Reading Reviews for Theodore Nott: Exposed!
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 Theodore Nott: Exposed!

6th March 2013:
Hey there! I'm always excited to read more about Theodore. He's one of those minor characters that you can't help but be interested in (is it because the name? :P).

First off let me congratulate you for the fact that you chose to portray Theodore in a more positive light. I do believe he was not the stereotypical Slytherin so reading stories that show more sides of him (a softer side especially) is always welcoming. It greatly enriches his character. I like that you went even further and gave him some personal quirks like his obsession for strange food combinations. It's these little details that really help form the personality of a character.

I also like that despite he retains many of the Slytherin characteristics, they are toned down and sometimes even vastly different. He thinks of others kindly, he is not really that crazy about Voldemort, he doesn't go out of his way to insult other people or potentially hurt them. However, I think it was more than a bit reckless of him to inform Dumbledore about Voldemort's plans involving Draco and even more unrealistic that Dumbledore would reply what he did. While I could understand that Mr Nott isn't You-Know-Who's biggest supporter, I can't actually believe that he's not at least a little afraid of him, especially considering the fact that his family is deeply involved with the Dark Arts. I like his rebellious side but maybe if you toned it down a bit it would feel even more real, you know?

A very enjoyable story nonetheless. I really liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by HollyStone73 Theodore Nott: Exposed!

5th March 2013:
This was very interesting! We are not given much information at all about Nott and so sadly he is too often forgotten about. I love what you did with him in showing that he was glad that his father was in prison and that he was finally free to live his life. I also like the focus on his intelligence since far too often members of the Slytherin house are automatically assumed to be uneducated idiots. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Reyes91 Theodore Nott: Exposed!

22nd August 2010:
I enjoyed this little one-shot. I don't recall reading a story about Nott, and making him different than his father and grandfather was pretty good. It just goes to show that just because your parent supports something, that doesn't mean you have to. You should think for yourself more (*ahemDracoahem*), and Nott did just that from the start.

Him being friends with Luna was a nice touch, though it was a bit odd for Draco to full-out ask Nott about the Vanishing Cabinet instead of hinting about it. Surely he would have known that Luna could have mentioned it to Harry? But, that doesn't really matter. It was still a great one-shot to get a glimpse that just because a student is in Slytherin, that doesn't mean they're bad.

Oh, and I loved his letter to his grandmother. My grandmother is the exact same way in the sense that she's constantly trying to pick me out a girlfriend. It's quite annoying. Lol.

-Reyes91

 Report Review

Review #4, by AndrinaBlack Theodore Nott: Exposed!

19th August 2010:
You really managed to make Nott nice and a good Slytherin in this, which I think was the purpose. I think Slytherins are too often portrayed all evil from the start, and then maybe some (Draco) change and become better people later on. I think it would be quite strange to have an all bad house at Hogwarts. Of course Harry just about believes that in the books, but it's what Harry thinks as a Gryffindor. Anyway, I think you did a good job with showing that Slytherins can be good. I especially liked the part with the sorting hat, because it explained well there that Slytherin wasn't only about being pure-blood or having death eater parents or other not so nice characteristics. Somehow the characteristics, like being cunning, of Slytherin are often made sounding bad and here you made them sound good for Nott and himself of course happy about that, as he also had believed that slytherin characteristics weren't nice.

However I think you got maybe a bit too enthusiastic with making him a good character at the later half of the story, with him knowing about Draco's mission and not helping him with the vanishing cabinet, and him being friends with Luna. I by the way found it a bit strange that Draco would talk about the cabinet in front of Luna and that he wouldn't comment on Nott's company.

I however really liked the inclusion of Ronan. I have a special liking for him. :) It also fit that a slightly lonely Slytherin would make friends with a centaur. I also loved the little details you had about the food at Hogwarts. I find it quite believable that the elves would make some experiments. After all Harry too was a bit surprised about the mint humbugs at the table.

The inclusion of Daphne worked well as well. She's another slytherin that it's easy to make good, because we don't know much about her. The ending with her was really cute. I liked that!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Miss Lily Potter Theodore Nott: Exposed!

1st September 2009:
This was entertaining. (: I like how you've taken Theodore Nott and turned him into a likeable guy. The letter was a nice start, and I like how you showed him not being like any of his family, including his grandma.
And I loved the end, it was cute.(:
I liked this! :D
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

I'm happy that you liked how I imagined Theo and that ending was adequate and cute xD

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #6, by eightfourseven Theodore Nott: Exposed!

