32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by purplepotter77 I: A Priscilla Codwell Rant

15th July 2013:
This was such an enjoyable first chapter! I love Penny already. She seems like such an amusing character, and I think she and I have a similar sense of humor, so I'm eager to read more about her! She's definitely not the Mary Sue type and already I can see that she has a ton of characterization. Penny doesn't seem at all the type of person Percy would date, especially with her less-than-stellar career, so I really want to see what her relationship with Oliver will be like!

Your writing is also incredible. I really just want to spam this review with favorite quotes because I had so many of them, but here's my favorite: "Life is a pigsty, love. You can't get your bacon until you go through all the (non-12+ word)." Mr. Bartie seems like such a great character, too!

Overall, wonderful chapter! Onwards to the next one!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #2, by emerald_princess V: Funeral Rights

8th June 2013:
I really love this story so far. I love the 'voice' you write with, it's really amusing and realistic. Penelope is fantastic, it's strange because she's so cynical and angsty, like all...'woe is me', she kind of sounds like someone I would dislike in reality but the way you've written her I just absolutely love her! I'm liking this slow build up that you've got going on with Penny and Wood, it's really well done, realistic and is keeping me majorly interested.
Perhaps some more Wood/Penny interaction in the next chapter though? Just for fun. :)
Anyway, really good story. Can't wait for the rest!

 Report Review

Review #3, by ruby_slippers III: With A Little Help From My Friends

3rd August 2011:
ahaha! this chapter is hilarious! I love this dry witty version of penelope you have created she's absolutely fantastic! This story is completely wonderful!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ruby_slippers V: Funeral Rights

22nd June 2011:
This has to be one of the funniest pieces of writing i've ever read! Thankyou for stearing clear of the cliches and writing something that is interesting and enjoyable. And thankyou actually manages to pull of witty sarcasm for humour without making me want to hit my head against my desk in despair at what is all to often a huge hit and miss in that department. You're story is a brilliant distraction from the work im supposed to be doing from 9-5!

 Report Review

Review #5, by michelle V: Funeral Rights

30th May 2011:
I was a bit hesitant to read your story at first, but your use of character Penelope Clearwater seemed interesting so I took a shot and ABSOLUTELY FELL IN LOVE WITH IT.

I love the way you developed her character and really made her your own. She's really become such an intriguing character to me because of you. And your OCs AMAZING. I haven't had such a great laugh from a story in a long time. I really like the idea that you didn't throw Quidditch in the mix just because Oliver Wood was in it, those stories tend become repetitive and really makes your story stand out from the rest.

I don't think I can put into words how much I loved your story. It truly is one of the most captivating and engaging story I've ever read. You have an amazing gift for engaging writing that flows beautifully and a knowledgeable grasp of British colloquialisms and slang.

I haven't read such a great story since Settling the Score by A Fountain Pen (which I personally think you'll surpass no offence to A Fountain Pen). I can't wait to read more from you! 10/10 all the way :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by RonsGirlFriday V: Funeral Rights

10th March 2011:
Whoever gave Wood the right to have babies should revoke it.

Yes. XD

Though, I am kind of in love with the Wood-as-a-single-dad idea. Kinda incredibly hot, no? And how much am I falling in love with the idea of Oliver/Penny? A lot, that's how much. Please make it happen? -puppy dog eyes-

I'm always so jealous whenever I read anything by you, Rita. Everything is smart, snappy, and sparkling, and terribly addictive. ♥

xoxo
Melanie

 Report Review

Review #7, by RonsGirlFriday IV: The Dashing Mr. Bartie

10th March 2011:
This was the ancient times before women were allowed to be single, happy, unattached and still be a writer for the Daily Prophet without their mother breathing down their necks for grandchildren.

I seem to be carried away. Let me give it one more try:

This was the ancient times when love and desperation did lead to marriage.

There we go.


Ha!!! That's awesome, Rita. Probably my favorite part of the whole chapter. Along with young Mr. Bartie's right fit bum, and the limerick Penny made up (which I thought was hilaro, by the way). And also this line:

Besides, I remember hallucinating this with ten Guinness and an apple pie in me. It was bound to be terrible.

