Reading Reviews for The Quiet Outcast
  
390 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cannons Hugo Weasley: Part II

29th March 2014:
Hi!

I don't normally leave reviews if I'm honest but it would have been rude if I hadn't on this amazing story.

It's hard to find a story that I can't put down on here atm so I was so pleased when I found this one! I saw your blog post on the forums (congrats on 10 years btw!) so I thought I'd have a look at it and I'm so pleased I did!

I loved Hugo and how he isn't like any main character I've read, he isn't a natural leader, star Qudditch player or insanely popular, he's just himself and that's the best bit about him. I was rooting for him throughout the whole story.

All off your characters are relatable and believable, which is what made it seem so real to me.

I really do wish you would write more about Hugo and the others! Good luck with getting published I know you can do it.

:)

Cannons

 Report Review

Review #2, by anon Hugo Weasley: Part II

26th January 2014:
Beautiful story. Just wondering whether you drew your inspiration for it from Zusak's The Messenger. If not, that is crazily coinidental.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Natasha Hugo Weasley: Part II

1st October 2013:
Dear Kira, thank you for this lovely piece of writing. Congratulations because you've made me laugh, cry, smile and become completely sentimental in many ways throughout the course of it. As a hufflepuff myself, I truly appreciate the new light you try to put hufflepuffs in and emphasize the beauty that lies in pure kindness and selflessness given without any thought of reward. I especially like how you don't try to stereotypically glorify one of the Next Generation children like many fanfics do. It's truly amazing because this story relates to my personality so much and I'm so relieved by the honesty in this fanfic. You definitely have a great mind and talent in writing and I hope you'll keep at it! Pottheads unite! --a lot of love from Canada. P.S. I find Glen strangely appealing. You might even say I have a little bit of a crush on him. Is that just wrong or wrong? BTW since I have not found any sequel to this story anywhere (the reasons of which I completely respect) in your mind, do glen and lily perhaps get together in their next year at hogwarts? just curious.

Author's Response: You are so wonderfully welcome! The fact that I could effect emotions in someone else means the world to me. I think Hufflepuffs are underestimated and looked over too often. Especially when their main characteristics are the things I personally strive for.

There is a lot of honesty in this story because it comes right from me and my own insecurities, which most definitely exist. I will keep at writing no matter how many publishers/etc knock me down. Hooray for Canada!

No, it's not wrong. Glen can be really annoying, but he's really loyal and has a good heart. And a fantastic sense of humor. Easy to crush on.

I'll actually let you in on a little secret. I haven't told this to anyone. I have this one-shot idea floating around in my head where Glen and Lily get married. It's their wedding day and Hugo is Glen's best man. But, then Glen's dad shows up at the wedding even though he hasn't seen him since, well, the incident. Drama happens. So, yes, I've thought about it often. I see them getting together. I'm not sure how much is actually realistic for their characters, and how much is just me being sentimental, but I figure that it's in my head so I can do whatever I please.

Thank you so much for everything. This review has made my day.


 Report Review

Review #4, by lilyflower_x Hugo Weasley: Part II

7th July 2013:
Hi, so I thought this story had been abandoned long ago, and I had actually stopped coming on here for a long time. I'm on night shifts now and I'm finding the extra time when I have a free night but work the next night very long, decided to come on here, re-read a few stories to try to kill some time and saw 'COMPLETED' over this one. I nearly cried. I swear to god. I could remember every detail of this story because it was (and still is) one of my all time favourite stories. This is probably the perfect ending for this story. I tried to imagine what would happen what might happen but this ending has blown me away. Honestly. I do see a bit of myself in Hugo, in order to enjoy a story I think you need to be able to relate to the main character in some way, and this ending literally made me want to cry. So well done! Truly excellent writing! Loved every chapter. Thank you for being one of the few on this site to actually finish a story! And to finish it so well! Really, well done.

Author's Response: Ugh, I wish I could say that I'm always good about finishing stories, but that's just not the case. I have quite a few on here that haven't been finished; I guess I just have to feel very inspired to work on them. Thankfully, I was inspired the whole way with this story. Now, it did take three years despite that, and I am so grateful to everyone who stuck by me and Hugo for this long. Aw...these comments are so sweet. It just hits me so hard when someone has an emotional response to one of my stories. It means everything to me. The ending was something I had planned for the very beginning and I was very excited to finally write it. It was a pleasure to write, probably because of people like you who encourage me so much! THANK YOU!

 Report Review

Review #5, by dobbywinky1 Hugo Weasley: Part II

26th June 2013:
Hey! I just finished reading this. It was a really great story. Not the usual storyline. It was quite interesting. Especially the way you portrayed Hugo Weasley.
Why don't you write a companion fic or a sequel telling us what happens with Glen and Lily? That has me curious.
Anyway, great story, great writing. All the best on getting published!

