Reading Reviews for Kate in Real Life
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lovegood Tammie's Lake

7th August 2010:
Oh geez! Cliffy! I'm really excited for the next chapter :) Brilliant :D

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lovegood Whitespine Lodge

7th August 2010:
Ooh the first job! Brilliant :D

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lovegood Welcome Cottage

7th August 2010:
I really like Charlie stories, for some reason I think he has SO much to offer! So I really adore you right now :D

Author's Response: Haha, I love Charlie too! So happy you liked it and thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by littlealice who cannot be bothered to log in Tammie's Lake

27th April 2010:
If you get rid of this... I may have to kill you.

Author's Response: GAH OKAY. :P I'll work on it some more, k? Promise. ^^

 Report Review

Review #5, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Tammie's Lake

26th August 2009:
Without a word, he passed and handed me his card.
So something I can nitpick at, for once, lol is the following.

"Identification, so that Marshal knows where everyone is at all times. You'll get yours by tomorrow, I expect, but there's a backlog right now."

Brilliant. An absolutely unfashionable piece of plastic to wear round my neck all day long. I smiled and said: "Okay!" Joey grinned and handed me his lanyard.
Is it really required to hand the lanyard to her twice? I'm pretty sure you only meant to hand it off once to her, but I thought I'd point that out to ya.

As for the rest of it, I loved it. And let me tell you, I love that the dragon came to play cause Katie had a smoke. Teach you to smoke you silly girl! Don't you know smoking can kill you!? lol Anyway, love it, love it, love it. I can't wait to read the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #6, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Welcome Cottage

26th August 2009:
So, since you didn't bug me and I decided to come review this one (since you've been talking about it since you started it) for your Review Circle on Inkstains.

I absolutely love the way you've written this. Its sarcastic, its funny, it has a dash of hope that something good might yet come for Kate with all the gloom and doom that is already there. It had me laughing from beginning to end and definitely had my attention from the get go.

I love how original it is, and that you used tunnels for getting around. Course, I can't imagine wanting to use streets what with dragons about. So I suppose that's why you went that way.

As always, I can't find a darn thing to say you could to better. Which says a lot since I always write in first person and you typically do not. What I love best though, is that it doesn't have too many words that might require me to use a dictionary to determine what the heck you meant. Its very common, down to earth, every day language and that's what makes me love this fic all the more (not that I don't love any of your flowery writing cause you know I do!).

Author's Response: I didn't bug you because I didn't want to seem annoying. So ha! There. :P

I'm glad you like the format! And yeah, there is hope, even in the darkest of times - and I'm thrilled it made you laugh! Original? *blushes* It's just a girl in Romania, which I'm sure a bunch of Charlie/OC fics have already done. XD And don't worry, the dragons aren't wandering around. It's mainly because of the cold.

Oh, I'm sure you could find something! LOL, it's really fun to write even though I don't feel completely comfortable (and that probably comes through in my writing). Common and down-to-earth is good, especially since that's how I pictured Kate.

Thanks so much for this review, Len! *huggles* It means so much. XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Gryfindor Whitespine Lodge

22nd August 2009:
Norberta's here! Yes, thank you for including her! I'm sure that the majority of people would end up forgetting her, yet she was a crucial part of the first book (even the second, showing how Hagrid loved his creatures, however illegal they were). This chapter includes more little details that comfortably position this story within the Potterverse. Like how, as wizards, they should have warm water all the time - that bit of snobbery against Muggles was also very wizardly (I imagine that in a way, many wizards look down on Muggles, even if they didn't side with Voldemort *shrugs*).

What struck me as particularly hilarious was how everyone harped on Kate for waking up Charlie, like it was the most dangerous and stupidest thing to do. The way that Marshall said he was disappointed, and it ended up being about Charlie, not her tardiness, made me laugh. It was perfectly done. While I still can't imagine Keanu Reeves as Marshall :P, I still like him as a character. He's sort of the cliched "boss" character, tough and gruff, talking about getting back to business. Yet he's funny, not intentionally on his part (perhaps more on yours :P).

