Reading Reviews for A Delicate Flower
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TenthWeasley Part One

4th March 2012:
Hello, Nisha! I'm here with a very late QTR review for you. :)

I love Quidditch romances -- Oliver, Katie, Alicia, Angelina. Anyone from any Quidditch team having anything to do with romance, and I'm sold. So I got really excited when I saw this story -- and you definitely didn't disappoint! Oliver's emotions were so spot-on and realistic, and that really impressed me. I absolutely adore it when writers can get things across realistically, especially in fan fiction. And the gradual romance, instead of a love-at-first-sight deal, was well-appreciated, too.

Your writing style was very lovely. :) It seemed quite delicate, as though each word was placed deliberately, and it matched the metaphor you wove through it. Painting was, I think, a good choice for this -- and I was /really/ impressed by that first mention of it, describing Katie's playing like a painting. It's so true, not just for Quidditch, and was by far my favorite line in this story.

Really well done! I hope you'll not be too long in coming up with the rest of the chapters, because now I think I'll be rather anxious for an update. And we all miss you besides! Hope your broken computer problems are solved without delay, and again, I really enjoyed getting to read this story!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheLittlestLestrange Part One

15th January 2012:
I really do hope you get part two and part three up. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by The Quiet Girl Part One

30th September 2011:
This is the third piece I've read from you, and I have to say that your writing style just flows so beautifully. I love all your descriptions, and you flowed wonderfully from scene to scene. It just feels so natural, I can't get enough of it! :) When Oliver went to visit Katie, I was almost expecting a little more from the two characters. I know you haven't updated this story in a few years, but it makes a very nice one-shot all by itself. I kept thinking that the visitation scene at the end was just sooo sweet. I especially loved your last line, Oliver referring to Katie as his delicate flower. Really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: I actually put an updated version of this chapter in the queue last night! (10/15/11) In all honesty, this story has never been a favorite of mine, but people seem to really love it so I've decided that the only logical move would be to update it. I'm struggling a bit with part 2 and 3 in terms of direction, but I definitely want to finish this.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! I wanted this fic to be cute without being sickly sweet so I'm glad I accomplished that.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Someone Part One

22nd November 2010:
Awh its really cute :) nice writing! Hopefully you're gonna update ?

Author's Response: Honestly right now it's a bit up in the air, but I will certainly try :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by hprocks Part One

29th June 2010:
Hi!

You should really consider updating this. I love it and really want to read the rest.

Author's Response: Will do! I'll see what happens (:

 Report Review

Review #6, by loopyluna Part One

10th October 2009:
Oh lordy. I can't wait for more. I loved the underpants bit, it made me laugh so much. Poor Katie :(

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by lucky Part One

20th September 2009:
This story is so cute and I can't wait to read more. Please update as soon as you have time!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by RavenclawSweetie Part One

15th September 2009:
I like how you charaterized Oliver and Katie. I also love the chemistry between them and the way you played everything out so easily that it flowed very well. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thanks hun!

 Report Review

Review #9, by elegantphoenix Part One

13th September 2009:
My goodness this was a beautiful chapter! Your imagery was just so wonderful I couldn't seem to look away. I especially liked the bit about the smudge on a painting - "It was like a deeply profound work of art with a smudge of paint deemed an accident by collectors, but when looked at from another angle became the most beautiful painting youíve ever seen in your life.". Brilliant. Update soon :)

Nadhira (elegantphoenix)

Author's Response: Thanks hun! I'll update soon, I just have to sit down and write it soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by baletgir Part One

7th September 2009:
That was really good. I loved reading it. Honestly I was weary when I clicked on it, you see I have never ever read an Oliver focused fic. This was my first, your summary really pulled me in, and I am glad that I stopped to read this. Now a question, why did you label this a one-shot if it will have 3 parts/chapters? Again I loved the idea of this and cannot wait to read more.
:)BaletGir

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm super flattered by this review, and I may have labeled it wrong, but I just fixed it, thanks for bringing it to my attention. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by redherring Part One

2nd September 2009:
Oh, I just love Oliver/Katie! Such a brilliant pairing. I really like that this story isn't completely about Quidditch, too, as so many Oliver stories are - it was a really interesting idea to use the whole incident with the necklace as a way to bring them together.

I really, really adored your characterisation of Oliver. I thought he was spot on, and I especially liked this line:

"Do you always answer the door in your underpants, Mr. Wood?" she said sharply, looking highly affronted.
"Only for you Minnie."


Generally I would say that it would be unrealistic for a student to talk to an (ex)teacher that way, but I can really imagine Oliver saying it to McGonagall :D I liked Katie, too, and thought you characterised her really well.

Brilliant chapter, and I can't wait for the next one :)

Author's Response: You're an absolute sweetheart! Thanks so much for being such a loyal reviewer of my stories! I'm really glad you enjoyed this, as I was completely unsure of it, especially my characterization of Oliver because the point was to make him blatantly unromantic, but this is a love story you know? So, obviously he has to fall in love, it has to get a little sappy. That line is one of my favorite I've ever written, so I'm really glad you liked it as well.

Thanks so much for the review love, and I'm updating soon, but I have a whole list of written things to stuff into the queue once it opens. I'll try to get it up soon. :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by c.c. Part One

28th August 2009:
that was great! awesome job, i swear :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by ParkerGirl Part One

26th August 2009:
Lovely start, looking forward to the other parts =) PG

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed, I'll get them up speedy. The queue closure might get in the way, but have no fear, I will update soon!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login