Reading Reviews for The Broken Hallelujah
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BrendanSpark The Broken Hallelujah

23rd December 2010:
That was heartbreaking, and beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read it ^_^ I honestly cannot thank you enough for your support. I hope you are having a wonderful night- xoxo

 Report Review

Review #2, by Aidenk77 The Broken Hallelujah

3rd August 2010:
This was just wonderful. Beautiful and sad. I enjoyed it so much.

10/10

Author's Response: I am thrilled that you enjoyed it! ^_^ Thank you for such an encouraging review & for taking the time to read the story! I hope you have a wonderful night! xoxo

 Report Review

Review #3, by livelife0890 The Broken Hallelujah

21st July 2010:
Whoa. I listened to the Jeff Buckley version while I read this. What a chilling story! Definitely the best fanfic I've read in a long time. I'm just sad it had to end that way, although I understand how powerful the story was because of it!

Author's Response: I am, not kidding you, listening to his version now as I write this ^_^. He's freaking amazing! I hadn't heard him before, but I really like the haunting element his voice brings to the equation. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the story, and I'm pleased that you found meaning in the ending. Your support means the world to me & I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share your thoughts! I hope you have a wonderful night! xoxo

 Report Review

Review #4, by nice The Broken Hallelujah

14th May 2010:
Wow best song fic i have ever read.

Author's Response: You are very kind ^_^. Thank you so much for reading and for your support - I'm glad you enjoyed! I hope you are having a wonderful day! xoxo

 Report Review

Review #5, by DracoFerret11 The Broken Hallelujah

26th March 2010:
I, of course, adore Safe, so reading this was a must.

Wonderful. Really. I mean... I don't really have any distinct love for Harmony, but I really liked how you wrote this. I'll always be a Dramione fan through-and-through, but this was absolutely brilliant. The plot was fantastic. And the relationship you portrayed was so sweet... I feel terrible for how it ended, but I suppose Hermione will find some sort of happiness wtih Ron... Just not REAL happiness. :P Ha, I really don't know. But I loved it, that's the important part. Soo... AMAZING JOB! :D You're terrific.

--DracoFerret11

Author's Response: You are so wonderful! *hug tackles* I cannot tell you how much your feedback means to me ^_^ You are too kind; you really, truly are. I really am excited that you were able to enjoy the story without being a die hard fan of the ship. And I'm really psyched that you thought the plot flowed well - I am always weary of songfics that skip around, because I've seen many that rely too heavily on the lyrics to make connections between scenes. So the idea that you liked this has me doing odd little victory dances ^_^ Haha, not real happiness? I loved how you phrased that - it made me cackle. I think you're right - definitely not real happiness. I've toyed with writing a sequel-esque shot with Ron and Hermione, to explore how it turns out, because right now - I really don't know. *contemplates* You are amazing and wonderful and thank you so much for reading :) It rocks my universe. xoxo

 Report Review

Review #6, by Daphne 13 The Broken Hallelujah

4th December 2009:
Omg this was so beautifully dramatic

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reviewing! You've made my day. I'm very glad you enjoyed. xoxo

 Report Review

Review #7, by sirius writer The Broken Hallelujah

18th September 2009:
OMG that was absolutely amazing, I have tears running down my face... how unbelievably wonderful. the story had me hooked right from the beginning, I kept hoping it wouldn't end. You are totally amazing and I am going to read some of your other work. Great, fantastic, wonderful... anyway you get my drift...
Sirius xoxo

Author's Response: Hey Sirius- I'm absolutely thrilled you enjoyed it! I'm dancing around like a maniac - I am so very touched that the story moved you in such a way. I'm glad you found it entertaining from beginning to end; I am very grateful to you for reading and being so wonderful as to review! Have a wonderful weekend! xoxo

 Report Review

Review #8, by loveluna The Broken Hallelujah

14th September 2009:
oh my god. this has to be one of the best one-shots i've read.
it was really emotional, i wasn't really expecting what happened - the bit at the end brought tears to my eyes.
well done, i think you're a great writer, i can't wait to read some of your other works, hopefully they won't be as sad!