I can't decide whether I want to be Penny, or whether I want her as a friend. Either way, it would be awesome.

xoxo
Melanie

 Report Review

Review #8, by RonsGirlFriday III: With A Little Help From My Friends

10th March 2011:
Rita, I realized I have neglected this story for far too long! I know I've read this chapter before, but I apparently didn't leave a review. So what can I say, except "Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!" Unfortunately, I can't really quote my favorite lines because they're all non-12+. XD But I love Penelope and Flopsy's friendship and bonding moments, Wood's driving (blasting the wall open was pretty wicked)...

You write with such natural, flawless humor. Penelope's narrative is just... ♥ I'm falling in love with this fic all over again.

xoxo
Melanie

 Report Review

Review #9, by Olympia1863 V: Funeral Rights

26th February 2011:
So, first of all, I have to tell you that you are one of my favorite fanfic authors, ever. Every time I read one of your fics, I am just amazed at how awesome you are at characterization. Brilliant, super brilliant.

Second, this was brilliant. Penelope is just such a multi-faceted character. I'm a big fan of exploring less-detailed characters (she doesn't even have any lines in the book, if I recall), and you did such a great job giving her life. While I pity her and her situation and wish she would get her arse in gear and do something other than whinge, I love her sarcasm and irreverence and slight insanity.

I also love Such & Such. It really does seem like something right out of the Harry Potter world. Two slightly batty old men trying to make a go of it in parchment? It's like a whole new take on Diagon Alley. I hope we see more of the little town they're a part of :)

And Wood, ah, the wonderful Oliver Wood. It's lovely to see him in another situation rather than being a devlishly handsome, rakish world-famous Quidditch player (even though that's more than likely). I love his little Will, and I'm looking forward to seeing more of him and Penelope :)

Overall, this is... brilliant. (Did I say that already? I should probably invest in a thesaurus). I laughed, I sympathized, I was puzzled and thoroughly entertained. Please update soon.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hatxx II: God Bless Our Smore Family

10th February 2011:
This seems like a really interesting story, and I like the way its set differently from a lot of very samey Oliver/OC stories that involve Quidditch teams and houses ect. My wonder is why Oliver is working in a shop?
xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by ariellem V: Funeral Rights

9th February 2011:
YES! It's alive! My favorite pairing is Oliver/Penny (hence the story I have with it) so it's good to know that I'm not the only one who likes this pairing :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by ariellem IV: The Dashing Mr. Bartie

25th November 2010:
I really love this story, I love the pairing, I love the characters and I can't wait to see you write more chapters.

ArielleM

 Report Review

Review #13, by WeasleyTwins I: A Priscilla Codwell Rant

30th May 2010:
Hi :]]

Okay, so I am reading for Match the Second [GO CANNONS] on that awesome site we know as TGS. OMGGG, I just need to say that this is my new favorite story of all time! YOU ARE AWESOME. THE END. That's it, I'm giving up. I quit. I might as well put my pen down now and throw away all my drafts. When you hit the original scene, newbie authors like me don't have a chance in the world! Ha!

Well, back to point. That was fantastic. Marvelous! Splendid! To die for! Ah, I would take a bullet for this, yes, yes.

Love it.

Shelby :]]

 Report Review

Review #14, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme IV: The Dashing Mr. Bartie

20th April 2010:
Bloody owl ate all my letters! It ate them!
Geniusss.

I'm so jealous of your imagination. My flaw in writing fanfiction is adding magic to a story whereas you seem to add story to magic. Everything about it IS JKR's universe and it's gorgeous. I am infinitely jealous of that.

I could ramble on and ramble on and squee my way forwards but I'll keep it short and simple. I've loved reading it - every chapter has been funny, light, easy to read. It's brilliant and fun and Rita.

Stunniiing

xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme III: With A Little Help From My Friends

20th April 2010:
"When Percy dumped me" - like a lot. Definitely wouldn't have expected it to be that way around.

I'm repeating myself and leaving the most unsubstantial and diabolical series of reviews but I love iiit. Your sense of humour is brilliant and it comes off the page fantastically.

The whole driving sequence was brilliant and Penelope's flaws are both vivid and easy to relate to and fit her so well.

"I had to admit that was completely wicked."
^ Another favourite line. I loved it.