22nd August 2009:
I don't know if you're particular concerned with the grammar in the letter (since a letter is almost like dialogue and reflects the character's grammar more than your own), but sentences aren't supposed to end with prepositions, like this - "I have plenty of other things that are far more interesting to occupy myself with." I think, though, it would be better to fix this sentence because it would sound less awkward to me. I love the PPS because it's kind of cute and funny. In this sentence -"I finished my letter to Grandma Vivian, from my fatherís side, of course"- the wording makes it sound like he finished from his father's side because of the sentence structure. I'm pretty sure you meant that Grandma Vivian was from his father's side. I really like the personality that you're painting for Theo. It's very believable and fitting and I like it a lot. And I love how he admits to constantly missing his mother, instead of being really tough about it. AND AH. I LOVE THAT HE HATES MORNINGS BECAUSE OF THAT. It's really great! This bit -"because you are cunning. Also, you are determined and ambitious"- sounds kind of unsortinghatish (hah, I made a word). It just kind of lists off adjectives and doesn't seem very dialoguey (another word!). in fact, that paragraph almost (just almost!) seems like one of those description paragraphs where a character lists off all of his/her traits. The fact that he doesn't wear a cloak didn't seem explained enough - is it just to seem mysterious? I don't know; it didn't make total sense to me. The paragraph spacing and formatting also gets weird around that point. I like the food thing. And the girl is really funny. God, Theo is getting on my nerves, though! Your characterization of him is great! I only really get annoyed at believable characters and believe me, I am insanely annoyed with him! He thinks he's so much better than everyone! Ahhh and he's sooo... pretentious. I can't stand him! Haha, great job on your part with that! The Daphne thing with the break-up is either too slow or too fast. It's either like, he gives away too much about why they broke up or not enough. Does that make sense? It's too... in the middle. And bumping into her right after the first mention of her was too coincidental for my liking. But I LOVE the last two sentences. They're really good for making someone want to read on!

Author's Response: Thanks for very thorough and helpful review :)

I'll take into consideration everything you've said, especially about those two sentences. Thanks for pointing that out ^^ .

Yeah, Theo can be annoying and I had to make him be Slytherin-ish (hence his thoughts that he should have been placed into Ravenclaw - he so obviously thinks he's smarter than everyone in his house and all...).

The part with Daphne wasn't coincidental, hehe, I actually planned to be just like that since he was thinking about her and how it was between them and then she shows up and he's all Theo-like, meaning sort of confused and whatnot and he just kisses her without much thinking :) .

The thing about his cloak - well, he wanted to make himself different than everyone else because that's his personality - in reality maybe he isn't all that different but he likes to think of himself like that xD .

Anyways, thanks again for the review, I really appreciate all feedback =)

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #7, by Evil Sami Poo Theodore Nott: Exposed!

14th August 2009:
That was brilliant! I like how you changed such a minor character to this. I honestly suck at characterization but this inspired me to do more! I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, I really appreciate it :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by blueirony Theodore Nott: Exposed!

14th August 2009:
This review is 6 days after your request. For that, I am sorry. I only really have time for reviewing at the end of the week. God, I hate Uni work. But that's an entirely different topic. Let's focus on the task at hand, shall we?

I liked this. And I say that with a bit of surprise. Not that I am judging you, per say. Not at all. I was just weary of how people would tackle the challenge for which this was written. Don't get me wrong, it's an awesome idea for a challenge and could really bring out some interesting perspectives previously not written about, but I was honestly scared that it would be filled with a lot of, "Daddy is a Death Eater, I'm not, now let me go whine about in peace and leave me alone" stories. Gah. I don't know what I'm trying to say here.

Depth. That's the word I was looking for. I was scared that the stories would not have depth. Just proclamations of, yes, I have the green tie but that doesn't mean I think that Voldemort is sex-ay. Lol.

Even worse than that, I was scared that stories from this challenge would try and make the Slytherin in question a saint. That just... would not work. They're Slytherins for a reason. I understand that they are not evil, but... channelling Mother Teresa would be a bit too much.

But, you know what? I was pleasantly surprised. You made his character believable. He was no saint. He had his issues. He was not without his faults. But the reader can easily see that he's struggling to make sense of the world around him. And, as the challenge suggests, the reader can easily see that Theodore is not evil. So, in that respect, you've done well.

This appears to have no plot, but, again, that really isn't an issue. It is more a snapshot of his thoughts and I think that's perfectly readable and not boring in the least. I did enjoy reading it.

