Reading Reviews for Child Of Devil Born
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elphaba and Boyfriends Basil And Soft Winds

18th July 2012:
This is honestly one the most depressing Remus/Tonks stories I have ever read. :) That's not a critique, though, because it seems that was the intent.

The writing is beautiful; I love the little descriptive details (the breeze kissing her, her heel hitting the floor, the scent of basil, his light touch on her shoulder) that make the scene come alive.

I'd be really interested to read a follow-up that peeks in on them again after Teddy is born. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by reader Basil And Soft Winds

16th January 2010:
if you do the math he's actually 14 years her senior

Author's Response: Oh, is he? Eek. I'm sorry, I wasn't super into keeping with canon on this one-shot, I kind of wrote it on a whim. Thank you for telling me, though!

 Report Review

Review #3, by celticbard Basil And Soft Winds

7th September 2009:
Oh, Kali. This is a masterpiece, truly. I have tears in my eyes, which is a rare thing indeed.

I love everything about this story, particularly the use of the word "girl" to describe Tonks. Yes, she is a girl, but mature beyond her years.

Her relationship with Remus is heartbreaking. Although he is my favorite HP character, I must say that I don't approve of his attitude here. I can understand his fear and anxiety, but at this point, he is a poor husband and father. Perhaps it is the wolf in him that drives him away from any warmth.

It was an absolute joy to read this story, Kali. Thank you for posting such a treasure!

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Lee Anne! Oh, I'm sorry I've made you tear up, dear. :( I liked calling her a girl, mainly because I thought she was always so happy, there must have been something to get her down. For me, it was her age.

Hehe, you like Remus, eh? I ... kind of do? It's complicated. I made him into kind of an antagonistic character here. He is a very poor husband indeed, and a worse father. I'd like to think it's fear of the wolf rather than the wolf itself that pushes him to do that.

Thank you so much for this review, Lee Anne. It means so much to hear from you. *huggles* :)

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #4, by WeasleyTwins Basil And Soft Winds

6th September 2009:
Hi Kalina! :]]

This was pure, unadulterated beauty. Such an amazing interpretation of Remus and Tonks's relationship. I love that you tied nature into the piece; it was more than just the moon, it was the stars and the wind. That was absolutely gorgeous. "Her heels hit the ground, and a cool breeze comes in to kiss her body." - This was, by far, my favorite line. It ties in the nature aspect of the piece nicely. You could have said that the moon's glow kissed her body, rather you chose to use the wind. For me, this was truly symbolic. It shows that their relationship is in shambles, but the baby keeps them together.

Also, I really enjoyed the tense that you used in this story. It just really worked well. Overall, I truly enjoyed this. It is amazing.

10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: Oh, Shelby. *huggles*

Nature is a /huge/ influence on my writing, mainly because I write next to the window with it open, typically, so all the breezes and the scents come in to my room and make me feel so much more alive. Ooh, that sentence. You know, this was one of those one-shots that you just write mindlessly, and the words just come. :) It's a real pleasure. ^_^ And sadly enough, their relationship is falling apart, like a house of cards. :( I feel so cruel, but that's the sad truth.

Thank you so much for the review, my dear! *hugs* I'm thrilled you liked it. ^^
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #5, by Icestorm Basil And Soft Winds

1st September 2009:
oh my god.
this fic was so beautifully written, so touching and sweet.