Rambling so stopping. Disappointed in self for quality of reviews but better than nothing, yes?

xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme II: God Bless Our Smore Family

20th April 2010:
Still being watched so still leaving depressingly short and squee-like reviews but I assure you they are heartfelt.

- Love the smore metaphor, especially the initial use of it with Baby Bob but the way you carried it on was brilliant.

- Characterisation: love them all. You've yet to make a character in anything of yours that I hate or don't feel much attachment to. Everyone is so vivid and I really do adore Baby Bob :P

- Oliver: really like how he is not Quidditchy! Such a breath of fresh, fresh air.

- Penelope: again, so strong, bright, bursts off the page and is easy to relate to.

Funny, witty and everything I love.

xx

 Report Review

Review #17, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme I: A Priscilla Codwell Rant

20th April 2010:
Deserves more reviews than it haaas.
Sadly, this will be nothing but short bullet pointed squee as I'm being watched.

- Artie & Bartie portrayed by Richard Wilson = genius. I love that idea muchly and when you used that line of dialogue by one of them, heard it in his voice and everything.

- Penelope's voice = wonderful. She's strong and everything against the expectation one would have of Percy's ex. I love how you brought that in too, just in passing. No lingering on the subject; v. refreshing.

- Style in general = love. Expected no less, of course.

Brilliant ^_^

xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by redherring III: With A Little Help From My Friends

16th September 2009:
Hilarious! Again. This whole thing is just so fantastic, I love it :D I especially liked the beginning of this chapter with the explanation of why Penny and Flopsy (awesome name, by the way) were friends, and the whole thing about their mothers at "Flower Arranging Club". Lol! xD It was also a great way to give us some more background on Penny and give more of an insight into her character, which was nice as well :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by redherring II: God Bless Our Smore Family

16th September 2009:
Hehe, I've never heard of anyone being compared to a smore before, but I LOVE the idea of it! Brilliant xD And another completely brilliant chapter, as well - I am so in love with this story right now! I think what I like most about it is Penny - on the one hand, she's this cynical, rather bitter person, but at the same time we can still see the Hogwarts prefect who once went out with Percy ;) I love it. 10/10.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Eridanus I: A Priscilla Codwell Rant

14th September 2009:
Alright, Rita, let me start this review by saying I love you (in every way that a person can be loved). RIGHT, I have gone mad and am now attempting to quote Titanic, but replacing words. Do not know where that urge came from... Anyway, as I said, I love you, but you also depress me.

Your writing is AMAZING which is fabulous, because I get to read it and this is one of the most refreshing, vibrant, interesting first person narratives I have ever read. And it sounds so incredibly Irish to me too! It depresses me because I am embarking upon my first foray into first person and it does not compare favourably :P. I turn green as I read your work :P.

Penelope is incredibly funny and easy to read. She doesn't get on your nerves, she does not come from the land of Sue and she has a foul mouth that I rather crassly find amusing.

Although we haven't really met them yet, Arty and Barty are already legends in my mind and I am desperately in love with Oliver in a silly fan girl way, so this seems like the story for me :P. I've recently discovered how fabulous you and RonsGirlFriday are and I'm loathe to tear myself away from your work or hers XD.

It warmed my heart to see the guinness in there, because I felt like I'd contributed at least a little bit to this wonderful story (which shall be going straight to my favourites). You have an incredible ability to write well developed characters who are easy to relate to, and I adore Penelope already.

This was a prologue, but I can't wait to see the rest of the plot take shape and I plan to catch up on the rest of it as soon as possible.

I adored this, and I hope my slightly insane ramble of a review didn't scare you at all :P.

10/10

Jane

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ydnas Odell III: With A Little Help From My Friends

13th September 2009:
Bloody Brillant! I've added this to my favorites.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you like it :) You're awesome for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ydnas Odell I: A Priscilla Codwell Rant

13th September 2009:
This is super. It is written very straightforwardly and you picked a character that we know little about. I'm intrigued. You did an excellent job or creating atmosphere and interesting secondary characters with just a few words.

What does: je ne sais quoi mean?

Author's Response: Hey here! Thank you so much for the review and letting me know that you think!