As for flow, I think that it could be expanded slightly. Please don't take this harshly. I just think that his thoughts jump a little bit over the place. I understand that this is in first person and you as the author have the liberty of dictating the thought of Theodore however you want, I just think that if you wrote a few sentences here and there, it would make the flow a little bit more smooth.
But that really is just my personal opinion. I could be wrong. But that's how I feel.

Again, I really did enjoy reading it. And it did provide an interesting look at a character we know so little about.

-Ju :]

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :). It really doesn't matter how much time has passed because I know that people actually have lives and all that xD .

I'm glad that I managed to make Theo believable and a Slytherin.

As for the flow - yes, I agree that it could be expanded and if I ever have the time, I'll try to edit the story a bit just to make it seem less random :) .

Anyways, it's nice to know you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed reading it, thanks once again for reviewing x)

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #9, by Pookha Theodore Nott: Exposed!

12th August 2009:
This is a very interesting snippet of a portrait of a not-so-well known canon character. I agree that all Slytherins can't be evil. In my own post-DH works, the new Chief Auror is a Slytherin who's not evil, but does believe that the end justifies the means.

I like the way that Nott relates with people well in this story. He's affable and eccentric and I can totally see him being friends with Luna. I also like the way he blows off Draco and the girl that keeps trying to get with him.

It also shows that nurture is not the only thing that leads to criminality. Just because his father and grandfather were DEs, that doesn't mean he has to be. An excellent story in breaking prejudices and stereotypes.

Author's Response: Thank you so much ^^ .

I'm glad that I succeeded in making Theo a likeable character and managed to break some prejudices. :)

Thanks for the lovely review. x)

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #10, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Theodore Nott: Exposed!

11th August 2009:
Well, I'm very glad I decided to read this. It's rather quite interesting. I like reading about lesser known Slytherins who aren't quite evil. I do love your way of writing Nott. You make him very interesting and mysterious without bogging the reader down with a lot of complex words that only super intelligent people might use. Lol. I like it.

Well, she's trying to 'get it on' with me and by just talking with her I manage to fend her of. I think this is supposed to be OFF not OF.

There wasn't much else that I saw wrong in terms of typos or grammar, but I'm terrible in grammar, so don't quote me on that lol.

Anyway, absolutely loved it :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and for noticing that typo xD *goes and edits the story*.
I'm glad you liked it. As for not using complex words - I find it hard to read a story and I have to use the dictionary to understand it so I stayed with simple, normal words xD.

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #11, by JLHufflepuff Theodore Nott: Exposed!

11th August 2009:
I like the title of this story, and I like the way the rest follows kind of like Theo informing the rest of the world as to how he is different. He definitely does have a lot of characteristics that are different from his family, which is a good thing. I am just wondering how some of these came about. I wonder about how they developed in him since his family is obviously not that way. His mother's influence I guess?

Author's Response: Yes, I always pictured his mother being kind and overall a nice person - I don't know why, though, so I just wrote the whole fic based on that fact xD . And, well, Theo is a rather smart guy so he's aware of the wrongness behind Voldy ;D .

Thanks for the nice review and I'm glad you liked the story :) .

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #12, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Theodore Nott: Exposed!

10th August 2009:
Hey there. This was a very good story! I liked it, because I know so little about Theo Nott and when you think about it, he's probably very interesting to write, as his father was imprisoned when he was in school and he probably had some interesting thoughts about the Dark Lord. It was a good idea to write a story frmo his point of view.

A couple parts of the story were redundant or unneeded, such as when you said it was cold then explained it was cold because the winter holidays were coming. Also, the part where you mentioned Nott couldn't remember how he ended up in Dumbledore's was a little odd, you'd think if he only broke the rules seriously once, he'd remember what he did. I'd suggest you add a real reason for him being there.

The ending was a little... random. I felt like the story was leading up to some great revelation about You-Know-Who, but then it ended in romance and threw me off a little.

Otherwise, it was great. I liked the ideas about Tracey and Luna, and the reasons Theo hated You-Know-Who. Overall, it was a great idea and I enjoyed this latest Death Eater story!! Great work!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it.

About visiting Dumbledore - he wasn't there because of breaking rules. Well, at least I didn't picture it that way xD . I'll have to think up a reason and then edit the story ^^ .

About the ending - I wanted it to be HBP and DH compliant so I couldn't really make Theo have any major role in all that, those few things that I added were there mainly to connect the story to HBP :) . Though yeah, I do agree that ending was random - it popped into my head when I tried to think something crazy but then I decided that there were quite enough crazy things (food! lol) in the story, hehe...