Author's Response: I need all the good vibes I can get as far as getting published goes, so I appreciate that probably more than you'll ever know. If I did write a sequel, I would probably give the main character slot to Glen and work with him a little more now that I feel sort of "done" with Hugo. It has me curious too. I'm not sure how it would all work out; if Lily could actually stand him, but it would be interesting to try! Thanks for all your kind words! What a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lovely27 Hugo Weasley: Part II

23rd June 2013:
This story is one of those rare fanfictions that makes you think, and truly appreciate how people can inspire in unique ways, regardless of whether they came up with all of the characters, places, etc. themselves. Very, very well done!!

Author's Response: I do set out with the goal to write things that make people think. I figure that's what stories should do, so I'm desperately glad that you think it worked here. Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to read and review!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by NightOwl2 Hugo Weasley: Part II

20th May 2013:
I don't even know where to start. That story was brilliant! I've never really been interested in the next generation but my friend said I should read it and I am so glad she told me to. This story has truly touched me (cheesy I know)but it has. Like you said we all have a part of Hugo in us. I felt like you really brought the characters to life. James was exactly as I imagined he would be and I can't help but want to know more. Glen, connie, and all the other new characters will now have a place in my heart. The personalities you used for each of the potter/Weasley clan was in my opinion perfect. I would really love to read another book about these characters as theres so much more I wish you had gone into detail with and although there were some typos. It just added to the brilliance of this story. I look forward to reading more of your work and really hope to see a squeal on the horizon. A very well done Kira!

Author's Response: Oh, you got to log in so now I know which lovely person left me this review!!! Thank you again! I'm glad I got to read it twice, it's so nice!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Alice Hugo Weasley: Part II

19th May 2013:
I don't even know where to start. That story was brilliant! I've never really been interested in the next generation but my friend said I should read it and I am so glad she told me to. This story has truly touched me (cheesy I know)but it has. Like you said we all have a part of Hugo in us. I felt like you really brought the characters to life. James was exactly as I imagined he would be and I can't help but want to know more. Glen, connie, and all the other new characters will now have a place in my heart. The personalities you used for each of the potter/Weasley clan was in my opinion perfect. I would really love to read another book about these characters as theres so much more I wish you had gone into detail with and although there were some typos. It just added to the brilliance of this story. I look forward to reading more of your work and really hope to see a squeal on the horizon. A very well done Kira!

Author's Response: Wow, the fact that someone took the time to recommend my story to you blows my mind a little bit. I did try to make Hugo someone that we could all relate to, even if you are, already, a very confident person. I spent a lot of time working on developing personalities for the rest of the next generation crew, just because I feel like people expect a lot from those characters. I'm not sure if I would necessarily call them perfect, but totally blushing that you think so! James is a lot more than just a bully-type, even though that's kind of how he comes across because the story is through Hugo's eyes. He's actually a good guy, he just happens to be a seventeen year old male, and they don't always have the best moral compasses. Oh, I'm sure there were oodles of typos, though I do try to catch them as much as I can. I don't write off the idea of having a sequel for this story but, at the moment, there isn't one in the works. Thanks for all your wonderful, thoughtful comments. They mean the world to me!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Flipp Hugo Weasley: Part II

7th May 2013:
I knew it!
I just knew that would happen.
:)
Even though it's been a year since you posted this, I'm still reviewing. With completed stories,I always review at the end. I really really like Hugo. And Glen. And like everybody. Especially that little mouse. Good luck with getting your novel published!
10/10! :)
-Flipp

Author's Response: I need the good luck, so I appreciate that very much. Yeah, it did sort of become obvious how the story was going to end, but I think it was the satisfying way to do it. Thanks for all the nice things you said; stuff like that really make my heart sing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by watcher Hugo Weasley: Part II

6th May 2013:
Loved the story. I hope to find more from you, either here in fanfiction or in the big world. Let us know. Thanks for the story.

Author's Response: Loved the review. I hope to break into the "big world" soon, and I'll definitely let you know when I do! Thanks for everything.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Tamsan Hugo Weasley: Part II

18th April 2013:
I have been reading through a number of stories on
this site for a few days now and most of them have
been fluff, interesting, but definitely fluff. I came
across this by accident and boy am I happy that I
read it. It was beautiful, emotional and really in
keeping with the spirit of the Harry Potter series.
Thank you for sharing it with us.

