Reading Reviews for Soulmates
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ginerva_molly_weasley Meant To Be

25th October 2011:
Here I am with your requested view :D

I don't read many Teddy/Victoire fics but when I do I often find them sensatuional and oues is no exception. I honestly think you've captured the Weasley family very well, with obviously Victoire in particular as it seemed in the 19 years later bit in DH that everyone expected them to be together.

Victoire's resistance to this is also shown in canon as it matches the Weasley stubborn streak.

The only thing I'd say, although it's already quite long , is add more description about her feelings aswell as Teddy's. Also I found it quite confusing how Teddy just stopped writing even when he admitted at the end he missed her. Maybe you could expand on why that was.

GinevraMollyPotter

Author's Response: I feel really ashamed for leaving such a terribly late response. I honestly thought I'd already responded to this.

Teddy/Victoire was an obvious ship to go with but I personally find this pairing very charming, with their close family ties. Victoire is very much a Weasley, through and through.

I do understand where you're coming from. The reason I didn't touch on their feelings so much was because Victoire herself doesn't realise her feelings for Teddy, though Teddy may have had a good idea. I was trying to go for a more subtle approach by putting the reader in Victoire's shoes, though I'll admit that the ending is anything but. The simple explanation is that he stopped writing because he wanted to surprise her at the train station. :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review this, I really appreciate what you had to say and your advice.
~Misty


 Report Review

Review #2, by LovelyMioneWeasley Meant To Be

31st May 2010:
Hey Misty,

Its been a realy long time but I loved this and can't believe I haven't read it before now. I have a fancy for Victorie/Teddy and this is lovely.

I love the origniality on an old cliche; they were stubborn about it but in a most subtle way. It took distance to make the heart grow fonder but a cliche is a cliche because its usually true.

This was a lovely fluff piece without too much cotton candy sweetness. It was a perfect amount and a lovely, long but beautiful one-shot. My one nitpick was the lack of siblings which is odd but I wanted to know about Victorie's interactions. Perhaps another one-shot ;)?

Love,
Lindsey

Author's Response: Lindsey! *hugs* It's wonderful to have you back to writing, both your stories and reviews for me. ;) xD

I'm a sucker for romantic sap and Teddy/Victoire is perfect for that particular genre. That's exactly what I was going for, giving a little twist to something familiar while still keeping it relatable.

Aaaw dear, that isn't exactly true. Louis and Dominique did make appearances. Dominique especially made her presence felt ;) but I totally get where you're coming from. Another one-shot? Hmm, if the plot bunnies decide to pay me a visit. You never know hehehe.

Again, thank you so much for your (as always) lovely review.

*hugs*
Misty


 Report Review

Review #3, by lovelyinsane Meant To Be

7th January 2010:
Hi there! I'm torrenaldownpour from the forums, here with your review. :)

In your request, you asked for me to mention about the romantic relationship between Teddy and Victorie. At the beginning, I really didn't see a romantic relationship between the two. I saw a strong friendship, and I think tha led to the romance between them at the end.

I enjoyed the characterization of Vicotorie. It's very original, I don't think I've read a T/V like this before. The flow and plot were excellent as well! I enjoyed reading it.

Good job on all counts. 10/10. :)

~lovelyinsane aka torrentaldownpour

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so sorry for leaving such a late response, I thought I'd already answered this =/.

That was exactly what I was going for, in that sometimes love takes time to develop and needs a strong foundation aka friendship to eventually become more.

That's wonderful to hear. The basis for Victoire's characterisation was to make her real and relatable, as opposed to a carbon copy of Fleur. Glad to know that it worked =).

Thank you so much for the review!
~Misty


 Report Review

Review #4, by Clair Clementine Meant To Be

24th December 2009:
This was magnificently sweet and cute! I really enjoyed this! I've never read a Teddy/Victoire story before and I'm really glad this is the first! All the rest will just have to compete! You seriously did a great job! The flow and plot line was brilliant! You didn't rush things and I loved how you wrote about all the important experiences Teddy and Victoire had with each other. It makes perfect sense for their relationship to go the way this story reads. I found it very interesting and thrilling! Every moment, I couldn't take my eyes off the page :)

Really the only minor problem you had was a few comma errors and missing words, but that's not a very big deal. You are such a great writer. I could envision everything so perfectly! I can't really nit pick this story as I believe it's just so utterly perfect! I had no second thoughts about anything. It all seemed so realistic in every way. I love the way your portray Teddy. It makes the reader fall in love with him and I think he was very convincing. Victoire was wonderful as well. She was a very believable character. You did a fantastic job with them ;)

I really think this story could be a taken from a one-shot to a novella or something. I would love to be able to read more in-depth to Teddy and Victoire's lives. You did such a great job, you've got me begging for more!

Thanks so much for requesting! I'm so glad I got the chance to read such a great story! Please, please, please feel free to request anything else you'd like me to review anytime!

Clair :D (EvelynCullen09 on the forums)

Author's Response: Oh My. I wasn't expecting such a wonderfully enthusiastic review. I don't think I'll do it justice but here goes..