Overall, I like this chapter better than the first - the style, the way the plot's going, the new characters you're introducing... it's all turning out very well. It's definitely a story I'll be following - I can tell you're having fun writing it, even if it is lighter than your usual fare. It's a fun story to read, and I have high hopes for the romance. ;)

Author's Response: How could I not include Norberta?! S/he was amazing in Philosopher's Stone! I love her. Draco was such a little snitch back then. Ah ... *sighs* And yes, I'm glad you caught the snobbery! It seems prejudices, for all the Gryffindors' pompous attack on the Death Eaters, don't lie down at the Slytherin doorstep. :P

It is the most dangerous thing you could do! It's Charlie! "Never tickle a sleeping dragon", and it especially holds true in Romania. :P Gah, I can't quite imagine Keanu Reeves as the boss either. I'm switching him to Bale, it's official. XD That was the fun part of writing him ... kind of playing with the cliche. I like doing this. ^_^

To be honest, I like this chapter better than the first too. :D So we're on the same page. It's fun to write and good to do after a hard day's work. Thank you so much for reviewing this, Susan. *huggles* I'm very happy you liked it. ^^

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #8, by Violet Gryfindor Welcome Cottage

22nd August 2009:
Haha, that ending! XD Kate is definitely on the silly side. I'd say she was pretty insane, too. But that makes her endearing! She has this way of thinking about everything that is incredibly honest and open, which fits her character. I can't remember too much about her from the books, but it seems right that a Gryffindor Quidditch player would end up sounding like your Kate does.

One thing to watch for is that you don't overdo her quirky style. While the ending was perfect, as were some other lines, at times I found her a little too overwhelming. It was lines like "Well, that was what I was best at, was it not!" and "Hurrah! Eureka! Kate shall never be defeated!" that produced a less-than-positive effect. Perhaps it's all the exclamation points (which reminds me of that topic on the forums) or it's that her voice sounds forced, taking away from the overall humorous tone.

I was also confused as to why Kate thought Mads was a lobbyist? I probably missed something in my half-asleep state, but it stood out as a point of "why that?" It could be that Kate is prejudiced against everyone at the reserve, which seems to be the case - she's bitter about not becoming a Quidditch player, about being sent into the cold, and she doesn't appear to be having any luck getting along with her co-workers! Not a good start for Kate, but it definitely adds to the humour.

The premise of this story is wonderfully original. Kate and Charlie, who'd have thought it? And your Charlie is quite a dragon himself, which I find funny. Perhaps he's better when he's not forcibly woken up. :P There's great potential in this story to become a hilarious romantic comedy, which while I know it isn't your usual thing, I know you can pull off with incredible success.

There were other points I wanted to make and favourite lines I wanted to pick out, but now when I go back, I can't find them again, so I'll leave that out for now. This is a good start to your story, and I want to continue reading, which is a very good sign. ;) As always, you've come up with something original and I'm eager to see where you'll take it next. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by collette michelle Tammie's Lake

20th August 2009:
Ohh, another update! I really like this Joey guy, he seems genuinely nice. As well as very much into looking out for Kate. Who seems to have mucked something up from her actions. Possibly angered Tammie, non?
Can't wait for more, I am looking forward to seeing more of these three!
Nice update!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you like Joey, he really is, in my opinion, one of the true "good guys". :) And yes, she has rather mucked up the situation, hasn't she? Hehe, you'll see why soon enough.

Updates should come soon! Keep an eye out!
And thank you so much for this review. ^_^

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lila Tammie's Lake

20th August 2009:
Great chapter! I loved Joey; he seems so cute :) And Charlie! God, Charlie! Ha, he's so amazing! I am sooo falling for him ;)
Update soon!
10/10

Author's Response: Hehe, thank you! I'm glad you like Joey and Charlie. I really enjoy writing the both of them.
I will! Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by TwilightPrincess Welcome Cottage

20th August 2009:
Annyeong haseyo! Ilia here from TGS with your review ^_^

I hate to start a review on this type of note, but my reviews go chronologically. I didn't much care for the way you opened this piece. To me, the beginning paragraph seemed nothing more interesting than, "My name is Kate Bell and I love Quidditch. This is the story of how I so on and so forth." Kalina, I know you can do something more original than that - you have! - and I feel like because you don't normally write first-person humor, you had to resort to something you know has been done before. Just because you don't have as much experience writing something, don't get freaked out! If you get flustered as the writer, I can tell immediately as the reader. You have to have the same amount of confidence, or else a reader will be able to poke holes in your writing left and right. Jishin motte! (Have confidence! ^_^)

