Reading Reviews for Victory Marches
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roots in Water The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

18th July 2012:
This is a very interesting story and you wrote it in a beautiful manner. In particular I liked the way you started your story with the "missing" advertisement. The line "She's been missing since October 17" was a really powerful line and I wasn't expecting what I read next (though that's definitely not to say that I didn't like what I read).

I think that you captured the essence of war very well - it is chaotic and it is ugly. The manner in which you wrote about how they tried to protect themselves, to lighten their moods, made their sanity seem unstable - it seems as though everyone was going mad. The description about how their spines were falling and their bones shedding seemed very unnatural and scary. These are powerful statements about war - no one can come through a war the same as they went in, no one can come out undamaged.

As well, you delved even further into the disaster that is war to explore the damage it does to personal relationships. I found it very interesting how you had James cheat on Lily - war destroys everything, even indirectly. The way you wrote that James loved the wrong person, for he loved a person that loved him completely, and that he was with a person that didn't love him at all, truly made it seem as though war ruins everything it touches and doesn't let the better emotions into the play. It reduces us to more brutal versions of ourselves and love has no role - it's out of place. However, I could just be over-analyzing things...

Finally, I really liked how you repeated the beginning in the conclusion, adding extra details. The sudden switch to first person really made the ending seem raw and personal - she seemed so desperate and hopeless.

All in all I think that you did a very good job with this story. I loved the way in which you explored the complexities of war and the way it affected human behaviour.

 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyL8 The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

18th July 2012:
Hi there.

OMG. I love that ending! I was so sure I had figured out the whole story, then that ending came and I realized I had it all wrong.

Anyway, this story captivated me. I love how you start with that ... I don't know what to call it... but it looked like something you could see in a news paper, someone looking for a lost person, a missing person. And I just immediately thought that this had something to do with the war. This was a girl that something happened to during the war. But I was of course wrong!

I love your way of writing; the fact that you have a lot of description, emotion are in italics, and how you end it the way you do. I wasn't sure how I would like seeing James with someone else that Lily, but it worked. And I love how you point out that it's the war that makes them feel the way they do for each other, cause I can definitely imagine that.

And my favorite part was that ending. It was surprising to say the least. I didn't see that coming. But I did love it. I didn't think the girl was Marlene, but it does make sense as they were most likely around the same age. So yeah, I enjoyed it. Good job :D

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cleopatraa The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

18th August 2010:
You chose a lovely summary. Because I was immeadiately like who is missing. I only donít like the fact sheís missing since october 17 because thatís my bíday. I love the fact you wrote about arlene McKinnon becayse I love minor characters and I myself have just written a story about her. This story reminded me even a bit of the movie Ď The Lovely Bonesí. This was really amazing, weird and I didnít really get it but still amazing. This reminded me also of a sad poem. It has that vibe around it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Violatrix Stone The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

30th September 2009:
Beautiful, I love your writing it's so eloquent.

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by Eridanus The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

14th September 2009:
I think this is the story I have most enjoyed that has been the most over my head :P. I have my own rough interpretation of it, but it's probably not very right!

I've read it about three times at this point and am only just getting round to reviewing, but I really really like it. I adore the fact that she was talking about herself at the beginning and how you add more to it at the end.

I think that another aspect of it I like is the ambiguity, and the fact that it was so extroardinary. It allows your readers to decide, in a way, what they are reading about and I loved the symbolic effect of the light.

This really was quite mind blowing, Kalina.

 Report Review

Review #6, by RonsGirlFriday The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

5th September 2009:
This is one of those fics where after I read it I'm not sure what just happened to me. But I know that, whatever it was, I liked it. XD

I really like reading work like yours because you have a truly unique way of putting words together. Literally, there's nobody on earth who will ever write something exactly like this. Even your groupings of four words throughout the story -- I have no idea how you came up with them, but looking at the finished product, they actually make sense, in a nonsensical way.

The beginning and ending were great, too, and they really rounded the whole thing out.

I love the song "Hallelujah," too -- though I would just add that! It really fits this story perfectly.

Fantastic!

-- Melanie

Author's Response: Haha, it's one of my weirder fics, to be sure. :P I'm glad you liked it, nevertheless.

Well, I doubt anyone would write something exactly like "Hardboiled", my dear - that one-shot was hilarious! And the grouping of four words was random, actually. I just went with my train of thought, haha! :P

And Hallelujah is one of my favorite songs. Leonard Cohen, of late, has become my muse. ^_^

Thank you so much for this review, Melanie! I'm so happy you liked it. *huggles*

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #7, by Memory_Dust The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

3rd September 2009:
OMG! great story. i cant wait to read on!!! **part two** i mean

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very pleased you like it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Indigo Seas The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

26th August 2009:
Goodness, Kalina, I... have no words for this. I mean, what a beautiful, bizarre little piece of fiction you have here. I think those two words can some up my feelings about this. Beautiful. Bizarre. :) It was lovely.