Author's Response: Thank you! *blush* I'm so pleased you liked it.
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #6, by MajiKat Basil And Soft Winds

24th August 2009:
GAH

kalina you are a goddess.
this was stunning. a beautiful evocative piece filled with the poetry of broken dreams. oh i loved it! loved it loved it!!

it was so sad yet filled with hope at the same time. you wrote the bliss of a pregnant woman so well, you know that? nothing else matters but the child - in the end, it is the most important thing that over-rides all other things.

i don't know what else to say. i'm kind of lost for words. if i quoted my favourite line i'd be quoting the majority of the piece back to you.

it was beautiful. as often happens with your writing, i felt like i was on the outside looking in, which is lovely. you have a gorgeous narrative voice and this voice, in this piece, was soft and delicate, but still strong.

stunning work once more!

kate xx

Author's Response: Kate, /you/ are a goddess. Have you even read your own work? (I am speaking, young missy, about "Aphrodite Rising") It's beautiful! I'm happy I captured the happiness of Tonks as a pregnant woman - it's not something I've fully experienced quite yet. And yes, the child. The child is what drives all desires.

I'm so happy you liked this, dear, and thank you so much for this amazing, amazing, AMAZING review. ILYSFM. *hugs*

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #7, by Axjion Basil And Soft Winds

23rd August 2009:
I stumbled across this at [TGS] and it interested me so, and I had to read it. I'm glad that I did.

You've really put into perspective so many new ideas about their infamous relationship: How did they really feela bout each behind closed doors? How did her pregnancy affect their relationship? Did she fear what her child would've had the potential to become?

Now, I adore that this was written in the present tense because it seems to add to the mood you've given off. I don't quite often see things this powerful and poetic, and it's something I must applaud and even bow to.

It awing how you've shown them to be people with really opposing personality using such few words; she loved the moon, he loved the sun.

This was a strong, well-thought-out and wonderful piece and it something beyond simple promise.
-Axjion

Author's Response: Hey Axe! Well, you know, I never found any canon relevance to Remus loving Tonks as much as Tonks quite so obviously loved him (for seemingly no reason, just that she could). I'd always seen Remus as desperately in love with either Sirius or Lily, for some odd reason. Oh well.

The present tense third person is one of my favorite styles of writing - it gives much more power, in my opinion, to the words and much more emotion. Bow to! *laughs* No, you shan't bow to me. But thank you! *blush*

I loved the metaphors of the earth, sun, and moon so much - though they're over-cliched, here they work, especially because of the werewolf connotations.

I'm so pleased you liked this, Axe! Thank you so much for the lovely, lovely review. :)
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #8, by The Empress Basil And Soft Winds

23rd August 2009:
Kalina it's amazing!! Absolutely stunning work :) This has got to be one of the best 'missing moments' sort of pieces I've ever read. I commented this in the discussion forum over at TGS, but I could see this as not being just that Remus doesn't love her or her child, but that he is afraid. I love Remus, he's one of my favorite characters, but I have always seen him as someone ruled by his fears and his self-loathing. I can see this tying in with that view of him.
However you meant it, it came out wonderfully. It's a tender sort of sadness that pulls me in and lingers. I love it.
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Shiloh! *dies* Thank you so much! I didn't really think of it as a "missing moment" piece, to be honest - and I just read your comments over at TGS - thank you again!! Yes, Remus is definitely afraid, and he does display a lot of inner conflict, which I personally find fascinating. It's not that he didn't love the child, but that he finds it to be a victim of his folly - had he controlled himself a little more, it wouldn't have been such.

Thank you so much for this, Shiloh. I'm so thrilled you liked it. ^_^
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #9, by padfoot4ever Basil And Soft Winds

22nd August 2009:
Hey Kalina :)
First off, I have to say that reading this, I feel like I'm reading something from the Romantic era. It has pretty much all the qualities of an 18th century Romantic novel, and is unlike anything I've ever read on HPFF.
This is a good thing, obviously. Actually, it's a brilliant thing.
It's just so poetic. You make little, ordinary details just come alive and seem really extraordinary. Tonks' feelings are just so obvious, while Remus is so reclusive - like you've written, they are just total opposites.
I love how this is written in the present tense. It makes me feel like I'm actually there with Tonks, staring out the window. I love the emphasis on nature too, how it is nature that defines them and how they are feeling.
The letter is so sad too. Probably because we all know how Tonks and Remus' story ends, and now I can't help but wonder how Teddy would react in years to come upon reading the letter.
All in all, I thought this was beautiful. The formal writing style and dialogue just made it so very original, and even though it was a very simple story where not much really happened, it will really stick in my head. Thank you for writing this! 10/10
Heather x

Author's Response: Oh, Heather. You're so nice to me. An 18th century Romantic novel? -blush- Thank you so much! I'm happy you enjoyed it - that Tonks was very vivid (in my mind, at least) while Remus substantially less so.

