Reading Reviews for Tainted Hearts
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HarrietHopkirk Tainted Hearts

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I keep reading Dramiones even though I usually steer clear of them because they are usually very cliche - but I really enjoyed this! Well done!

You paint a very good mental picture with your words. Your imagery and description are spot on, and really add to the poetic feel of the story. I liked the dialogue too - realistic and believable and in character.

The emotion! The feels! They were wonderfully executed and really worked with the tone of the story. I do feel sorry for the two of them, and I am glad they spent this time together :) LOOK MY DRAMIONE FEELS ARE CHANGING SOMEONE HELP!

I'm really impressed with this. You were able to convey so much through so little words - which is the point of the challenge I know - but it really worked. I enjoyed it. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dark Whisper Tainted Hearts

9th July 2014:
Wow! You know, this really begs for more. I know this is a goodbye or sorts, but it leaves the reader begging for how their relationship came to this moment in time. You've given us such an emotional end, we want the beginning and middle sections that would have a Malfoy uncharacteristically beg for one more night.

I love sad, tragic Dramione and you really packed an emotional punch in only 500 amazing words! Congrats on that!

Great job,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lady Asphodel Tainted Hearts

9th July 2014:
Hello,

I've came across Dramione fan fics... but I haven't gotten where they gotten up so close... Anyways, I think this was really nice. I don't ship these two... but I guess it was a nice change for me reading this.


I can actually say you kept these two in character, which is impossible for certain people, so I give you kudos for that. Honestly... I can feel a bit of shift of my opinion about this pairing shift a little...


I can imagine this happening. Even though you had to keep it 500 words (great job with that by the way) I wish you could have gone in depth of what the tower looked like... because I think of the Hogwarts tower when you say it.

But anyways, thanks for sharing this with us. Like I said, this was a nice change for me. I did enjoy reading this!




~ House Cup 2014: Event 5

- Asphodel

 Report Review

Review #4, by lumos_knox Tainted Hearts

8th July 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the House Cup 2014 Event Five.

I love Dramione, so it's sad to see the pairing end. I think you captured the emotions in here very beautifully. There's so much power and heartbreak in this story, and I think that you couldn't have done a perfect job.

I feel so sorry for both Hermione and Draco. Hermione, because she feels she has to end it, and Draco because of this.

Your description was just brilliant, as was your characterization. I enjoyed seeing a completely different side to Draco and I loved reading this side. Hermione's resilience to stick with what she set her mind to shines through here, as well. That's Hermione in a nutshell.

I want to thank you for writing this. It's really beautiful.

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 Tainted Hearts

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This is very well done. I can feel the pain between Draco and Hermione. They seem to know each other very well and they both seem to know that their torrid relationship will never last. Even though Draco isn't ready to admit it, you can tell that he knows it is over. I liked the idea that you didn't tell us exactly what time period this takes place, because it could have been any of them. It could have been at Hogwarts sixth year just as easily as it could have been after Ron and Hermione were married for years and years. They both know each other so well, that your heart breaks with their break up. Everything was written so well! Great story!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by Pretense Of Perfection Tainted Hearts

6th July 2014:
Wow, I've been reading some pretty good Dramione fics recently, and this one is no different.

I like how you captured the characters, and stayed true to them at the same time. I can actually see Hermione and Draco saying and doing these things, under the right circumstances of course.

I'm slightly confused about the tower though...it seemed like there was some special implication there, but I'm not entirely sure what. At first I thought that maybe they were still at Hogwarts, but then when she said their love was tainted and Ron was waiting I sort of figured that they were out of school and she was either married to or dating Ron. I totally understand it's hard to include everything in 500 words or less, and I'm probably just overthinking it.

I really loved how they got to enjoy one last night together. Sometimes, the things that we know are wrong actually feel the most right to us, in our hearts at least. I think you captured the essence of forbidden love here, and gave it a life of its own. It's refreshing to see that they also recognize that they are bad for one another, and that sometimes love doesn't conquer all. Very bittersweet.

In the end where you wrote "...pulling her close to him via her wrist," it just sort of flowed weird for me. I know "by" is a much more common term, but personally I think it might fit a bit better than "via." Just a preference in word choice I'd imagine, but thought I'd point it out.

Anyways, amazing job, seriously! I didn't see any speling or grammar errors, and your characterization, plot, and flow were all executed nearly perfectly.

--- House Cup 2014 Review ---
Pretense of Perfection, Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #7, by LadyL8 Tainted Hearts

18th July 2012:
Hello there.

I'm not a fan of dramione, but I decided to give this story a try, and I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed reading it. It was captivating and intriguing, and I absolutely loved it.

What I enjoyed the most was how you through their actions and the things they say, show two people who clearly love each other, yet they can't be together. It's sort of like Romeo and Juliet, in some way. You have a great dialog, which is something I think can be sort of difficult to write for some writers, because it seems sort of fake. Yours didn't thought.

I loved Draco and Hermione together, and I felt so sorry for them both- especially Hermione. When she starts screaming back at Draco, I can just feel the emotions she feels at that moment. In fact, I can see the whole story happening inside my head, and it's truly heartbreaking.