Anyways, thanks for the helpful review, you made me think about some things and I'll change the part about ending up in Dumbly's office when I think up a good reason ^^ .

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #13, by Yoshi_Kitten Theodore Nott: Exposed!

9th August 2009:
This was so cool! I love how he is a Death Eater's kid and yet wants nothing to do with Voldemort. Those types of stories are always my favorites! This had a very strong beginning. The letter to his Grandmother was a good idea! And the ending was just as strong as well! What I really liked about this was when you had him question the Sorting Hat. It was really cool to see a Slytherin do that. Usually most Slytherins boast and brag about being in that house, lol! And when he ran into Draco, it made this all tie in really well with the books, and it was very believable! Great job!!! :)
10/10

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so glad you liked it ^^ .
And the thing with Draco - well, I wanted the story to actually be connected to the book :) .

Thanks for the review, every feedback is appreciated x) .

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #14, by siriuslyhockey Theodore Nott: Exposed!

7th August 2009:
excellent title and excellent beginning to this story.
I liked the way it started off with the letter to his grandmother. It gives the reader a very good insight into this character's personality and what his opinion/relationship with his grandmother is like. Most people would not talk to their grandparents like that so it is interesting that he does and makes me want to keep reading!

The flow of the story is nice and I like the attitude of the narrator.

I thought the mention of Theodore's discussion with the sorting hat was interesting and fun to read. I like that this story shows that not all Slytherin's are evil and just because someone is put into Slytherin doesn't mean they have to become evil.

Well written and I enjoyed reading :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review.
The letter thing just kinda popped into my head and it was that idea that inspired me to write this xD. I just wrote the letter and then continued to write from then on...

I'm glad you enjoyed reading it. :)

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #15, by luvinpadfoot Theodore Nott: Exposed!

6th August 2009:
I've never read a story about Theodore Nott before and I think you did him justice ;) It was kind of short and more an overview of his life than a specific plot, but I really liked it. The ending especially was really good. I thought it was adorable.

Your portrayal of Nott as a person instead of just a typical Slytherin and Death Eater's son was amazing. I've never read another story like this. 9/10

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for a nice review. I have an odd obsession with Theo - I've always imagined him as one of the good bad guys, if not a little strange in his antics, haha ^^ . And since JKR didn't really bother with him, I was able to let my fantasy do its job on his character :].
There was no real plot but since it was a one-shot for a challenge I just wanted to give the readers a front seat to Theo's thoughts and let them see that he can be a good guy, even if he's a son of a Death Eater and in Slytherin.
Anyways, thank you again. xD

~ Kristina


 Report Review

Review #16, by wytchkitty13 Theodore Nott: Exposed!

5th August 2009:
Now this was a nice read. I never see stories that are only focused on Theodore Nott and found this to be a nice read. It's hard to find stories for minor Slytherins that don't overshadow them. I am a huge fan of Blaise and like to write about him and give him main parts in my stories when I include him in them. But a lot of people put Draco in there and since he's the main Slytherin, he overshadows everyone else that is in his house. Crabbe and Goyle only really get exposure as being his two lackeys. Sorry, I went off topic there.
What I liked in this is the way you made him seem more human, and able to have a softer side. Most people see Nott as this rude, mean, heartless bully that does whatever Draco says. At least in many stories that I have read with him in it. Good to see a story just about him and another side to him for a change. :) Thanks for writing this. I really liked it. I know you didn't ask for this review, but I couldn't just read it and leave it at that. :)

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you ^^ xD. I'm glad I was able to show his softer side and that he can be human and that all Syltherins aren't evil (means one challenge at least was successful :] ).

 Report Review

Review #17, by FreakOut13 Theodore Nott: Exposed!

4th August 2009:
First of all, thank you very much, again, for participating in my challenge!

Secondly, that was just great! I loved your portrayal of Theodore Nott. It makes me want to try my own hand at him eventually, and I have never had that urge before. Bravo. :)

I really like that you incorporated magical beasts like Centaurs and House-Elves. It adds some variety and made me, personally, feel like it was more of a Hogwarts story and less of a soap opera, like most fanfictions seem to be. o_O

Anyway, great job! I'll add it to my favorites. :)

-Ann

Author's Response: Thanks for a nice review. I'm glad you liked it :]. And personally, Theo is one of my favourite minor Slytherins because you have so much freedom when you're writing him and making him likable isn't very hard when he wasn't in Draco's group and didn't really have any reaction to Harry's accusations of his own father. ^^

~ Kristina


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login