Author's Response: You're welcome! What a sweet, kind review! When I set out to write this story, I wanted to accomplish something that was a little more emotional, so I'm so glad you thought I achieved that! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Brightpaw Hugo Weasley: Part II

21st March 2013:
Wow! I really loved how this story had such a deep plot. A lot of the stories on here are romances and fluff and while they're great, this really stands apart. I loved it! Good luck with your future writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the encouragement! I feel like I really need it these days. I tried to develop a plot with depth and themes I felt were important, so I'm so glad you think I achieved it. Thanks for everything!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Sera Hugo Weasley: Part II

20th March 2013:
You know what, I think I want a sequel. I read this a long time ago but I just kept on re-reading and re-reading it over and over. The story had that much impact on me. I think I developed a crush on Hugo! lol. He is just so sweet. So I encourage to you know... well if you would like to continue Hugo's story I would definitely appreciate it. Thank you for such wonderful fiction.

Author's Response: Wow, what an amazing review. Hugo is very flattered. Thank you so much for giving me your time again and again in reading, and for the support. A sequel is tempting; I've been thinking it over for awhile, but I'm still not exactly sold on my idea. But, thank you all the same. You're wonderful.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rilla the Reader Hugo Weasley: Part II

26th February 2013:
OMG I love THIS STORY I AM SO HAPPY/SAD THAT ITS DONE!
*hugs*you are an amazing writer and this story is so faboo that I am not coherent. I LOVE YOU!
All of your characters are so amazing and well developed! I them all, even James, because I'm like "ARGHHGH DIE JAMES WHY U STAND IN WAY OF HUGO AND CONNIE'S TWU WUB" and at the same time I'm like "wow, he so human...This is amazing characterization..."
Glen/Lily is my new OTP, btw. Hugo/Connie is so adorable, they are 2nd place. And Scorp/Rose gets 3rd, because i just like the pairing in general, especially the way you wrote it :)
I will now spend a paragraph talking about Al because I love him. I love his interactions with Hugo, because they are so much alike, and yet so different. I'm glad they are friends because they need each other. And Al's personality/self esteem issues were so canon and so RIGHT. Even his propensity to write can be attributed partly to the fact that his mum is a sportswriter (let's not forget the Diary Incident) and passed on that gene HOLY COW I JUST REALIZED HOW MUCH SENSE THAT MADE...not much...Now you gotta get Al outta Singleton, there are plenty of girls who can help him out in ways that Hugo just can't *wiggles eyebrows* A perky Hufflepuff to break Al out of his shell? A sweet Muggle girl with a talent for drawing that finds him intriguing? A tortured Ravenclaw who needs someone to love? The story ideas swirl in my head... And yours too, hopefully :)
OH. EM. GEE. MY NEW OTP IS AL/PAMELA MACY. OMG THEY WOULD BE SO PERFECT FOR EACH OTHER AND ALSO IT WOULD PISS OFF JAMES TO BE UPSTAGED BY BOTH HIS LITTLE BRO AND HIS CUZ. WHOA, NOW IM EXCITED AND I WANT YOU TO DECLARE AL/PAMELA A SHIP OF TWU WUB THAT WON'T CRASH LIKE THE HMS JAMES/CONNIE OR THE HMS RON/LAV ETC
Whew, that was a lot. I shall shuddup now. *hugs* you are an amazing person to have written this, and I have rewarded you (or condemned you) to this massive and incoherent review. THANK YOU SO MUCH! KEEP WRITING, NO MATTER WHAT, IT IS OBVIOUS THAT YOU HAVE LOTSA TALENT :)
PS: I will go to stalk your author page now.

Author's Response: Wow, this review is WONDERFUL! So kind, helpful, and hilarious. I tried hard with James' character. At the beginning he felt really one-dimensional, but that's only because that's sort of how Hugo saw him. So, in the end, I wanted him to develop so we could see that he's not all bad, or really bad at all. Just different from Hugo. I love Glen and Lily too. If a sequel ever emerged from this story, they would probably be the focus.

This might be the first time someone mentioned Al in a review! I liked the idea of him being a journal writer like his mom right away. All of your ideas for a romance for him sound really good. I feel like I could write for all of them. Pamela Macy huh? I could sort of actually really see that.

Totally laughed about the HMS James/Connie. Yeah, they just weren't meant to be.

Thanks for reading, reviewing (AMAZINGLY), and stalking me. Dream come true.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Anna Hugo Weasley: Part II

18th February 2013:
I must admit that Im a really, really lazy reviewer... I cant even remember the last time I reviewed, even though I read a lot ffs.
But now I must really compliment you on this story. Its so sensitive, original and well written. I had to cry a few times. Wonderful story. I am absolutely smitten. Keep on with the good work.
Looking forward to read more :)

Author's Response: Aw, well I am very honored that you felt like leaving a review for this story! Thank you for all your kind words and for taking the time to be one of my readers!