And Je ne sais quoi literally means I don't know what XD


 Report Review

Review #23, by Violet Gryfindor I: A Priscilla Codwell Rant

7th September 2009:
This is really, really funny. Maybe even more so because it's disturbingly realistic, with her situation of leaving school with an ego and having it squished right away by harsh reality. It's strange because this sort of reality is rarely seen in fanfiction, which seems to glorify the wizarding world, making it very much unlike real life. So it's brilliant that you've made Penny very easy to relate to in this way. How many college grads turn out like her? XD

Her voice is very distinctive, as well, and that adds a lot to the story, making it conversational, bringing the reader into it. And the names of your characters, haha! Those alone make me want to meet them! This looks like it'll be a fantastic story - it's both unique and funny, which is a great combination.

Author's Response: Susan! Thanks for reviewing this maniacal fic of mine! Seriously a review coming from you is like gold in the FF world! And I'm getting more gold than I deserve!

I've always disliked those fics that take the Wizarding World as a separate entity from the rest of the world. I always saw them as connected, no matter how different things may be. Sort of how countries are still connected despite different cultures. In that way, I guess the realities of the Muggle world are pretty much the realities of the Magical world as well.

I'm glad you like the story and you've sent me on the cloud with this review! Especially since you mentioned the voice, which next to overwriting is my archnemesis in my comic book imagination!

Again, thank you! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #24, by soliloquy III: With A Little Help From My Friends

6th September 2009:
HAHAHA. I loved it. Fast-pace, quick-talking, Wood-driving like a maniac (is it bad that I see him driving like one? :P) and random nicknames! Amazing. How on earth do you come up with this? Witty. Hilarious. Everything just fits so neatly together - like, organized chaos! I like it. I like it a lot. I like how Penelope and Flopsy's only got together to complain about their husbands - the sad part is, my friends mothers do that all the time. I can't wait til I get to do that :P just kidding. Hehe.

Okay. No sleep is doing wonders for my ranting. Amazing chapter. Will be waiting for another update. (no rush ;]) :)

Author's Response: The maniac-driving Wood incident is actually based on a real life experience of mine. Lets just say that Penny and Bob ended up better off than I did in that adventure! I'm glad you liked the story and I am even happier than you took the time to review! It's really a great feeling when something you've worked so hard on is appreciated! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by RonsGirlFriday II: God Bless Our Smore Family

27th August 2009:
I've never heard anyone compared to a smore! But I like it. I also like smores. Funny how that works. XD

What I really like about Penny's voice is that you can tell she's intelligent. She's the kind of narrator I generally like -- cynical, maybe jaded, with commentary that can be biting at times -- but I don't always see that kind of narrator written with the same kind of intelligence I see bubbling under Penny's surface. To me, she seems perceptive, like she always sees things for what they are. It doesn't seem like much escapes her.

I got a very good picture of Oliver's personality, too -- you kept him in character, as we know him from the books, but added your own twist. I liked the part about his cluttered desk -- clearly he's in control of everything having to do with everyone else, but not much in his own life.

The bit about Flourish and Blotts brought a fresh perspective to things. Normally, that's just a landmark that blends into the HP scenery, but you created a funny little story that also helps explain why it's so depressing working at Such & Such. And then, even further, you brought out how Such & Such still makes the best paper, and by all accounts they should be setting the standard for the rest of the industry, but they're floundering, unsuccessful, and nearly forgotten. It's an excellent parallel to Penny and the others who work there.

I dig it. :-)

Author's Response: Again, I am so sorry about the late response, but better late than never right?

I am glad you liked Penny and Oliver :) In writing this fic, I've really gotten attached to both of them...maybe even want to have them as imaginary..or even real friends XD They're not saints, nor are they hell raisers. They're just a bunch of people I'd really want to hang out with and I guess that just adds to my comfort in writing them.

The Flourish and Blotts vs. Such & Such rivalry is actually based of an actual rivalry I know about and I just felt like it was another thing I was comfortable writing about and that I could milk for all its dramatic and comedic possibilities.

And I have to say, the parallelism of Penny and Such & Such never occured to me! Yay you for finding the first Waldo in this fic!

Once again, thank you for the review! Keep on truckin'!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>