Author's Response: Rin! *blushes* Thank you so much. Bizarre, yes, it is. XD I'm pleased you found it was lovely. Thank you so much for this review!

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #9, by Majikat The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

25th August 2009:
O.O

i think that *points up* will become a standard response of mine to your stuff.

HOLY! this was so entrancing! it was a lullaby, soft and sad and while you didn't tell me anything about anyone in the story, or even where they were ect etc I KNEW it all anyway! how do you do that? how do you weave such a spell with your words?

gah.

im sorry if this is a ridiculous review but i absolutely adored this. its just my type of thing!! strange and sweet and stunning.

kate xx

Author's Response: Kate! *dies* You flatter me, so, so much. A lullaby? LOL, I'm not sure that it was intended to be a lullaby, but that works for me. I do not weave a spell! My dear, that is /your/ prerogative!

Thank you so much for this absolutely lovely - and not ridiculous, it's making me grin like a silly hoot - review. ILY!

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #10, by pink_rook The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

24th August 2009:
I love minor characters. And this story makes me wanting to know more about Marlene McKinnon. :] I've never read anything about her.

A beautiful reading.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I've always been fascinated by Marlene, who disappeared in Albania during the first war. I'll be continuing and expanding upon her story with other one-shots. Thank you again! I'm pleased you liked it. :)

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #11, by shadowycorner The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

22nd August 2009:
Kalina, this is simply a beautiful piece. I don't care how weird it is or anything, I just love the way it is written. It's all like a poem brought to prose. Maybe you even meant it that way, because not only does it rhyme, but it has the magical ethereal vibe poetry has. They way you describe the emotions that run through the characters is splendid and not forceful at all. It makes the reader go rigid in a gorgeous way, thinking of how it must be to feel what they are feeling. I don't know what to say about this. It's the second time I'm reading it and I love it even more. This is poetic and wonderful and you should be proud of it no matter what you think or say.

I love the choice of characters and the way it makes me think this is precisely made for them even though it could be written about anyone. Great, great job, truly. It's already a favorite of mine. :)

Liz

 Report Review

Review #12, by Unwritten Curse The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

20th August 2009:
Wow. *blinks* Just wow.

You've just painted a scene for me without ever saying, flat out, what is happening. Yet I know. It's magical. And it's poetry. You have such a way with words, and I'm captivated.

I'm a huge fan of yours. :) 10/10!

Keep writing,
Gina

Author's Response: Oh my goodness! How does one respond to such a flattering review? Let me start by saying thank you! Thank you, thank you, thank you! You've no idea how much this means to me. -huggles- And a fan? Hah! I doubt that - there are much better writers out there than me, you know. ;)

But thank you so much for the praise. It really means so much to me right now.

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review

Review #13, by TwilightPrincess The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

17th August 2009:
Wow. This was just amazing. So deep!

The repetition of the opening at the end was a brilliant touch. To see that the narrator is the one that's speaking is just so smart. I never would have thought of that. That's so cool.

I'm just impressed by this piece. It moved really fast, and I loved that. Because of that, I felt the narrator's heart beating faster as she kissed the man she didn't really love.

I can't wait to see what else you do with this because it's such an intriguing beginning. Please let me know when you expand on this - I would love to read it. =)

Thank you for taking my challenge! I hope you enjoyed yourself! ^_^

Ganbare! Tanoshinde ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Hey there! Wow, thank you so much for reviewing. I actually kept telling myself not to put it up because it felt so weird to me.

You know, because I wrote this, I've been inspired to write a series of 500-word snippets of Marlene's life, which, if you don't mind, will all go to your challenge (but you said you'd review every entry - so please don't bother! I'm very happy you even reviewed this one!)

Thank you so much for this amazing review - and your challenge was truly inspiring. I really did enjoy myself.

XOXO,
Kalina


 Report Review

Review #14, by andy The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

17th August 2009:
oh, that was beautiful! i loved it; it was fantastic.

10/10, most definitely!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so pleased you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by meggy_knows The Minor Fall, The Major Lift

17th August 2009:
Let me tell you, that I read this story because October 17 is my birthday. I'm sorry, but it is. And I liked it. You have wonderful imagery skills and your vocabulary is astounding. I was wondering if the italicized words just came to you, if there's a particular meaning behind the place you put them, or what. And I was moved by the ending, with the 'she's me.' It was wonderful.

Author's Response: October 17 is your birthday? What a funny coincidence! :P I'm so happy you liked it - actually, the italicized words just came to me. It's supposed to give the room a sort of dislocated feel. I don't know how well I succeeded. XD

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I might be continuing this story as a 500-word one-shots series, so keep an eye out!

XOXO, Kalina


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login