Author's Response: Hey loveluna! It's wonderful to meet you and I'm so very glad you found it to be emotionally stirring. I'm truly pleased that you found the ending to be unpredictable and I am thrilled you found the style to your liking =). Funnily enough, I'm writing one of the saddest chapters in my other work presently. I swear, it's just a coincidence! =) Thank you so much for reading and thank you for the encouragement! x

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ravie_girl29 The Broken Hallelujah

13th September 2009:
I did a story to this song too, but a different verson, anyways, AMAZING story, omg I started crying, granted, it doesn't take much to make me cry, how ever, I absolutly love this story! its so good, It ripped my heart out, poor Hermione, And I'm not a big H/Hr fan, I'm a H/G girl, but this story made me get really into H/Hr, 10/10. I'm going to go read your other storys now just because I loved this story so much

~~~Lily~~~

Author's Response: Hey Lily! That's ever so kind of you! I'm so excited that you liked the story- I've never read much Harry/Ginny, but I will definitely check out your version of this songfic =) I used a blend of two versions so I sort of cheated, but I can't wait to see how you tweaked yours! It's lovely to meet you and I'm so thrilled you enjoyed! xoxo

 Report Review

Review #10, by quirky31 The Broken Hallelujah

7th September 2009:
This is a fantastic chapter, I really enjoyed it. I had tears in my eyes ... thats some amazing work you have produced.

Congratualtions

Author's Response: Thank you quirky31- that truly means a lot to me =) I'm very glad you enjoyed it. x

 Report Review

Review #11, by alanapotter The Broken Hallelujah

5th September 2009:
SARAH!!! ILY!!! gah! I was so surprised when I looked and saw that. and then I was even MORE surprised when I realized I hadn't come back and written a review! But I'm here now and so ecstatic!

I really love this piece. Even more than Safe, I'm afraid to say. There's a certain... je ne sais quoi about it. I think it's that same kind of thing we talked about with Introspection; here you have taken everything and thrown it all into one... you've gotten straight to the point and laid everything on the line, whereas a long novel(la) you drag things out and have to think them all through over a longer period of time, which, I feel, makes the writing weaker (even though Safe is still amazing! I didn't mean it in a bad way).

I love the way death hangs over them throughout this whole piece... it really heightened their emotions and helped the audience see who they truly are, even in such a short (ish) story. I'm not really a big H/Hr fan, but the way this is written. It was so beautiful, so touching, and really heart wrenching. There's no way that anyone could say they didn't like it. ;]

In some parts I feel like the characters were the smallest bit OOC, which isn't always a bad thing, but is generally a result of the ship being non-canon. There's no way for us to know how these two would react in any kind of relationship beyond their friendship, so you're definitely free to take some liberties, which I'm glad to see you did; that's how you grow as an author.

Awww. I love the scene with Voldemort. Firstly, you write Voldemort really well. the way he needs satisfaction from the pain, awesome. And Harry.. you kept him really well characterized there. The way he's torn between what he wants and what's necessary... how he hates to die, hates the thought of not living the rest of his life, but how he knows he has to, and how he does it so that others can prosper. It's so heroic... and so very much Harry. And so was the scene where he tells Hermione to go on after he's gone. The manner in which these two connected was just perfect. He knew she would do it because he made her promise, so he could go. It was just beautiful.

I don't know why, but I feel like the scene with Bella was a bit fast paced... I mean, that's how it is in that kind of situation, or how it seems, but it was like she appeared and was killed. I dunno. It was well written, to be sure, but it wasn't the OMG she killed Bella... it was the oh, Bella was just killed, okay kind of reaction.

I couldn't believe that he died though! Amazing, really, because it definitely made me cry (not that it takes much, but still ;]). I think a lot of people try to avoid that as well... I mean JKR made it a happy ending for Merlin's sake! I was kind of disappointed with that, so I'm really glad to see it not working out all happily ever after here! And the way you included Ron in it... the interaction he and Hermione had... absolutely flawless. Certainly my favorite part of the story.

Finally, the lyrics were so wonderfully placed. You know, I read a lot of song fics where the song sort of repeats what's gone on in the story, but the way you included these. they were connected, but the original song told a different story. Here you told your own and used them as a sort of evidence to back up what you wrote. It was like the emotions were laid out for us to read, were enhanced by the music one hears when reading the lyrics, and then tied together with the italicized thoughts that popped up, showing us exactly what the characters were thinking.

Really Sarah, this piece was absolutely beautiful. There's no other way for me to describe it. It's kind of like the pictures (real and made in GIMP ;]) that we were talking about last night. I love it, I really do.

I can't wait for more from you! :D
-Jill

P.S. I think this takes the slot as my longest review ever! Holy cow, I just realized how much I wrote! :D