You are an exceptional writer. I can tell you that. You managed to write a good story in exactly 500 words, which says a lot about how good you are. I think that if dramione had ever happened in the book, this scene would've been included. You are that good!

Thank you for that amazing story

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

 Report Review

Review #8, by xxFlutterStutterBOOMBOOMxx Tainted Hearts

30th May 2011:
Very impressive! You're definitely talented with details, and you were able to say a lot about the characters in so few words. I really liked it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne Tainted Hearts

18th August 2010:
Is she cheating on Ron with Draco? This was so interesting and very good to read. I loved seeing this side to Draco and also this side to Hermione. Seeing them so vulnerable around each other and full of emotion. I found this very enjoyable to read.
10/10

 Report Review

Review #10, by Cleopatraa Tainted Hearts

18th August 2010:
I really liked this because it was very realistic. The fact they couldníy be together just fabulous. This is a relationship almost nobody would be happy with. The tense atmosphere was great! This is also one of the few Draco/Hermione stories I read which didnít seem and didnít feel out of character. In whcih tower were they actually? In Hogwarts? Also I loved the way you ended the story: As he pressed his lips against hers, he knew it was going to be over. What they had was tainted, and that would never change. It was a memorable ending!

 Report Review

Review #11, by DracoFall243 Tainted Hearts

6th October 2009:
I liked it as a one shot, it would probably be great as a story, but you did a fantastic job fitting all that emotion and plot into 500 words!
:Dani

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I agree, it would be better as a longer story, I think I stuffed too much plot into this one. Thanks for reading, though, I am glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by hallowsorhorcruxes Tainted Hearts

25th September 2009:
:) Nicely done! I enjoyed it, personally. It's intriguing how their closeness is much more of a need kind of thing than a want kind of thing, or at least that is how it seems to me.

Well written! :) Thanks for posting!
Cheers-
Hallows

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yes, it is very much so a more need than want - thank you for noticing :D That is what makes them come back again and again.

Thanks so much for reading and leaving such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by RonsGirlFriday Tainted Hearts

17th September 2009:
I can't believe I hadn't reviewed this yet, especially considering how short it is, and the fact that you wrote it (so obviously it's amazing). I was probably scared away by the Dramione. *hides from Dramione* But you write some of the best Dramione ever, so of course I loved it even while disliking the ship. ^_^

It's a great, well-developed little scene, and you made a few minutes really come alive. It's passionate and tense and engaging. You create such great atmosphere in everything you write.

*jealousy*

Loved it!

Melanie

Author's Response: Aghh, you flatter me wayy too much! But I am glad you like it - it really gives me a little thrill when you like my Dramiones, considering your hatred for the ship. Thank you! And I'm so glad you found it engaging - I think I tired to fit too much plot into so few words. Oh well.

Thanks for the review, Mel - and hush with your jealousy! You are much better than I am :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by HogwartsGirl618 Tainted Hearts

9th September 2009:
Georgia! That was amazing! The tense atmosphere was brilliant and I truly had a sense that the relationship a past. What I mean was, the dialogue wasn't just dialogue- it was so charged and so realistic that the reader could glimpse the past behind it. Even though it's a drastic change from the books, it didn't seem OOC for either of them. Fantastic work.

"I-I can't, I've lied so many times for you-" Please excuse me while my heart goes and breaks in half. I could honestly hear her voice and it gave me chills.

I adored this. I loved the beginning drama and the will-she-come-won't-she-come of it =) Amazing and even though it was short, it was potent. Loved it =) x

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Sarah! I'm really glad you liked it. I'm afraid I didn't do too well for the challenge - I tried to fit too much plot in, I think. The five hundred words couldn't take it, lol.

But thank you for the compliments on the dialogue! This was one of those weirdly inspired dialogue-y pieces were the words just flow pretty naturally. The story started, actually, as dialogue - I wrote out all their lines and added in the description and stuff after. It was odd, haha.

That actually was my favourite line too. It's one of those rare lines where I can see every detail of the scene, and exactly how I wanted it said.

Thank you so much for such a flattering review, Sarah! It really brightened my day, thank you!

Thank you so much for such a wonder


 Report Review

Review #15, by Eridanus Tainted Hearts

7th September 2009:
This was wonderful, Georgia!
It was a very nice take on Dramione and it was filled with a lot of emotion. I think you're dialogue was really effective and it tells such a full story in such a small amount of words. It's truly fantastic ^_^.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Jane! Ah, the plot of this one-shot, I think, kind of killed the story - I think I took on a bit too much for 500 words. But thank you for the compliments, I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by hi Tainted Hearts

6th September 2009:
damn, that was good. its just so short :(

Author's Response: Thank you! The challenge was for 500 words, so...yes. That explains the length :P Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Canary in the Mine Tainted Hearts

6th September 2009:
The emotional distress was amazing. I mean, really?