Apart from the opening paragraph, I really loved the voice of the piece. She felt very real and it was conversational, which made it funny. So I don't think you failed completely - I don't think you could ever fail completely at anything. It was rather fun to read, the whole way through. Because you chose to give her such a spunky personality, it shined through. Lines like this: Imagine cold. Good. Multiply that by a lot. There you go. really make her personality feel very real because I feel like she's talking directly to me. =)

Imagine a guy. Good. Now imagine a Greek god. The kind that Olympus only sends down to make mad the poor mortal girls who live on this meager earth. This guy was romantic With each sentence, a greater form of "Ooh!" echoed in my head. You certainly know how to get a girl's attention. =P

I really enjoyed this chapter. It was very interesting and in fact humorous. You did an excellent job, as always =)

Ganbare! Tanoshinde ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Hey Ilia!

You know, you're right. I'm still really unfamiliar with first-person humor, so I had absolutely no idea what I was writing. XD And it stands to view that I did the "Hi, my name is Kate. I have blue eyes and brown hair." kind of thing, though I absolutely abhor that. All right, confidence! Forward ho! I shall not be defeated! :P If you want to, I'll PM you when the edited version is up, once I get to it.

I'm glad, however, that there were positive points you liked! Conversational feels very easy to write, and yes, well, a spunky personality was precisely my goal. :) And I'm happy you liked her descriptions of the weather and of Charlie!

Duh, of course Eric Bana can get a girl's attention. ^_^ We are, after all, girls who do enjoy looking upon the nice fit bodies of men. :P (Don't tell my husband)

I'm glad you enjoyed it and I'm very grateful you were so refreshingly honest with me! :) Thank you so much for this amazing review, Ilia!

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #12, by bookworm27 Whitespine Lodge

19th August 2009:
I like how you changed her name from Katie to Kate to give her a new slate, it's a good start can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Yes, I did rather think she would shed her childhood nickname. :P Thank you for the lovely review! I'm happy you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Lila Whitespine Lodge

19th August 2009:
My God, you updated so fast! Ha, I was so glad! I really liked this one, but please get a little bit more of Charlie ;)
Update soon, will you? :)
10/10

Author's Response: Hah, don't worry, Charlie will come, patience! :P And due to the looming queue closure, I don't know if I'll be able to update before them (though probably) but I will definitely try! Thanks so much for reviewing!

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #14, by collette michelle Whitespine Lodge

19th August 2009:
Ohh, you updated so quick. I had to do a double take when I saw this! I really do like Kate, I do. She is very interesting, and I liked that this was written in first person. I really like being in Kate head, its quite humourous!

I can't wait for more, I am curious about the work Kate is going to have to do. And of course, I am eagerly looking forward to another Charlie and Kate moment!

Oh, and I love the title. I love that it is a play off 'Dan in Real Life', I simple adore that movie ('Put it on my tab...')

Nice chapter!

Author's Response: Hehe, well, I felt I was on a roll, so no reason to keep it locked up, yes? I'm happy you like Kate! It's kind of an adventure for me, writing in first person, so I'm happy you found it was funny!

Kate's work will be coming soon. :) In the next chapter, actually. ^_^ And Charlie/Kate will be coming soon, no worries! Goodness, everyone seems to be rushing me to write them. :P It'll come, I promise!

Hehe, I'm glad you like the title. It's inspired by a quote that will appear in chapter six, I believe, so stay tuned! ^___^

Thank you for this lovely review!
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #15, by radicallyali Whitespine Lodge

18th August 2009:
Wow you got the second chapter up here quickly! Kudos to you! It takes me forever to get around to writing and posting!

Alrighty. So. The introduction of more characters. Marshal, I know Kate doesn't really like him, but I've got no beef with him, other than the messiness. I think bosses should have organized work spaces, but perhaps Marshal doesn't spend much time in his office, which would then make sense.

Also, I feel like Joey is going to become one of Kate's good friends, and that he is going to be one of my favorite characters.

We saw a little bit more of Charlie, but not much. I can't wait for some Charlie/Kate action going on!

This is was very good! 10/10!