Author's Response: Jill! You so lovely- what an amazing review! =)

I am glad that you like it more than Safe: truly, I think its better writing. Safe’s disadvantage is it’s the first thing I ever wrote- the first chapters leave something to be desired. And, as you say, in novels things must be drawn out and diluted because, unlike in a one shot, the world cannot end in every chapter.

I’m glad you found that even though the characterizations had been slightly changed, you were able to follow the flow of the story. I tried to keep as true to the book as possible, but if Harry had kept his charmingly complete inability to speak with relationship fervor the story wouldn’t have gotten much past the third scene. ^_^.

You phrased that perfectly - Voldemort thrives off pain. He needs the satisfaction and when Harry refuses to give him that, it infuriates him. The scene where Harry makes her promise was very painful to write. I’m very glad it came across well in the story- because you’re exactly right- he’s trying to be heroic and at the same time he’s totally falling apart. And he makes her promise in order to keep her together.

I do believe you are right about the scene with Bella. When Kingsley strikes it isn’t the “OMG” moment, but I didn’t want to have one right before the biggest one- I didn’t want the reader to be too shocked. I wanted to keep that for the thestral. But it does seem abrupt- you are correct.

I’m glad you liked the ending. Killing Harry killed me. While writing, I never thought of it as an alternative ending to the series- seeing it in context is still a bit shocking to me. My goal was to have the reader not go “Yes, Voldemort’s dead and the wizarding world can progress and Harry’s dead- happy” but “Harry is dead. Hermione is shattered. Who care that Voldemort is dead?” It’s caring about the individual characters more than the grand scheme. That’s where I think it varies from JKR’s.

I loved writing the Ron interaction – that’s when I knew this had to be its own story. It’s the moment when Hermione breaks because, of course, she promised Harry she would let Ron take care of her. She promised. And so she lets herself be carried away.

I’m glad you found the lyrics adding to the story rather than repeating. I truly wanted them to not only support but to further the argument of the story. The fact that you found it to be an evolution of the song, rather than the same story, makes my day =). I’m glad you liked the structure of it and the thoughts in italics as well. I truly hope this accomplished something as a song –fic that it couldn’t have done as a one-shot.

You are amazing! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review: you really are too kind to me. xoxo


 Report Review

Review #12, by harryhermione The Broken Hallelujah

4th September 2009:
i have only one thing to say to describe this: beautiful

Author's Response: Why thank you =) I'm very glad you enjoyed it! xoxox

 Report Review

Review #13, by Groundswell The Broken Hallelujah

3rd September 2009:
Okay, first things first. I'm not a Harry/Hermione shipper, but I liked this. I really did. And I think it's because this story is not about how they get together, but more as an alternative ending to DH. And I love alternative endings :P

Your start, "Please wake up. You have to wake up." Why shouldn't he? I thought he was dying or something when reading this.

It's such a sweet - intimate - moment they have, and I completely understand that Ron gets a little mad here.

Which leads me to a question. Ron fancies Hermione, yes? If so, wouldn't Harry and Hermione feel a little bad about this whole thing? Shouldn't there be some conflict between them (it's a question I'm bound to ask when the pairing is not canon :P), some more arguing?

You have a lot of changes in POV. First Harry, then Hermione, Harry, Hermione and then shortly Ron and at last Hermione. I just don't find it fitting. A story should only be written in one POV, two only if there's a need for it, and I only saw this once here, before Harry died.

Obviously Ginny and Harry didn't work out here.

But in this scene, Hermions seemes extremely angry - "Where is he? she spat." And when she's suddenly in front of him, she's suddenly sweet and wanting to understand, telling him everything's going to be all right. I just don't understand how fast her mood changes.

"Hermione stood but his cool fingers closed around her wrist." Lovely to read the fingers aren't warm; they always are :P

"I wouldnt have had a reason to live though the Graveyard, Hermione." This makes me frown. It's too sweet for Harry to say such thing. It's not fitting.

Harry youre going to survive this. Always the optimist. Typical Hermione, portrayed perfectly here and throughout the most of the story. She gets a little too dramatic towards the end, but the whole other part of the story she's just perfect.

I love the scene in the bed, because already here Harry knows that he's going to die and has dealt with it and thought of Hermione. He wants her to move on, and I think it's exactly the thing he would say, if he were to say such thing. One could have imagined that maybe he wouldn't tell her, because he didn't want to trouble her.

But I did love the ending very much - Harry's death that is. The whole funeral sad thing, it's just me :P

The plot is just fine, really. Considered I don't know how Harry/hermione stories usually work, I think this was original. Nothing too dramatic (yellings of 'I love you's etc and fightings - I love you made a story without these) and it was just going in a fine, slow pace.

Very good story.

Author's Response: Groundswell!
