.

Thank you! I don't really know either. Probably over-excessive use of the backspace key. I'm usually quite loquacious - in case you can't tell from this extremely long reply. This was a challenge for me, so its great to hear you thought I did well. :)

Yay! Haha, I'm so glad you mentioned that! I agonized over it. I love Elvis and was listening to that song while writing this. That line just stuck in my head, so I just listened to it in my head while typing the ellipses. :P

Thank you, thank you, thank you, for the wonderful review! You have no idea how much it meant to me and how much it made my day! I'll probably be stopping by your review page again, if you don't mind. :) You rock my socks! :P


 Report Review

Review #10, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Ted

20th September 2009:
Another great chapter. The brilliant thing about this story is anyone could've written 500 word chapters about the men who fell in love with the Black sisters, but you added your own twist. This could be either canon or AU, depending on how you look at it, but I certainly think this could've happened. The only thing different, really, was that in DH Ted and Andromeda were jolly, doting parents, which they certainly could've learned to do over the years. Bravo on your creativity.

I'm waiting to see where Narcissa/Lucius ties into this; it was obvious that chapter one would affect chapter two, if Rodulphus loved Andromeda, but so far the third pair has been left unmentioned. I'm anticipating to see what you do with it.

I think it would aid the reader a little bit if, whenever you switched the word 'Rodulphus' with the word 'him', if you put the word 'him' in italics like you did the first time, otherwise you have to stop and think for a moment as you continue reaading. Everything else flowed well; it was great how it was shown that neither Ted nor Andromeda were bad people, they just didn't fit together after the problems with Rodulphus.

Once again, it's hard to find crit for a 500 word chapter. Grammar-wise, it was fine. A little extra description wouldn't have hurt, but, as I said before, it's hard to add when you have a word limit. Maybe, when you're done with this story, you could go back, and flesh it out? Add in an author's note that you challenged yourself to write 500 word chapters, and you did, but then decided to add more to the story and throw away the worry about the word count. Then you could really some get some love triangle things going her. More dialgoue, etc.

Good work! I'm really glad I stumbled upon this!

Author's Response: Wow, well thank you very much! I'm glad that you liked it and are back reviewing again. :) I agree, I think this story could be viewed as AU or Canon, but I'm really trying to make this story as Canon as possible - the only thing in my novel that might be iffy is their ages...because I'm making them each a year apart. But yeah, I'm really excited for my novel, and I'd imagine that Andromeda eventually got over Rodolphus after a while. I don't want to give away too much, although this story is pretty much a spoiler for my novel. And thank you very much! I'm flattered that you think this is creative.

I'm glad you're excited for Lucius and Narcissa - yeah, they really have been neglected so far. But that was on purpose, and is going to be addressed in the next chapter. I'm excited to write it actually. They all tie in together...just in different ways. :) Mostly.

Thanks for the suggestion - I went back and reread those parts, and I agree, its pretty confusing, so I switched the parts that talk about Rodolphus to italics. :) Its strange, I always notice these things more once I've posted it. Hehe. Thanks again.

I agree, I really struggled to fit in all the description that I wanted in this chapter with the 500 word limit, but at the same time, I'm reluctant to go back and edit it, because these same topics are going to be in depth explored in the novel that I'm writing after this. The whole love triangle/square is central to that plot, so I've left a ton of it out so far. This is really just meant to give the men's perspectives and give readers a little taste of what is to come. Thanks for the suggestions though. Maybe once I start my novel I'll feel differently. For now, I think I'm just going to leave it like this. I completely understand what you mean though - these 500 words leave something lacking.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! :) It really made my day and has helped to improve this story.


 Report Review

Review #11, by icantbebotheredsigningin. Rodolphus

7th September 2009:
oh this is really good :o i like it. ive never read anything which has ever mentioned rodolphus and andromeda pairing! it seems really awesome, actually.
its interesting so far, i like the writing style. :)

Author's Response: Wow, well thank you very much! I'm glad you like it and the writing style - its very different for me, so its great to hear it. :) As for the Rodolphus/Andromeda, I'm so thrilled to hear you think its original. I think the Black sister's can be really cliched sometimes, so I'm gonna try something new. Thank you so so much for the wonderful review! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Rodolphus

23rd August 2009:
Wow! First of all, what a great idea to write a story about the three men who loved the Black sisters. I am a huge Bella fan, and a Black fan in general, and I can't wait to see what will happen next. I thought it was REALLY interesting that Andromeda and Rodolphus were together before he married Bella. And wow. That last line was just perfect. GREAT job.

Are you doing this for or in part for Ilia's challenge? Just wondering, because her challenge is to write a one shot with just 500 words.

There really is no crit for this chapter. I thought the first sentence of the story was a bit of a run-on, but that's it. I thought that for just 500 words, you conveyed a lot of information and didn't leave out neccessary description. Bravo!

Author's Response: Wow! Well thank you so much! I agree, I'm a huge Black fan too and have been wanting to write something like this for a long time. Then I read The Other Boleyn Girl (if you haven't read it, I highly suggest it) and bam, here was the plot! Yeps, Rodolphus and Andromeda were together before he married Bella. In the novel I'm writing after this is finished, there is a lot about that. Thank you very much!

And actually, this started as a one-shot, just this Rodolphus one, for Ilia's challenge. But then it got me thinking and it suddenly evolved into a bigger project. I would like to submit it to the challenge, but I don't know if I am allowed because its a short story collection and not just a oneshot.

Again, thank you so much. It means so much to me to hear that. I think I said in the A/N, but this style is completely out in left field for me. Its great to hear you thought I did well. But run-ons. Bah. My mom says all I write in is run-ons and fragments. Thanks for pointing that out and for the incredible review! It's really made my day! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login