 Report Review

Review #16, by j Hugo Weasley: Part II

17th February 2013:
i love love love this story!

Author's Response: I love, love, love this review! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotter Myrtle Cummings

10th February 2013:
I would have never thought of Moaning Myrtle as one of the people Hugo would end up helping! But I'm really glad he did help her. I thoug this chapter was really sweet, and I really enjoyed it. I also loved that Glen is helping Hugo with his "little project"! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: She always made me sad in the books; I always thought there was more to her story and more to her character than I gave her credit most of the time. It's fun to get Glen involved, now that he knows what's going on! THANK YOU!!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotter Glen Saunders: Part II

10th February 2013:
This was a really full chapter! From Hugo getting ready for his O.W.L.s to talking to Glen to admitting everything about the talking mouse... Wow. I can't believe what Glen's father did! I really wasn't expecting that, and I think Hugo handled the news very well, and was a really great friend to Glen. I'm really happy that he was able to help him! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: This chapter was particularly difficult to write. I wanted to do Glen some justice, but I also didn't want him to break out of character; I found it a fine line to walk. Hugo is an amazing friend, and he deals with these things far better than I ever could. Thanks for your continuing support!

 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotter Glen Saunders: Part I

10th February 2013:
I can't believe Connie kissed Hugo! I felt bad for him, though, because he said the exact wrong thing to say at a time like that! I hope that she forgives him! And that he can help Glen! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I know, he finally manages some words and they're exactly wrong. Poor kid. Glen will prove to be one of his most difficult.
Kira :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotter Scorpius Malfoy

10th February 2013:
I think this is my favorite chapter so far! I loved how you made Scorpius so nice, and so reserved, because a lot of people tend to make him act like a jerk. I think he and Rose were really sweet together, and I'm glad that Hugo is ok! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I noticed that about Scorpius too. I wanted to give him a break and a new sort of personality. I was going for sweet, so I'm glad that came through! Smiles forever!

 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotter Mipsy

10th February 2013:
I loved this chapter! First Lily, who I would never, ever mess with, and then Mipsy, who was adorable! You wrote her so well, and I loved the ending of this chapter where she and Hugo stood at the edge of the Atronomy Tower together. 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I wouldn't mess with Lily either. No way. I loved that moment with them on the tower too. It is one of my favorite parts of the whole thing. Can't thank you enough!

 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotter Albus Potter: Part II

10th February 2013:
Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh oh my gosh. It's James under the invisibility cloak isn't it? I can't believe he would do that to Hugo! (if it is him. Haha) I'm really glad that Hugo could help Albus, and that they're getting on better, and understand each other a little more. I love Hugo's character more and more with each chapter, and think this is a fantastic story! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Oh, James. Yeah, I didn't hide that so well did I? He can be a particular type of jerk when he feels threatened. I'm always amazed how a little understanding can propel a relationship to a brand new place. I think you are fantastic!

 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotter Albus Potter: Part I

10th February 2013:
Oh my goodness gracious. This was a really loaded chapter! I hope Hugo finds a way to help Albus! And the end was so intense! I reallythought James was goi g to hurt Hugo, because Hugo wasn't trying to fight back, because he didn't want to hurt James at all. I'm definitely going right to the next chapter to figure out how they resolve this! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I know! That scene between James and Hugo had been there from the beginning when I started writing this story. I loved the tension because, you're absolutely right, Hugo wouldn't fight back. Thank you so, so much. I know I thank you so often it might not seem so special, but truly I am grateful for you.

 Report Review

Review #24, by CassiePotter Christopher Ramsay: Part II

10th February 2013:
I'm glad that Hugo could help Professor Ramsay, and that he stopped him from giving the wrong potion to the hospital wing! This was a great chapter, and I really enjoyed it! Except James was a little scary when he got that angry... 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Oh, you're just such a dedicated reviewer! I love that! So many people don't take the time to review all chapters, so you, my dear, are something special. I'm glad Hugo found a way too. James can be a little scary, can't he? Thanks for everything!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Palakalaka Hugo Weasley: Part II

17th December 2012:
What an inspiring and emotional journey! It was obvious that you planned almost every inch of this story out and very well! It was a pleasure to read so thank you so much! I'm confident that someone of your skill will definitely be able to land a publisher- don't give up! -Palakalakalakalakalakalaka

Author's Response: Things have been tough lately. I've been getting a lot of rejects lately, so reviews like this really brighten my day and my spirits. Thank you for the confidence you've shown in me; it really is appreciated more than you'll ever know! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>