I enjoy writing one-shots in present tense, especially since I find it gives such a stronger impact to the reader. And nature has always been such a huge, huge influence to me (cheesily enough), so I couldn't help but include that here.

You know, I never actually thought of Teddy finding the letter, but it is, to me, Tonks's acceptance that she will die. :( Such sadness! I hated that JK gave them such a tragic end.

Thank you so much for this beautiful, beautiful review, Heather. -huggles-
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #10, by Phoenix_Flames Basil And Soft Winds

21st August 2009:
Oh my gosh, Kalina! Wow!

Just oh my gosh. This was amazing. The emotions you managed to put across were fantastic and amazing. I can understand Tonks' emotions completely, but I never imagined them possible to be put into words so beautifully.

Kalina! Just oh my gosh! This was amazing, hon. I don't even know what to say. Perfect.

Favorites!

10/10

Author's Response: Drue!! :) Wow, I have no idea how to respond to such a review. You flatter me so, so much! -dies- Thank you so much for such an amazing review, really, I'm at a loss for words! ILY hon, thank you!

XOXO, Kalian


 Report Review

Review #11, by Indigo Seas Basil And Soft Winds

19th August 2009:
Aw, this was so... sad! And heartbreaking! And... aw...!

You're right, the banner does tie everything together in this story. It really is a nice banner, isn't it?

ANYWAY, I'm here as requested, and also because you entered my challenge, so it all works out well, doesn't it? ^.^

Let me just say that this was... beautiful. Really poetic, in a way, and I especially loved the part about the "Is there anything more perfect than the rain?". Everything just... fit! It all flowed really well, leaving the reader in AWE of your word-choice (OK, so maybe not everyone was in AWE, but I was. And they SHOULD be XD).

I really liked the characterizations of both Remus and Tonks in this piece. They are totally in-character. Even though we don't know much about their home lives from the books, they just seem to fit into what they were saying and doing here, you know?

And like, I said, I was just... wowed by this. I mean, you always take such simple concepts and turn them into something lovely, don't you? I mean, I guess everyone could write about a sad pregnancy and make it boring and sad and all, "my husband doesn't love me. oh well." But this was just so... different from all that! It was so unique and refreshing, even though people have written similar concepts before. So definite kudos to you for that. In fact, have a basket of 'em.

Yeah, so, I'm awed. I thought it was great, and I have no complaints. Unfortunately, it did not make me cry, though maybe I was just too wrapped up in it to think about crying. Lovely job, Kalina. :)

10/10

- Rin

Author's Response: Aw, Rin! Ha, I didn't realize I'd requested you and entered the challenge! XD My bad. I'm happy you liked the banner - I loved that picture of Natalia Vodianova.

Well, in a sense, Tonks's POV was also kind of my own. I adore the rain, I love being outside when it does rain, and it was drawn from a teenage relationship where I liked the boy much more than he could ever have liked me. You thought they were in-character? O___o

Wow. I certainly didn't. It was my first time writing R/T, so I'm happy you liked it! I'm so pleased that you liked it - even if it didn't make you cry (well, personally, I didn't think it would have made me cry, but Susan and Gubby encouraged me to enter it in the challenge, so oh well XD). Thank you so much for this lovely review! ^__^

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ores Basil And Soft Winds

18th August 2009:
I did not realize that I submitted a rating along with my last comment. : Oops.