I loved every bit of this, Dramione's are basically win. I adore how most of this piece is dialogue. You express the emotions through dialogue, at least, more than through motion and silence. I adore that, really, because I can't express emotion through spoken words. Odd, really. Most authors use descriptions to convey a feeling or tone, but you set it with verbal words. That's just amazing ^_^

Other than that, there isn't much to say. I love everything you write, it's always mind blowing XD

Wonderful job, hon. Keep at it?!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you!

Dramione is definitely my guilty pleasure :D And I am a big fan of dialogue, so this was basically my love, haha. Thank you so much for the kind words! You literally blew me away - I'm glad you found the dialogue so powerful, it was the aim seeing as there were so few words to work with :)

Thanks so much! Your reviews are always so kind, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Axjion Tainted Hearts

17th August 2009:
Not much a fan of Dramione, but oooh, I liked this a lot. Emotion and passion and tears. I loved the line where she said that everytime he touches her, he hurts her because she knows they can't be together completely. Powerful stuff. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it despite the ship (which, I know, a lot of people don't like). I liked that line too, thank you for pointing it out! Again thanks again for this kind review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by redherring Tainted Hearts

16th August 2009:
Okay, I've got to admit that generally I'm not a huge fan of Dramione, but I really did love this all the same! Your writing was completely beautiful, and I'm amazed that you managed to fit so much emotion into such a short piece. I think this particular plot/scene was a really good one to pick for a challenge like this, as well, because the length gave it a sort of intensity which worked really well.

Anyway, a definite favourite! 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! You flatter me way too much - your reviews are always so lovely! I thought the plot/scene was good, because I could put in a lot of feeling wihtout really going into details :) Thank you so much for the awesome review! You're so lovely ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by Emma Tainted Hearts

13th August 2009:
I thought this was really good for 500 words. It was really well rounded, I really liked the ending and I liked how it wasn't too specific in what the actual situation was, which made the feelings more pronounced. The only thing I would say is that it was a bit overdone in the cliche'd descriptions. Otherwise, very good.

Author's Response: Thank you! You'd think I would avoid the cliches with only 500 words to work with ;) But I'm glad you liked it! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by jman7693 Tainted Hearts

12th August 2009:
Amazing. :D Though, can I ask in what tower were they in? Or did you say that in the story? In which case I would be a complete arse. lol.

Anyway, brilliant little story. The language was beautiful, the descriptions were perfect, and everything was just nice, as per usual with your stories. ;D

You might just get me into liking Dramiones. ;D 100/10

Author's Response: I actually left that up to the reader, where the tower was, but I think it's just an abandoned castle or something. Ruins, you know? Just somewhere they could escape from everything. But that's me - you could have your own theory ;)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I hope that you do turn; come to "the dark side", so to speak - it's great here ;) Thanks again! I'm so glad you like it :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by Fireball Nymph Tainted Hearts

12th August 2009:
This was really good. It had a lot of emotion in it and passion. Very vague, which made it more interesting. I can't really comment on much, seeing as it wasn't that long, but I love it. I really do. Wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading! I enjoyed writing this, so it means a lot to hear you liked it :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #23, by TwilightPrincess Tainted Hearts

11th August 2009:
Hi! So glad to see you took my challenge ^_^

I really like this piece. It's beautiful. The idea of Dramione ending is tragic, actually. It feels as though they should never have been together in the first place, but seeing them break up is more upsetting. You wrote this really well - everything was clear and concise. I loved every bit of it.

Especially this bit: Her hair tangled in the cold wind, and he thought she had never looked so beautiful. I am obsessed with this sentence. I have to wonder if you hadn't been confined to five hundred words, if you would have come up with as KILLER a sentence as this one. That's a compliment, of course, if even a twisted one. XD

Anyway, thank you so much for taking my challenge! I hope you had fun ^_^

Great story!

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it! Dramione breaking up is terrible, right? I can never quite get them to come off happily :(

As for the line you pointed out, I actually wanted to write a little bit more for that sentence, but I was nearing the 500 mark and I still had a bit to cover :) But I'm glad you liked it, thank you for the compliment!

And of course I had fun - I was writing a Draco/Hermione, my new favorite obsession :D Haha, thank you so much for the wonderful review! This was a great challenge :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by ^0^ !! Tainted Hearts

11th August 2009:
i loved it o.o it was sad, but very very good.. very well-written =D
so sad :/

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #25, by BitterSweetFlames Tainted Hearts

11th August 2009:
First review! It was lovely.^_^ It's funny that this is also a Dramione.:) Perhaps Dramione's are made for 500-word one-shots.:) I'd love an expanded version, luv.(: I'm a great fan. ^^ ~~Carla

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Haha, I've been on quite a Draco/Hermione kick lately, so this really didn't surprise me. I was going to do something lighter, but angst seemed more appropriate :) Thank you so much for reading - as for an expanded version, I have already started - started being posted one chapter and am stuck on the second - a Draco/Hermione with a similar theme (affair, post-Hogwarts, etc.) so I doubt this will get another version :( Sorry! But thank you so much for reading and reviewing, I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login