Woah, I had no idea this was your first Teddy/Victoire. All the more special that you enjoyed it ^_^. All the rest will have to compete? *blush!* You're really too sweet but there are a lot of amazing Teddy/Victoire on HPFF. I should know, I've read a few ;). Teddy/Victoire always struck me as one of those relationships where the simple, nondramatic experiences are what makes all the difference and would take their relationship to a deeper level. I'm so glad you found them enjoyable and readable.

Oh dear, I always seem to have that problem. I'll read this piece over and see if I can spot them, thanks for letting me know. That is such a relief to hear about the characters. I was concerned that their personalities would appear bland when in reality, the effect I was going for was exactly what you mentioned, convincing and believable. So it's great that you got that :).

I might consider writing a longer/extended Teddy/Victoire story though maybe not based on this particular story. It depends if inspiration happens to smile on me xD. But thank you all the same for the encouragement and support. I really do appreciate it.

I'm the one who should be thanking you for such an amazing review! I apologise for such a lacklustre response, certainly not up to par with your lovely praise and encouragement. You're so sweet, I'll definitely keep your offer in mind. Once again, thank you so so much for the review!!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #5, by Kelpie Meant To Be

10th October 2009:
That was so cute, a great twist on Teddy and Victoire getting together. I particularly liked how they had pow-wows to figure out what went wrong in their relationships when the answer was them all along.
~~Kelpie

Author's Response: What can I say? I'm a romantic at heart ^_^. The Teddy/Victoire ship struck as a very classic, simple sort of romance so I wanted to portray it as such. Hehehe, they're really clueless aren't they? Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by hopelessromantic3 Meant To Be

22nd September 2009:
aww :) really sweet!

Author's Response: Thank you, so glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by soliloquy Meant To Be

8th August 2009:
Hello! :D Let me start off with my favorite lines..
"I'd much rather rescue myself, thank you very much," she'd say primly.
"Then what's the point of the prince?" Teddy would demand in turn.
"He can do something to occupy his time, then they'll meet up later."
&
"I - I suppose you're right," she admitted begrudgingly.
"Of course I'm right. I'm a Ravenclaw after all."
&
To the delight of many, Victoire and Teddy began to pursue romantic interests. To the dismay of many, it wasn't with one another.


Hehe. Those lines made me giggle/laugh/chuckle. I love the way you wrote them together - it's so much different than how people usually write them. I could just imagine at the end, James stumbling upon them and interrupting the moment - which, made me laugh harder. This is a really nice piece. I really enjoyed reading it. Your characterization of Victoire & Teddy was flawless and I really loved that Dominique is something other than the jealous sister, you know?

The only mistakes I found, were a couple of spelling errors. For instance, you wrote 'artefact' instead of 'artifact'. Everything else is terrific! It was lighthearted, funny and brilliant! Keep up the amazing work :D

Author's Response: Hiya!

Oh wow, you even put your favourite lines up! *blushes* I'm incredibly flattered that you enjoyed my writing to that extent, thank you! Hehe, I thought I'd give them a fairytale ending, before James comes in and mucks everything up. Personally, I think Dominique may have a tiny hint of envy for Victoire and Teddy's relationship but even she's intelligent to know that one can't fight fate ;). I always enjoy giving the next-gen kids a little twist from the norm.

I *think* I caught all the mistakes, thank you for letting me know. And thank you for leaving me such a lovely and thoughtful review, I appreciate it immensily!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #8, by siriuslyhockey Meant To Be

6th August 2009:
wow! Great story! I really enjoyed it.

One of my favorite parts is when Victorie cut her hair and then tinged it pink in memory of Tonks. A very awww moment.

I also really liked the knight in shining armor theme running through the story and coming back in the end. Also, the way both of them were treated at hogwarts b/c of their looks was a nice similarity.

This story flowed really nicely and was easy to follow. It had just the right amount of dialogue and description.

Even though its apparently cliche to have a good looking Teddy I think it works well for this story b/c of the way it connects him to Victoire. The characterization of Victoire is excellent as well and is oddly how I pictured her, pretty, rebellious, and stubborn.

I'm going to favorite b/c other people need to read this story.

Good Job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I wanted to portray their romance as a somewhat realistic fairytale, if that makes sense. Guess I'm just a romantic at heart ;p. That part was one of my favourite to write, it seemed like a fitting tribute to the klutzy auror =p. Me too! I like to think that Victoire is a tough cookie and someone who can match wits with Teddy without hesitation and intimidation. Makes them seem like an even match ^_^. Wow, really? You have no idea what that means to me, I'm incredibly honoured that you feel this story to be worthy of favouriting and recommending. Thank you so much!!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #9, by AntigoneBlack Meant To Be

5th August 2009:
Aww, I think that this little one shot is very cute. I think that your characters were very orginal while staying in context with what the epilogue leaves us with. That's the thing about Next-Gen, their personalities aren't set in stone, so just giving them a quality here or there from their parents works perfectly. I can see a lot of Bill in your character of Victorie, and I like that about her.