Author's Response: Hehe, well, I was already writing it at the time I posted the first chapter and the words just kept on flowing. XD

Well, I don't (personally) have any beef with Marshal either, but have you noticed that Kate is particularly quick to judge people on first impressions? She doesn't like because ... she doesn't like him. That's just the way she works. Same thing with Charlie.

Haha! Nice spotting that, although I wouldn't necessarily say one of her good friends. He's definitely being a lot of fun to write right now. ^_^

Charlie/Kate action will come, be patient! :P In any case, I'm very happy you liked this and thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :)

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #16, by Lila Welcome Cottage

18th August 2009:
Ooh, it's such a great story! I'm adoring it! So wonderful; I loved how you portrayed Katie. She seems like fun :)
Please, don't take too long on updating! I'm curious about where this is going.
10/10

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm so glad you're liking the story and Kate! :) I won't take long in updating at all - I'm already halfway done with the second chapter (or a little under). Thank you so much for this amazing review! :)
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #17, by collette michelle Welcome Cottage

18th August 2009:
Ooohh, I like this already. The voice you've given to Katie, pardon me, I mean Kate, is very interesting. It's very... well I can't put a word on it (real helpful, I know!) I think she is going to be a very intriguing character as she develops throughout the story.

I am so excited that Charlie is in this, I just love Charlie. I've always wanted to write Charlie as one of the main characters in a fic. But I've had no such luck, so I have to settle for a secondary one. Though we've only seen him for a few lines I have a really good feeling about him.

Cannot wait for more!
xx.

Author's Response: Hello! I'm happy you liked Kate's voice. She's giving me a spot of trouble in chapter two. Oh well. And develop she will! Just precisely how ... well, I'll have to keep writing to find that out. XD

I'm glad you're excited for Charlie! He's definitely my favorite Weasley. By far. Aw, you should write him as a major character! He definitely deserves the love (dear JKR made him a poor bachelor).

I'm very happy that you liked it. Thank you so much for the review! I'm writing the second chapter as I type. :)
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #18, by SnitchSnatcher Welcome Cottage

18th August 2009:
You've done it again, Kali! I've fallen in love with this story. And it's only the first chapter. Honestly, I don't know why you're so worried about the first person - you obviously have a fantastic grasp of it and write it far better than I could ever dream (and most of my stories are in first, lol). I love Kate, but I can already tell that I'm going to adore Mads, mainly because she reminds me of the crazy roommate from 'Failure to Launch'. That may also be because her face is Zooey Deschanel, who I love, by the way, so that earned you an additional thumbs-up.

However, as funny as that particular sequence was, I've one thing to say - Charlie! Oh my, CHARLIE. God. Like, literally. God. He is a god, just like Kate said. I loved the 'don't wake Charlie' bit - reminded me of the whole Hogwarts motto, you know? I already love him and the potential relationship between he and Kate. I should probably prepare myself for future laughter - there's going to be lots!

Great job, Kali! This is fantastic!

Author's Response: Honestly? I've yet to read Committed - but I'm sure you write it far better than I do (the summary for "Conventional Wisdom" alone had me in stitches!) - you've been at it for much longer than I have. Haha, I'm happy you like Mads. Yes, she is very much inspired by the crazy roommate in "Failure to Launch" (I loved her in that! Along with Justin Bartha ... yum) .

Charlie! Yes, Charlie is such a darling. I'm so happy you caught that! Never tickle a sleeping dragon, hehe. And that's precisely what she did. Dear God!

In any case, I'm so happy you liked it! Thank you so much for this amazing review, Molly. ILYSM.
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #19, by radicallyali Welcome Cottage

18th August 2009:
I really like this idea. A lot. And I've always kinda loved Katie Bell. And throw a Weasley in there, and you're all set. I think I'll be following this story.

I love how Katie explans things: Imagine cold. Good. Multiply that by a lot. There you go.
That made me laugh a lot. I'm excited to read more.

Author's Response: Hey there! Haha, I've always been fascinated by Katie, too, as she was always a little bit apart from Alicia Spinnet and Angelina Johnson. And Charlie, of course, is absolute love. The only Weasley bachelor. :)

That was fun to write! I'm glad it made you laugh. ^_^ Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, it's really pleasant to get such nice feedback!

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login