My mistakes aside, I find especially moving the part of your story that reads, "They are not her name. She lives a lie." I don't think I'm eloqent enough to express (or rather, insightful enough to grasp) what exactly it is this makes me feel. But I am deeply impressed and touched by the girl's awareness of her own somber reality, and yet her insistence on seeing life as beautiful.

Author's Response: Your last comment? Ratings are fine, but I don't typically use them myself, so I doubt it's a huge mistake. ;)

Oh, I did enjoy writing that line. To me, it meant that her love was not perfect: that she loved Remus so completely and he did not love her as much as she deserved it. But she does insist on living life to the fullest, in a way, because she knows that she will die.

Thank you so much for this beautiful review. I'm very pleased that you liked it. :)
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #13, by Periodic Basil And Soft Winds

18th August 2009:
That was an amazing piece! You have a way with words! It sounded almost like poetry, and I loved the way you described things, touching on the five senses. Really well done!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for this lovely review. I'm glad you liked it - a lot of people tell me I write one-shots like poetry; personally, I'd prefer writing them in a way that actually made /sense/ (this one made absolutely none to me), but oh well. You can't get what you want. But I'm so happy you liked it! Thanks again!

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #14, by Violet Gryfindor Basil And Soft Winds

17th August 2009:
You've made me tear up with this story. It's not my vision of their relationship, but it does fit into canon extremely well, which is somewhat disturbing. It was the most random of relationships in the first place, and then JKR threw in the baby and it grew even more tragic. Remus was pretty much fated to die and he knew it - Tonks just got mixed up along the way. She is a bit more girlish than I'd imagine, but at the same time, I can't imagine her pregnant either - it was an image that the books never provided. So like I said, you're all within canon, leaving me nothing to complain about. :P

What I do really love about this piece is the emotion. It's very deep and realistic, emphasizing Tonks's love for her child and for Remus, though the child comes first. What she said about the moon makes me question her love for Remus, though - it shows how little they truly know one another, hinting that there isn't "true love" in their relationship; it was more of an accident. And it's heartbreaking how both are affected by being together, how much it's torn them apart.

The letter at the end and how she chose at that moment to name the baby after her father is what hit me hardest. It was beautifully subtle; you were able to show without telling, and that heightened the impact.

So yes, I liked this very much. Beautiful is the best word I can think of to describe the prose and the emotion it conveys. ^_^

Author's Response: Oh, Susan. -blushes repeatedly- I've made you tear up? Well, you told me so in the TGS cbox, but still, I can hardly believe it. It was intended to be tear-jerkingly sad, yes, but I don't think I personally achieved that goal (which was why I decided to enter another fic into Rin's challenge). You know, I was never a full Remus/Tonks shipper in the first place - it seemed horribly out of place, and like I've told you, I see Remus more as gay. Or in love with Lily. Gah, I hate this interpretation of Tonks. She's totally out of canon, so, really, it could have been any girl Remus got pregnant, except her. And I had to step on the mine and blow myself up.

Lovely visual, that.

But it's nice to know I'm within the bounds of canon - whatever that can be called now, LOL! :D I'm happy you liked the emotion: the child does come first, but I hoped to show how she longed for Remus, despite his distance from her. True love really doesn't exist between them, because together they are both so ill-fated.

I'm glad you liked the letter. It was abominably hard to write. I couldn't get the right words, the right atmosphere - even now, I don't think it's working. >


 Report Review

Review #15, by icequeencissa Basil And Soft Winds

17th August 2009:
Amazing writing. I do live the story but I always thought that Remus did want Teddy just not to put him in danger and I thought he would love Tonks and care for her. I might have interpreted the story in a different way but it is still brilliant!!!
Icequeencissa

Author's Response: Thank you! Well, I guess that was just my interpretation of canon. I'm not an active Remus/Tonks shipper, and I felt that Remus would rather have his son not be born than be like him. But again, my interpretation, not everybody's. :) I'm pleased you liked it! Thank you so much for reviewing.
XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login