Teddy is also a lot like his parents, so I found his character believable and darn cute.

I think that you have a wonderful little piece here, and I'm glad you asked me to read it.

Author's Response: Hehehe, cute was what I was going for ;). Really? Yay! I completely agree, there's so much that can be done with the next-gen kids but it is tricky to make them original whilst keeping them within the boundaries of canon so it's a relief to hear you think I succeeded. I actually didn't think to give Victoire any of her parents traits, I mainly focused on making her her own character but now that you mentioned it, she does resemble Bill quite alot (her hair cutting and his fang tooth earring).

I'm equally glad you took the time to read and review this :). Thank you!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #10, by Aisu Hoshino Meant To Be

4th August 2009:
Aww...

This was written well, and an interesting read. I only found one mistake.

“Look, even they’re even staring at us this very moment.” Even is not needed twice; the first one should be deleted.

Very minor mistake and the rest of the fic made up for it. The flow was wonderful.

I LOVE your Victoire...and Teddy's great too. But Victoire's rebelliousness and unwillingness to take the path her family chose for her is very interesting and good. I must admit I would be very put off if someone tried to push me with a guy so much. At the same time their story did make a very good, romantic, believable one. In a way it reminds me of Simba and Nala from The Lion King.

I like the touch of Teddy's adventurousness and that he's a Ravenclaw - very believable, considering his parents and James's admiration of him in the Epilogue.

I do wish that the ending had a little more to it, maybe more of the emotions, but that's probably because I hated to see it end. You did pick the right ending/path with this fic - it all led up to that famous canon kiss nicely. Great job with this, I liked it! Feel free to request again anytime!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much for pointing that out! I hate typos and have already fixed it. ;)

I'm so happy to hear that! I set out to write a different sort of Victoire from what is usually depicted of her in fanfiction. Can't let Dominique have all the rebel fun xD. Wanna know a secret? It was sort of, kind of inspired by real-life events, but just the 'parents pushing the girl towards the guy'. The pair never got together though. Interesting comparision, I love Disney and The Lion King rocks!

Teddy's adverturousness was always planned. I like to think that he has a craving for danger and adventure, just like his parents, albiet to a lesser extent. I wasn't going to reveal his house but relented in the end, I thought it would nicely showcase that you can excel while in any house regardless of your family ties.

Truth be told, I was at a loss of how to end it, which is why it seems rather abrupt. Ending it with James interrupting them didn't fit well with the tone of the story plus it would have been too predictable. I did do a little foreshadowing of it though ;)

Thank you so much for your review!
~Misty


 Report Review

Review #11, by Miss Lily Potter Meant To Be

4th August 2009:
A-dorable. Seriously. That was so cute, one of the best-written romances I've read, honestly. It's one of the only T/V that I actually like. I, er, really like this story. (:
The last line was perfect for the story, it was sweet. As i was reading, I found myself laughing at a lot of it, which is a plus-I love humor. :D
Good job!
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Are you serious? O.o. Wow, that is one of the best compliments you could have given me. My goodness, I almost don't know how to respond to that. All I can do is thank you so much for feeling my story worthy of such praise. Yay! I'm so happy to hear you were laughing at the humor in this. Most of it wasn't intentional but I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it.

Thank you for the review!
~Misty


 Report Review

Review #12, by Romina Stephanie Meant To Be

26th July 2009:
Aww, Misty, this was so cute and heartwarming. I loved how you started off, the introduction to their story being - not her believing in them - but how others did, and how you went from their childhood up to when they got together, all these snippets written incredibly well and realistically. I loved Victoire (which is saying something, because I don't really like her character, or what seems to be the overall image of her, if you know what I mean), especially her stubbornness and this rebellic side to her. I loved the scene in which Andromeda was included (when Victoire cut her hair) - it was very moving and I think you depicted her very well. As for Teddy - well, what to say? He was dreamy. I also loved how neither Teddy nor Victoire were in relationships all that long and how clueless they were - it made me smile. Anyways, enough rambling. Overall, this was a great, great piece. Keep up the lovely work! *hugs*

Author's Response: Stephanie! You actually reviewed this! *squee* I really am beyond relieved that you liked this. Truth be told, it didn't turn out quite like how I planned. The entire story was supposed to be something similar to the start: short, sharp and straight to the point. But as is always the case with me it seems, I got carried away xD. The hair-cutting scene was my favourite in this particular story, it was symbolic in more ways than one. It's incredible to hear that you liked my portrayl of Victoire even though you don't usually like her character. I wanted to try something slightly different with her and make her as realistic as possible without bordering on boring. I do know what you mean, she does seem to get stuck with being portrayed as a lazy combination of Fleur and too obvious Weasley tendencies.

Aww Stephanie, i love your ramblings and this perfectly lovely review, it's always wonderful hearing from you. Thank you so much!

*hugs back*
Misty


 Report Review

Review #13, by hplover_15 Meant To Be

25th July 2009:
I Loved it, that's all I can sy but since I have to write a minimum of 20 characters then.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)

~Misty


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login