Thank you so much for such a complete, insightful, wonderful review! I really appreciate it - you are so kind! ^_^

I never even thought of this as an alternative ending- but it is ^_^. You're right- it's more about the battle as well as them staying together, rather than getting together in the first place.

Harry does not wake up because he is in a nightmare. His concerning Voldemort always seemed to be very potent in the books, and it takes Hermione awhile to rouse him; she begins to panic. I took that bit of inspiration from when Ron tries to wake Harry in HPB and he wakes up violently ill. =) But I see where you are coming from.

Ron does fancy Hermione in the first scene and we don't see him again until the funeral. That is a sort of hole- not because Harry and Hermione would fight. I don't think they would be divided in the face of Ron's immaturity - but it does leave the reader wondering what Ron is thinking when they are by the lake, for instance. My reason for leaving it out was that I didn't feel it was essential to the dynamic and I didn't want the story to have a cliche scene where Ron miraculously understands or Harry and Hermione tag team him and tell him how immature he is. Still, your point is completely valid.

I'm a bit confused about your POV paragraph. The story is written in third person, following Hermione, with glimpses into the heads of Harry and Hermione. We never get inside Ron's head. We do follow Hermione except for that discontinuity where Harry is about to die. I'm understand where switching from person to person would be confusing, but I don't see where that happens. I love that you're pointing out to me that you perceived it, though- I'll run though it once more.

Hermione is furious with Ginny as she's been listening to this conversation (shouting match, really). Ginny seems to think that she can keep Harry while not being with him while Hermione passionately believes that Harry deserves better than that. While storming off furious with Ginny is a way for Hermione to vent her frustration, telling Harry that Ginny is a git isn't what Harry needs. Harry's needs are Hermione's primary concerns. He needs to think he's going to survive to keep going; so, that's what she tells him. Without even thinking. Also, in a way, she herself cannot contemplate the alternative. And lastly, as you say, Hermione is an optimist. =)

Bahaha, you make me laugh. If only Harry's hands could possibly be warm in freezing weather! Alas, realism crushes my dreams=). Tee hee.

I did contemplate him not telling her about his fate, but I didn't think Hermione could physically survive if she had been blind-sighted. The pain of not having any closure would completely destroy her- and the ending does that already. And I'm so glad you liked the funeral =).

Thank you SO SO MUCH for the review! You've been SO helpful! If you ever need anything, feel free to PM me or post in my review thread! xoxo


 Report Review

Review #14, by harry_lover_07 The Broken Hallelujah

3rd September 2009:
This was amazing, super sad though. I would have loved an ending like the book, where Harry lives. But I enjoyed it very much!!!

Author's Response: I am so glad that you liked it! The ending is very sad - but I'm glad you enjoyed it even if Harry did not live. Thank you so much for your feedback! =)

 Report Review

Review #15, by cazvalleygirl The Broken Hallelujah

3rd September 2009:
Wow.I dont know what else to say! This is defiantly your best chapter so far! It was so heartbreakingly beautiful, I dont think you could have chosen a song more suited. You know how much of a Dramione shipper I am lol but this really captured my heart, I seriously loved it! From start to finish absolutely flawless. Argh I cant believe how it ended but as a wise reviewer once told me "you weren't afraid to make the call you had to as an author, and you deserve commendation" (that was you by the way chapter 14 Beautiful Within lol)

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful piece of work, the new banners and chapter images are lovely, cant wait for safe! Take care 10/10 Charly :D x

Author's Response: Hey Charly! =)
You make me smile like a fiend! I'm so very glad you enjoyed the story, even though Harmony isn't your favorite ship (and after being addicted to BW, I wouldn't have it any other way ;-)

To be honest with you, I never pondered how this story would end ^_^. I wrote the first scene then the last scene quite a bit later, and then I decided to make it its own story by connecting the two. I never conceived of the story without the ending, so it's interesting to hear the reaction to it! Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts! Aw - you're way too nice to me! I was so happy that you brought Draco back realistically that I loved every call you made, by the way ;-)

I'm glad you like the new Safe banner- CelticKisses made it! =) She's amazing- and if the next chapter is not in the queue by this weekend you must come after me with pitchforks.

Thank you so much for reviewing! I agree with you that it's my best so far, so I'm very relieved you like it ;-) xoxo


 Report Review

Review #16, by GryffindorGirl777 The Broken Hallelujah

3rd September 2009:
OMG! that made me cry! Good job!

Author's Response: I'm so glad that the piece engenders such emotion - thank you =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by tatiana rohm The Broken Hallelujah

2nd September 2009:
oh wow... i've never cried while reading a story... it was beautiful

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm truly glad you enjoyed it. =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login